Waikoloa Village studio rental - View from front entry of studio.
View from front entry of studio.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 nights
 

Waikoloa Village Studio Rental Photos and Description
Studio Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, (1 Bed, Sleeps 2), Ocean Views!

Our tropical studio (or 'ohana' as they are called in Hawaii) has beautiful ocean views from the studio’s outdoor dining/BBQ area, front entrance and driveway area as well as spectacular ocean sunset views year round! Our studio is located in the home that we live in so we are your immediate neighbors.

The Tropical Studio is located in Waikoloa Village, which is a residential area, approximately 6 miles from the famous Waikoloa Beach Resorts and the best beaches on the island!

Whether you are into golf, exploring volcano activity on the other side of the island, enjoying lazy days spent on white sandy beaches or searching for the bountiful treasures that the Big Island has to offer, our tropical studio is the perfect 'base-camp' for relaxing and rejuvenating island style.

This charming studio is very comfortable and inviting with windows throughout for natural sunlight and airflow. It is located in a quiet residential neighborhood and has great ocean views and year round sunset views from the studio's outdoor dining/BBQ area and front entry. Decorated in a tropical theme our studio is freshly painted and has a new, comfortable California King size bed. The kitchen has bamboo floors, brightly colored counter tops and is equipped with a fridge/freezer, microwave, 2 burner hot plate (there is no oven or stove but every other piece of cooking equipment to get the job done), toaster oven, blender, toaster, crock pot, electric skillet, coffee maker, coffee grinder, french press and all necessary kitchen utensils; silverware, glassware, dishes, pots and pans, etc. as well as a large 4 burner stainless steel BBQ, perfect for grilling the fresh catch of the day or local Big Island beef.

We offer a unique setting for Waikoloa Village, our studio is part of our home, so both the main house and the studio are under one roof but they each have their own entrance and individual living space. Many other vacation rentals in this area are either condos or houses and there are no B&B’s. Staying in our studio, you will get the best of all worlds, your own private place along with the benefit of “innkeepers”, sharing our knowledge of the island's best places to go and things to do. If you are seasoned Hawaii travelers and know your way around then we simply offer you a nicely appointed, clean and cozy place to stay as you come and go as you please.

We look forward to sharing our home’s studio space with you and supporting you in discovering all of the wonderful and amazing places and cultural sites that the Big Island has to offer. Mahalo nui loa for considering our little 'peace' of paradise!

Special Note: Our house is perched atop its lot to provide for spectacular views which also means that there is a steep driveway to walk up and down to/from the parking spot/studio. However, at any time you can drive up the driveway for loading and unloading purposes. There are 6 steps up to the front door.

More Details
Hide Details

We have lived in Waikoloa Village on the Big Island of Hawaii for the past 7 years. We moved from San Diego, California, because we were ready for a simpler life style, a slower pace of life and the aloha spirit that really does exist in everyday interactions here. We feel very fortunate to call Hawaii our home because there is so much diversity, both in culture and landscape. Where else can you get up close and personal with an active volcano and then the next day be snorkeling in the warm, azure waters of the Pacific? It is truly a remarkable place to live and we are happy to be able to share our home and our local knowledge with our guests.

Jennifer and Tom purchased this studio in 2012

The wife part of the relationship has been coming to Hawaii since 18 years of age and had a dream of one day living in Hawaii. Much later in life she met the husband part of the relationship and celebrated by vacationing in Hawaii and then they both had the dream! Hawaii is a very unique place with its Native Hawaiian history and yet it is part of the United States, it is the most isolated island chain in the world and yet living here creates a feeling of closeness to the land and to the many different ethnicity of people that call Hawaii home.

We rented this property prior to buying it and fell in love with the spectacular and amazing views. We spend almost every evening on our lanai watching the sunset and hoping for a green flash and in winter seeing the whales breach in the distance!

13 Reviews of Property 444495 in Waikoloa Village, Hawaii

Ask for Calendar Gap Speical. 5 Star Reviews Charming Studio Ocean Sunset Views!
average rating of 4.909091 based on 13 reviews
business
Ask for Calendar Gap Speical. 5 Star Reviews Charming Studio Ocean Sunset Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444495vbi
808-883-2131
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Bellingham, WA
5

Home away from home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My boyfriend and I stayed in this lovely studio and had a great time! All the comforts of home and a great amount of consideration put in by the owners. Any kitchen items you need are provided and the atmosphere is aimed at a Hawaiian experience.

Views from the bbq area were wonderful for watching the sunset and distance is only a 5 minute drive to the market/shops/restaurants or 15 minute drive to the beach.

Nearby beaches were great for relaxing, boogie boards, and snorkeling. Nearby Kona provided us with a zodiac trip to several beautiful beaches and caves. While across the island we took in the gorgeous Botanical Gardens and Hilo.

The owners were unbelievably helpful with tips on where to go and what to see and just overall super laid back and considerate.

We had an amazing time and highly recommend the place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your kind words! We strive to provide our guests with accommodations that would meet our standards when we travel. That is why we include everything we can think of that our guests might need, especially in the kitchen. As an example, we just had a guest from Germany and it is common to drink tea vs. coffee so we purchased an electric kettle while she was here. Yes, the views from the BBQ area are perfect for sunset! For us, being able to watch the sunset every evening is part of the Hawaii experience. We pride ourselves in being helpful with tips and info (of course when requested) so that our guests can get the most out of their time on the Big Island and we always aim for laid back and considerate as you experienced. We thoroughly enjoyed meeting you and having good conversations and laughs! We hope to see you again, a hui ho!
business
Ask for Calendar Gap Speical. 5 Star Reviews Charming Studio Ocean Sunset Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444495vbi
808-883-2131
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Tucson, AZ
5

Wow,wow

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at Jennifer and Tom's studio for 18 days over Christmas and New Years. What a beautiful, comfortable, and quiet place! We are very familiar with Waikoloa Village and just could not have picked a better place to stay. Between boogie boarding at Hapuna, and snorkeling at two step, we made almost all meals at the studio. The grill is outstanding and there is a very well appointed kitchen. Jennifer and Tom were the best hosts, and very helpful with any information we needed. We are happy we made two new friends on the island.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for taking time to write a review, it was such a pleasure to meet you both! We are always happy to share our knowledge of the area with our guests. We too love that the our neighborhood is quiet and that our guests feel as comfortable as we do here. We strive for well appointed accommodations, including the kitchen and a great BBQ and outdoor area to grill. It is always our number one priority to create a comfortable, quiet and lovely place for our guests to spend time when not out exploring the island. We look forward to seeing you again when you return to Waikoloa Village! Mahalo and A Hui Ho!
business
Ask for Calendar Gap Speical. 5 Star Reviews Charming Studio Ocean Sunset Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444495vbi
808-883-2131
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Central OR
5

Dave n Sylvia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a fabulous, fun stay!!! Tom and Jennifer were wonderful, friendly, and helpful-gracious hosts making sure all of our needs were met. They went beyond the call of duty w couple of special kindnesses. We stayed two weeks and the Ohana met all of our needs for eating and sleeping- well appointed, clean and comfy. All of our beach needs were provided; towels, chairs, ice chest. It was so nice to NOT be in the middle of tourist areas. We went primarily to dive, up early and to bed early- always quiet- good area to hose off gear and hang up wet stuff. Washer and line downstairs was also a wonderful help. The price was right too. We can hardly wait to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your review! We love our quiet neighborhood too and even though we live under the same roof we take special care to provide a quiet atmosphere. The fact that we are not located in the middle of the tourist areas gives our guests an opportunity to relax away from the small crowds. We pride ourselves in offering a well appointed, clean and comfortable place at a very affordable price. We want our guests to feel at home and have what they need to enjoy Hawaii that is why we offer so many amenities; big beach towels, beach chairs and an ice chest to name a few, as well as sharing space on our property for things like storing dive gear, allowing our guests to know their belongings are secure. We would love to see you again next year. A hui ho...
business
Ask for Calendar Gap Speical. 5 Star Reviews Charming Studio Ocean Sunset Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444495vbi
808-883-2131
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
NJ
5

Tropical Studio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed 5 days in mid Sep. 2013. During this time we traveled up and down the Big Island, visiting volcano park, Mount Loa and Kea, Kona coffee growers, East and West coasts, waterfalls, swimming and snorkeling in cozy lagoons and coming at night to relax and sleep in the studio. The studio was perfectly situated for our activities, quiet, clean, airy, comfortable. It has a good kitchen, though we used it sparingly. The linens and towers seem to be new. The host Jennifer is friendly, knowledgeable and helpful. To summarize: we had very good time and would recommend the studio and Kohala Coast to friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for taking time to post a review! Thank you for concurring that our studio is "quiet, clean, airy, comfortable" and that it is centrally and conveniently located for all of the wonderful places the Big Island has to offer. We are so happy that you enjoyed our tropical studio and that the kitchen was more than you expected. We strive to make sure our guests have all of the comforts of home. You are correct, all of the linens and towels in the studio are new and well kept. We thoroughly enjoyed having you as guests! Please come back again! A hui ho (until we meet again)...
business
Ask for Calendar Gap Speical. 5 Star Reviews Charming Studio Ocean Sunset Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444495vbi
808-883-2131
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
San Tan Valley, Arizona
5

Excellent choice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is the first time we stayed in a "personal" condo on the Big Island. We had stayed 6 other times in a condo, but none were as comfortable and home-like as this one. There was enough space to move around comfortably, and the studio is very clean. The kitchen is very well stocked (even surprised us), and everything we needed is there. The studio is situated so the beautiful cool breezes of Waikoloa can be fully enjoyed. Sleeping was a dream (pun intended).Of course, the best part is the hosts... Jennifer and Tom are very gracious and accomodating. They provided us with all we needed, physical and emotional. The chats we had during the week were spirited and very enjoyable. Observing a beautiful sunset is even better when friendly conversation with Jennifer and Tom is included. We had never stayed in Waikoloa, but the thorough instruction provided by Jennifer made this an easy destination. Overall, just a great week!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your kind words! We are happy to hear that the kitchen met and even exceeded expectations. Our goal is to provide our guests with every little thing they might need to feel at home. We think the studio is very inviting and accommodating and we appreciate hearing that others feel the same way and that they are comfortable enough to sleep well while away from home. And yes, ahhh, the sunsets!!
business
Ask for Calendar Gap Speical. 5 Star Reviews Charming Studio Ocean Sunset Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444495vbi
808-883-2131
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Wow what a wonderful place!

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
"What a great place just perfect for me and my wife and it is centrally located, just 30 minutes from Kona. The bed was really comfortable as I'm a big guy, there was no squeakiness and no bowing when I got into bed. We will be back and by the way did I mention the great hosts." NOTE: Review was copied from a different website and re-posted here by owner therefore ratings not included.
business
Ask for Calendar Gap Speical. 5 Star Reviews Charming Studio Ocean Sunset Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444495vbi
808-883-2131
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Fun Time

  • Submitted: Sep 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
"It was a cozy 1 bedroom apartment, perfect for my stay. Clean with all the amenities. Tom and Jennifer are wonderful and they made me feel welcome." NOTE: Review was copied from a different website and re-posted here by owner therefore ratings not included.
business
Ask for Calendar Gap Speical. 5 Star Reviews Charming Studio Ocean Sunset Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444495vbi
808-883-2131
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Sierra Nevada Foothills
5

Waikoloa Village Studio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Fantastic studio for 2. Plenty of amenities, great location, quiet neighborhood, beautiful beaches nearby, ample shopping in village and wonderful hosts. We had the vacation of a lifetime!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha! We are thrilled that you found our studio perfect for your needs and that you had a vacation of a lifetime, that is exactly why we do what we do, so that others are able to discover the magnificence of the Big Island. Mahalo for taking time to post a review. And congrats to you and your family on such a milestone achievement. We hope to see you in Hawaii again. A hui ho!
business
Ask for Calendar Gap Speical. 5 Star Reviews Charming Studio Ocean Sunset Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444495vbi
808-883-2131
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Wellington, New Zealand
5

Nice cosy studio

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 18, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our home for 5 days while we arranged our marriage at A-Bay. The place was clean and tidy as per pics on listing. The owners, Jennifer & Tom were extremely helpful with advice and even recommended their favourite restaurant, which we used on our wedding night. Fan-tastic! Thankyou!
The location was good for planning day trips from and was easy to find from Kona airport. Nice quiet neighbourhood, with the Waikoloa Village shops close, well stocked & reasonably priced!
We loved the 'meet & greet' cat at the front steps too! We would stay here again a heartbeat!
If you're looking for somewhere affordable to stay, check this out as your base!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Aloha, we were so thrilled you chose to stay in our studio for your special occasion, getting married in Hawaii! It was such a pleasure to meet you and thank you for taking time to post a review. Our goal is to make sure that our studio is "as advertised" both in description and pictures and we appreciate you confirming that we have meet our goal. We enjoy having guests in our home and assisting them in discovering what we love about the Big Island, it is a real treat for us. We look forward to seeing you again. Congratulations!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Ask for Calendar Gap Speical. 5 Star Reviews Charming Studio Ocean Sunset Views!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444495vbi
808-883-2131
Waikoloa Village Kohala Coast
Littleton, CO
5

Comfy studio, with a view!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
For one or two people, Jennifer and Tom's studio in Waikoloa is a nice alternative to an expensive hotel, and more private than one of the many condos for rent in the area. It is well-equipped and very comfortable, and the hosts are friendly and helpful. A great choice!
Owner's Response: Mahalo! It was such a pleasure to meet you. Thank you for your review and acknowledging that we are meeting our goal to offer a comfortable, clean, affordable and enjoyable place to stay in Hawaii. We hope you can come back again and revel in our wonderful views!
Helpful votes: 1/1