Eckington townhome rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Eckington Townhome Rental Photos and Description
Town home, 4 Bedrooms, 3 Bath, Sleeps 10

A10 minutes walk takes you to the Mount Vernon Metro Station and to the Walter E. Washington Convention Center. A 30 minutes walk takes you to The White House, The US Capitol, The National Mall and the museums. The city's largest grocery store (Giant Foods) is about a 10 minutes walk on P street.

This house has 4 bedrooms with 3 king beds and 2 twin beds, a pullout sofa in the living room and can accommodate 10 comfortably. (If your group is larger then 10 you can also rent the first level apartment which is a 2 bedroom,2 bath accommodating 6 more. To view the lower apartment please click on this link: www.vrbo.com/446939 ). The living room with the pullout sofa can be separated with pocket doors and turns into a bedroom. 3 full bathrooms, one on the first floor adding to the convenience and the other 2 are on the second floor close to the bedrooms, with the master bath including a jet tub. A full kitchen with stainless steel appliances and a Viking Range provides everything you need to cook for your family and friends. The large dining room can seat 14 and has a warm and charming ambiance for those family dinners. This is an old mansion from a century ago updated and refurbished to the most modern style while keeping the old charm. The gas light fixtures (not a functioning system for safety reasons) and the antique and functioning Intercom system have been preserved. Wide staircase, hardwood floors in the entire house and a magnificent trim work all through the house give a sense of how the upper classes used to live in DC. The back porch has lights and a fan to keep cool in the summer overlooking the stone patio and the carriage house.

The redhead next to me is my wife Ana.

We have 2 daughters who are grown and are on their own ( not really, if you are a parent you know) and a 14 pound Schnoodle ( he thinks he is a giant). We have been living in the DC metro area for about 36 years and absolutely love it. Washington DC is a beautiful city, it really is and for people coming here to spend their vacations or attend conferences, weddings, funerals (The Arlington Cemetery), graduations, sight seeing, festivals etc. etc. there isn't any city that offers so much.

I manage the properties and Ana tells me what to do (!!!) We are a great team and enjoy doing what we do.

Allen purchased this townhome in 2012

This is a unique apartment. We gutted out the old house and redid the entire house including the lower floor. Everything you see here is less than a year old and it is designed with great care, taste and quality.

10 Reviews of Property 444938 in Eckington, Washington DC

4 Bedrooms Sleeps 10, Walk to DC Convention Center, Metro, Restaurants
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
4 Bedrooms Sleeps 10, Walk to DC Convention Center, Metro, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444938vb
202-327-3688
Eckington Washington DC
San Jose, California
5

Good family place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This is a nicely renovated row house with room for a sizable family group. There are 3 bedrooms with king-sized beds and one room with a single bed...and the sofa downstairs can also sleep two. There are two bathrooms upstairs (one is ensuite), and a third bathroom downstairs (all baths have tub-showers). It is NOT a place for anyone with disabilities, as you must climb a flight of stairs to reach the main entry. We had a two-year-old and four-year-old in our group, and they did fine; however, I can't really comment on how well younger toddlers or kids unaccustomed to stairs (our two kids have stairs at home) would have managed. The provisions are all there--towels, utensils for everyday cooking, and basic cleaning supplies. There is a Safeway that is walking distance, and the owners provide a cart if you're on foot (the Safeway also has a free-for-90-minutes parking lot). We are not familiar with DC, so it took a little surfing online to figure out the best way to get around using public transportation to avoid having to hassle with (or pay for) parking. If the weather had been a little better, we might have been more adventurous about walking. There is street parking nearby (a block over), and we were able to find spots. Looking at visual clues, this was a safe neighborhood: solo female joggers were out and about even at night, for example. There is a KIPP Charter Elementary school down the street, and metro police were there when school let out to escort kids across busy streets. We would have appreciated written advice about nearby restaurants (we did get a verbal recommendation from the owner for a very nice walkable Thai restaurant down the street). Also, being West Coast people, we wanted to know more about the history of the area and/or the house, since row houses like these are quite unusual for us. Obviously the owner(s) has worked hard to bring the property into the 21st century. Internet service (wifi) was good. Basic cable on the TV (but no fancy channels like HBO), but we didn't notice a DVD player (not a problem). We had a minor crisis with a missing part for the coffee maker, which the owner took care of quickly. There is a fire station nearby, so there were sirens at unpredictable times. It didn't bother any of us, but super light sleepers might find that troubling.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
4 Bedrooms Sleeps 10, Walk to DC Convention Center, Metro, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444938vb
202-327-3688
Eckington Washington DC
Roseburg, Oregon
5

