San Clemente house rental - Front of Beautiful San Clemente Beach House
Front of Beautiful San Clemente Beach House
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps10
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

San Clemente House Rental Photos and Description
4 Bedroom, 3 Bath; Canyon & Ocean View, huge yard and patio; free Wifi & cable

Our beach house will make you feel like you're home in comfort and luxury! We've renovated and remodeled an original 65 year old San Clemente custom home but kept some of the old charm incuding original open beam ceiling with 3 beautiful fan lights. With air conditioning, an elevator to the garage and street level, and electric skylights, it's newly updated. There are two master suites, one with a gorgeous ocean view and large sitting area, and the other with a quiet garden view. With 2 additional large bedrooms, your vacation home will sleep 8-10 very comfortably. Beautiful walk-in built out closets and built in Brazilian redwood cabinets assure plenty of storage space. 3 marble and granite bathrooms, one with a new jacuzzi tub and separate shower, 1 with dual shower heads and bench, all with massaging shower heads will help you relax after active vacation days. We have 2 living and family rooms, 2 dining rooms so house is ideal for 2 families sharing a vacation house, or for kids separate from adults. For fun at home, we have large screen TV's, free Wifi and cable, Wii and 'Wii Rock Band', DVD's and player, lots of games and a great Ping Pong table! French doors open to a gorgeous patio and extra-large green lawn, with a bbq, 2 dining tables and outdoor seating for large parties. A fully equipped kitchen and family area includes a large kitchen table and seating for 8, and a dining room with seating for another 6-8. An original gas and wood burning fireplace has been newly resurfaced with sandstone tiles, and is wonderful for cozy winter night rentals. We have boogie boards, surfboards and water toys available for the beach. You'll find coolers, beach chairs, beach towels, and everything you need for day trip convenience. Bedrooms and bathrooms are tastefully decorated, with upgraded linens and towels, but family friendly. Bring grandma and grandpa with you. Our beach house is handicap accessible with an elevator, wide doorways, a roll-in shower, and comfortable for everyone in the family. For a small additional fee, bring your family dogs* who will have their own large play in fenced area with trees and plants. The beach has a 4 mile walking and hiking trails that is dog friendly too. Thick towels, beautiful linens, and comfortable beds assure your comfort. A portacrib 'Pack and Play' is available onsite for baby or toddler.Of course the house has all appliances including a washer and dryer, refrigerator/freezer and ice maker, dishwasher and so on. As a gift to our guests, we stock the kitchen with lots of goodies to make cooking a simple BBQ or a gourmet meal easy and cheap. No need to buy condiments or spices, they are stocked, along with all kitchen necessities and niceties. We even have specially ordered cookbooks on site with easy and delicious meal options.

We live nearby and are available to make sure you have everything you need to assure the best vacation ever, and so that you return often. There is plenty of parking in the driveway and on the street in front of the house. This is the renowned Southwest San Clemente beach neighborhood, with wonderful friendly people. You will fall in love with your San Clemente Beach House and all that Southern California has to offer. (*The backyard has a fenced in doggy play area, and for additional fees, one or two well behaved and friendly dogs are welcome to share your family vacation.)

More Details
Hide Details

This is us! We live in the house right behind the rental house! When Steve was a little boy, his parents bought the property and built the original house as a weekend beach cottage. He has fond memories of a long ago San Clemente, and we both love this city a lot. We grew up in Southern California and consider ourselves pretty much like the 'Brady Bunch'. We've been married over 25 years and raised 4 children in San Clemente! Steve was a San Clemente lifeguard for many years during college and even after graduating from UCSB. He served in the US Peace Corps in Brazil for 2 years. Now retired, he was an Oceanside paramedic-fireman for most his career. France is a medical business executive, and yes, speaks French! She graduated from a state university in pre-med, and spends a lot of her time mentoring women and young people in business. We are grandparents, and on many weekends, we spend time with our wonderful families and grandkids. We absolutely love being around loads of friends and family. France's mom is nearing 90, and lives with us too!

France and Steve Helfer purchased this house in 2008

We LOVE renting this house and meeting new friends! We've had such a great experience. When Steve was a little guy, Ole Hansen's dream of the 'Spanish Village by the Sea' known as San Clemente, was just getting started. Steve's mom bought 3 lots, and our rental home was the original family beach cottage. We have many photos of the original San Clemente! When Steve's parents passed away, we couldn't bear to sell the house, so we bought it from the family, added a lot of square footage, and remodeled it! We are also minutes away from every type of shopping you could want, from grocery stores and Wal Mart, to high end department stores. Sunday mornings are for our weekly Farmer's Market with fresh produce and flowers on the main street, Del Mar St. This home will leave every guest with new wonderful memories for a lifetime too. We customize the contents of your beach home to suit your vacation needs! No matter WHERE you go visit while on your southern California vacation, one thing for sure; when you get back to your Beach House, you will be very happy to be 'home'.

This San Clemente Beach House is a couple minutes walk to some of the most beautiful beaches in the world. The climate is perfect, and spending time outside is a way of life. We love spending evenings outdoors, walking to the pier to meet friends for 'Happy Hour' or dinner, and walking the beach trail towards the State Beach Park. San Clemente was made famous when Pres Richard Nixon bought a beautiful estate just south of us, for his Western White House. Many diplomats including Henry Kissinger and Ronald Reagan spent time in San Clemente. Seeing and playing in the Pacific Ocean, hearing the waves, watching the palm trees, and the very romantic sunsets, make San Clemente a uniquely special place which you will fall in love with.

16 Reviews of Property 441865 in San Clemente, California

Family & Dog Friendly* Beach House 1 Block to T Street Beach, 5 min to pier
average rating of 5.0 based on 16 reviews
business
Family & Dog Friendly* Beach House 1 Block to T Street Beach, 5 min to pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441865vbi
San Clemente Orange County
5

AMAZING PLACE, WONDERFUL OWNERS

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My wife and I have rented many homes in lots of places in the USA and around the world, and this was best we have found! The house was immaculate, the kitchen was well appointed, the linens were nicer than we have at home, and the bathrooms were to die for (I am a bit of a bathroom freak). When we got there the fridge was full of beer, wine, soda and lots of other goodies, and there was a bottle of really killer olive oil (I am Still trying to find that olive oil on the east coast). The house has two wings with a master bedroom and bath in each wing so it is perfect for two couples. We had guests virtually every weekend and it never got old. It would also work great for a large family. It is an easy walk to the beach and to downtown. Great surfing nearby! There is a nice bike path that will get you to San Onofre State Park. We didn't miss a single sunset from the back patio. And perhaps best of all are the owners. They are terrific people. Fun, welcoming and real. All in all, you can't do better than this.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Cold Weather Friends,

We sincerely miss seeing you around! We also miss Mark, Tony, and of course Monkey. Our beach house is so much happier when we have warm and satisfied guests there. You are welcome to come back at any time! (I have also been on the lookout for the olive oil you enjoyed so much!)

With our kind wishes and warm thanks,

France and Steve (and grandmom Viviane).

PS. Dan- surf's up!
business
Family & Dog Friendly* Beach House 1 Block to T Street Beach, 5 min to pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441865vbi
San Clemente Orange County
Munster, Indiana
5

Our entire family loved our stay at St. Clemente's Beach House!

Our entire family loved our stay at St. Clemente's Beach House!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We loved our stay at St. Clemente's Beach House. Both France and Steve were the nicest hosts you could ever find. They went out of their way to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible. If I was to think of one thing that I would have it better ... I cannot think of any! It was perfect in every way!

The house is structured to be great for a large family of 10 as was ours. My sister-in-law and her family of 4 came from England for their son's engagement ceremony and we came from Indiana with my husband's elderly parents. Our daughters, medical students from Stanford, Northern California and Case Western, Cleveland joined us at St. Clemente. It is a perfect family home, with lots of sunshine and wonderful vibrations. Seemed perfect for us.

The house is situated walking distance to the beach and every morning, we loved to walk down to watch the sunrise and see the surfers on the waves. We ourselves are not the surfing kind, but we love the water and it was so close. And for my in-laws who did not want to walk to the beach, France was kind enough to let us walk to her porch to see the water from their own back-yard!

St. Clemente is close to other beautiful places and a meal at Dana Pointe over sunset and the local state park was a bonus. One day we drove to Encinitas near St. Diego and was surprised that we got there in 45 min! The house is only 5 min to the highway and that made it so convenient as we rushed around preparing for the festivities around the engagement ceremony and Thanksgiving. Even in the rush hour, the proximity to the highway made travel times very comfortable, with only one hour to LA airport.

And to top it all, the local grocery store, Ralph's, was amazing with fresh fruits, all kinds of food selections and huge in size! But interestingly, France had stocked the house with all the necessities, including beach towels, paper goods, exotic teas, coffees, cold drinks and even zip lock bags. The kitchen had all the needed cookware, dishes and even storage containers for left overs. The bathrooms had all the luxuries you could ask for, and the laundry room was stocked with all the required necessities. What more could you ask for.

Truly it was a place, where all your basic needs were already thought of and catered to and you could simply relax, enjoy and have fun! As the mother catering for everyone else's needs, I felt that someone very thoughtful was looking out for my own needs! Thank you France and Steve
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Dear Dr Amita and family,

Our sincere thank you for your wonderful and kind review of our beach house. As we told you, it is our retirement home, so for us, having it available to rent to guests from everywhere, all with good stays and fun times, makes us happy. Your family is beautiful, and should there be another chance to visit Southern Cali, it will be our pleasure to welcome you all back! Congratulations on the wonderful successes to all in the family. France and Steve
business
Family & Dog Friendly* Beach House 1 Block to T Street Beach, 5 min to pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441865vbi
San Clemente Orange County
5

An Absolutely Perfect Place for an Absolutely AMAZING Vacation!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
From the minute we arrived, France and Steve made us feel welcome by giving us a tour of their beautiful home (the pictures truly don't do this home justice)! We fell in love with our hosts and the house instantly. Everything we could possibly need was at our fingertips. France and Steve have thought of every little detail to ensure that guests feel like they are truly enjoying a home away from home. Getting to wake up to the sounds of the ocean, and seeing the view from our window was the perfect way to start out our first morning there. We enjoyed some delicious coffee out in the backyard as we watched the butterflies and hummingbirds dance around the beautiful garden. We walked down to the beach everyday - it was wonderful to watch the surfers on T-street and then walk to the pier. It became a daily routine, and we truly never wanted to leave. There were three couples sharing the house for our trip, and the layout of the home worked perfectly for all of us - each of us had our own bathroom and our own "space." It never felt crowded, and we all agreed it was very cozy and warm. For daytime fun, France and Steve provided beach towels, boogie boards, and everything needed for a beach picnic. We barbequed several nights and enjoyed dinner out on the patio under the stars. The ping pong table was one of our favorite evening activities. San Clemente is a fabulous town, and France and Steve went above and beyond to make sure we knew all the cool "local" places to go for great food. The "$1 Taco Tuesday" at a quaint little local haunt was quite a find, and Sonny's had the best lobster mac and cheese we've ever had (the wait on the weekends is worth it). In addition, we enjoyed fabulous fish 'n chips, a delicious deli on Del Mar St., and our friends had the "biggest, yummiest donut ever," just up the road. All of these fabulous suggestions are found in a thoughtful book France & Steve have created for their guests. In addition to great food, there are many other fantastic suggestions from whale watching, to local events, shops, etc. We loved every suggestion they gave us! This truly was one of the best vacations ever, and we are already trying to figure out when we can go back again. We are so thankful that France and Steve opened up their home to share with us. Our entire group would give their vacation home a five star rating...in fact, I'd give it a 10 if I could! :) Thank you France and Steve for the wonderful memories. Here's to more to come! :)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear new friends,

We were so sad to see you leave and felt as though we have known you forever. We shared your love story with a local writer and he wants to write it up for his newspaper column! We are absolutely looking forward to welcoming you next summer, and we hope, much sooner than that too. The drive isn't bad! We also hope you decide to move back to Southern Cali and that San Clemente becomes YOUR town.

With warm fond memories of our new friends from Canada and Arizona,

France and Steve
business
Family & Dog Friendly* Beach House 1 Block to T Street Beach, 5 min to pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441865vbi
San Clemente Orange County
5

Perfect hosts, perfect location, perfect week!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We were fortunate to find this beautiful house for our son’s wedding. We traveled from Massachusetts and had not seen the property beforehand. There were 3 couples and we each had our own bathroom which was great when trying to get ready for all of our wedding functions throughout the week. The place is beautiful, immaculate and in a perfect location. Walking distance to the beach and SC Pier, short distance to the downtown area and easy access to the highways.

France and Steve were amazing. They were so gracious and went out of their way to accommodate us. We hosted a casual rehearsal dinner and the patio and layout of the house made everything flow so smoothly. There were plenty of tables, a huge grille, and the patio created a great ambiance. It was a great way to get to know the families and wedding party.

The kitchen was stocked with plenty of beverages and all the supplies we needed. There were plenty of items for us to use at the beach (towels, chairs, umbrella, coolers, etc.). Before we arrived France had reached out to us and provided us with all the information we needed about the surrounding area as well as offering to help in any way with the rehearsal dinner.

If you are able to rent this house do not hesitate. We fell in love with San Clemente and cannot wait to return.
Owner's Response: Dear Mary and family, We were thrilled you and your guests chose our beach house for your handsome son's wedding week! We thank you for your kind words, and for the lovely flowers you left in the house which we got to enjoy. We look forward to your next visit to San Clemente, and to making sure your trip out west is perfect in all ways. Please come back soon!

France and Steve
business
Family & Dog Friendly* Beach House 1 Block to T Street Beach, 5 min to pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441865vbi
San Clemente Orange County
5

40th Birthday Weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My husband and I took our daughter and her family to San Clemente to celebrate her 40th birthday. We were joined by two other family members for the celebration. Steve and France's house was the perfect setting for our getaway. We had six adults and two children and there was plenty of room for all of us. Our grandson loved the ping pong table and played every day. The family enjoyed playing Bocce Ball on the grassy area in the back yard. The kitchen was stocked with plenty of beverages and all the supplies we needed. We were pleased to find a grocery store nearby and were able to cook almost every meal at home. The kids loved the beach and having boogie boards and beach towels supplied was a huge bonus. Also, the beach umbrella made a long afternoon so much more comfortable. Our communication with France previous to our arrival was fantastic. She answered any questions and provided lots of information about the surrounding area. You can't go wrong by staying in this lovely home. I hope to return someday. I want the chance to share a bottle of wine and chat with Steve and France. I would love to hear the story of the house and its unique design.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Alyce,

Thank you SO much for your lovely note! I was sincerely sad to not have spent time with you and your family. I'm getting old, and had some health issues that had me pretty miserable for a while. We love the Beach House and try to maintain it in perfect condition for our guests. We are not happy unless guests are! Please come back any time you need a getaway. Return guests are "family" and will be treated as such!

Best regards,

France and Steve
business
Family & Dog Friendly* Beach House 1 Block to T Street Beach, 5 min to pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441865vbi
San Clemente Orange County
5

THE Place to stay in San Clemente!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My extended family (6 adults and 2 kids) and I stayed at this lovely home this past weekend. Our church family was camping nearby. From the moment we stepped inside this home, we were met with luxury after luxury! It really is as described above and then some! Even my must-stay-at-5-star-hotels husband was impressed! :) The best part of this whole experience was gaining two new friends in France and Steve. They are beyond wonderful! Their customer service was outstanding and went above and beyond the call of duty! From the moment I reserved this home, even before we even stepped foot inside this home, until we left, France and Steve made sure that our vacation was comfortable and memorable and that we had everything we needed! Our pre-vacation communications were so delightful that I couldn't wait to meet them in person! They have thought to include everything you could possible need or want on your vacation...beach towels and beach chairs and beach umbrella, etc. Their attention to detail is unbelievable. One of my top priorities in renting a vacation home is the quality of the bed for a good night's sleep. Everyone in our party had a great night's sleep every single night. Every bed and every room is exceedingly comfortable and beautiful decorated. All the couches and chairs...everything is comfortable and made of luxury! There's even a beautiful, expensive-looking chandelier in the front living room! We felt totally pampered the whole weekend! Another priority for me is cleanliness. This home is spotless...even the window tracks were spotless! I'm not kidding! Then to top it off...this home is close to everything! We walked everywhere...to the beach, to the pier, to the store....everything is close! We definitely will be back to this home and next time we will stay longer! Thank you, France and Steve for making our vacation so memoriable! We will see you soon!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Dear Carol and new friends,

