Sainte-Mere-Eglise house rental - Les Cavées
Les Cavées
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 - 7 nights
 

Sainte-Mere-Eglise House Rental Photos and Description
Sleeps 8, but equally enjoyable by a couple

Les Cavées, end-on to the road, with double gates, has a courtyard in front of it, with a charming area for outside meals or aperitifs. Beyond is the peaceful garden/orchard, surrounded by hedges and trees, and bordered by immaculate veg. gardens (worth chatting up the neighbours!). The furthest of the two doors is main entrance, there are two staircases. The far end was always used for human habitation, the near for animals. The 'hay loft' now 'Grande Salle' ( no extra heating) for further sitting/dining/games use, with timbered, pitched roof; great for a party! The living/dining room has a cosy wood burner, & Radio-CD-MP3. [NB NO TV or DVD]. Through the kitchen, is the sitting room, with an open fire, and family games, old and new. Next, the games room with full-sized table tennis, great for hysterical off-the-wall ping-pong! Rear corridor to WC and back door, beyond which is a laundry room. Bedrooms 1 and 2 share the main bathroom; open stairs to the loft 'dormitory' with shower and separate loo.

Les Cavees is well placed for exploring the story of the Allies D-Day 'Overlord' campaign. There are numerous excellent WW2 museums and memorials. A 'stele' was recently commemorated in the village to recognise a local tragedy.

Many impressive chateaux, churches and abbeys throughout the area, Mont St Michel being most famous. Numerous museums celebrate the history, arts and crafts of La Manche. There are many guide books in the house, to inspire you.

Nature and Animal Parks and gardens to visit; magnificent aquarium at Cite de la Mer in Cherbourg. Boat trips to the Channel Islands or on the R.Douve; Train Trips from Carteret to Portbail. Canoeing at St Sauveur le Viconte.

Bayeux & the Tapestry 30 mins away. Memorial in Caen. Haras/stud St Lo

To the south-east of the peninsula are the hills, rocks and gorges of the 'Suisse-Normande'

Interesting geology; Fossil Museum nearby.

Lush farmland, rich local cuisine. Lengthy coastline, sandy beaches to west, ports, delicious seafood.

Les Cavees has been described as 'more a home than a gite'. The deliberate lack of television has been appreciated by many families, over the years; they have enjoyed making their own entertainment, playing games, and exploring. Ping-pong competitions!

For those requiring Internet access, there is a public facility at the Office de Tourisme in Ste Mere Eglise. Alternatively, you could purchase a 'dongle' (available in some supermarkets), or look up abroadband.com for a roaming facility.

Details of 'How to find the House' can be sent by email or post if requested.

More Details
Hide Details

13 Reviews of Property 446562 in Sainte-Mere-Eglise, France

Converted stone auberge in peaceful village, in middle of Cotentin peninsula
average rating of 4.9166665 based on 13 reviews
business
Converted stone auberge in peaceful village, in middle of Cotentin peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446562
+0044 1202483668
Sainte-Mere-Eglise Cherbourg area
5

Very cosy peaceful and relaxing visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This was our 4th visit, this time just as a couple and not a family gathering. It was a lovely visit, very cosy and comfortable. Log fires in the evening with a glass of wine were very relaxing. A very friendly village setting. Will be going back next year.
Owner's Response: It is so good to know that others enjoy Les Cavées as much as we do. It is also good to have confirmation that the house can be as comfortable for a couple as for larger family gatherings. We find the neighbours to be very friendly too, and they love it when our visitors try to communicate, whether their French be perfect or halting, or merely with cheerful waves and smiles!
business
Converted stone auberge in peaceful village, in middle of Cotentin peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446562
+0044 1202483668
Sainte-Mere-Eglise Cherbourg area
5

Great house with great garden

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Loads of room in this old house and a great garden for children to run around in. Almost a pity the weather wasn't worse to give us an excuse to use the log burner. The table tennis table got plenty of use though. Very helpful owners after we left some jewellery behind.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Converted stone auberge in peaceful village, in middle of Cotentin peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446562
+0044 1202483668
Sainte-Mere-Eglise Cherbourg area
swindon
5

Another great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This is our 5th visit to this wonderful house and it wont be our last.We love the traquil setting and this time the weather was beautiful,which makes all the difference.Hours were spent in the garden enjoying the local chaffinch singing his heart out. The trip down was a little bit of a nightmare as we drove down from calias, never again! I would just like to say if you are looking at this to consider booking then please do it, you won't reget this lovely home and it's surounding's. We took friends with us who had never before been to the area, and as my husband know;s his way around now,we drove to all the local places. Wonderful trip and we will be going again next year.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Converted stone auberge in peaceful village, in middle of Cotentin peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446562
+0044 1202483668
Sainte-Mere-Eglise Cherbourg area
5

Another fab stay in Les Cavees

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We have just returned from another great stay in this house. It's so comfortable and spacious feels more like a home. Ideal for sightseeing in Normandy and only a 25 min drive from ferry at Cherbourg. Ideal for family gatherings. Already booked for next year and may yet return this year.
Owner's Response: Always wonderful to receive re-bookings! We love the fact that you really use all of the house for your extended family gatherings.
business
Converted stone auberge in peaceful village, in middle of Cotentin peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446562
+0044 1202483668
Sainte-Mere-Eglise Cherbourg area
5

Great House to stay in for family gatherings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2012
This was our second stay in Les Cavees. We have such a wonderful time in this house. We love being able to all sit around the dining table, sit around the open fire and then love transforming the Grand Salle into our party theme. The World War 2 parties are great fun.
The space in Les Cavees is great, even with 8 adults in the house there still feels like plenty of room.
We would recommend this house to anyone that is looking for a stay in this area.

