Pahoa cottage rental - This is the entrance to the Cottage House. notice the (red palm) Certys. renda!
This is the entrance to the Cottage House. notice the (red palm) Certys. renda!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Pahoa Cottage Rental Photos and Description
This Studio Is Located Close To Many Points Of Interest!

This Botanically landscaped home, on 4 acres, sleeps 2 people in a very comfy queen size bed upstairs & has a full use kitchen, including all cooking utensils and cooking needs. It includes cable T.V., washer & dryer, beach towels, umbrella's,paper goods, comfortable living space and an outdoor grill!

My husband (in the blue shirt) Jerry and I (in the silver dress) Cindy, had the best time on our property, when our daughter and son in law, were married on our Leilani property, in 2008!

We are a very family oriented couple, as you can tell and are so happy to be able to spend some of the best years in Hawaii! We were married in 1978, in Southern Calif., also born and raised there and honeymooned in the islands. We always new that someday we would return to Hawaii! As we now have our main home on this property, we enjoy sharing our O'hana (family) Cottage, with visitors from all over the world!

We work hard to make each persons stay enjoyable!

We are palm & flora nursery people, who have owned our own nursery in Fallbrook, CA. for over 20 years. The botanical experience here alone and the peacefulness of our garden, is what keeps our visitors returning!

Please contact us if you need something special arranged, to make your stay with us as memorable as possible! Mahalo, Jerry & Cindy

Cindy Andersen purchased this cottage in 2001

We fell absolutely in love with this property and worked very hard to refurbish the house and create our garden. After living in the Cottage, it was hard for us to make our move into the Main House that we now reside in, on the 3rd acre. After moving into the Main House, we knew we needed to share the Cottage with everyone we could!

We are pretty centrally located on the Big Island of Hawaii. We are approx. 30 minutes south of Hilo Airport, Approx. 3 hrs from Kona, either way you travel, 5 min. from Pahoa, a great little historic Hawaiian town,15 minutes to Kapoho and the best snorkeling of the islands, 20 minutes to the volcanic thermal heated hot ponds and clothing optional Kahena beach and Approx. 45 minutes to Volcano National Park and of course everything in between!

Or you can just hang out on our property, enjoy the beautifully landscaped trails, the relaxing Cabana, for reading or napping, enjoy the hot tub and enjoy grilling your own evening meal, as the Coqui frogs lull you to sleep!!!

When we first pulled up the driveway of the Cottage House, we were blown away by the jungle it really was! We knew exactly what we were going to do do, to truly make our mark on the 'rock' so to speak! I especially loved that Hawaii has no snakes, so that made me work right along side of my husband, in this outdoor wilderness in the tropics!

We live between the Leilani Cottage property and now another property on the Big island, so we do leave the property often, to give our guests, complete privacy, most of the time, in the Cottage House. We can guide you verbally to points of interest and other points, some visitors never see on their own. We can also help you to plan your trip here, so you can maximize as many sites as possible during your stay. Even pick up a bottle of Champagne, or provide a surprise meal, for a special someone! (This of course would be an extra fee, check with Cindy on this)

We really enjoy, when we are not off island ourselves, visiting family on the mainland, personally greeting each visitor to our home!

We think you will enjoy your visit and return often, as many of our other guests have!

22 Reviews of Property 446378 in Pahoa, Hawaii

Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 22 reviews
business
Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446378vbi
(808) 965-6571
Pahoa Puna District
5

Magical Forest Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Everything you need for a perfect vacation is right here! Jerry and Cindy have created a beautiful and peaceful paradise and words and pictures can't begin to capture the wonder of this cottage. I've never seen anything to equal the beauty of the property that they've lovingly crafted, and the special details inside the cottage show that fine workmanship is a high priority to the owners. Jerry and Cindy were accessible for any questions we had and were professional, informative, and delightfully friendly. Can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Julie! You know you are welcome back anytime you are missing Hawaii!
Mahalo for taking the time to write a heartfelt review! Jerry & Cindy
business
Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446378vbi
(808) 965-6571
Pahoa Puna District
SAINT PETERSBURG
5