Immaculate!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Eight ladies enjoyed this rental for 5 nights with beds for everyone, a great kitchen for breakfasts and a couple of dinners. Loved the ease of accessing all the sites and museums by Metro and bus. Thanks for good communication, Allen.
business
4 Bedrooms Sleeps 10, Walk to DC Convention Center, Metro, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444938vb
202-327-3688
Eckington Washington DC
Amarillo, TX
5

Comfortable and full of character!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family of 10 stayed here for several days and could not have felt any more at home. The house is immaculately clean and beautifully decorated. We loved that it was old and restored but still left with pieces of the past that really gave the home character. My niece and nephew loved talking to each other from upstairs to downstairs via the old pipe-phone! I am not sure what this device was called but I know it provided more entertainment to them than any advanced technology! The beds were all very comfortable and were made up with high-quality sheets. There were plenty of towels and provided laundry detergent to wash more if needed. The kitchen was well stocked and even had staples such as sugar. We did not have a car and just walked a few steps to the corner in the mornings and hopped on the bus to Union station and rode the metro. In the evenings, we usually rode the metro to Mt Vernon Square and walked the few blocks home. If you are looking for convenience and comfort, look no further! This is your home away from home!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Bedrooms Sleeps 10, Walk to DC Convention Center, Metro, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444938vb
202-327-3688
Eckington Washington DC
5

A Mini Family Reunion/ Getaway/ Celebration

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My family and I had a FABULOUS stay at Allen's house in DC while celebrating our daughter's graduation from college. We didn't have to buy/ bring anything except for groceries. Modern, high end and very comfortable. All the comforts of home. The gourmet kitchen was a very nice bonus. The location was perfect. Great area close to the college, Whole Foods Market, The Capital and the Metro.

Allen was very hospitable as the owner to his guests. He was able to answer questions the day of and we were able to contact him after our stay, as one of the family members left a couple of items at the house. Allen made sure that he retrieved them right away.

If you're looking for a place to stay w/ your family and don't want to be in a hotel, this is so perfect!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
4 Bedrooms Sleeps 10, Walk to DC Convention Center, Metro, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444938vb
202-327-3688
Eckington Washington DC
College Station, Texas
5

Great location and kitchen is amazing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The pictures and description of the property are right on the mark. We had a fantastic week and the kitchen is wonderful. It would have cost us so much more to put all 8 of us in hotel rooms and paying for all the meals. We particulary liked being able to be together in the evenings and not separated by different hotel rooms.

The owner was fantastic and responded quickly.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Bedrooms Sleeps 10, Walk to DC Convention Center, Metro, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444938vb
202-327-3688
Eckington Washington DC
Michigan
5

Great house - Great owner

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We rented both the upper and lower units for a group of women attending an event in DC for more than a week. The house has classic old charm with everything you'd want updated. Extremely comfortable house with amazing kitchen. The owner Alan, went beyond expectations with help, suggestions and accommodating a needed last minute extended stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
4 Bedrooms Sleeps 10, Walk to DC Convention Center, Metro, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444938vb
202-327-3688
Eckington Washington DC
Xining, China
5

Excellent DC Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This house is beautiful, just look at the pictures. We rented the entire home, both upper and bottom levels. I had to chaperon 17 Chinese High School students as well as 2 teachers on a trip to DC from China and had trouble finding a place, large enough, nice enough and easily accessible by Metro. Allen's place fit the bill and he was also super helpful with anything we needed during the trip. Highly recommended and would definitely stay again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Bedrooms Sleeps 10, Walk to DC Convention Center, Metro, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444938vb
202-327-3688
Eckington Washington DC
Washington, DC
5

Wonderful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
A group of friends and I stayed in the P Street house for a weekend and had a delightful time. There were enough beds for 12 people and more than enough kitchen supplies and dishware for the whole weekend. We had a private chef come to the residence one night and he had everything he needed to prepare a delicious meal. The entire weekend was a success.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
4 Bedrooms Sleeps 10, Walk to DC Convention Center, Metro, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444938vb
202-327-3688
Eckington Washington DC
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Important Massage From The Owner

  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Please make sure you do not send or transfer any funds to any entity. We only use VRBO's Reservation Manager for booking and reservations. If in doubt please call us at: 202-327-3688
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
4 Bedrooms Sleeps 10, Walk to DC Convention Center, Metro, Restaurants
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444938vb
202-327-3688
Eckington Washington DC
5

Outstanding DC Townhouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Everything was perfection. The place was lovely: clean, incredibly thoughtfully appointed (everything you could think of you might need was provided) and sensational. I would definitely stay here again -- or at any of this owner's places. You won't be disappointed.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2