Cant wait till our next visit to what we think of as our "home in France".
Owner's Response: It's always very reassuring when our visitors return time and again, and when they appear to use the place to its full potential. This family has been extraordinarily inventive, enacting murder mysteries and 'Allo, allo' evenings, all in fabulous fancy dress! As they say, Les Cavées lends itself to both big parties and more intimate cosy moments.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Converted stone auberge in peaceful village, in middle of Cotentin peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446562
+0044 1202483668
Sainte-Mere-Eglise Cherbourg area
Norfolk UK
4

a week in may

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2011
  • Stayed: May 2011
The cottage was just as we expected and been told about by the owners. Our planned celebratory re-union group made great use of the "Party Room" upstairs one evening.. For the remainder of the holiday we only used Kitchen and breakfast rooms whilst we toured out to D Day landing sights, markets, resturants etc.. We recommend Le John Steele in St Mere Eglise ( table for 8 ordered on line before we left UK) Useful as shops tend to close after Saturday lunch time and after long travelling journeys the day before good to relax on the Sunday. Also recommend Le Forge en route home from Briquebec Market on the Monday.. Mussells still found at resturants in Barfleur despite no "R" in the month.
the caretaker system went well, the cottage was clean and welcoming, the beds made and we especially enjoyed the complimentary bottle of wine.
I would certaining recommend this cottage to friends and family. 2 families with children would find plenty of space during inclement weather.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Converted stone auberge in peaceful village, in middle of Cotentin peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446562
+0044 1202483668
Sainte-Mere-Eglise Cherbourg area
swindon
5

location,location.location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
After spending many nights looking for the right place to stay in Normandy,it looks like it was time well spent.The house and grounds are lovely.Everything about Les Cavee we loved and we are already planning are next visit Les Cavee is ideal for the D day landing beaches and if you are war buff like myself there are endless places of interest within 30 minutes drive.
We all would like to thank Andrew and Penny for letting us share the tranquil setting in Fresville
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Converted stone auberge in peaceful village, in middle of Cotentin peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446562
+0044 1202483668
Sainte-Mere-Eglise Cherbourg area
5

Perfect Holidays

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2010
We found this wonderful location by chance on the web, with pleasant pictures and excellent reviews. Motivated by this, we (two adults and three teenagers) rented the house for two weeks of summer holidays, which was a great decision asking the whole group of participants. Beside the very friendly contact to the owner, for us, it was a perfect place to live. Since there are some excellent reviews in English (and believe me, these authors are right), I'll continue this review in German. It's easier for me and there might be some fellow countrymen who are happy about it.

Wie schon vorausgeschickt, handelt es sich bei diesem Haus um ein wirklich schönes Objekt, welches mit viel Liebe restauriert wurde. Im Gegensatz zu manch anderen erschwinglichen Ferienhäusern, in denen man mit mehreren Personen eher eingepfercht seine Urlaubszeit verbringt, kann man hier wirklich "leben". Wer ein modernes, gelecktes Domizil in Fußnähe zum Strand sucht, ist hier nicht an der richtigen Stelle. Wer aber ein authentisches Bauernhaus in einer absolut ruhigen Umgebung sucht, ist genau richtig. Die bewusste Entscheidung der Vermieter kein Fernsehgerät bereitzustellen, kann auch wenn man mit Kindern unterwegs ist ein Segen sein. Ansonsten bieten Haus und Garten viel Raum "nichtelektronischen" Tätigkeiten nachzugehen. Der Ort Fresville selbst hat keinerlei Infrastruktur, so dass ein Auto unverzichtbar ist. Als Ausgangspunkt für Ausflüge in die Umgebung 5 - 100km ist der Standort sehr gut geeignet. Sowohl Vermieter als auch Nachbarn sind sehr freundlich und die Abwicklung (Bezahlung, Schlüsselübergabe, etc.) verlief reibungslos. Wir fanden es dort richtig gut und ich vergebe voller Überzeugung fünf von fünf Sternen.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Converted stone auberge in peaceful village, in middle of Cotentin peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446562
+0044 1202483668
Sainte-Mere-Eglise Cherbourg area
Lydiate, Merseyside, UK
5

Les Cavees, Home From Home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2010
  • Stayed: Jul 2005
Back in 1996 we found Les Cavees, last minute, because everywhere else was booked up, as it happened it was the best thing we ever did, because we have been back many times, and wouldn't dream of going anywhere else. The hardest part of getting there is the drive down through England, as we come from "up north". Once off the boat in Cherbourg the house is 30 to 40 minutes away, depending on traffic.
It is situated in the beautiful and peacefull village of Fresvile, near to Ste Marie Eglise. The facilities are first rate. The house and grounds are very spacious and beatifully maintained.

There are lots of Supermarts to choose from including a couple on the road to Fresvile itself.

The location is perfect for all the sites including all the D-day Beaches, and another bonus is that a short half hour journey to the east coast of the peninsular is the ferry to the Channel Islands. The ferry takes between 45minutes and an hour to get to Jersey. Brittany is another place within easy reach, the mount of St. Michael is not to be missed.

I only wish we were closer to the south coast because we would be there more often. Not to be missed.

Charlie and Pat Southern
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Converted stone auberge in peaceful village, in middle of Cotentin peninsula
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446562
+0044 1202483668
Sainte-Mere-Eglise Cherbourg area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Couldn't have been better

Couldn't have been better
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2010
  • Stayed: Jun 2010
It was lovely! Couldn't have been better. Your home is beautiful, and we both fell in love wit Normandy
Helpful votes: 1/1