Duluth cottage rental - View of the living room from the loft, great area for conversing and relaxing!
View of the living room from the loft, great area for conversing and relaxing!
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Duluth Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Beautiful Swedish Cottage on 100' of private shoreline on Little Pequaywan Lake

This new construction is wonderfully appointed and a great space for your getaway. The interior is constructed with light bright aspen paneling & red oak flooring. The vaulted great room is terrific for entertaining and warming next to the woodstove. The custom kitchen boasts granite countertops, stainless appliances, a center island for gathering and is fully furnished. The full bath is finished off with black Vermont slate, granite countertops and aspen paneling. The two bedrooms and sleeping loft comfortably sleep 6-8 guests. The large deck overlooking the lake leads to a good sized flat yard perfect for playing catch or other outdoor games. From the yard there is set of stairs to the swimming area & dock. The swimming area has clear water with a solid gravel bottom.

Winter: For snowmobiling fanatics, this property is located w/in one mile of the Pequaywan & Brimson Trails! The lake offers a number of species for ice fishermen. The area also has significant public property available for cross country skiing and snowshoeing!

Summer: Our sauna is a great way to relax at the end of a hard day of vacationing. To add to your relaxing vacation, we also offer a patio with grill/patio furniture, kayaks, a power boat available for rent (lake does not have a public access) and many other amenities for you to enjoy! Little Pequaywan Lake (aka Smith Lake) contains walleye, crappies, pan fish, bass and northern pike for fishing enthusiasts.

More Details
Hide Details

The cottage on Little Pequaywan is owned by a group of friends from the Duluth area who have maintained their friendship through their shared love of the outdoors. Throughout the last several years, we have completed some wild adventures together, such as: kayaking the Mississippi River, biking around Lake Superior and hiking the Grand Canyon from rim to rim to rim.

Lately, we have decided to spend more time enjoying the area we have all lived in for most of our lives, Northern Minnesota! In order to enjoy the area to the fullest extent, we decided to purchase a cabin on one of the most beautiful lakes in the area, Little Pequaywan Lake.

A little more about us:

Tony: Grew up in Chisholm, Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; is currently employed as an engineer in Duluth.

Chandra: Grew up in Minnesota; graduated from Lake Superior College; currently employed in the physical therapy field in the Duluth area.

Lucas: Grew up in Northern Minnesota; graduated from the University of MN-Twin Cities; currently employed as an engineer in Duluth.

Roxanne: Grew up in Sturgeon Lake, MN; graduated from the University of MN-Duluth; currently employed in the human resources field in Duluth.

Lucas and Tony purchased this cottage in 2012

The first time we drove up to this property we knew it was the one for us (likely the reason why we made an offer to purchase the next day!).

The well built and beautifully furnished cottage is situated 100' from the waters edge with a panoramic view from the living room, dining room and front patio. At the waters edge you will find 100' of lakeshore with a hard gravel bottom and a dock to enjoy everything the lake has to offer.

The beautifully furnished living/dining area is a great place to relax and converse after a long day on the water or in the many acres of state owned forest just minutes from the cabin.

If the outdoors is your primary reason for visiting, you will really enjoy fishing on Little Pequaywan Lake (very little traffic, no public landing) or snowmobiling on the many miles of local trails (less than a mile from the Brimson and Pequaywan trails).

38 Reviews of Property 443423 in Duluth, Minnesota

Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
average rating of 4.9 based on 38 reviews
business
Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443423vbi
+1 2186267803
Duluth Minnesota
4

Lovely cabin

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Lovely Cabin, a nice little cabin just to get away for a while. Love the bedrooms, kitchen and living room. The only down part was that it was still winter and there was no wifi also no access to the sana, and beside that the bathroom door nobe was broken when we got there. Love the place though. It's a beautiful view of the lake. Hoping to return in the summer for some fishing when the lake is warmer.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We are not sure why the bathroom door knob loosened up over time? Our plan is to Loctite the two bolts that hold the knob together. Hopefully this will prevent future occurances. The sauna has been available to all guests since it has been constructed. This is the second time that it has been reported as locked or unavailable. Our best guess is that the moisture from the sauna is causing the door to freeze closed. Our goal in May is to install a new vent in the changing room with a timer to hopefully prevent this from happening in the future.

Thanks for reporting the issues,
Lucas
business
Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443423vbi
+1 2186267803
Duluth Minnesota
5

Beautiful Cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Me, my husband, two kids, and dog stayed at the cabin last week for spring break. It was a beautiful cabin. It was nice to get away from the cities and be forced to relax for a week :) The sauna was so relaxing and the kids loved the loft. We're hoping to make it up again when the weather is warmer. Thanks Tony and Luke for helping to provide us with a much needed relaxing vacation!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad to hear you met your objective for the weekend. We are glad each if you found something to appreciate at the cabin...
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443423vbi
+1 2186267803
Duluth Minnesota
5

Never disappoint!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This is my second time stay at the property. I haven't been disappointed. My husband and I would love to make it a tradition to come up here!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are excited to hear you enjoyed your stay! We look forward to hosting you again in the future.
business
Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443423vbi
+1 2186267803
Duluth Minnesota
5

A Great Retreat in the Woods Near Duluth

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We were looking for a new place to stay to go cross country skiing with our bother in law, sister in law and her daughters. We wanted nearby skiing, room enough for everyone to have a bed, a fireplace and fairly close to a larger city. This cabin was beautiful as the new owners had remodeled it with thick knotty pine paneling on ceiling an walls. The loft had four twin beds and was great for the three single ladies. We skied Mother Bear , about 10 minutes north on Pequakan Lake Road and Big Boulder Reserve about 30minutes southwest. We saw cougar tracks, deer, and eagles. The Pequakan Inn was handy for a grocery item and a beer. This area lends itself to snowmobiling but we had a great time and were very happy as non-motorized outdoors folks. Check out Ski Hut East in Duluth as they fixed my husbands ski binding gratis. I our only disappointment is that the property is already very booked through the fall!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443423vbi
+1 2186267803
Duluth Minnesota
4

Nice Winter getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The cabin was very nice and we enjoyed our time there. The only disappointment was we were excited about being able to take a sauna but the sauna was locked and no key was available. Since there was no cell service, wifi, or land line there was no way to get in touch with the owners to ask about the sauna. Other than that, we really liked the cabin.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We apologize for the inconvenience related to the sauna; it typically is left unlocked for our guests and was inadvertently locked. Also, we are pleased to announce that we have since installed a land-line phone at the cabin so that there is a more convenient way to contact us or emergency services if our guests do not have cell service.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443423vbi
+1 2186267803
Duluth Minnesota
5

Wonderful place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a wonderful time at this beautiful property! The space was great, the decor lovely and Luke and Tony were great to work with. We loved our stay there and are excited to plan our next stay this summer!

Only draw back is that it's just a little bit off the grid, so there is no cell service and the property wasn't, at the time, equipped with a phone or internet. Would have been nice to be able to contact children at home or have something to use in case of an emergency. I did share this with the owner and they said it was something they are looking into though.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Cell phone service is spotty around the cabin, AT&T offers the best coverage. Based on your comments, we will have a phone available for guests to make local and emergency calls starting February 13, 2014. High speed internet is not available around the cabin, but we hope to have it in the coming year! Thanks for the feedback.

Tony and Luke
business
Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443423vbi
+1 2186267803
Duluth Minnesota
5

Winter getaway.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We wanted just a little winter getaway to do some hiking or ice fishing, but then along came the "polar vortex", so the temps got a little too cold for those things. However we had a lovely time staying indoors, looking at the beautiful view, playing cards, doing puzzles, etc. by the cozy wood stove. The cottage is darling and well equipped and the owners were extremely helpful in answering our questions. We hope to come back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay in spite of the weather! Hopefully we can host your next getaway!
business
Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443423vbi
+1 2186267803
Duluth Minnesota
NYA, MN
5

Cozy cabin!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Beautiful updated cabin perfect for a getaway!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We appreciate the review, hopefully you will stay with us the next time you travel to Duluth!
business
Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443423vbi
+1 2186267803
Duluth Minnesota
5

girls weekend 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My friends and I passed by the cabin thinking it was too good to be true, it was so adorable!! What a cozy and classy stay. We've stayed at many cabins up north, but this cabin actually matched the quality of the surroundings. The simple decor and updated features made this cabin such a relaxing place to stay. We joked that there were no ugly pillows or pictures to hide so we wouldn't be distracted. :) The kitchen was perfect for shared cooking nights we had planned and true to it's description. We did bring a few of our extra kitchen tools like our garlic press, micro-plane zester, and etc and I was glad the notes to us ahead of time said to do so. There were all the basics but if you plan to cook up a storm, bring your extras as noted. Some of us went on walks and one die hard girl ran every morning in the sub-zero cold and said the path was amazingly beautiful. We can't wait to go back and would recommend this place to anyone looking for a getaway in style. Thank you cabin owners for sharing this beauty!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Heather,

We are glad that we met your expectations. We also really appreciate the kind words and recommendation. We look forward to hosting your next event in Duluth.

Lucas and Tony
business
Modern 4 Season Cottage; Book your getaway today!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p443423vbi
+1 2186267803
Duluth Minnesota
5

Even better than expected

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
4 adults and 4 kids had an awesome time at the cottage! Amazing cottage, amazing view of the lake! The cottage is well maintained, very clean, comfortable, and well appointed. The kids slept in the loft -- which worked really well. We took 2 day trips during our stay -- one to Gooseberry Falls, and the other to Temperance River. We loved getting hot in the sauna, and then running into the lake. The adults had a great time playing board games after the kids went to bed. I am a regular user of VRBO, and this cottage is one of the best VRBO accommodations that we have stayed in. Thank you Tony and Lucas!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are very excited to hear that you had a great time! We look forward to hosting your group again in the future!

Lucas and Tony