Austin house rental - Front view
Front view
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 - 5 nights
 

Austin House Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom, 2 1/2 bath, full kitchen, sleeps 6

This charming property is centrally located, just north of downtown & UT campus and right next door to the new Dell Children's Hospital. Three parks (with playgrounds, tennis courts, and pool) within walking distance. Bus stop one block from rental - on the bus route to UT. Distance to local attractions: 2.7 miles to University of Texas, 3.6 miles to 6th Street (downtown music district), 3.9 miles to Austin Convention Center, 5.9 miles to Zilker park (location of ACL). The house comes with a fully equipped kitchen, high speed wireless, fenced in yard, and tons of personality. It is ideal for corporate rentals, visiting family/friends, UT fans (great access to the stadium), music festivals (SXSW & ACL), Formula One, or just getting to know Austin.

City Wildlife!: Our neighborhood boasts a family of Peacocks. They roam freely and are usually wandering through our and our neighbor's yards in the morning and early afternoon. Their distinct calls can be heard from the trees where they perch in the evenings.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I have lived in the house just next door to Fernwood Place for just under a decade. We have a studio attached to our house that we have used for Short Term Rentals for years. We have met so many wonderful people that we decided to do the same with the house next door when it became available

Reyna Bishop purchased this house in 2012

We had a great relationship with our neighbor. She took wonderful care of the property. When she decided to sell, it seemed an obvious choice to buy it and continue doing short term rental.

We live right next door and are accessible for any issues or needs.

8 Reviews of Property 442717 in Austin, Texas

Fernwood House - Charming 2BDR House in East Austin
average rating of 5.0 based on 8 reviews
business
Fernwood House - Charming 2BDR House in East Austin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442717vb
(512) 363-8755 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
5

Incredible Home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This is a home that I will rent when I visit Austin with my family. It was clean, beautifully decorated, and wonderfully stocked kitchen with great dishes. Wonderful back yard and patio. Not to mention Peacocks in the back yard that were beautiful!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Fernwood House - Charming 2BDR House in East Austin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442717vb
(512) 363-8755 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Arlington Heights, Illinois
5

Great house with everything you need

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Love the house, plenty of room with everything you need. Strong wifi and TiVo. Coffee & tea with cream, sugar and sweeteners, I love that touch. Nicely furnished.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fernwood House - Charming 2BDR House in East Austin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442717vb
(512) 363-8755 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Metairie, LA
5

Great for those who love to travel with their Pets!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a very comfortable and pleasant stay at Fernwood. The house and location were both convenient and charming. Perfect for those who travel with their furry babies. :) The Peacocks in the morning were an added bonus as well. We took plenty of pictures. :)
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
business
Fernwood House - Charming 2BDR House in East Austin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442717vb
(512) 363-8755 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Manning SC
5

Texas Visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We recently stayed at Fernwood House and Reyna was kind enough to allow us to bring our dog, Obie. That worked out very well since she has a fenced yard. In addition to the fact that the yard was fenced, it was absolutely beautiful. The house itself was great - it has a nice open floor plan that is suitable for hanging out with other people, but also allows you to have some space to yourself if needed. The kitchen was well appointed with everything you would need if you preferred to eat in. However, since it is very easy to access many great local eateries, you certainly would want to try at least a few of them. All in all, I would highly recommend Fernwood - great location to everything - check it out!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Fernwood House - Charming 2BDR House in East Austin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442717vb
(512) 363-8755 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Austin, TX
5

Charming, Indeed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
I stayed at Fernwood for about a week while working on a remodel of my own home. I cannot describe what a wonderful feeling it was to come back at the end of each work day to such a lovely, cozy, and welcoming space. From the giant stuffed comfy couches to the beautifully appointed bedrooms it was truly a home away from home.

I was also fortunate enough to be here during some of Austin's beautiful spring weather and evenings on the back porch with a glass of wine listening to the resident peacocks was a wonderful way to end the day on more than one occasion. The kitchen is large and well appointed and having laundry on site was a lifesaver! The location makes it easy to get anywhere in the city quickly but still gives you the experience of being in a wonderful neighborhood. I recommend morning and evening walks to see the peacocks in action and heading over to the Farmer's Market on Sundays to pick up everything you need for a night in.

Reyna is a wonderful and accommodating hostess, not that I found myself in need of anything. I cannot recommend Fernwood House highly enough. Thanks, Reyna!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fernwood House - Charming 2BDR House in East Austin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442717vb
(512) 363-8755 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Nacogdoches, TX
5

Fernwood house in Austin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We stayed two nights in this nice house while visiting relatives in Austin. So comfortable. The hardwood floors are beautiful, lots of light, big living space. It felt like home. It was everything we needed and more! We would love to come back when it is warmer so we could enjoy the outdoor part of the rental as well. Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fernwood House - Charming 2BDR House in East Austin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442717vb
(512) 363-8755 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Bay Area, CA
5

Stay on Nov 28-30 2012 - Excellent Experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I highly recommend to anyone interested in staying in a beautiful home located nearby to downtown Austin to experience this gem of a property. The decor, comfort and feel was just what I was looking for. I will definitely stay at the Fernwood Place from now on when I visit Austin, TX.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Fernwood House - Charming 2BDR House in East Austin
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p442717vb
(512) 363-8755 (Texas, USA)
Austin Austin area
Orlando, FL USA
5

Review of Fernwood Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
My wife and 4 of our friends stayed at the Fernwood house for Formula One and it was great. Very clean, nice furniture, very quiet neighborhood, and a very good location. The bedrooms were large and the beds were comfortable. My friends had no problems or complaints about the futon and the other extra bed. There was plenty of room for everyone and the place was stocked with everything you would expect at a rental house. We will certainly be back for next years race!


Thanks Reyna!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway