Sooke house rental - Spectacular View of Sooke Basin - from the edge of our deck.
Spectacular View of Sooke Basin - from the edge of our deck.
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Sooke House Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom, 4 bath, 2500 sq. ft. home on Sooke basin, plus 550 sf guest house.

Brand New-Contemporary and Cozy Home has 3 bedrooms:

1 master bedroom - one king bed and ensuite with soaker and walk-in shower.

1 lower level bedroom - two ex.l twin beds combine into king, next door to main lower bath with bath/shower combo.

2 nd lower level bedroom - one queen bed, next door to main lower bath and near lower powder room.

Excellent linens and bedding

Guest house is open concept-separate and above garage, full kitchen facilities, and has sleeping for 3-4.

2 Extended Twin Beds can be combined into a King.

plus it has an -Allerton Queen- Comfortable pull out foam bed.

Main house has new Viking, Kitchenaid and Miele Appliances.

Guest house has new stainless steel appliances.

House and guest house each has a washer/dryer laundry pair and an outside LPG Grill for BBQ'ing.

House sleeps six to eight and can be rented with or without suite. Guest house sleeps an additional 4 people and can be rented off peak by itself.

My wife and I used to travel west to the Vancouver area Islands with our two children when they were small. We explored the beaches and tidal pools enjoying morning coffee while the kids beach combed, went fishing and hiking, and kayaking. The ocean always has wildlife activity geese, otters, seal and a lot of crab, shrimp and fish.

We rented a house out here in Sooke in 2000 after we completed a week of trekking on the West Coast Trail - and it was a luxurious end to a great experience.

gordon fika purchased this house in 2005

We wanted an area close to a city, yet away from it all.

We selected this property because of its spectacular view and quietness, and its location: it's just a short walk to serious coffee, a number of restaurants and groceries.

We just built (sep. 2012) a contemporary west coast style inviting house designed by a Victoria architect: it is quite an improvement to the old house torn down in 2007.

We wanted a clean, efficient and strong house. It is warm and cosy, energy efficient, and built to current seismic standards.

WOW, is the word heard most often when people come for a visit. We have a truly stunning view from most rooms in the house and the guest house. You can walk down the 25 steps and explore the beach in low tide. Or sit out in comfort on the decks looking right into the water.

On clear nights you can watch the moon rise and travel, accross the Sooke basin, its reflecting lights playing on the often still waters of the basin.

Handy but away from it all.

5 Reviews of Property 448446 in Sooke, British Columbia

Fabulous Ocean Front Home - Warm and Inviting
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Fabulous Ocean Front Home - Warm and Inviting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448446vb
+1 403-710-8496
Sooke Vancouver Island
Nirth Vancouver BC
5

Great for two families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Excellent ccommodation. Nice personal touches and well equipped kitchen and rooms. views from deck wonderful! Would thoroughly recommend this property. Felt like staying in a luxury hotel.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice words Graham and Gaynor. We try to create a luxurious feel . We want to continue to add items to make your stays thoroughly enjoyable. Hopefully we will meet you the next time you visit, Gordon & Teresa.
business
Fabulous Ocean Front Home - Warm and Inviting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448446vb
+1 403-710-8496
Sooke Vancouver Island
Louisiana,United States
5

Striking house in Beautiful setting

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Our group of six spent three nights at this fabulous house. It met all our needs and more. The pictures posted do not do it justice. The views from inside the house and the decks were stunning across the Sooke Harbour. We watched the sea otters run and frolic on the deck next door and saw seals swimming in the crystal, clear water below the deck. There were Canadian geese in the water in the mornings looking for breakfast. There is a media room with a large tv for satisfying the guys in your group. The owner was great to work with and answered all our questions concerning the area and gave suggestions for us as well. The house is easily located in Sooke and close to all the stores.Our rental deposit was returned promptly the day after our trip. We went out on the local whale watching tour but unfortunately didn't see any whales. We traveled up to Port Refrew to see Botannical Beach. It was truly awesome. We also visited the local meadery. We made our way out to see the Sooke Potholes and traveled to East Sooke and ate a super cafe named Smokin' Tuna. There are plenty of things to do in this area when you stay in this gorgeous house. We would highly recommend it!! Thanks Gordon for renting it to us! It was a long trip from Louisiana, maybe we will return some day to your beautiful island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the nice review Andrea and David. Hope you come by again to visit. Hope the weather wasn't too hot for you, Gordon & Teresa.
business
Fabulous Ocean Front Home - Warm and Inviting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448446vb
+1 403-710-8496
Sooke Vancouver Island
Canada
5

Gorgeous Home/Suite - perfect for groups/families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This vacation rental is beautiful: the set-up, location, views and access to local amenities are ideal for groups/families who want to get away for a quiet, relaxing vacation. Our group was comprised of 9 adults and four children (ages 2-10) - and we all loved it. We rented both the house and the Suite. The house is incredible - the architectural design and details are very impressive. There are high-end appliances, comfortable beds, two full baths and two half baths, and beautiful views from every part of the house. The theatre room is a pleasant bonus - especially if the weather isn't cooperating and you want to stay in. The suite is equally charming - perfect for a couple or small family - it has everything one needs to feel at home.

It was so wonderful to wake up each morning to the breathtaking view of the ocean and the kids really enjoyed seeing the different wildlife that would visit the area each day. We saw seals, deer, swans, numerous geese, a crane, and a bald eagle - and those were viewed from off the back deck! During low tide, we were able to walk quite a ways from the house to explore the shoreline. The pictures on your VRBO site do not do the place justice.

Thank you for opening your home to us Gordon & Teresa - it was a pleasure to visit and we would not hesitate to rent again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Tina. We have added some board games (Monopoly, Sorry, and Cribbage) and some items for children's activties -- so more options for family fun in the future. We are glad that the house met the needs of your group, Gordon & Teresa.
business
Fabulous Ocean Front Home - Warm and Inviting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448446vb
+1 403-710-8496
Sooke Vancouver Island
Alberta
5

Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I am little late in submitting my review about this wonderful place (Sorry Gord!).
This is the third time I have stayed here (mid summer, fall and winter). What can I say I may be addicted to the solitude and fabulous view! I have stayed in both the suite and the house and each is terrific. They are immaculately decorated and in a beautiful spot. If an ocean view is a priority, you won’t be disappointed as it is just a few feet right off the decks of both units. You can enjoy the view inside and out, along with geese, otters, occasionally seals, and even white Owls came to visit one night! The owners have tastefully decorated everything. It is so comfortable and is wonderful to have new appliances to use. You can cook inside and BBQ outside. There is a nice little market that has everything you need including a deli, and local produce is available during most seasons. It is a 5 min drive or 15 minute walk to the market and if you don’t feel like cooking, Sooke itself has several restaurants and coffee shops, or you can venture over to Langford and Victoria which are just a short drive away. I enjoyed walking and hiking in the area and went on a whale watching tour which is just a 10 minute walk from the house and so much fun. In the evenings you will be mesmerized with the sunsets and the stars are just incredible. Nothing like enjoying a glass of wine while you take it all in. When you are ready to come inside, you have a fully equipped media room with a huge TV for movies , sonic for music,and free WIFI is available if you need connectivity. This is such a peaceful and relaxing place and I plan to visit again, real soon .

Thanks so much !

C
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the great review. Our place from Sooke is away from it all even though it is just over half an hour from Victoria. Glad you had the chance to rest and recouperate. See you later in the year, Gordon & Teresa.
business
Fabulous Ocean Front Home - Warm and Inviting
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p448446vb
+1 403-710-8496
Sooke Vancouver Island
Calgary
5

Otters in the morning

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
My girlfriend and I rented this property late October of 2012 for a long weekend getaway. We arrived at night after the sun was down, but the home was easy to find. We looked around and were very surprised by beauty of this home. Unfortunately we didn’t have a chance to really appreciate it until the morning. When woke up and opened the shades in the master bedroom we saw that we were just feet from the ocean where otters were playing and the sun shining off the ocean. The views are spectacular and it made it hard to leave the house during the day to see anything else! Once we did leave we found it was easy to get around the area and was a short easy drive to Victoria.
This rental is perfect for any type of renter. It has plenty of space if you're looking to rent it with some friends or is an amazing romantic getaway for 2. The Sonos sound system was great for the evenings with a bottle of wine and work effortlessly once we downloaded the app for the iPhone.
Anyone looking for a rental in the area would be foolish to pass this place up if it was available!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the kind words Patrick. Glad it was close enough to your other activities in Victoria and area. We hope the next time you come that you can enjoy the golf courses and fishing charters near by, or maybe some cycling on the Galloping Goose Trail. Cheers, Gordon & Teresa.