Sarlat la Caneda cottage rental - The Butterfly Cottage
The Butterfly Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Sarlat la Caneda Cottage Rental Photos and Description
French Dordogne style,1 bedroom cottage sleeps 3, near Sarlat and Les Eyzies

WE ARE PROUD TO ANNOUNCE THAT THE BUTTERFLY COTTAGE WAS CHOSEN BY HOME AWAY AS ONE OF THEIR TOP TEN MOST ROMANTIC PROPERTIES IN EUROPE FOR 2010, 2011, 2012, & 2013.

The Butterfly Cottage at Les Hirondelles is located in the heart of the Dordogne in the center of what is considered the golden triangle. We are just 6kms to Les Eyzies the worlds centre of pre-history & the famous Font de Gaume caves, and only 20 minutes to the wonderful medieval town of Sarlat. So, you have the best of both worlds here at Les Hirondelles with being close to everything, but sleeping & relaxing in the beautiful countryside with only the sounds of peace & quiet.

The cottage over looks a large courtyard with a beautiful Mulberry tree that sits in the center. The courtyard is your own private area to relax in and enjoy watching our famous swallows fly in and out of the barn door or cook up a barbeque with your own private gas grill. Inside the cottage are beautiful wood floors and all the modern conveniences of home. There is a quaint fully equipped kitchen with a breakfast table and bar stools. The living and dining room area is one great room. The living room has 2 comfy reclining leather chairs and lovely sofa to relax on. The custom made sofa is a sleeper bed for the possibility of having a third guest. The dining room has a wonderful large bar top table that seats up to 4 persons. The bathroom is down stairs and is fully updated with a new rainfall shower. The spacious master bedroom is upstairs with a beautiful wood beam ceiling, wood floors, and a heavenly California King size bed.

This is a charming property full of character, and beautifully furnished. You have the feel of the 17th century, but all the upgrades and comfort of home. There is a gorgeous garden to relax in and read a book, or take a nap in the swing. How about a swim in a refreshing salt water heated pool, or a romantic evening in the Jacuzzi hot tub over looking the green Dordogne countryside. So whether you are a couple on your honeymoon, friends on vacation, or a family wanting some quality time together, there is something for everyone to enjoy at The Butterfly Cottage at Les Hirondelles.

So here we are in France and in love with this area!! We think you will feel the same once you visit, and we hope to see you soon!! Please call or e-mail us if you have any additional questions or need any additional information.

Kind regards,

Linda & George Plakiotis

P.S. Ask about Dimitri our French chef that comes to cook for you at the cottage. He is amazing!!

More Details
Hide Details

My husband & I are originally from Florida. We moved to France 4 1/2 years ago, and are loving every minute of it. This is our 5th season renting The Butterfly Cottage as a self catering property. We have a 5 star ranking, and all our guests agree we are the best of the best! If you read our reviews, I am all about making my guests happy, down to the smallest things. We are usually fully booked by the end of each season, so keep an eye on my calendar, I update it daily. We have been very fortunate to have many returning guests year after year, and guests that recommend us to their family, friends, and co-workers which is the highest complement someone can give us. We love inviting people into our home, and helping them experience the sights and sounds of this beautiful and amazing region. So, we welcome you to The Butterfly Cottage, and hope that you come join us, and enjoy France!!

Linda Plakiotis purchased this cottage in 2009

Location, location, location!!! All my guests agree we are in the center of paradise. Privacy, peace, and quiet!! Away from it all, but with everything close by. You have a romantic cottage to relax and enjoy, but within 5 to 20 minutes you can see so many fascinating and historical sites in the Perigord Noir. There is so much to see and do in our area, that you could stay for a month and not see it all. There are beautiful village's and chateaux's to explore; the Dordogne and Vezere rivers offering fishing and canoeing; as well as superb restaurants and shops. There are numerous vineyards of Bergerac for wine enthusiasts and there is a different local market situated in a nearby village or town for every day of the week. This is a wonderful cottage to enjoy and relax in, has all the amenities you could want, and close to everything. We hope to see you soon!!.

You will have a wonderful home to stay in, that is full of so much history itself. The cottage has the feel of the 17th century, but all the upgrades and comfort of home. It's your home away from home.

Large heated salt water pool. Jacuzzi hot tub. Sauna with a professional Gym. Gas grill. WiFi throughout the property. Complete kitchen including dishwasher, coffee maker, toaster & cooking spices. Private French Chef (upon request). GPS Tom Tom (upon request). Laptop computer (upon request). Washer & dryer. Hair dryer, iron, & ironing board. Wood burning stove. Flat screen TV (English). DVD player, CD player with iPod docking station. Books, CD's & DVD's. Linens. Pool & Jacuzzi towels. Bath towels & bath amenities. Luxurious cotton robes. Panoramic countryside views with 2 Koi ponds & 5 acres of beautiful gardens to enjoy. Fresh eggs from our 9 beautiful chickens (subject to availability). Welcome basket. Free long distance calls to the U.S., U.K., Canada, and Europe.

Last but not least, we are here if you need us, but we respect your privacy. As my guest's say, 'I am a walking travel agent & concierge all in one'. So, it is totally up to you if you would like me to assist you with your travel & site seeing plans or make any recommendations. George & I are here to help you relax & enjoy, and have a stress free vacation.

44 Reviews of Property 448680 in Sarlat la Caneda, France

Romantic Cottage near Sarlat with Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Gym, & WiFi
average rating of 5.0 based on 44 reviews
business
Romantic Cottage near Sarlat with Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Gym, & WiFi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448680
+33 0610455959
Sarlat la Caneda Perigord Noir
5

"Special place in a beautiful part of France"

"Special place in a beautiful part of France"
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our autumn week at the Butterfly Cottage. It is a cozy and comfortable house that is in a lovely rural setting, yet very close to villages, restaurants and historic sights. The owners are very knowledgeable and helpful, and they make you feel as welcome as invited guests. The option of having Dimitri a private chef who will prepare meals for you in the cottage is an added bonus, that will enhance your visit beyond belief. We highly recommend a stay here. Kathy & John S. (St. Charles, Missouri)
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Romantic Cottage near Sarlat with Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Gym, & WiFi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448680
+33 0610455959
Sarlat la Caneda Perigord Noir
5

Love the place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
It was just out of the world, and also one of the most "luxurious stay" ever!
Lovely place. We wanted to relax during this vacation and did that in style. Linda recommended a French chef, Dmitri, who would cook for us and he was wonderful and very friendly. We had him cook for us three nights!! :). And also my daughter thoroughly enjoyed the food, the swimming pool and the chickens in the barn! Overall, Great place, Great people, Great ambience, Great cook! Will definitely come back and recommend them to everyone of my friends and family! Already recommended ;)
SEE YOU SOON, Linda and George, and THANK YOU!!
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Romantic Cottage near Sarlat with Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Gym, & WiFi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448680
+33 0610455959
Sarlat la Caneda Perigord Noir
Birmingham UK
5

Heaven on a plate!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This cottage is perfect, spotlessly clean and very, very comfortable. The attention to detail on Linda and George's part is exceptional; from towelling robes and pool towels, a kitchen filled with everything you might need to a well stocked supply of DVD's, not to mention the divine bed!!! The view from the heated pool is spectacular and the surrounding garden with pond, hammock and hens provide this amazing rural setting. Linda and George cannot do enough for you to make your holiday outstanding with ideas for exploring the local area close-by and further a-field. There's something for everyone in the locality especially if you like canoeing, walking, cycling, caves or just relaxing! Entertainment from the resident swallows nesting in the barn and a constant supply of freshly laid eggs. What more would you want! There are many good restaurants, markets and shops nearby too.This was our second visit and it didn't disappoint, so much so we have already booked for next year!!! I would have no hesitation in recommending this cottage.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Romantic Cottage near Sarlat with Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Gym, & WiFi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448680
+33 0610455959
Sarlat la Caneda Perigord Noir
5

A Fairytale Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
From the second I heard back from Linda about my inquiry I knew I had found a home.
Not only are Linda, George and Roosevelt (the official greeter and gorgeous pet dog) like the family you wish you had, but the property is absolutely gorgeous too.
If you close your eyes and imagine where you would want to stay in the castle area of the Dordogne this would be it.
Linda is so helpful with on point suggestions on where to spend your time wisely (which also includes sitting at the pool on the grounds of the farm).
From lesser known castles, to fabulous and inexpensive restaruants, the recommendations are perfect. I even got my best haircut ever from the neighbor's daughter at
the local salon in St. Cyprien. If all this isn't enough, Dimitri is the real secret weapon. A private chef that comes to your door with a charming smile and custom order dream
meal to prepare for you. The place is truly a dream come true. Dear Linda & George, we hope to see you in the very near future. All the best, Margot (New York, U.S.A.)
Helpful votes: 11/11
business
Romantic Cottage near Sarlat with Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Gym, & WiFi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448680
+33 0610455959
Sarlat la Caneda Perigord Noir
Cold Spring, New York
5

A Top Notch Vacation Rental Near Sarlat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is an extremely charming one-bedroom house that combines original Renaissance architecture with all of the modern conveniences, including a well supplied kitchen, heated outdoor pool and many other amenities. It is centrally located in PĂ©rigord Noir, just a short drive from the Dordogne and Vezere rivers and most of the region's castles, hilltop villages, prehistoric caves and other attractions. The owners, Linda and George, live in an adjacent house on the property and were always available and very helpful and accommodating. We are certainly hoping to be able to return there in the near future.
Helpful votes: 9/9
business
Romantic Cottage near Sarlat with Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Gym, & WiFi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448680
+33 0610455959
Sarlat la Caneda Perigord Noir
5

A stop for the bucolic travellers

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
George and Linda are superbly warm hosts always ready to dispense practical advice with a good dose of humour. Linda's easy laughs are infectious. George, never too far away, often drops what he is doing and joins in the fun.

