La Ribera El Borne apartment rental - dining room and kitchen
dining room and kitchen
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps5
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 6 nights
 

La Ribera El Borne Apartment Rental Photos and Description
2 br. 2 bth, 85m2, 4/5 guests, near Picasso Museum and Sta Mª del Mar

This amazing apartment combines the flavor of an ancient flat - high ceilings (3,5m.), wood beams, old balconies - with the comfort that modern life requires: double glass windows, WIFI, air conditioning, new bathrooms. On the 2nd floor of an historic building, this 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms apartment has been completely remodeled in 2008. No lift. The flat extends over 85m2 in 3 levels.

A- Middle level: entrance, living room, dining-room, open kitchen with modern appliances, nice and sunny balcony, bathroom #2; access to the high and low levels.

B- High level (6 steps up from the Middle level): main bedroom with queen size bed, en suite bathroom, wide dressing room, quiet balcony.

C- Low level (8 steps down from the Middle level): bedroom #2, (2/3 beds).

Facilities – Internet connection, wood floor, leather sofa and armchair, air conditioning, TV, washing machine, spin-dryer, home linen, etc.

13 Reviews of Property 443915 in La Ribera El Borne, Spain

Stunning renewed flat (El Born, city centre) 2br, 2bth -Wifi, PK-
average rating of 4.230769 based on 13 reviews
business
Stunning renewed flat (El Born, city centre) 2br, 2bth -Wifi, PK-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443915
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
3

Apartment in the Born

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Great location! Right next to the Santa Maria de la Mare in the heart of the Born. Minutes walk to the Picasso Museum, on top of the best dessert place in Barcelona (Bubo) and near great tapas bars. You get the keys from the pharmacy which is open all the time (almost) and we got a second set of keys which was very helpful.
Everything worked well within the apartment - excellent WIFI -- we could not figure out the TV which was probably for the best anyway! Washer-dryer worked, plenty of hot water, and we were able to have tea, snacks etc when needed. Altogether a great escape!
business
Stunning renewed flat (El Born, city centre) 2br, 2bth -Wifi, PK-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443915
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
4

Excellent location. Great flat.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This apartment has been well maintained and is well appointed with furniture, kitchen needs and bathroom linens. Even better is the location, with great walking parts of Barcelona just outside the door, restaurant options galore, ease of access. It's in a lively part of town, so expect some noise coming in from outside social activities and street clean-up, but it's not excessive. Only complaint was the double bed was a bit hard, but the twin beds were comfortable and cozy. Very enjoyable stay and we'd come back to this rental.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning renewed flat (El Born, city centre) 2br, 2bth -Wifi, PK-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443915
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
San Francisco, CA
4

Great Location!!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This renovated apartment is in the historic district; close to many restaurants and bars and within walking distance of all of the main attractions in Barcelona. The owners are very easy to work with and the apartment has everything one needs for a terrific stay in Barcelona.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning renewed flat (El Born, city centre) 2br, 2bth -Wifi, PK-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443915
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
USA
5

Fabulous Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 25, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
As two couples, we stayed here for 3 nights and it was absolutely perfect.... Location was ideal, and apartment itself was in great condition. Directions to find it were a little tricky, so make sure you double-check before arrival, but any troubles there were outweighed entirely by the overall great experience.

Thanks to Carmen was being easy and straight-forward to work with!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning renewed flat (El Born, city centre) 2br, 2bth -Wifi, PK-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443915
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
5

Excellent apartment in an excellent location!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
My sisters, daughter and I stayed at the apartment for 8 nights, selecting it largely based on the great reviews. (Note: the tips left by others were incredibly helpful!) The location of the apartment could not be better. It is minutes away from everything - beach, main artery, large market, museums, etc. and there are great restaurants and shops in the alley surrounding the apartment building. The grocer and produce shops are literally 40 feet from the door, and the best chocolatier in town is directly beneath the building. The kitchen was well supplied for all our cooking and eating needs (even if we did have to run out to buy salt and pepper). Having a washer and dryer in the apartment meant being able to pack lightly for the trip; and laundry detergent was supplied by the owner.

The stairs up to the apartment didn't bother us, but they may not be for everyone. There are also bells of two nearby churches that ring on the hour and quarter hour that some people might find annoying (although they did not ring late at night). The foot traffic/noise outside the window at all hours is going to be an issue just about anywhere in that area, not just at this apartment. Using the fan helped block out some of the noise. The only other suggestion is: if you leave the apartment while someone is still in it, don't forget to take the key to the exterior door as the intercom does not work.

Overall: Any minor inconveniences (and they were minor) were greatly outweighed by the convenience of this great location.
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Stunning renewed flat (El Born, city centre) 2br, 2bth -Wifi, PK-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443915
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
4

Excellent Location! Some Minor Hiccups.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
The location could not be better if you are wanting to experience life in the Ancient part of Barcelona. Numerous shops, restaurants, tourist attractions within 5-15 minute walks. You are also near Metro, Train, and tourist bus stops.

We booked a one-way airport transfer in advance. The service was nice, since we have not been to Spain before, however, we took a cab on our return trip. The easiest and most economical option is really just getting a cab when you arrive, which is quite simple.

