Dallas house rental - 1918 East Dallas Home
1918 East Dallas Home
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 4 Bathrooms
  • 2 Half Baths
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Dallas House Rental Photos and Description
House & Backhouse 4 Bedrooms, 4 Full Baths 2 Half Baths Baths (Sleeps 10-12)

Completely renovated Prairie Style home less than 4 miles from Historic Downtown Dallas. This is a one of a kind 1-1/2 story home built in 1918. It has a fenced in back yard with a pool and backhouse. The 2 car garage has been converted into a game room. The main home is a 3 bed 3 1/2 bath with large living and dining area. Backhouse is a 1 bed 1-1/2 bath with kitchen, living, and office area. Gameroom is complete with a pool table and 52' television and DVD Theatre system for watching the big games or movies

I am a south Louisiana native who spent the last 12 years in Dallas and 9 of those refurbishing this Prairie Style home. We love this house and hope that you will as well. We were very torn on our move back to Louisiana and away from Dallas and our St. Thomas community that we were so fond of. We did not have the heart to sell the home we have so many good memories of, and have not ruled out returning to it at some point in time.

Douglas Barrilleaux purchased this house in 2003

This home is conveniently located in East Dallas. It is a very short drive to the Dallas Convention Center (3.8 mi) and anything else in the downtown area. Convenient access to I30, 135, I45 or Central Expressway. Whole Foods is just down the street along with Starbucks and many other local conveniences. The Sante Fe trail is located 2 blocks away for the joggers and bikers, and there are tennis courts just around the corner. Tenison Golf Course (public) is approximately 2 miles away and Lakewood Golf Course (private) is less than that. This house is located in the Historic Junius Heights District next to Lakewood and Hollywood Heights. With the pool in the back yard and pool table in the game room, there is plenty to keep everyone occupied while visiting. Come stay with us and you'll be sure to have a good time.

26 Reviews of Property 445290 in Dallas, Texas

1918 East Dallas Home near Downtown
average rating of 4.9615383 based on 26 reviews
business
1918 East Dallas Home near Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445290vb
+1 985-227-1736
Dallas Dallas - Fort Worth (DFW)
4

Another Great Stay!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We are repeaters! Love this place. Like last year, this year my staff and I (6 adults) once again had a most comfortable stay. Lots of privacy with ample room to spread out, large living room and dining table for meetings and card games, clean linings and furniture, and close to downtown. This place feels so right we're planning on returning again next year.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
1918 East Dallas Home near Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445290vb
+1 985-227-1736
Dallas Dallas - Fort Worth (DFW)
Chicago
5

Expansive and enjoyable...

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This central location is a short drive from Dallas city center, and has all of the comforts of home. Both the main house and back house are inviting, well cared for, and have many amenities. Our family of six loved our eight nights here, and hope to return! Highly recommend this property!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
1918 East Dallas Home near Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445290vb
+1 985-227-1736
Dallas Dallas - Fort Worth (DFW)
Concan, TX
5

Wedding party accommodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My family and three members of the wedding party stayed here when my son got married at SMU with the reception being held at the Aldredge House. This property was very convenient to both venues. We were very comfortable in this home. There was plenty of bathrooms that no one had to share a bathroom when getting ready for the wedding. The beds were extremely comfortable and the house was very clean. The house has three refrigerators, so restrictions there. Our only regret while we were there was that it was a little too cool to enjoy the pool!! This is a great place for a large group.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
1918 East Dallas Home near Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445290vb
+1 985-227-1736
Dallas Dallas - Fort Worth (DFW)
5

Ideal Accomodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had 11 grown men celebrating and upcoming marriage and the lodging and accommodations at 5801 Reiger were nothing short of perfect. From working with the owner to instructions on where to find things, to cleanliness of the property, and certainly the amenities of the house (and back house!) this property is a can't miss for an adult get-away or family gathering. I couldn't recommend it highly enough. We're already looking for an excuse to use it again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
1918 East Dallas Home near Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445290vb
+1 985-227-1736
Dallas Dallas - Fort Worth (DFW)
Wilmington, DE, US
5

Another Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This was the 2nd straight year that we rented the home when we were in Dallas for Texas/ou Football Week. The home was conveniently located to the Downtown Dallas area, the Cotton Bowl, the West End and other establishments that we utilized throughout the week. Once again we relaxed pool side, utilized the Hot Tub, and nightly games of pool in the game room and bar area to relax when staying in at night. Austin my chocolate lab enjoyed running in the fenced in back yard and walking in the quiet neighborhood. Douglas ensured that our stay for the week was met with everything that we needed to ensure that we had a Great Vacation. This was very much appreciated! Cannot wait to stay again this coming September when in Dallas for the Texas/UCLA Football Game. This year Texas Beat ou so it made the stay that much more enjoyable! HOOK 'EM HORNS!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
business
1918 East Dallas Home near Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445290vb
+1 985-227-1736
Dallas Dallas - Fort Worth (DFW)
Kingwood Texas (just outside Houston)
5