We felt at home. Although we have no knowledge of Butterfly Cottage's prior ruinous state, it must have been resurrected by a labor of love from the scattered fragments of an abbey in the 17th century. Each slab of the gold-yellow stones seems to vie for our attention, eager to recount some piece of history from the past.

We appreciate their very many helpful tips on sight-seeing. Numerous days trips are possible from the cottage's vantage point. They were invariably rich with pedagogy, literally voyages back in time to stunning century old villages, fortified chateaux, churches, the sanctuary at Rocamadour to the Font de Gaume caves just next door, once home to the Cro-magnon.

We are also thankful for their wise suggestion of having the local chef Dimitri cook for us (twice), a one-man information-clearing-house on French cuisine. He spent a good part of a sunday from overseeing our late morning excursion to the local open-air market in St. Cyprien, to the lunch that we finally savoured together for several hours. He repeated his feat the evening before we left.

We heartily recommend the cottage to anyone with a bucolic vein, eager to shed the wearies of the daily city grind to don the mantle of a curiosity seeker and just follow the narrow alleys paved with cobble stones. For us, time just seemed to pass too fast...wished it had lasted just a little longer.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Romantic Cottage near Sarlat with Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Gym, & WiFi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448680
+33 0610455959
Sarlat la Caneda Perigord Noir
5

Beautiful, amazing and friendly

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I stayed here on our honeymoon after three nights in Paris. The owners, Linda and George, were extremely welcoming. Even before we had booked, they answered our questions and were extremely helpful.

The cottage itself is beautiful and has everything you need to enjoy your stay and more.

Linda and George provided tips and information for where to go. If you stay here, you should definitely arrange for Dimitri to chef to come and cook for you. The food was delicious and was a perfect way to enjoy our honeymoon.

The pool was also a fantastic way to relax. There is very little in the immediate proximity and so it is a perfect peaceful place to escape to. However, everywhere we wanted to go to was only 20-25 minutes drive away so we had the best of both worlds.

I can be quite a critical person - one of my flaws my wife will have to get used to. I honestly cannot think of a single flaw about this cottage. Everything was perfect and it was a wonderful way to start married life.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Romantic Cottage near Sarlat with Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Gym, & WiFi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448680
+33 0610455959
Sarlat la Caneda Perigord Noir
5

Amazing find in the Dordogne

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were greeted by Linda and George and their infectious warm, friendly and helpful personalities really made our week's holiday extra special. Nothing was too much trouble for them and a slightly sticking door was dealt with promptly and without any fuss.
The beautifully landscaped grounds and swimming pool were set in an idyllic location and the cottage itself was full of character with the added benefit of contemporary furnishings.The Californian bed must have been the largest and most comfortable that we have ever slept in.
The location was ideal and Linda pointed out to us recommended places and sights to see all within a 20mins driving distance - as this was our first long awaited holiday to the Dordogne and Vezere valleys, this information proved invaluable.
Linda generously mentioned that we could help ourselves to the fresh farm eggs and cherries. Even when we had a mishap involving our car and their stone wall, Linda and George immediately put us at our ease saying that these things happen.
Hopefully we shall return in the near future to explore the other charming countless villages and chateaux that we didn't have time to visit.
A big thank you to you both and cannot recommend Butterfly Cottage highly enough.

John and Christine
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Romantic Cottage near Sarlat with Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Gym, & WiFi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448680
+33 0610455959
Sarlat la Caneda Perigord Noir
Bernardsville, NJ
5

Charmant!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I can't put into words what a lovely vacation we had at the Butterfly Cottage. Nestled on top of a hill and tucked away in the countryside, this is a piece of paradise that transports you back in time (but with all of the modern amenities!). The cottage was delightful and furnished just right and with keen attention to detail. Sitting in our private courtyard having a cup of coffee in the morning, while listening to one of the CD's Linda and George so graciously provided, was the best way to start each day. From there it was following one of Linda's recommendations for what to do that day and she is amazing with excellent suggestions, ideas, restaurants and directions for things to do in a short radius. After either canoeing, visiting a local market, or touring a cave, afternoons were spent blissfully at the pool while gazing at the tranquil fields and pastures. Linda's recommendation of a private meal prepared by Dimitri, a local chef with superb culinary skills, made for an extra special evening. In between, Roosevelt the dog, the chickens, and the swallows entertained us. This is an extra special property owned and managed by extra special people. We were inspired by Linda and George and the experience they so effortlessly create for others. It was a truly wonderful week!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 9/10
business
Romantic Cottage near Sarlat with Heated Pool, Hot Tub, Sauna, Gym, & WiFi
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448680
+33 0610455959
Sarlat la Caneda Perigord Noir
5

Beautiful cottage in lovely setting!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
In a word, it was wonderful. The highly unseasonal weather (the coldest spring in 100 years) was against us, but that was more than compensated for by the beautiful cottage and setting and our charming hosts, who provided the warmest of welcomes and a wealth of useful information on what to do in the area. The highlight was two visits by a local chef, recommended by our hosts, who prepared amazing meals for us in the cottage. We will definitely be back!
Helpful votes: 8/8