South Iceland cottage rental - August sunset by one of our guests (O. Roetz)
August sunset by one of our guests (O. Roetz)
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

South Iceland Cottage Rental Photos and Description
A unique self catering cottage of 80 m2 - only 70km from Reykjavik

Berjaholt is a unique period cottage situated in a rural area of amazing landscape and views.The house sits on flat land facing mountain Ingolfsfjall and you also have mountain Burfell by our doorstep wich is great for hiking and enjoying the great all around view.

.A beautiful creek passes by the house wich gives kids the chance wade and catch small fish .

We also have a monkey swing , huge trampoline, and other fun games.

There´s an open air pool ,gym & sauna at Borg, as well as a small grocery shop/gas station.(9 km. )

The nearest town is Selfoss at 18 km. distance.There you'll find bigger grocery shops,bakery, several restaurants , ATM/ bank,health care center + a big pool .

You will feel right at home in our cosy cottage - it has a really relaxing atmosphere. We have a lot of booklets/infos for things to see ,as well as interesting books ,music and dvd's.

The major sight seeing spots is close by ; only 30 min.. to Thingvellir national park ,and 40 min. to Geysir and Gulfoss.

Further east you have easy access to amazing places like Seljalandsfoss ( waterfall ) ,Skógar/Skógafoss , Kirkjubæjarklaustur, Jokulsarlon (glacier lagoon ), and Landmannalaugar .Reykjavik with all it's great restaurants and shops is just an hour away.

More Details
Hide Details

20 Reviews of Property 445267 in South Iceland, Iceland

Cottage in Iceland ;pure nature,top location,stunning views
average rating of 5.0 based on 20 reviews
business
Cottage in Iceland ;pure nature,top location,stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445267
South Iceland Iceland
5

Fabulous location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had an absolutely fabulous week at this property. The views - until sunset at around 23:00 in August - are stunning, and change with the ever-changing weather.

The small river running past the property is beautiful - perfect for our daughters (7 and 9) to explore - unsupervised - for as long as we'd let them!

The listing description was completely accurate, and the directions to the property were clear. Everything was clean and well-maintained, and the beds were really comfortable with lovely down/feather duvets and pillows.

We felt as if we knew the owner before we arrived, as she responded quickly and in detail to all the queries we had before leaving for Iceland. She emailed several suggestions for places to visit and things to do, too, which added to the mounting excitement before departure!

There is so much to do in the area, that we wished we had at least an extra week. We visited the amazing golden circle attractions of Geyser and Gullfoss, and Thingvellir, which are all within an hour's drive. By and large driving was much easier than in the UK, since the roads were so quiet (although the final part of the road to the property is a gravel road).

We also walked up a hill/mountain to bathe in a hot river - the walk starts from Hverigerdi (spelling?) - wonderful! Further along the road is a geothermal power station (Hellish...) which was fascinating.

We arranged (by phone, having seen an advert at Gulfoss) a glacier walk, which was spectacular, and also crawled through lava tunnels near Reykyavik. Both these tours were run by Extreme Iceland, whose guides were excellent and really geared up to meeting the needs of their group (we think they arranged the lava tunnel caving expedition specially for us). We also went swimming in a lovely geothermal pool in Selfoss (brilliant water slide and hardly any other swimmers).

We didn't eat out, although a hotel nearby has a restaurant that does evening buffets from 18:30 for about £40. We bought most food from the Bonus supermarket in Selfoss, which had most things we wanted at a slightly higher price than the UK, apart from a more limited selection of fresh fruit and veg (the Icelandic tomatoes and cucumber were delicious).

I would definitely strongly recommend Iceland and this cottage to friends and relatives who like exciting and active holidays in amazing surroundings. It was perfect for our 7 and 9 year old children, too (although I would say 7 was the minimum). Thanks Augusta!
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Philippa ..
it's a pleasure having such fun enthusiastic family staying ! Meeting at the cotttage for a chat was really great too.
I´m so glad to know you've enjoyed your time -all the best to your family and hope to see you again in Iceland.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Cottage in Iceland ;pure nature,top location,stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445267
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

A couple from New York

  • Submitted: Jul 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Dear Agusta,

At Berjaholt we found an oasis of overwhelming beauty.We loved every minute of it and didn't want to leave. The wonderful details of how you have decorated the cottage make for a vey cozy home away from home.

Your music selection is exquisite and the shelves are stocked with wonderful books.
We love the landscape , and bathing in the hot springs in Hveragerdi was one of the highlights of our stay.

We were also quite taken by the sound of your language,and we found a poem by Bill Holm that captures this beautifully. We hope to come back another year to explore more of your beautiful country.

Lenny and Scott


" In an air conditioned room you cannot understand the grammar of this language.
The wiffing machine drowns out the soft vowels.

But you can hear these vowels in the mountain wind, and in the heavy seas breaking over the hull of a small boat.

Old ladies can wind their long hair in this language.

And can hum ,and knit, and make pancakes.

But you cannot have a coctail party in this language

.And say witty things standing up with a drink in your hand
.
You must sit down to speak this language. It is so heavy that you can't be polite or chatter in it.
For once you have begun a sentence , the whole course of your life is laid out before you " .
- by Bill Holm -
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Cottage in Iceland ;pure nature,top location,stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445267
South Iceland Iceland
5

Quiet location & easy access to places of interest

Quiet location & easy access to places of interest
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
We spent a wonderful and also relaxing time in this cosy and lovely decorated cottage. And we really enjoyed the location: far away from the hustle and bustle but not too remote. We had a lot of sight seeing every day, from which especially the day out in the Landmannalaugar was a very impressive highlight. Access to many places of interest is really good: very close to Golden Circle attractions like Pingvellir, Geysir/Strokkur, Gullfoss waterfalls, geothermal fields Haukadalur and Blue Lagoon, also to even daytour Vik/Dyrholaey/Skogafoss region. And because we both are "foodies", we feeled to go out to Reykjavik for dinner every night - quite a distance but always worth the trip ;-)
The cottage itself is very well equipped (kitchen, bath, entertainment), has a generous layout and is very clean and well looked after by owners and visitors, nice matresses/good sleep quality and the service provided by Agusta (before and after arrival) is faultless.
All in all, we can truly recommend the cottage and thank you, Agusta, very much for accomodating us.
Nicole & Daniel
Owner's Response: Yes Nicole - the cottage is ideally located for visiting the golden circle and so much more ! Gullfoss ,Geysir, and the exceptionally beautiful Unesco site ,Thingvellir are well with in one hour drive (Fishing for trout on a beautiful summer evening in Thingvellir is one of our favorites when we're at the cottage ) .There are so many exciting places and activites on offer - not to mention the cusine ..as you know by now ; )
Landmannalaugar seems to be a winner when it comes to most memorable places for our guests , it's truly remarkable. ( Judging from photos I'm forced to admit - I'm hoping to get there by the end of summer : )
Thank you for choosing Berjaholt for your stay and for taking such good care of it .
All the best ,Agusta .
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Cottage in Iceland ;pure nature,top location,stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445267
South Iceland Iceland
5

Relaxed and easy holiday in beautiful location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2012
  • Stayed: Jun 2012
A beautiful location, at the end of a quiet road with a few other summer houses although it still felt wonderfully secluded and private. Fabulous views from the porch and you can easily wander down to the stream or waterfall. The house is very Clean, comfortable and stylish and the owners are very helpful without ever intruding on your holiday. It was very spacious for a couple and really good value for money.

This was a very good location to explore the Golden Circle and for us it was good to be based near Selfoss which has quite good facilities.

Andy and Kate, east London
Owner's Response: Thank you for this great review Andy and Kate ,
It was a pleasure to meet you - all the best to London !

Agusta.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cottage in Iceland ;pure nature,top location,stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445267
South Iceland Iceland
5

Relaxing Winter Break

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 29, 2011
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
It was an absolute joy to return to Berjaholt every evening after a day out in the wintry November weather. The cottage was warm, cosy, and utterly peaceful - evenings were spent with red wine, some roast Icelandic lamb, and enjoying the owners' great selection of CD's and DVD's. The bed was possibly the cosiest and most comfortable we have ever slept in - a miracle we managed to get out of it every morning. A long time since we've felt so relaxed - just wish we could have stayed longer.
Ideally located for the Golden Circle, Vik and other sights of the South West; there's a horse-riding centre nearby and would recommend a visit to the local geothermal pools.
Would also recommend arriving in daylight on your first day as the cottage could be difficult to find in the dark.
Owner's Response: Dear Lemeia ,
I am so glad to know you enjoyed your stay so much and that you got to experience the great quality of sleep at Berjaholt cottage - we couldn't agree more :-) .
Thank you for your kind words.

Hope to welcome you again , Agusta and Siggi.
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Cottage in Iceland ;pure nature,top location,stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445267
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Magnificent !

  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Sep 2011
"Berjaholt - what a wonderful place !
The hospitality of the owners is amazing and we loved every minute of of this quiet and relaxing piece of land .
While the weather changes every minute the view remains the same : magnificent " .
All the best . (C H and O. Germany )
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cottage in Iceland ;pure nature,top location,stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445267
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

Stay in Berjaholt

  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
"A perfect location with a great scenery.We found a spacious house wich was really well equipped and maintained.
Not only cozy and nice but in sometimes harsh and basic icelandic surroundings,an oasis of taste and style!
Agusta is very pleasant,helpful and can be reached any time.
The kids felt at home immediately and considered the house a little castle !
For sure our future address on our next visit to Iceland " .
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cottage in Iceland ;pure nature,top location,stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445267
South Iceland Iceland
5

Romantic Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
The very first impression of the house and its environment was really amazing. It has an romantic charme in and outside. There are three wonderful sleeping rooms. You can have there nice dreams, if the midnight sun doesn´t get you awake. The other rooms are also designed very lovely. We didn´t miss anything. Burfell is a good starting point for tripps to the south, the golden circle or to many other highlights. We didn´t miss anything and enjoyed the birds, sheeps and horses around.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Cottage in Iceland ;pure nature,top location,stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445267
South Iceland Iceland
5

A french family in Berjaholt

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 30, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
A very beautiful place for the holidays, not far from lots of places of interest. The cottage is lovely and very confortable ! We were a family of seven and the house was spacious enough for all of us.
We recommand it, we had so good moments there.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cottage in Iceland ;pure nature,top location,stunning views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p445267
South Iceland Iceland
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
-1

A family of 4 from Montana ,US

  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2011
  • Stayed: Aug 2011
"So glad we found this place!Thank you for creating such a lovely atmosphere."

"Your vacation home helped to create a great experience.Thank you for all the extra comforts."

"Perfect atmosphere ,perfect location ...
I'm going to miss this place.
Thank you so much !"

"Your country is magnificent !I felt right at home here .Thank you !"