Sea Ranch house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Sea Ranch House Rental Photos and Description
Main house: 2 Bed/2 Bath. 'Casita': 1 Bed/1 Bath

Tastefully decorated home with Sea Ranch/Pottery Barn look and a high-end kitchen. Four decks to enjoy ocean and garden views. Easy walk to Shell Beach and privately located at the end of the cul-de-sac. Located on .5 acre with empty .5 acre lots on either side. Ideal for three couples or a family. Three gas hearths, large HD television with DVR, hot tub, free wireless internet service included. Main House: 1 King, 1 Queen, 1 Double Sofabed. Casita: 1 Queen. ( Please note that we do not rent the 'Casita' alone.)

There is an openness to this home not only inside with its many windows but outside too. Unique to our house is the large open mowed space surrounding the house which has allowed for many a whiffle ball game, soccer, bocce, frisbee or kite flying. Bring your bicycles to enjoy either mountain biking on the trails or biking Leeward Road for a 8 mile roundtrip from our house on a road with little elevation change.

We designed the detached 'Casita' for a unique suite with its own deck, gas fireplace, flat screen t.v., DVD & spectacular views. Family & guests cannot decide which master suite they like best at the house. Our decks give you lots of options for sun or shade & protection from wind. The solar effect on the vast front windows keep the house toasty warm on cold days.

'Abalone Point' has been under property management for 4 years but we now have the time to manage the property ourselves and offer amenities not possible before. Our home will now have linens provided with the beds made so that you can enjoy your visit from the moment you walk in the door. You will find kitchen & bath towels too. Through our years of renting, we discovered many homes lacked kitchen amenities. We enjoy cooking & decided to outfit the kitchen with good kitchen dishes, sharp knives, pots and pans, lots of spices and seasonings for the gourmet chef. Views from the kitchen windows will make you want to cook. The couch and window seat will draw you for a nap, reading a book, or watching the wildlife. Deer love to graze around the house and often take their afternoon naps under the shade of a tree down from the house. Don't be surprised to see hawks, turkeys, or a fox walk by. You can take a walk or bike ride to Shell or Tidepool Beach. The seals are always there, taking their naps or watching you as you explore the beach. Another favorite spot in the house is the game table with views as you do a jigsaw puzzle or play one of the many games provided.

One-Eyed Jack playground is a short distance away and our grandchildren love exploring the cypress hedgerow next to the playground.We are sure you will enjoy your stay and love the peacefulness & beauty of The Sea Ranch.

More Details
Hide Details

Our family camped on the North Coast for nearly 30 years with a love of the ocean, abalone diving and good times camping with family and friends. We learned of The Sea Ranch and began to rent homes after our camping area was closed. We soon discovered the wonderful amenities and luxuries that Sea Ranch offered.

We decided to name our house 'Abalone Point' since we loved abalone diving and we met 44 years ago on Catalina Island and loved swimming at Abalone Point on Catalina Island. We are now retired and can spend the time to maintain and keep our Sea Ranch home up to our standards.

Peggy and Tom Phister purchased this house in 2008

'Abalone Point' has been under property management for 4 years but we now have the time to manage the property ourselves and offer amenities not possible before. Our home will now have linens provided with the beds made so that you can enjoy your visit from the moment you walk in the door. You will find kitchen & bath towels too. Through our years of renting, we discovered many homes lacked kitchen amenities. We enjoy cooking & decided to outfit the kitchen with good kitchen dishes, knives, pots and pans, lots of spices and seasonings for the gourmet chef. Please let us know if we are missing some! Views from the kitchen windows will make you want to cook. The couch and window seat will draw you for a nap, reading a book, or watching the wildlife. Deer love to graze around the house and often take their afternoon naps under the shade of a tree down from the house. Don't be surprised to see hawks, turkeys, or a fox walk by. You can take a walk or bike ride to Shell or Tidepool Beach. Our grandchildren love collecting shells and other treasures at these amazing spots (especially at low tide). The seals are always there, taking their naps or watching you as you explore the beach. Another favorite spot in the house is the game table with views as you do a jigsaw puzzle or play one of the many games provided.

One-Eyed Jack playground is a short distance away and our grandchildren love exploring the cypress hedgerow next to the playground.

We fell in love with the openness of this home not only inside but outside. Unique to our house is the large open mowed space surrounding the house which has allowed for many a whiffle ball game, soccer, bocce, frisbee or kite flying. Bring your bicycles to enjoy either mountain biking on the trails or biking Leeward Road for a 8 mile roundtrip from our house on a road with little elevation change.