The apartment was modern, comfortable, and most importantly, clean. Unfortunately, the Clothes Washer was out of service, which caused some inconvenience for our travelling party. We packed lightly under the impression we could do some laundry. We had to go to a laundromat. Landlord did reimburse for the cost, but still an inconvenience. We had some issues with the in room safe, directions in spanish and could not open it. I would agree with a previous reviewer that a "general information sheet" would be an improvement. I would not recommend this apartment to anyone with Mobility issues. The stairs are narrow and winding to get to the entrance. Once in the apartment, you have use stairs to access the bedrooms. If you are a light sleeper, then Spain may not be the place for you! Street noise and neighbors loud, but I think this is true of all of the areas.

We had a fabulous time in Barcelona and this apartment gave us a more authentic glimpse of the lifestyle than a hotel would have.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Stunning renewed flat (El Born, city centre) 2br, 2bth -Wifi, PK-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443915
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
5

Our Wonderful Barcelona Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We rented this apartment for 10 weeks last fall and had a wonderful time! We highly recommend the apartment. First of all, the location is fantastic - right in the heart of old Barcelona, with narrow streets, medieval buildings -- literally a five-minute walk from the Picasso museum. But also we were about at 15-minute walk from the beach, 10 minutes from the cathedral, and so on. We walked almost everywhere and, when it was a bit far, took the metro.

Around the apartment are many shops, bars, and restaurants. One of our favorites was Bar Salvador, just steps away from the flat, serving a terrific lunch fixed price menu for only 9.9 euros. Good tapas bars and restaurants nearby as well.

The flat itself is as it appears in the photos, but perhaps some explaining would be helpful. There are actually three levels within the apartment. On the main there is one room for living, dining, cooking with very high, beamed ceilings, and one bath. Down a flight of stairs is the second bedroom. And up a short flight of stairs (from the main level) is the master bedroom and bath. There is ample storage.

One note -- this is definitely not an appropriate apartment for anyone with disabilities or problems climbing stairs. One has to walk up about 50 steps just to get to the apartment -- and the stairway is narrow with several turns. Getting our bags up and down was difficult. And then, of course, inside the apartment as we mentioned above -- more stairs.

And the entrance to the flat can be a little deceiving to find because it's not on the first level but really on the second level above the ground floor. And there are two doorways -- the door to this flat is the one straight ahead from the stairs, NOT the one to the right.

Also, there are two different keys to the door to the flat, in addition to the key to the front door to the building. Make sure you get all three keys when you arrive.

There can be some street noise late at night, but we found that if we kept the bedroom window closed, the noise was less intrusive. (And there is air conditioning, if the weather is warm.)

To sum up, we loved this apartment and would highly recommend it.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Stunning renewed flat (El Born, city centre) 2br, 2bth -Wifi, PK-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443915
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
Nice, Fr
4

excellent location, a couple of suggestions

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 1, 2010
  • Stayed: Nov 2010
We stayed here over Thanksgiving. The location was very nice, and the provided parking was excellent.

The wireless access ID and passcode are on the bottom of the adsl box. I didnt realize that at first.

A few minor suggestions:
you should consider rehanging the bathroom doors, they don't close well.
It would be useful to have a paper with basic instructions on how to use the TV, internet, heater/AC, etc.
A small photocopy map of the area with 'you are here', and the nearest metro stations marked on it would be useful for people from out of town, like us.
If you could mark the apartment number on the door, it would help people find it. We kept trying to open the door on the first floor until someone from the pharmacy showed us where it was.

Overall a wonderful experience.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/7
business
Stunning renewed flat (El Born, city centre) 2br, 2bth -Wifi, PK-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443915
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
madison
5

2 weeks in BCN, great apt

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2010
  • Stayed: Oct 2010
My family and I spent 2 weeks in this apartment and in all the touring of Barcelona we did, this neighborhood was absolutely our favorite. I was somewhat concerned when we viewed the area around the apartment using google's street view. However, they must have captured the images very early in the morning when all the shops were closed which gives it a very uninviting impression. After arriving we found that their are several unique restaurants and shops right outside your door. We didn't have problems with street noise and found the surrounding area to be quite safe.

Our 1 yr old son was sick when we arrived and the owners went out of their way to check in on us and offer their assistance. The apartment itself is accurately represented in the photos and description. We enjoyed the high ceilings with exposed beams that are typical architectural elements of this region. Do note that due to the high ceilings the 2nd floor that this apartment is on does have number of stairs to reach it. We didn't have problems getting our son up and down each day but we used a light weight umbrella stroller, anything bigger would be problematic. A grocery store down the street was able to set us up with a card so we could rent moves from their machine and watch them in english. We also found a good supermarket just north of the Picasso museum which had everything we needed at cheaper prices than the small shops you'll find right around the apartment. There is also a very nice park a few blocks away (where the zoo is) which has a wonderful little park for kids which our son loved.
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Stunning renewed flat (El Born, city centre) 2br, 2bth -Wifi, PK-
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443915
La Ribera El Borne Ciutat Vella
manila, philippines
5

unbeatable location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 4, 2010
  • Stayed: Sep 2010
Stayed here with my brothers and mom in September 2010. Location is perfect! El Born is a treasure grove! Flat is all you will need for a quick stay in Barcelona. WiFi worked perfectly! Landlady and all the staff at her nearby pharmacy are very pleasant and helpful.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 2/2