Charlottesville cottage rental - Circa 1856 Servants' Cottage at Wolf Trap Farm.
Circa 1856 Servants' Cottage at Wolf Trap Farm.
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Charlottesville Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, Studio, Bath (Sleeps 4)

The foot-wide, hand-sawn boards that make up the ceiling reveal this cottage's original time of construction (1856) and its original purpose (housing for house servants of the Manor). Renovated in 2012, it now boasts a modern full kitchen and bath, split-system heat pump, and charming furnishings selected by our professional interior designer. Best of all, the cottage is on our 600 acre horse and cattle farm, where you have beautiful views in all directions, no sound of traffic, endless woodland trails, and quick and easy access to all the attractions of the Charlottesville area. Plus, it has a huge covered patio on the back side, with ceiling fans, lights, a gas grill, very comfortable furniture and views of several of our horse paddocks.

At Wolf Trap Farm, we have been offering our Manor House and Pond House to travelers since 2004 - to rave reviews. This new offering is ideal for couples or families with a few small children (who can use the queen-sized sofa bed) or even for two couples who do not need privacy (the sofa bed is at the opposite end of the room from the queen-sized bed).

Our guests are always thrilled by the opportunity to enjoy such a large and beautiful pastoral setting. Our entry road is almost a miles long, and you pass ponds, cattle pastures and through cedar-lined sections. At the top of the hill, you find our farm complex, with the Manor House (with this Servants' Cottage snuggled in behind), our bell-roofed barn (former dairy barn), our 1856 bank barn, and other farm buildings. The Pond House and the Dairyman's house are also within view, as is the training ring for our stables. There is a wonderful fishing pond full of bass and bream, and we supply the fishing equipment. And there are miles and miles of woodland trails, two impressive rope swings, horseshoe pits, a hot tub, views of the mountains, ancient boxwoods, and horses and cows to watch. Our wild residents include geese, turkeys, deer, fox, badgers, racoons, coyotes (sadly), thousands of frogs, and the occasional snake, skunk. and field mouse.

So come enjoy the farm, and create a memory that will last forever.

More Details
Hide Details

I have been a lawyer in Norfolk, VA since 1979. For the past 20-some years, we have also bought and renovated run-down properties. We have three adult children and four grandchildren so far.

Keith Cuthrell purchased this cottage in 2003

In 2003, while searching for a little mountain getaway cottage of some sort, I overshot and ended up buying this 600 acre rundown farm. The Charlottesville area has special charm for anyone who knows Virginia, and the village of Gordonsville is just impossible to beat. Also, at the time, I was riding quite a lot, and this area boasts some of the best fox hunts in America.

This farm has the beautiful rolling landscape that is suitable for picture postcards. It is so secluded, but you are also just a few minutes from civilization of the best type (quaint villages). Everywhere you drive in this area you are passing gorgeous historic estates. Having restored one of those estates and being able to offer it to the public for vacation use is quite a thrill.

8 Reviews of Property 442721 in Charlottesville, Virginia

Servants' Cottage on 600 Acre Working Horse/Cattle Estate
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Servants' Cottage on 600 Acre Working Horse/Cattle Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442721vb
+1 (540) 832-1803
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Washington DC
5

Wonderfully relaxing cottage on beautiful farm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
The Servant's Cottage is beautiful and well appointed and the owner and host are both extremely helpful. If you are looking for a relaxing getaway (virtually the only sounds we heard while on the property were horses lightly whinnying and birds. The location is great for exploring the Charlottesville area, including area wineries. I would recommend spending some time just driving along the backroads, perhaps while on your way to Monticello. The owner responded to me immediately when I emailed confirming availability and the hostess was responsive and very helpful. This is a beautiful property and I look forward to returning to this cottage or perhaps one of the other properties on the farm in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Servants' Cottage on 600 Acre Working Horse/Cattle Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442721vb
+1 (540) 832-1803
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Springfield, VA
5

Incredible escape yet so close to the city

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
What a wonderful, restful this cottage is ā€“ just what I wanted and it is so easy to get to. The descriptions and pictures do not do it orthe area justice. The cottage is amazingly spacious with great natural lighting as well as overhead lights and lamps, well insulated (it snowed during my visit), quiet, with full size appliances in the truly fully-equipped kitchen that had more than enough space to store all the food (and unnecessary preparation equipment) I had brought with me. I enjoyed the privacy but when I had a question about trash pickup, someone was there in just minutes. FYI ā€“ the snowfall came Sunday afternoon and night and the farm roads were clear when I went outside around 9 the next morning. Iā€™m already planning my next trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Servants' Cottage on 600 Acre Working Horse/Cattle Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442721vb
+1 (540) 832-1803
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Lake Wylie SC
5

Beth R

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I LOVE this farm and this adorable meticulous cottage. The photos do not give it justice. When I come to the area for business, which is a couple of times per month, this farm is my # choice. It has become my "home away from home". After leaving a busy day working, it's great decompression for me to return to the cottage. The farm is peaceful and well maintained. The home is beautifully decorated and very clean.. I would recommend Wolftrap Farm to anyone!! The owner is quick to respond to any inquiry and clearly takes pride in this amazing property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Beth. We love you, too.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Servants' Cottage on 600 Acre Working Horse/Cattle Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442721vb
+1 (540) 832-1803
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Roanoke, VA
5

Servant's Cottage

Servant's Cottage
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We were looking for a reasonably priced place for several friends to get together in the area and found the Servant's Cottage. It worked well for us and we even took advantage of the hot tube at the Main House. With a light snowfall, the fields and horses created a peaceful and beautiful surrounding.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Servants' Cottage on 600 Acre Working Horse/Cattle Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442721vb
+1 (540) 832-1803
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

From the Guest Book

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
We had a wonderful peaceful visit to the farm with our family. We enjoyed walking/jogging, attempted to catch fish (no nibbles) and enjoyed watering the horses. We never felt the need to leave the farm, and would love to return sometime!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Servants' Cottage on 600 Acre Working Horse/Cattle Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442721vb
+1 (540) 832-1803
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

From the Guest Book

  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Enjoyed farm & surrounding attractions! Lots of history, photo ops & exercise hiking! Great job on renovations -all staff were friendly & helpful! Will be Back !! Richmond, VA.
business
Servants' Cottage on 600 Acre Working Horse/Cattle Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442721vb
+1 (540) 832-1803
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Fluvanna County
5

hideaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The cottage is utterly charming and exactly as described. The property is beautiful, the surroundings lovely and the owner and hostess are very welcoming and helpful. The perfect place to rest and recharge. We are looking forward to go again.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Servants' Cottage on 600 Acre Working Horse/Cattle Estate
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442721vb
+1 (540) 832-1803
Charlottesville Central Virginia
Virginia Beach
5

Charming and Modern

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband and I checked into this cottage for one night with our well-mannered dog. The house keeper left the light on and turned the heat on for us. The directions were perfect, and the warm abode that welcomed us was cozy and perfect for the two of us. The remodeling, layout, and decorations create a relaxing atmosphere; and, the modern lighting, appliances, and conveniences (swiveling flat screen) were appreciated. When we travel, we like to cook our own breakfast, so the stocked kitchen and coffee maker were a must. Our host provided us with soft white towels and a hairdryer.

The porch opens up to the horse pastures. We visited them in the morning and the evening. Our dog met the farm's corgi named Lucy. The cool mountain mist surrounded us in the morning but the sun burned it off by the time we left.

This small cottage does not have wifi, laundry, or a fireplace; and, we did not indulge in any of the farm's other activities. But we will be back in the spring time to play some more. And of special note, the queen mattress was a dream to sleep on!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1