Best place in Hilo / Pahoa area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The best place I stayed on the Big Island. This property is located in a world class botanical garden environment. There are plenty of paths to explore that will take you days to see. I have visited many public and private tropical gardens around the world, and this is one of the best! The cottage is very neat and clean and felt like home away from home. The hot tub is a nice feature at night. Excellent for a private romantic gate away, or for adventurous couple. Highly recommended. Pahoa is close by with various good restaurants and grocery stores. It does not get any better.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you both, for a great review! We are so happy you loved our garden and retreat, we have put so much love into this garden and our favorite thing to do is to share it with others who enjoy it, as much as we do!! Please, come back, if you ever get to the Big Island again!
Aloha, Jerry & Cindy
business
Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446378vbi
(808) 965-6571
Pahoa Puna District
5

Great Rain Forest Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I recently spent 3 nights at this lovely cottage. The grounds on this property are stunning. This was a great location to visit the beautiful and very interesting Puna area, as well as the volcanoes. We did see rain, so it was nice to go back to a hot tub. The cottage is very comfortable, clean and well stocked. Sitting in the lazy boy watching the Oscars after a long day of touring around was like being in a a home away from home. The frogs clearly are present at night, but we were used to them by the second night. A pleasure to stay in all around.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446378vbi
(808) 965-6571
Pahoa Puna District
Washington
5

Pahoa Paradise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We saw the photographs and read all the reviews but we were still amazed at how awesome this property turned out to be. The grounds are gorgeous, with lots of walking paths and exotic trees and plants. The house is adorable and completely and thoughtfully decked out with everything you'll want for a comfortable stay, including beautiful fresh flower arrangements in every room. The owners have done a marvelous job of anticipating their guests' needs, right down to an "information folder" with local places to eat and visit. Be sure to check out the dining spots in Pahoa - they are excellent. The house is well maintained and very clean ( shoes off at the door) and comes with nightly serenades of coqui frogs.
You will definitely need a car here. The property is a few miles out of Hilo. Try to arrive before sunset so you can clearly see street signs the first time you come. There are lots of places to see and things to do but most of them are several miles away, so allow time for that.
The owners are discreetly available to answer questions or offer assistance, but not intrusive on your privacy, so unless you need them, you won't see them. We were curious about the gardens, so we did have several great conversations with them about how the property was developed, but otherwise we felt completely alone.
If you are looking for a quiet retreat, a romantic setting, and a totally restful experience, this is the place for you; a piece of heaven you will never forget.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you both! Jerry is still so excited over the Staghorn plants, you brought him from Hilo and loves it when others appreciate the grounds of our garden, as much as we do!
I hope this inspires other plant lovers to visit us! Aloha, Jerry & Cindy
business
Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446378vbi
(808) 965-6571
Pahoa Puna District
De Pere WI
5

What a great stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband and I recently stayed at this lovely cottage and would recommend it highly. Cindy and Jerry were wonderful hosts...the attention to detail in the cottage was wonderful, you could tell much love was put into this little home. We loved the multiple lanai's to sit and have coffee, listen to the birds, the hot tub was a huge bonus, and the garden grounds were just breath taking. The amount of time put into the plants and landscaping were unbelievable, being in such a beautiful place truly made you appreciate how much time and attention they have spent on their property. WIFI was solid which made a nice touch if you may be looking for that. Close to all the Puna sites but quiet enough if that is what you need also. Close to all the good restaurants in Pahoa so if you want to eat out that works too, but know that you have a fully stocked kitchen and grill if you want to utilize the farmer's markets as well. We had a wonderful time. We especially want to thank Cindy and Jerry for talking stories on our last morning with us, thanks for taking the time to share! Mahalo! We will see you soon! p.s. Thanks for sending back the Valentine's Day card my husband forgot when we left!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We loved meeting you both! As you know we had family visiting at the same time as your stay, but look forward to spending time with you both, when you come back with your Mom, to the island! We would love to have you over for a garden tour or something and catch up on your thoughts of buying something on the island! You are welcome here any time and Mahalo, for such a beautiful review! It is so appreciated!
Mahalo, Jerry & Cindy
business
Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446378vbi
(808) 965-6571
Pahoa Puna District
Cambridge, ON, Canada
5

A special place in the rainforest.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Amazing property: a nicely equipped, very clean, secluded cottage in a groomed rain forest. Within the acreage are many interconnecting pathways through the lush foliage. We especially enjoyed the private hot-tub on the back deck and the loft bedroom with windows all round. Our hosts were very friendly but never intrusive and available to answer any questions about the fauna, flora and the area. If we return to the big island, we would definitely stay here!
Owner's Response: Aloha Jim & Marrion! You are certainly welcome back any time!
Mahalo for staying with us!
Jerry & Cindy
business
Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446378vbi
(808) 965-6571
Pahoa Puna District
Santa Rosa CA
5

Memorable Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This property is just perfect. After reading the other reviews it seems they say it all. We agree with them. Everything is furnished in this very romantic house. The photos online were accurate and provided a wonderful preview of the lovely property. The koi pond was especially pretty and it was fun feeding them every morning. Staying at this house was like being in our own home away from home. The list of attractions provided by Cindy and the three ring binder with household information was helpful. Cindy could write a book about how to manage property. We liked Pahoa's restaurants and the Wednesday night music festivals at "end of the road." The drive through to this area is beautiful. We have recommended this wonderful rainforest home to our relatives and friends. We hope to visit again the next time we are in the friendly Puna District.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Lana and Gary, wow, thank you so very much! I learned about managing vacation rentals, by renting some myself and I would always think about what I would want to supply, or not and what I would have appreciated myself, in some of the places we stayed in, little things, that I don't feel people should have to run and buy, whether they were on vacation for 3 days or a week!
You made me really appreciate how hard I do work, to make each stay pleasurable for all!
Mahalo again and please you are welcome back any time!
Jerry & Cindy
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446378vbi
(808) 965-6571
Pahoa Puna District
5

Adorable Jungle Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This cottage was the perfect place to get away from it all. It was extremely quiet and private, located on a remote gravel road, yet convenient to Hilo as well as Volcanoes National Park. Jerry and Cindy grow exotic plants which dominate the property and can be explored via the many paths crisscrossing the property or from the comfort of the hot tub on the porch. The chirping sounds of the Coqui frogs where so relaxing to listen to at night! That may be the part I miss the most :( We definitely recommend this place to adventurers as there is so much to do in the area. We only made it to about half of the activities that we wanted to. Mahalo to Jerry and Cindy for opening up this gorgeous piece of paradise to us! Hopefully we will be able to make it back soon.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Both of you are very welcome back, any time! Thank you so much for your kind words and we are always happy that people enjoy our jungle space as much as we do!
Aloha, Jerry & Cindy
business
Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446378vbi
(808) 965-6571
Pahoa Puna District
Quebec, Canada
5

A private Paradise !

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Staying in this house was fantastic! You feel like living in a wonderful tropical botanical garden (better than a lot...) Its location is perfect, you have privacy and peace, within a short drive to the village, tide pools, hot pond, lava, etc.

I couldn't imagine a better choice for this part of the Island. The place is immaculate, everything was working well, the Spa was super clean and at the perfect temperature... Is it obvious that I'd want to still be there?

I won't hesitate to recommend it to everybody who likes peace and nature!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Gina! We really appreciate your fantastic compliments! Please. If you are ever on our side of the island again, do not hesitate to contact us for another stay!

Mahalo, Jerry & Cindy
business
Very Cute And Clean Cottage Home, With Hot Tub And Forrest Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p446378vbi
(808) 965-6571
Pahoa Puna District
Oskaloosa, Iowa
5

Private and More Than Comfortable!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This property was an amazing stay; comfortable accomodations and a well-stocked kitchen, laundry and sleeping quarters. The gardens are beautiful and an absolute pleasure to explore. We cancelled all of our first day "day-trips" to stay at the cottage and walk around the gardens and nap in the loft bedroom. We woke up feeling refreshed and ready to tour the island!
The main road in Pahoa is lined with a variety of restaurants that kept us well fed and not too far from home in the evenings. It was an easy drive to the end of road. Mackenzie State Park was a nearby treat. Even the drive to Mauna Kea and Volcano State Park were accessible from this location. We would definately recommend this property to others and would gladly stay here again if we ever find ourselves on the Big Island again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you so much Natalie!
We are so happy to hear how you really enjoyed your stay with us and are always happy when our guests enjoyed their outings around the island! We hope to have you back again some day!
Aloha, Jerry & Cindy