Thank you for this wonderful review! Your family was beautiful and we are so glad you had a good vacation in San Clemente. We keep the Beach House the way we would want to find a home when we are on vacation. Spotless and comfortable are the key! And thank you for the lovely bottle of wine you presented to us. We are saving it for a special evening ourselves. Please come back anytime to stay-with or without a big group!

Warm regards,

France and Steve Helfer
business
Family & Dog Friendly* Beach House 1 Block to T Street Beach, 5 min to pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441865vbi
San Clemente Orange County
5

Great family reunion spot--France and Steve great hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We had great stay in San Clemente for four nights for a family wedding. The house is well equipped and France and Steve put out a ping pong table that was a hit with the kids (and some adults). Everything you need, beach chairs, boogie boards, umbrella, towels. The house has plenty of parking but it is also walking distance to the beach and to downtown (20 min., but very pleasant). We really enjoyed ourselves.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you Richard, Judy and family. We are SO happy you chose our home and enjoyed your stay. We love knowing guests have fun on their vacation. Please come back again and stay longer. Kind regards, France and Steve
business
Family & Dog Friendly* Beach House 1 Block to T Street Beach, 5 min to pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441865vbi
San Clemente Orange County
5

San Clemente Wedding and Family Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The location of this house is perfect for walking to the beach, trail and pier. It is a lovely house with plenty of amenities. The house is well maintained, decorated nicely, and was spotless on our arrival with lots of room for our extended family. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend the house to friends or family visiting the San Clemente area. We were in San Clemente for a family wedding, but also enjoyed visits to Dana Point, Venice Beach, the MIssion at San Juan Capistrano, as well as just walking and enjoying the beautiful neighborhood and surroundings. The elevator and walk-in shower were perfect for my mother who needed some accomodation due to mobility issues. Steve and France couldn't have been more welcoming hosts and made sure that we had everything we needed to enjoy a lovely vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thank you sincerely and kindly for choosing our beach house Cindy. We would be happy to welcome you and your beautiful family any chance you have to visit SoCal.

Best regards, France and Steve
business
Family & Dog Friendly* Beach House 1 Block to T Street Beach, 5 min to pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441865vbi
San Clemente Orange County
5

AZ Family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had an amazing time in San Clemente and the house was fantastic. Everything is as described and France and Steve were so welcoming and helpful. The house is extremely clean and offers everything you could possibly need. Our family of 6 had more then enough room and never felt cramped. I would highly recommend this rental and plan on going back.Thanks France and Steve!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Kim! Your family felt like our extended family, and were lovely. We look forward to welcoming you all back soon. The cleaning couple found the keys you thought were lost, so thank you! See you soon. France and Steve
business
Family & Dog Friendly* Beach House 1 Block to T Street Beach, 5 min to pier
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441865vbi
San Clemente Orange County
Deer Park, TX
5

Texas Family's Southern Cali vacation

Texas Family's Southern Cali vacation
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our large group was very comfortable in your house. We had four generations of family and everyone had their own comfortable space. The house is beautiful in and out. Beds are very comfortable and the bathrooms are gorgeous. The elevator was very convenient for luggage and transporting my Father up to the main level. Steve and France were great, they provided lots of helpful information. They provided us with a ping pong table that the kids really enjoyed. The welcome goodies in the cabinet and refrig were greatly appreciated. The house is very convenient to lots of attractions and the beach. Texas is a long way from San Clemente, but if we ever go back we will definitely stay with Steve and France again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Dear Sherri,

You have such a beautiful family. We are gratified to hear you enjoyed your stay with us, and that after such a long drive, you got a little R&R in San Clemente. By all means let us know if you ever have a chance to return. It will be a delight to welcome any of your group back. Please give our regards to all. Thank you again!

France and Steve