Ormond-by-the-Sea cottage rental - Back Patio furnished with gas grill, 4 lounge chairs, umbrella table & 4 chairs
Back Patio furnished with gas grill, 4 lounge chairs, umbrella table & 4 chairs
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Ormond-by-the-Sea Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom, 2 bath cottage surrounded by tropical gardens

Enjoy year-round comfortable climate with lots of sunshine, surf and ocean breeze. A short walk to sunrise over the Atlantic or sunset over the Halifax River, (Intercoastal Waterway).

Filtered soft water throughout house flows from city main though our purification system.

Livingroom is open to well equipped kitchen and dinette with 4 chairs. Sliding glass doors seperate the kitchen from Florida room, which has a drop-leaf table and 4 more chairs, queen pull-out sofa, leather chair and ottoman.

One bedroom has king bed, dresser and 2 chests of drawers, TV, dvd player. The second bedroom has queen bed, dresser, chest of drawers, desk, chair and TV.

One bath has tub with shower, the other bath has walk-in shower. Towels are furnished.

Roomy laundry & utility room features front load washer and dryer, iron,vacuum, steam mop, more.

Outdoor furniture is provided, along with 2 bicycles a utility wagon, beach umbrellas, rafts, beach towels for enjoying the outdoors and ocean.

A variety of books, games, dvd collections are provided for your enjoyment also.

Tropical gardens surround the cottage, adding to the cozy, relaxed atmosphere and privacy.

More Details
Hide Details

A native of Western NC, I grew up in Asheville and spent summers in Lake Lure where my parents built a summer home, which became the family hideaway for relaxation and recreation. Eventually the Lake Lure hideaway became my year-round home. In 1999,my time share week in Ormond Beach became my new hideaway which I enjoyed so much that I never exchanged for another location.

After raising four children and spending 33 years as a school teacher and counselor, I retired, but spent another 7 years working in schools part-time and currently serving as a town commissioner in Lake Lure.

In 2010 I married my husband, Bill who is retired from US Air Force and US Postal Service. Together we enjoy working in crafts and community activities. Bill is a woodworker who specializes in converting obsolete and antique post office box doors into coin banks and handgun safes. I create unique hand-braided wool rugs and demonstrate at historic landmarks and the Village of Yesteryear at the NC State Fair. We enjoy escapes to Ormond Beach, and have furnished the cottage to provide a restful reflection of our enjoyment of seascapes and tropical plants. We personally planted and maintain palms, ornamentals, and tropical plants, beginning with a habiscus which was a Mother's Day gift and made the trip from NC in 2009! The cottage is our current hideaway, where we look forward to spending more time soon and sharing with family, friends, and guests who will enjoy and find comfort and renewal.

Mary Ann Silvey purchased this cottage in 2008

For three years I looked at condos and houses for a place where I could spend more time in Florida during my retirement years. Ormond was my choice because the climate is comfortable year-round. Cold days are rare in winter, and the ocean breeze provides relief from Summer's heat. Since my family includes 'Diva', a sweet, loving Doberman Pinccher, the cottage had room, inside and out to provide privacy and allow pets to be included. The fenced back yard was a definite plus for us. We have cultivated flowering jasmine vines which have covered the fence, creating privacy for outdoor living, dining and sunning. The garage and storage shed provide ample storage for lawn furniture, bicycle, beach gear, utility wagon and even the fully decorated Christmas tree. A 10' x 10' easy up tent for additional shade is also available.

2014 updates: Full service digital cable TV service, flat screen HDTV, unlimited cable internet,

Save your drinking water money! City water passes though our purification system and results in pure, soft water throughout the cottage. Plumbing and hot water system were replaced in 2010.

A well provides irrigation for the lawn and gardens automatically. A timer controls the sprinkler system after dark, while you sleep.

Located between Flagler and Daytona Beaches, surrounded by state parks & recreation areas on the Halifax River and a short drive to ocean piers, the cottage is only a short walk to the quiet, non-commercial beach. Restaurants, shopping, theaters,art museum, library and family entertainment or nite spots are conveniently located a short drive away.

Historic St. Augustine, shopping outlets, Ponce Lighthouse, Casino Cruises, Kennedy Space Center, Daytona Speedway are nearby attractions. Drive an hour

southwest of Daytona on I-4 to Orlando or Sanford Airports and central Florida attractions, including Disney, Seaworld, Universal Studios, LeggoLand and more. Jacksonville airport is 1 1/2 hours North on I-95.

13 Reviews of Property 441641 in Ormond-by-the-Sea, Florida

Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway
average rating of 4.8461537 based on 13 reviews
business
Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441641vb
828-243-3787
Ormond-by-the-Sea Florida Central Atlantic Coast
5

Great time!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This place was exactly as advertised! Our stay was great. A really nice outdoor space and a 10 minute walk to the beach. You could hear the ocean from bed at night. Would stay again! Owner nice and easy to work with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441641vb
828-243-3787
Ormond-by-the-Sea Florida Central Atlantic Coast
Cambridge Spring, Pennsylvania
4

Great location & the right house for us

Great location & the right house for us
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This is a good value for the money. Beds & linens were good, kitchen well equipped and yard is lovely. The owner is more than willing to do above and beyond what is needed. We had trouble with the refrigerator and she had a service man at the house that day. She upgraded the cable package & wifi. Bike week is a busy time in Daytona and surrounding area and out in Ormand Shores we hardly noticed. Volusia County beaches are forbidden for dogs but a dog park and Flagler beaches are close by.
Cleaning products such as dishwasher, laundry etc is abundant [it is mostly Amway which worked well]. We left food and non-perishables in the unit for the next folks including beer & wine. Enjoy!!
All in all a pleasant stay. My husband fished off the beach which is about a 7 minute walk, everyday. Fishing was so so but he had fun & we ate all the whiting he caught.
Owner's Response: Additional upgrades underway:
-New slings have been installed on the four patio chairs and one of the lounges.
-damaged bicycle is getting new wheels, making total of 3 bikes.
-4 new citrus trees planted: lime, orange, tangerine, ruby red grapefruit and currently blooming. The olive already has tiny fruit, and the pomegranate, fig, other citrus should be blooming soon.
-digital TV service and new remote boxes for 3 TVs.

Suggestions from guests are welcome. We want our guests to feel valued and enjoy the house as much as we do!
business
Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441641vb
828-243-3787
Ormond-by-the-Sea Florida Central Atlantic Coast
5

GREAT place to stay!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
This was our first time renting a vaca home. This was an extremely positive experience for us!!! The home is quaint, cozy, and comfortable, inside and outside! Our dog enjoyed the fenced in back yard as well. The Atlantic Ocean beach is only a ten minute walk!! Or ride the bikes provided, to enjoy the long stretch of sidewalk just on the other side of the road from the ocean! The neighbors and neighborhood are very friendly and helpful. There are many good places to eat nearby, if eating out is your thing. If not, the kitchen is fully stocked with any utensils you may need to prepare your own meals. In addition to the gas grill outside on the lovely secluded and private patio. Daytona is only 15 minutes away with much to see and do there! St. Augustine is less than an hour away, which is a must see and do....but it takes more than one day to really see everything. Plan accordingly for that visit!! The owner of this great hide away home is the best!! She is extremely accommodating, cordial, friendly, and helpful. You won't find a better person to deal with!! She takes pride in her home and we totally understand why they love it there so much. We felt it was surely a "home away from home". We highly recommend staying here. You won't be disappointed!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441641vb
828-243-3787
Ormond-by-the-Sea Florida Central Atlantic Coast
Hilliard, Florida
5

Wonderful cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
The location is excellent! This cottage is close to the beach, river, stores, and main street Daytona! If you are looking for luxury, then you might not like this house....but, if you are looking for a nice, modest, clean place to call home for a few days, then this is the place for you. It has a nice fenced back yard and a beautifully landscaped front yard. The back yard is nicely landscaped also with all kinds of trees and flowers. It is located in a very nice, quiet neighborhood. The owners are fantastic and were easy to get in touch with if we had any questions.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441641vb
828-243-3787
Ormond-by-the-Sea Florida Central Atlantic Coast
Georgia
5

Great Vacation Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This house was a great place to stay on Ormond Beach. We enjoyed all the room and it was perfect for our little Grandog. Thank you for an excellent vacation home. We hope to stay again in the future. Thank you.
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly
Owner's Response: It is our goal to share our cottage with others who will enjoy staying there as much as we do. It is always pleasant to have guests return. All of our guests have have been wonderful and are considered our newly found friends.

I look forward to going to the cottage soon to tend the flowers and fruit trees. I will also be taking a new set of Pfalsgraf dinnerware and checking to see what else needs to be replaced or replenished.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441641vb
828-243-3787
Ormond-by-the-Sea Florida Central Atlantic Coast
Oslo, Norway
5

Comfortable, Charming and Homey

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family (including my mother and our two small children) stayed at Mary Ann's place in April of this year and I can't say enough good things about our 10 days at this Ormond-by-the-Sea house. It was just what we needed.
First, the owner was accomodating and pleasant from start to finish. You will get exactly what you see listed and she will deliver on any promises she makes. This is a very good value.
The house is clean and comfortable and had everything we needed.
The neigborhood is quiet and laid-back. Good location just a few minutes away from a great stretch of quiet, gorgeous beach. There is also a little river spot available to sit with a drink and watch the sunset. We used the bikes to get to a couple of little nightspots not far away, grilled clams on the gas grill in the backyard and enjoyed the privacy that the landscaping provides. The owner had no problem with us "child-proofing" the house, and the fenced-in backyard made babysitting a dream. We went canoing at a great state park (Tomoka), which is only a short drive away.
Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441641vb
828-243-3787
Ormond-by-the-Sea Florida Central Atlantic Coast
Pueblo
5

lovely cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a wonderful time at Ormond by the Sea, and loved staying here. Nice quiet neighborhood. The landscaping is so beautiful. We enjoyed the privacy of the back yard and loved going to the beach with umbrellas and chairs provided. We were here a month and could stay 6! This is a great find and reasonably priced. Mary Ann goes out of her way to accommodate your requests. See if you can find the land turtle that lives on the property, we named him lightning!
Basic cable was a bit of a let down, but a call to Mary Ann got us additional channels during our stay. House is well stocked with things you'll need.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I can't wait to go look for "Lightning" when I get to the house. If others want more channels on cable, it can be arranged. I will consider leaving the service at the higher level when the house is booked to be occupied for longer periods of time.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441641vb
828-243-3787
Ormond-by-the-Sea Florida Central Atlantic Coast
Lake Lure, NC
4

Ormond Beach Cottage

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
The beach was a further walk, esp. with gear, than we expected, and we felt we needed to drive. It would have been good to know beforehand that dogs were not allowed on Ormond beach; I just assumed they were.
Photos were accurate. House was clean, modernized, well-maintained. We enjoyed the enclosed and landscaped back yard. Back patios could have been cleaner, with the sprinkling system not getting the furniture wet every night. The beaches and the state park were pretty, good for walking, and interesting.
Owner's Response: Guests are encouraged to ask questions and report any concerns or damage, so owner can respond, and guest enjoyment and satisfaction can be assured.

The beach is approximately 200 yards, as seen on zoomable satellite view on website. Bikes and a utility wagon are available for guests who enjoy riding or walking to the beach.

Irrigation system operates only one or two nights per week (after midnight), depending on the season and rainfall. Sprinklers are directed only at grass and flowers, not the patio.

New custom vertical blinds were installed in living room, June, 2013.

Dogs are frequently seen walking with owners, and must be on leash outdoors, if not in fenced back yard. To learn locations of "Volusia County dog parks" or "dog friendly beaches", search online for more information.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441641vb
828-243-3787
Ormond-by-the-Sea Florida Central Atlantic Coast
Asheville, N.C.
5

smilinpete

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2012
Our family had a wonderful time at our stay at Ormond Beach. We enjoyed the close proximity to the beach and convenient store; all within walking distance. Public beach access was close by with lifeguards (safety when you have children) and included were beach chairs and umbrella which saved us room in our vehicle. Resterants were close by when we decided to eat out. With a family of four, we usually ate in with an outside grill and a full kitchen at our disposal, with microwave and full refrigerator. The beds are comfortable and the house is clean and comfortable as well. Our kids loved the fenced in back yard to play and my tween daughter used the glassed in Florida room to listen to music and read, while she was not outside riding the bike that was in the garage. The neighborhood is quiet and the neighbors we met were very nice. My older son enjoyed the use of watching one of the three T.V.' s or a movie on the DVD, during down time. We were able to minimize our packing because of the washer and dryer, which was a great convenience to a mom when it comes to unpacking when we return home. :). Great time for our family and would recommend it for a place to stay that feels like home away from home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: I appreciate your sharing the review for families with children. I am planning to add another bike this summer so couples can ride also. Your recommendation for visitors without a car prompts me to note that there is regular bus service on highway A1A which connects to Daytona and makes stops along the way for passengers to go to the grocery store, restaurants, shopping, and other stops upon request.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Walk to the beach from this peaceful, pet friendly, hideaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441641vb
828-243-3787
Ormond-by-the-Sea Florida Central Atlantic Coast
Ohio
5

Good Value for money.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We stayed here for three weeks.
Nice quiet neighborhood within walking distance to beautiful beach and also river.
Everything shown and stated on VRBO is accurate.
Owner is very helpful with all questions.
Limited amount of nightlife but Daytona Beach only a few miles away.
There are some very good restaurants within a few miles.
Good value for your money.
I would suggest adding a few additional TV channels.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of your three week stay at the "hideaway". I hope you and your family will plan to return in the future. I have explored options for increasing TV options and can do so at additional cost. As rentals increase, that will be justified, but also can be done now for those who request channels not currently available.