Luxor villa rental - View of villa from street
View of villa from street
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps10
  • 5 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

Luxor Villa Rental Photos and Description
5 large air-conditioned bedrooms all with own bath and/ shower, on three floors

The villa is entered via a small courtyard with fountain. The ground floor contains: a large well-equipped kitchen and dining area; two bedrooms, one double-bedded and one with twin beds; two bathrooms, one with bath and one with shower. A marble staircase leads to the first floor, with a large domed sitting room and dining room, two double bedrooms and two bathrooms with showers. On the second floor is a roof terrace with splendid views in different directions to the Nile, the Winter Palace, Luxor temple and to the mountains behind. Here there is a double bedroom with domed ceiling and bathroom with bath. Natural air-conditioning throughout is provided by the high central dome which cools the house in the traditional way, but electric air conditioning is also provided outside the winter months.The villa is well equipped for self-catering but breakfast (and other meals) can be provided if required. Our knowledgeable manager is always available to ensure that you are well looked after.

We live in South West London but have been involved with the Luxor West Bank for the last 10 years, working with our local partner and manager, Khyry.

Christopher and Pamela Morgan purchased this villa in 2009

For independent travellers, we believe we offer a wonderfully unique experience of the Luxor area and provide a great deal more than any packaged holiday for a very reasonable price.

10 Reviews of Property 444366 in Luxor, Egypt

Beautiful 5 bedroom domed villa, Nile view, perfectly situated for antiquities
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Beautiful 5 bedroom domed villa, Nile view, perfectly situated for antiquities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444366
+44 20 8878 4620
Luxor Nile area
5

Beautiful, comfortable and simply wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My brother and I travelled from Asswan to Cairo, and naturally we stopped in Luxor for a few days. However, our stay was far too short. Villa Rosmund is a beautiful house in a calm area on the west bank and an excellent place to relax. The view from the rooftop where Maadi prepared breakfast for us was great – over a banana plantation and the Nile, and on the other side the hills with the valleys of the kings and queens. And breakfast was very fitting to the setting – fresh coffee, juice, fruit salad, good bread, falafel etc and delicious pancakes upon request. The rooms are all spacious, beautifully decorated and equipped with very comfortable beds and interesting animal or plant shapes created out of towels. The house remained very cool despite the heat outside and we did not even have to use the air-conditioning. Thanks to Khayry, our stay was funny and extremely comfortable as he took us around the village and the sights on the west bank, explained a lot about the attractions, suggested activities such as quad biking, recommended restaurants in the area for dinner, and organised everything else as well.

For people like me who don’t know much about Ancient Egypt, there were plenty of books to read about Luxor and the individual sights and hieroglyphs and their meanings. The sights on the west bank are relatively close to the house, and for the sights on the east bank we took a boat. Karnak temple is truly amazing, but it might be useful to have a good guide who shows the entire temple – as holds true for all temples and tombs – as well as to take enough water. Unfortunate for the local economy but fortunate for us, there were not as many tourists as usual, so we could actually enjoy the sights and did not have to fight or wait anywhere.

Overall, it was an amazing stay and I would definitely and wholeheartedly recommend Villa Rosmund without a second thought! It made the trip fantastic and was a nice spot away from the noise and mass tourism. My brother and I very much hope to return in the future!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 5 bedroom domed villa, Nile view, perfectly situated for antiquities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444366
+44 20 8878 4620
Luxor Nile area
5

Beautiful, comfortable and simply wonderful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My brother and I travelled from Asswan to Cairo, and naturally we stopped in Luxor for a few days. However, our stay was far too short. Villa Rosmund is a beautiful house in a calm area on the west bank and an excellent place to relax. The view from the rooftop where Maadi prepared breakfast for us was great – over a banana plantation and the Nile, and on the other side the hills with the valleys of the kings and queens. And breakfast was very fitting to the setting – fresh coffee, juice, fruit salad, good bread, falafel etc and delicious pancakes upon request. The rooms are all spacious, beautifully decorated and equipped with very comfortable beds and interesting animal or plant shapes created out of towels. The house remained very cool despite the heat outside and we did not even have to use the air-conditioning. Thanks to Khayry, our stay was funny and extremely comfortable as he took us around the village and the sights on the west bank, explained a lot about the attractions, suggested activities such as quad biking, recommended restaurants in the area for dinner, and organised everything else as well.

For people like me who don’t know much about Ancient Egypt, there were plenty of books to read about Luxor and the individual sights and hieroglyphs and their meanings. The sights on the west bank are relatively close to the house, and for the sights on the east bank we took a boat. Karnak temple is truly amazing, but it might be useful to have a good guide who shows the entire temple – as holds true for all temples and tombs – as well as to take enough water. Unfortunate for the local economy but fortunate for us, there were not as many tourists as usual, so we could actually enjoy the sights and did not have to fight or wait anywhere.

Overall, it was an amazing stay and I would definitely and wholeheartedly recommend Villa Rosmund without a second thought! It made the trip fantastic and was a nice spot away from the noise and mass tourism. My brother and I very much hope to return in the future!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful 5 bedroom domed villa, Nile view, perfectly situated for antiquities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444366
+44 20 8878 4620
Luxor Nile area
Tavistock, Devon
5

Holiday of a lifetime!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
If you want to visit Luxor, stay here! Location, accomodation, service, ambience - all perfect. Its sooooo much more peaceful on the West Bank but so easy to get to the other side for LUXOR TEMPLE etc... a matter of minutes.
Easy stroll to local restaurants and shops. Everyone in the village is friendly and helpful. We loved everthing about it.
The weather was lovely, the villa truly beautiful. The views from the roof alone would have had made the whole trip worthwhile.
Khyry will, if you wish, remove all the pain and stress from everything you could possibly want to do. He is funny, reliable, informative and has a wonderful CAN DO attitude.
Villa Rosamund provides a truly authentic Egyptian experience. I thoroughly recommend it.
Owner's Response: We greatly appreciate it when our clients share their experiences for others to read
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Beautiful 5 bedroom domed villa, Nile view, perfectly situated for antiquities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444366
+44 20 8878 4620
Luxor Nile area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Our week in Villa Rosamund

  • Submitted: Nov 7, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
"We loved the house and especially the El Gezirah, the village where it is located on West Bank. We appreciated being able to walk around un-hassled, to buy food or sit in a cafe and get to know some of the locals who we walked past several times a day. Everybody without exception was friendly and welcoming. Khyry was incredibly helpful, from the minute he picked us up at the airport throughout the week. Madi (housekeeper) and Said (guard) also added tremendously to the overall success of our week. Our three children (17,16,12) thought it was one of the best holidays ever!
We woke early and saw the sun rising over the skyline of felucca masts, minarets and palm trees. One night the children slept under the stars on the roof terrace - great fun apart from the mosquitos! The roof terrace was our main sitting room early and late in the day, and we enjoyed breakfast up there. We took up Madi's offer of breakfast on the roof terrace most mornings. Often saw hot air balloons drifting overhead.
The Festival of Eid, four-day holiday, occured during our week, but did not affect us at all.
The house was more than comfortable. Beautifully and thoughtfully designed (mainly by Khyry!), we loved all the domes, the views, and the coolest place to sit was in the courtyard.
We used both the El Gezirah and Nile hotel swimming pools for dipping in and cooling off. The food in both hotels was fine. Also loved the restaurant Memnon, where Khyry took us.
Would recommend the villa whole-heartedly. Khyry made the holiday the success it was, and Christopher's notes before we went helped us make the most of the week. We would all love to go back one day soon!"
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Beautiful 5 bedroom domed villa, Nile view, perfectly situated for antiquities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444366
+44 20 8878 4620
Luxor Nile area
5

Villa Rosomund

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
Excellent place, felt like we had arrived in a Palace. All the rooms were of a good quality with either bathrooms en suite or next door. Christopher is generous and understanding and couldn't be a better owner to deal with. His caretaker kyhry was excellent and was friendly and funny. We had a really good time and would always recommend this house to anyone who wanted to rent. Very hot in August but it is a dry heat so manageable especially with the hotel nearby to lie in the shade and swim during the hottest hours. If you are going to Luxor don't hesitate this is a great place to rent.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful 5 bedroom domed villa, Nile view, perfectly situated for antiquities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444366
+44 20 8878 4620
Luxor Nile area
5

Holiday in Luxor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2012
My family and I thoroughly enjoyed our holiday at Villa Rosamund, Luxor this Easter. We did not know quite what to expect and treated the experience as a bit of a stab in the dark. Despite having two young children (4 and 7) and the weather being rather hot we managed to see a great deal of fascinating Egyptian sites including the Valley of Kings, Mortuary temple of Hapshepsut, Karnak etc. This was all made possible with Khyry's help, which transformed the holiday into a truly memorable experience. I could not recommend it enough.
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Beautiful 5 bedroom domed villa, Nile view, perfectly situated for antiquities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444366
+44 20 8878 4620
Luxor Nile area
Antwerp, Belgium
5

Villa Roasmund - Easter 2011

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 11, 2011
  • Stayed: Apr 2011
Together with a friend and her daughter and our daughter we stayed in Villa Rosamund in El Gezira on the West bank of Luxor from 13 to 22 April 2011. It was a successful stay and an unforgettable holiday in every way. First of all let us say that we felt we felt perfectly safe at all times. There is a total misperception in Europe about the current situation in Egypt. Especially in Luxor people are most friendly and running there business as usual (though the number of visitors has decreased substantially). We walked and biked around on our own in the village and neighboring countryside and in the city without any problem, we took taxis, boats and caleches, made a camel ride to a Coptic monastery..: we moved freely around visiting many of the wonderful sites in and around Luxor.
Of course our comfort was also for a large part due to the Villa. It is a marvellous house. As we walked around in the village we were invited – in the Egyptian hospital tradition – to have a look in other villas that can be rented and to drink coffee. Villa Rosamund has probably the most tasteful interior in the village ! The sober interpretation of the traditional way of building creates a wonderful atmosphere in the house, and spending the evening on the rooftop under the clear sky and in the quietness of the village is unbeatable. Or maybe to take a late ferry boat from Luxor to cross the Nile and walking through the village and the fields around the housing cluster of the villa comes close to that experience… .
Our feeling of comfort was also largely due to the good care of Khyry. He was the perfect guide and host. Small problems in the house were solved quickly, the breakfast was perfect and Khyry’s company was a pleasant experience. So we recommend to have a holiday in the Villa Rosamund to our best friends even and hope to go back ourselves once…

Miek and Dirk - Antwerp
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 12/14
business
Beautiful 5 bedroom domed villa, Nile view, perfectly situated for antiquities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444366
+44 20 8878 4620
Luxor Nile area
London
5

Villa Rosamund

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 9, 2011
  • Stayed: Jan 2011
We had a week's stay at the villa in early January. It was quite delightful.
The villa is set on the edge of a banana grove which gives a rural feel although it is minutes from the ferry crossing on the West Bank of the Nile. It is an easy run to the Valley of the Kings, the Valley of the Queens, the massive statue of Ramses the Second as well all the other sites. There are lovely simple hotels nearby if you want a drink and a meal in a verdant garden.
As for the villa, it has been built in traditional style with great charm and character but to the highest specification.There is a delightful courtyard on the ground floor and a stunning view out over the Nile from the rooftop balcony. Great care and thought has been put into providing every comfort and convenience you might wish for like washing machines, hairdryers and all those details which create a home from home. The beds are big and luxurious and the bathrooms fresh and bright. The kitchen is beautifully equipped though with lovely local food on offer at very good prices, we didn't do any cooking!
We were wonderfully looked after by Khyry, the delightful local partner who speaks excellent English. A delicious traditional breakfast of flat bread, falafels, strawberry juice and honey is available on request. He also took us to some lesser well known sites as well as to the favourite attractions. He set up for us a memorable night on a felucca in Aswan which we would strongly recommend.
We had a taste of the real Egypt on our visit and enjoyed its charm and character without sacrificing comfort and cleanliness. Strongly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 13/15
business
Beautiful 5 bedroom domed villa, Nile view, perfectly situated for antiquities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444366
+44 20 8878 4620
Luxor Nile area
5

Wundervoll!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Wir genossen für 10 Tage unseren Aufenthalt in die wunderschönen Villa und wünschen uns, gerade frisch zurückgekehrt, wieder dorthin zurück. Danke für diesen wunderbaren Urlaub, den wir nie vergessen werden. Das Frühstück war ausgezeichnet, Khyrys Fürsorge ließ keine Wünsche offen. Mit ihm Land und Leute zu erkunden, wird niemals langweilig. Ganz nebenbei ist sein Humor nicht von schlechten Eltern ;) Auch ein großes Danke an Hadjad, der uns so ausgezeichnet verköstigt hat und diese entzückenden Handtuch-Kunstwerke kreierte, und danke an Mohammed, der stets zu Hilfe eilte und uns mit köstlicher frischer Pfefferminze eindeckte. Wir vermissen die Abende auf der herrlichen Dachterasse und die unvergleichliche Stimmung des orientalischen Lebens. Deswegen ist für uns klar: Wir kommen zurück! So bald wie möglich.
Weiterhin möchte ich - gerade angesichts der aktuellen Lage - ausdrücklich betonen, dass wir uns jederzeit absolut sicher und gut aufgehoben gefühlt haben. Ägypten ist ein wunderbares Land mit wunderbaren Menschen, und wer sich dem orientalischen Leben mit seinen Eigenarten öffnet, wird unvergessliche Erlebnisse genießen dürfen. Von uns gibt es eine klare Empfehlung für die Villa Rosamund und das dahinter stehende Team!
Owner's Response: Wir freuen uns auf Ihre nächste Besuch !
business
Beautiful 5 bedroom domed villa, Nile view, perfectly situated for antiquities
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444366
+44 20 8878 4620
Luxor Nile area
5

The best place at the westbank

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
Wir waren zum 6. mal in Luxor, aber nie war es so schön. Dieses Haus ist ein Traum! Architektonisch mehr als gelungen, in hervorragender Lage und mit einem Traumblick von der Dachterasse. Khyry als Verwalter ist perfekt: Unaufdringlich, kompetent, intelligent und sehr witzig, ein Kenner des Landes und seiner Geschichte. Er war immer da, wenn wir ihn brauchten. Danke auch an Hassan und Said für wundervolle Frühstückstische und eine rundum tolle Betreuung.
Wir kommen wieder!!!

Gabriele und Jochen
Helpful votes: 1/2