We designed the detached 'Casita' for a unique suite with its own deck, gas fireplace, flat screen t.v., DVD & spectacular views. Family & guests cannot decide which master suite they like best at the house. You will see from our photo album at the house that we have done much of the work ourselves from installing slate floors, painting, to unique artistic light fixtures. Our decks give you lots of options for sun or shade & protection from wind. The solar effect on the vast front windows keep the house toasty warm on cold days. We are sure you will enjoy your stay and love the peacefulness & beauty of The Sea Ranch.

13 Reviews of Property 444066 in Sea Ranch, California

Abalone Point: Oceanside Panoramic View Home Near Shell Beach
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
Abalone Point: Oceanside Panoramic View Home Near Shell Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444066vbi
530-756-0815
Sea Ranch North Coast California
4

Lovely

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
A lovely home with views of the ocean. Secluded Perfect for star gazing. Many trails.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Abalone Point: Oceanside Panoramic View Home Near Shell Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444066vbi
530-756-0815
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Berkeley, CA
5

such a getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We returned to Abalone Point after having stayed the previous year. The house is lovely, comfy, cozy yet open and light, and so well equipped (especially the kitchen!). The layout of the place is nice for hanging out with family and friends after a day out walking, playing tennis, watching seals....thank you!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Abalone Point: Oceanside Panoramic View Home Near Shell Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444066vbi
530-756-0815
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Oakalnd
5

2 Grandparents, 3 adults and 3 children

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 9, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Terrific Sea Ranch Family Home. Abalone point is well equipped and very comfortable. There was lots of space for together time and even some break out space for privacy. It was very easy to work with the owners and everything was as described. Abalone Point is well located along the bluff with easy walking to the beach. The kids loved this home, the hot tub, tennis, pool and especially the beach. Same for the adults. We now have a new family tradition.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Abalone Point: Oceanside Panoramic View Home Near Shell Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444066vbi
530-756-0815
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Dana Point
5

Everything As Promised!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Thank you to Peggy and Tom for a great stay in The Sea Ranch. The home was just as promised - large and comfy, well-supplied great big kitchen, large flat-screen TV, large sectional sofa just begging you to take a quick snooze before dinner. It was chilly, but we never touched the thermostat because the large windows let the sun warm the entire house. The beds were comfortable (thanks for supplying the linens and towels!), the master bath enormous, great bath tub beckoning you to take a Calgon break ... The directions to the property and instructions on access and what and what not to do were spot-on.

The Sea Ranch Lodge is rather expensive -- more than we paid for this beautiful home. AND the lodge doesn't have any TVs in their 19 rooms, so unless you are there to actually do NOTHING, Abalone Point is the place to stay.

We were there for my son's wedding, and while it was the usual Sea Ranch fog most of the time, the sun came out ten minutes before the ceremony, and the weather cooperated for the rest of the weekend. It's rutting season, and the deer and bucks were a spectacular site to see -- we even had a doe on the front lawn Sunday night, and a bushy-tailed fox scampered across our path on several occasions.

General Info: We went to The Black Point Grill for dinner Friday (party of 12), and the food was wonderful. We also at at a Mexican restaurant in Point Arena Sunday ... it was good, but not the great Mexican food you can find in SoCal. Two Fish bakery near The Lodge has to-die-for Morning Buns and other sweet delicacies, so don't miss that. There is no taxi service, so having a car is a must. It is pitch black at night so have a flashlight ready ... and wouldn't recommend walking at night unless there is a full moon and you can see critters. It is chilly at night, and typically quite damp this time of year.

All in all, a spectacular setting, a perfect weekend getaway, close to The Lodge for amazing cuisine, grocery stores a few miles up the road in Gualala (charming town), and a home that was truly Our Home for three days. We hope to be back soon. Thank you for our Abalone Point experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Abalone Point: Oceanside Panoramic View Home Near Shell Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444066vbi
530-756-0815
Sea Ranch North Coast California
5

Great house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a great stay at abalone point........the weather was perfect for sitting out on the front deck.........roomy, comfortable house with all the amenities.......couldn't ask for more!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Abalone Point: Oceanside Panoramic View Home Near Shell Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444066vbi
530-756-0815
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Woodland, Ca
5

Fantastic Labor Day

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Thanks for a wonderful weekend. Your home and the whole weekend was fantastic. We especially want to thank you for arranging such nice weather. 75 to 80 degrees whole time we were there and no wind or fog. Too many stars at night. Amazing. Sat on the deck after dark, enjoyed good bottle of wine and could not believe how lit up the sky was. Accommodations were great. Kitchen was well appointed. Very comfortable beds. Everything was there that we needed. We have been going to Sea Ranch for 15 to 20 years and your home is at the top of our list. We try and go once a year, so hopefully next year we can return. Our son and daughter-in-law, and our two granddaughters (2 and 4 yrs) were with us. Just enough of a breeze they could fly a kite in front of your house in the afternoon. They had lots of fun. Beach to playground. Thanks again for great trip. T, J, A, J, R, and P
P.S. Shot 81, 82 at golf course, took a couple of bucks off my son (does not happen often). It was a great weekend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Abalone Point: Oceanside Panoramic View Home Near Shell Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444066vbi
530-756-0815
Sea Ranch North Coast California
United States
5

Nice house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a family reunion for the 4th of July and we had a great experience at sea ranch. The owners have furnished the house with taste, and it is very welcoming. It is literally 10 minutes away from the beach + Sear Ranch offers great amenities like pool (which kids loved) and lodge. It is 5 minutes of beautiful drive away from Gualala where you can find most of what you need.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Abalone Point: Oceanside Panoramic View Home Near Shell Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444066vbi
530-756-0815
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Irvine, CA
5

Great Rental for All Ages

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We recently returned from a stay at Abalone Point and we can't wait to go back! It is truly a beautiful home that encourages relaxation and fun for the whole family. We were traveling with our four year old and almost two year old and they had a ball! The master bedroom is very spacious and has a large walk-in closet that easily accommodated our pack n' play for the little one. He didn't seem to mind sleeping in a closet (it even has a high window so it's not too dark) and he napped very well in there since it was well away from the other more active areas of the house. The master bed is incredibly comfortable and the view out to the meadow and the blue water is amazing! The common areas of the house are large and there is plenty of room for kids to play with toys or the family to gather and watch a DVD or just hang out and chat. The main deck has a table and chairs and our kids loved eating meals out there. Our four year old was literally in tears when we had to leave and she wanted to wave her magic wand so we could live there! :-) All in all, if you're traveling with little ones, this house will provide you with a great place to make some terrific family memories.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Abalone Point: Oceanside Panoramic View Home Near Shell Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444066vbi
530-756-0815
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Lake Oswego, OR
5

Beautiful Comfortable Vacation Home...Ahhhhhhhhh

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We enjoyed a full week with three adults and six children in this beautiful home. Sea Ranch has been a favorite destination of ours for more than 35 years, and this year, the family reunion outgrew our normal place. What a treat to stay at Abalone Point! We loved the proximity to the beaches (easy walk), the trails (great for a jog or a nature hike) the pools and rec centers, and Gualala for lunch or an ice cream cone for the kids. The house is wonderfully appointed; beds are very comfortable and the open design and wraparound decks made for several spaces in which the family could gather.
The kitchen is a cook's dream - very well equipped for meals large and small. Lots of appliances you wouldn't normally find in a vacation rental; we were able to cook everything we wanted! Dishware, glassware and silverware were plentiful as were cooking utensils - the gourmet will not be disappointed.
The blue water views from most rooms in the house are breathtaking, as are the deer and wild turkeys that roam through the yard. We stopped the kids many times to point out animals strolling through the meadow. Wonderful!
The casita was a perfect extra bedroom and during the day, it made a great "clubhouse" for the kids, which kept things a bit quieter for the adults! The hot tub was an extra bonus at the end of a long hard day spent collecting shells and chasing waves.....
Overall, an extremely well maintained home that we can recommend highly!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Abalone Point: Oceanside Panoramic View Home Near Shell Beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p444066vbi
530-756-0815
Sea Ranch North Coast California
Roseville, CA
5

Wonderfully Cozy Home Promises Memorable and Relaxing Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We have been going to Sea Ranch for over a decade, and our family had one of our best trips to Sea Ranch ever staying at Abalone Point. The owners were wonderful to deal with, responsive, accomodating, and helpful. It was such a treat to walk into the home and not have to set up all of the towels and linens on the beds, and pack them up when you leave like at most property rentals in Sea Ranch. The sheets were good quality, and the beds were comfortable. The kitchen had all the items that you need for making meals at home, and for simple baking. The layout of the home maximizes the family room space where we spent the bulk of our time in the house, as we relaxed and enjoyed the distant ocean views. The gas fireplaces and the afternoon sun keep the house toasty warm all day and night long. The grassy area in front of and adjacent to the lot provide an extra sense of space and solitude which we thoroughly enjoyed. We loved our stay, and hope to return again soon!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway