Inverness house rental - Bellfield Cottage
Bellfield Cottage
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Inverness House Rental Photos and Description
Beautiful late Victorian house with open fires and an AGA

This comfortable family house sits in an elevated and secluded position close to Inverness town centre. Surrounded by mature trees, shrubs and flowering bushes, the private garden offers panoramic views over Inverness to the hills beyond. Just 5 minutes walk from Inverness town centre, Eden Court theatre, Bellfield Park and the lovely Ness Islands.

This spacious house is furnished with the emphasis on comfort and enjoyment. The open plan kitchen and dining room with open fire is the perfect place to unwind after a day of exploring. While your meal is simmering on the AGA, wander outside to the garden to enjoy the glorious views. Comfort is continued in the cosy sitting room, also with open fire; here you can round off the day with a cup of tea or a whisky before retiring to the lovely comfortable bedrooms.

The house comes with all “mod cons”: gas central heating, free wi-fi, Sonos multi-room sound system and two widescreen TVs with PVR, Blu-ray and DVD players (and a wireless for the Archers!). There is also a cupboard full of board games and shelves full of books and DVDs.

If Bellfield Cottage is already booked, please see our other property at: http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1091419

More Details
Hide Details

Graham grew up in Inverness before leaving to go to University in Edinburgh in 1986. He has always been extremely fond of Inverness and the Highlands and has retained close connections to the town (now a city). He has many relatives and friends living locally and gets back as often as he can, especially in the football season as he and his father are long-standing season ticket holders at Inverness Caley Thistle.

Graham purchased this house in 2006

Graham bought Bellfield Cottage back in 2006, initially for his own use when visiting friends and family. Since 2009, he has let the house out to visitors. It is a very busy rental property, fully booked every summer, Christmas and New Year and popular in the autumn and spring with return guests, including many performers at the local Eden Court theatre.

In 2012, Graham bought Kinmylies Farmhouse, which had long been one of his favourite properties in Inverness. Thsi is also now available to rent. (see http://www.homeaway.co.uk/p1091419)

Graham's mother, Margaret, looks after both of his rental properties and delights in meeting guests from all parts of the world.

It took me 7 years of searching to find my dream home from home. Bellfield Cottage is one of just 4 houses cut into the steep bank that runs through Inverness parallel to the river. The cottage is secluded enough to afford guests complete privacy, yet with wonderful views and only a short walk to the town centre.

25 Reviews of Property 441785 in Inverness, United Kingdom

Traditional highland home with secluded garden and panoramic views of Inverness
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Traditional highland home with secluded garden and panoramic views of Inverness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441785
+44 07770500925
Inverness Inverness, Loch Ness & Nairn
5

Fabulous home, fabulous owners

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The words that come to mind for me when I think about our stay at Graham's wonderful house are "private, warm, and perfect". The house is everything it's advertised to be and more. It's a fully detached house on a tree-lined hill overlooking the River Ness. It's tucked away and private,yet within easy walking distance of some great restaurants and bars. The house itself is very big and 3 of the 4 bedrooms are very large. One is smaller and cozy and was my 7-year-old's first choice as it was so contained, like a "fairy bedroom". The other bedrooms are very spacious. We set up our 18-month-old's crib in one and had a beautiful master for my wife and me. The kitchen is large and has everything you could want. There is a dining room with a spectacular view where we shared our breakfasts together and a living room also with a great view. My kids spent hours in the evening just watching the bird life and the village below through the picture windows.
The house is perfectly located for day trips to the surrounding country, very easy access to the highways that get you wherever you want to go. Within minutes we were at Loch Ness or the beautiful seaside areas to the north of Inverness.
For people traveling with families, Graham has stacked the living room with toys and games for kids of all ages, and my children had a ball with it all.
In short, Graham is an accommodating host and the house is wonderful and wonderfully located. My family and I have a lifetime of memories to take with us and if we are ever in this gorgeous part of the world again, and I hope we are, we will stay here again for sure.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Traditional highland home with secluded garden and panoramic views of Inverness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441785
+44 07770500925
Inverness Inverness, Loch Ness & Nairn
5

Fabulous property in a great location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The property is spacious and well equipped; perfect for a small group and / or family break in Inverness. The living and sleeping space is generous and everything (and more) is provided to make your stay comfortable. The two double bedrooms are spacious and the twin room at the back of the property is a good size. The single room is small but perfectly formed! There would certainly be enough space for another bed to be added to one of the double rooms and the house would certainly accommodate 8 in terms of the living space etc. It feels more like a home from home rather than a holiday rental.

We stayed for the Loch Ness Marathon and can highly recommend this as an accommodation option for the race - it is pretty much halfway between the event village (at Bught Park) and the town centre. The only challenge was getting up and down the steep path after the race!!

We were lucky with the weather and had the perfect autumn weekend; this meant that we were not able to make good use of either the open fires or the BBQ but both looked great and we are already planning a winter return!

Margaret and Graham were super helpful and the house was immaculately presented when we arrived. Inverness is a great gateway to the highlands and there is some truly amazing scenery within close reach. The views from the house itself tell this better than I can! The town centre contains adequate restaurants, shops etc and is beautifully situated on the river. I can't recommend the house highly enough!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Traditional highland home with secluded garden and panoramic views of Inverness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441785
+44 07770500925
Inverness Inverness, Loch Ness & Nairn
5

Bellfield cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
we really enjoyed our stay - the house is warm and welcoming. the situation couldn't bee more perfect: an easy walk into the city or a short drive into the countryside.
the house was extremely clean and very well equipped. The owner was really helpful when we arrived as we managed to turn off the aga , but help was at hand within minutes! I would certainly recomend the house to anyone visiting the area.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Traditional highland home with secluded garden and panoramic views of Inverness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441785
+44 07770500925
Inverness Inverness, Loch Ness & Nairn
5

Truly lovely house with gorgeous views.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This is not simply a rental property - it's a home. Immaculate, beautifully furnished & extraordinarily well equipped. One of the loveliest houses I have stayed in. Great location as theatre, shops & dining out just short walk away. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this beautiful home.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Traditional highland home with secluded garden and panoramic views of Inverness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441785
+44 07770500925
Inverness Inverness, Loch Ness & Nairn
5

PERFECT home from home :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This is the perfect a home from home> Come to Inverness for work many times a year. The house has everything you need, owners have thought of everything! It is a short walk to City Centre and convenient for all local amenities. The Garden is just divine and is in a very private setting. Have already booked up for future visits ti Inverness.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Traditional highland home with secluded garden and panoramic views of Inverness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441785
+44 07770500925
Inverness Inverness, Loch Ness & Nairn
5

Lovely house close to city centre.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Had a lovely weekend and very impressed with Bellfield Cottage.
The house is warm,welcoming,clean, has lovely decor and is very well equipped.
Had the best equipped kitchen of any holiday accommodation we have visited.
Great to have free WiFi provided too.
There is parking beside the property and a steep path through the garden to the entrance. The house is a only a 10 minute walk to the city centre and it's a lovely walk along the side of the river.
Communication with the owner prior to the visit and with his mother during our stay was excellent.
Would recommend this property to anyone visiting Inverness.
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Traditional highland home with secluded garden and panoramic views of Inverness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441785
+44 07770500925
Inverness Inverness, Loch Ness & Nairn
5

Perfectly located house for a great family holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
We had a fantastic time in this brilliant holiday home. Perfectly sized for a family of 7 with great views over the city and river. Easy parking and good access for a child's buggy all a stones throw from the centre of town.

The kitchen was very well equipped and we loved using the aga. The travel cot and high chair supplied made it easy with our 8 month old daughter. Really comfortable, with lots of space and very homely feel. Will be back next year!
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Traditional highland home with secluded garden and panoramic views of Inverness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441785
+44 07770500925
Inverness Inverness, Loch Ness & Nairn
5

Very comfortable. Had a wonderful time

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 25, 2012
  • Stayed: Feb 2012
Lovely house with everything you could ever need. Warm and cosy with a lovely welcome from the owners. We enjoyed Inverness and the Highlands - Glenmorangie distillery, Leakey's bookshop and the swimming baths were the highlights. Hope to return soon and will stay here again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Traditional highland home with secluded garden and panoramic views of Inverness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441785
+44 07770500925
Inverness Inverness, Loch Ness & Nairn
Central London
5

Great cottage in perfect location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2011
  • Stayed: Jul 2011
Having rented properties in Europe, US and the UK, I highly recommend Bellfield Cottage as it ticks all boxes -

1) great location - 5 minute walk to the city centre yet in a quiet, residential neighbourhood
2) ample space - 2 double bedrooms, 1 single and 1 twin bedroom with clean linen and towels for all guests
3) well maintained - very clean, in excellent condition and beautiful garden
4) unique - the cottage is built into the hillside with an elevated position offering uninterrupted views and is not overlooked by neighbours, short steep walkway from the road to the front door (was not much of an issue - we had an infant in a stroller, a toddler and two senior citizens in our party)
5) parking space available
6) Great living space - well stocked kitchen and attached dining room and lovely reception room to retire in

We were there for 5 days and had a lovely time in the cottage, It is light and bright and even has a barbeque outside (though we didnt get a chance to use it due to rain), the little things were thought of as well - extra umbrellas, a picnic rug etc

Graham and Margaret were both very helpful! Will recommend for a repart stay as well!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Traditional highland home with secluded garden and panoramic views of Inverness
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441785
+44 07770500925
Inverness Inverness, Loch Ness & Nairn
5

Wonderful Cottage in Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 3, 2011
  • Stayed: Jun 2011
We loved this cottage. We doubt you will find a more charming cottage anywhere. Upon arrival we were met by the owner's mother who gave us a quick tour of the house. Of course afternoon tea was waiting for us. The cottage is located within easy walking distance of downtown Inverness where there are ample pubs and restaurants for dining. As it turned out we enjoyed evenings at the cottage so much that we cooked our own dinners in and relaxed in the late evening sun on the small porch. We wish we were still there...
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5