Great Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a Spectacular Home!
The kitchen was stocked! Plenty of bedrooms and very comfortable pillows , sheets, and mattress.
The outside had a great pool to relax in, while the grandparents sat on the outdoor chairs. We had breakfast outside each morning.
Pool Table for the younger kids. We played cards on the table and chairs outside on the large front porch.
We had both sets of grandparents 3 kids and an Aunt and Uncle stay there. Plenty of room for everyone. 3 bathrooms and 2 1/2 baths.
IT worked better than a hotel any day!
The owner was very accommodating..
Thanks for great memories!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
1918 East Dallas Home near Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445290vb
+1 985-227-1736
Dallas Dallas - Fort Worth (DFW)
Corpus Christi, TX, U.S.A.
5

FABULOUS VACATION HOME

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I rented this house for two main reasons.
1. A place where my daughter, 2 grandbabies and I could relax and still be close to what was going
on downtown Dallas.
2. To host a family get-together so most of my family could see my daughter and her children while
they were back in the States.

We couldn't have had a better location. The house is comfortable and just that little bit different that makes it interesting. Though the weather was not conducive to use of the swimming pool, we were able to use the hot tub a couple of days and enjoyed it tremendously. The backyard is a dream and was perfect for the get-together. The weather on that Saturday was also a blessing.

The owner and his agent onsite could not have been more helpful. The house is exceedingly well furnished. The couple of little questions we had were immediately solved.

I would gladly stay there again and would recommend it highly to anyone interested in a rental property in Dallas.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
1918 East Dallas Home near Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445290vb
+1 985-227-1736
Dallas Dallas - Fort Worth (DFW)
Houston
5

A great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family and 3 other couples decided to head to Dallas for the Big D Marathon. We found this house and booked it because of the convenient location and the great reviews. It was perfect! We really enjoyed our time here. The house is really nice and the pool and hot tub were a great asset. I was a little worried about having 12 people (including kids) stay here, but we had plenty of room for everyone.

The owner was very nice and helpful. We had a couple of things not working properly (one of the A/C units was not working perfectly - typical of the winter-spring transition), but he sent someone in right away to correct the problem. He was also very helpful in recommending places to eat and where to buy things around the area.

Overall, I really enjoyed my stay there, as did the other 3 couples. We will definitely stay here again if we visit Dallas in the future.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
1918 East Dallas Home near Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445290vb
+1 985-227-1736
Dallas Dallas - Fort Worth (DFW)
Dallas
5

Love this house!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We stayed in this adorable house 2 different times! We were building in the Dallas area and needed a fully furnished home for our family! The owner is great and was so accommodating and helpful. The house has a great vibe and is in a great location! It is fantastic for a family but would also be so fun for a girls trip too! It is so close to all the hot spots in Dallas. LOVE THIS HOUSE!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
1918 East Dallas Home near Downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445290vb
+1 985-227-1736
Dallas Dallas - Fort Worth (DFW)
Ontario, Canada
5

Great Stay in Lovely Home in Quiet Neighbourhood

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
I booked this home for a 4-night getaway to Dallas and travelled with my wife and two teenage boys aged 15 and 17. Everything you read and see about this property is 100% accurate.

Starting at the beginning, a car is required if you plan to use this home as your base for daytrips and sightseeing. Relatively straight and quick shot from DFW. Very close to downtown and all major expressways. Upon arrival, everything was as it should be (I had one issue locating a couple of interior keys but was addressed immediately by the owner). Whole Foods, Starbucks and some good restaurants just a minute away.

Comfortable sleep number bed in master bedroom. Two other bedrooms with ensuite in the main house. Upstairs bedroom perfect for a teenager, with TV, bathroom, and lots of room. Back House also good for teenagers, with TV, stereo and pool table. We all made good use of the spa and WiFi throughout the property.

Kitchen had all necessary appliances, cookware, etc., all in good working order.

Neighbourood very quiet. Backyard a great place to relax after a day of sightseeing.

Only caution is to watch the driveway entrance coming and going. Car tends to bottom out with steep entry (seems a City of Dallas issue).

Overall, would highly recommend this property, especially for anyone with teenagers. The owner, Douglas, was always available before and during our visit to answer any questions and all financial dealings were quick and exactly as quoted.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway