Cayman Brac cottage rental - Cottage
Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Cayman Brac Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Caribbean beach home perfect for your dream getaway!

The cottage is located on the South side/West end of the Island known as the 'golden mile' because of it's preferred location within the only barrier reef on Cayman Brac. The beautiful beach and the calm lagoon allow for water sports year-round. There is no IRONSHORE in this area of the Brac. The Cottage is on the grounds of the resident manager and is the only fully furnished rental home in this area and offers 600 square feet of living space that includes 1 private bedroom, a spacious living/dining area, 1 bath, a fully equipped kitchen, and its own washer dryer.

Owner is Licensed Quafilying Broker with GRI, CRS, CRB designations in the USA with extensive experience in Real Estate. Originally from Texas and graduated from College with BS degree. Relocated to the Brac in 1993 . The Cottage is licensed by the Cayman Islands Department of Tourism. Pride is taken to make guests 'get-away' as perfect as possible, and the Cottage is fully furnished for a 'home away from home'.

Location, Location, Location: It is in the best location because it is within the ONLY barrier reef with a beautiful calm lagoon also allowing safe haven for boats. This area supports Resorts, restaurants, bars, gift shops, wine and spitrits shop - all with walking distance. Cayman Brac is a VERY safe Island with extremely friendly and helpful Caymanians.

The home offers 600 square feet of living space that includes 1 private bedroom, a spacious living/dining area, 1 bath, a fully equipped kitchen, and its own washer dryer. You do not need to bring anything except your shorts, t-shirts, sandals, and walking shoes. The property has shaded areas for relaxation and of course the beautiful beach with cooling breezes.

10 Reviews of Property 441942 in Cayman Brac, Cayman Islands

Cayman Cottage within the 'GOLDEN MILE'
average rating of 5.0 based on 10 reviews
business
Cayman Cottage within the 'GOLDEN MILE'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441942vb
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
5

Well equipped cottage with beautiful private beach

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Cayman cottage shares a property with the larger owner's property. Although the larger house is mostly in front of the cottage, all the beautiful sandy beach is very much yours while you stay there. The cottage has everything you need, and the owner knows everyone and everything to do with CB.
Food shopping is a short drive away and there are some restaurants in walking distance. Delicious conch in coconut and rum punch at the Coral Isle Club Bar
There are many places to snorkel from the shore. Read the guides and look for the "easy entry" sites (it is actually the exits which are not so easy).
Great place for a totally relaxing holiday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cayman Cottage within the 'GOLDEN MILE'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441942vb
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Chico, CA
5

We loved the Cottage. The island is fascinating.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My wife and I just retuned from a three week stay in Cayman Brac at the Cayman Cottage. The cottage was very comfortable for. We loved it. The outside was inviting, lush and tropical just as the pictures show. We really enjoyed lounging on the beach late in the day reading in the shade of the coconut trees, having happy hour, watching the terns, boobies and egrets work the lagoon, and watching the sunset.

During the day we found the island both unique and fascinating for exploring, hiking, bird watching, and spelunking. Snorkeling off of the shore-access dive sites was not what we expected, but we did see lots of beautiful tropical fish.

The local Bracians were very friendly and hospitable. Whenever anyone passes you on the roads they wave like you were an old friend or neighbor. When you are walking they stop and offer you a ride. We got to know several locals.

All in all Brac is a great place for people who want a laid-back tropical vacation with lots of opportunities to explore a very unique island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Cayman Cottage within the 'GOLDEN MILE'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441942vb
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Wellesley, Mass
5

Peace and quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 21, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We are always looking for a vacation spot that is VERY quiet and laid back. Sue's place was all of that and more ! We did not rent a car so we did lots of walking. We decided that we picked the best place on the island ! We found that much of the island is rocky and few places have a good beach. Sue has spent many years sifting the rocks out of the sand on her beach. It was heavenly !! We spent hours every day on the beach either in the sun or under beautiful palm trees that offered lots of shade. Sue also gives her guests lots of privacy and rarely comes out on the beach.

The Cottage was great. There was nothing missing. We did all of our own cooking and had lots of fun feeding the crabs. What a hoot ! They eat everything, including coffee grinds.

The only frustration was in Grand Cayman's airport. It was complete confusion !! So be prepared for lots of people and long lines !

We will certainly be back! Thanks Sue for a wonderful vacation !!!

Karen & Brian
Mass
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Karen and Brian:

Thank you sooo much for your great review. It is really important for me to be able to make my guests comfortable and that they really enjoy their vacation. Also it was great when I had to get the cottage ready for my new guests and you also helped me with your helpfulness and consideration of the Cottage.

Would love to have you back - and take care this year the best of everything for you both in 2014.....

Thanks Again

Sue
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cayman Cottage within the 'GOLDEN MILE'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441942vb
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
IN
5

Beautiful

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
One word.PARADISE
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Cayman Cottage within the 'GOLDEN MILE'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441942vb
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Brooklyn, NY
5

Cozy, afforable, very clean, well-maintained, feels like home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Cayman Cottage is a wonderful, clean and fully equipped vacation home on the south side of Cayman Brac. The owner/caretaker is very kind. The outside of the home has lots of palm trees, potted plants, a hammock, table and chairs and a ton of friendly hermit crabs. You can see the ocean from the kitchen window when washing dishes.

Sue (owner/caretaker) told us she always lets the people that are renting have the beach. The beach is beautiful. The inside of the cottage is very cozy. When you walk in the front door, you're in the dining room area. There are three couches, one of which is a futon. There's a tv with about 31 channels. The kitchen is fully equipped. Utensils, pots, pans, etc. There's an oven, toaster oven, microwave, coffee maker, two sinks with one faucet, a toaster, and other things. There are lots of ice trays in the freezer that you can use to fill the ice chest that's in the laundry room. There's also a washer and dryer.

In the kitchen pantry, people leave behind some items, such as no stick cooking spray and spices. In the bathroom, there's lots of stuff left behind too, like razor blades in their packages, shaving cream, unopened deodorant, shampoo, conditioner, body wash, etc.

The bed is queen size. Lots of drawers and two closets. Plus a huge mirror, outlets right there, etc. US-style outlets.

The island is very, very safe. Guns are illegal, and even the police don't carry firearms.

All shops and restaurants accept US or Cayman Island currency, and there's a bank with an ATM if needed.

Captain's Table restaurant and outdoor bar is about a 5-10 minute walk west down the road, and you can order food at the bar or sit inside the nice dining room. The Alexander Hotel is about a 5 minute walk east down the road, complete with a dining room and a poolside bar where you can order food if you don't want to sit inside. There's also another nearby bar with just drinks about a 10 minute walk east down the road. A liquor/wine/beer store is also an extremely short walk east down the road, about 5 minutes. Brac Reef Beach Resort is great too, though a bit further away.

The main market is about a 30 minute walk. We drove around the entire island several times, went in tons of shops and small markets, tasted great food and had a really fantastic time snorkeling, kayaking, hiking, dining, drinking, swimming and relaxing. Stay at Cayman Cottage. It's low cost, very quality and makes a perfect home for a getaway on the tiny island of Cayman Brac.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Cayman Cottage within the 'GOLDEN MILE'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441942vb
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
USA
5

Cayman Brac and Cayman Cottage are Great

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had an excellent time at "Cayman Cottage". Just the right size for 2. Loved the beach, loved the views of blue herons and snowy egrets at low tide. The hermit crabs are the best! Looked forward to feeding them every morning. What a great way to start the day, sitting outside, sipping coffee and watching the crabs. Never used the kitchen except for breakfast and snacks. Having a washer and dryer on the premises was wonderful. Sue is correct when she says "pack light", life on "the Brac" is casual, laid back and most of all stress free. We loved the hiking, snorkeling, bird watching, spelunking and just relaxing on the beach. What a great experience!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cayman Cottage within the 'GOLDEN MILE'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441942vb
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
California, United States
5

Super Relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
The cottage is well maintained, clean, and well located. You can tell Sue takes pride in ownership. It's within walking distance to bars and restaurants. The beach is super wide and with a nice lagoon for snorkeling. The palm trees are great for shade. The outside shaded "dinning" area is perfect for breakfast and lunch. We really enjoyed feeding the hermit crabs and watching birds using the bird bath. The hammock is perfect for afternoon naps.

We really enjoyed our stay. And thank you Sue for being a great hostess!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cayman Cottage within the 'GOLDEN MILE'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441942vb
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Northern Virginia
5

The girls from Virginia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Our stay at the cottage was fantastic! There were 3 of us ladies staying in the cottage. Loved it!
We enjoyed the hermit crabs, they were fun to watch while having a meal in our own little private garden just outside our door. Our beach was very relaxing, we were able to enjoy the wonderful breeze, we were able to go snorkeling right our front. There were plenty of beach lounge chairs and side tables to enjoy sitting for hours on the beach. The house was clean and very comfortable, because of the constant gentle breeze we had no need for A/C during our stay. Everyday we had something to do to fill our time, sometimes we went snorkeling in other parts of the island and other days we explored the many caves. I would highly recommend this property to anyone who would like to visit Cayman Brac.
Karen, Donna and Dianne
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cayman Cottage within the 'GOLDEN MILE'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441942vb
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Texas
5

Back to the Brac

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We loved our time at Cayman Cottage on the Brac! This was our second trip to the Cottage and it was as wonderful as we remembered! The cottage has its own private, gorgeous beach that we drank coffee on early in the morning, snorkeled and sunned on in the afternoons and watched the beautiful sunsets each evening! It is clean, well maintained and comfortable. The owner is friendly and pleasant, accommodating any requests or questions we had. We walked to one of three nice restaurants most evenings, for delicious seafood or local island specialties. The island is very safe and the local people are friendly. We walked the island exploring each day and never had a minute of apprehension. We highly recommend Cayman Cottage for your taste of Paradise!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Cayman Cottage within the 'GOLDEN MILE'
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441942vb
Cayman Brac Cayman Islands
Smyrna, Delaware USA
5

Serenity

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2012
We never intended to make any place a permanent destination for our Caribbean fix every year but for the last four years, after our first trip, we just keep going back the the little cottage in Cayman Brac. The owner has become like a extended family member and constantly fusses over our comfort, which is nice but not necessary. We feel like the cottage is our little island home for the two weeks we spend there. Right on the best beach in Cayman Brac, there's easy access to snorkel from the shore right in front of the cottage. You can walk right across the street to the hotel that has a fine dining restaurant and a bar that has great food. The cottage is always clean, there's a washer and dryer so no need to overpack. If you're looking for high end hotel type amenities, you might want to look elsewhere, if you want a homey feel and a more casual atmosphere, the Cayman Cottage is perfect.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1