Lake Placid cottage rental
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 3 nights
 

Lake Placid Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Convertible Bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)

Rest, relax & rejuvenate. Welcome to the Garden Cottage!

Whether you are celebrating a special occasion, choose a cozy winter stay, a summer vacation, or a romantic honeymoon, the Garden Cottage is the perfect choice! It is just like staying in your own private and elegant luxury suite! The Cottage has a stone fireplace stocked with ample firewood and cozy amenities to make a memorable visit.

Enjoy the ambiance of the historic Whiteface Club and Resort, including a private beach, lakeside dining, marina, 18-hole championship golf course, and clay tennis courts. The area also offers trekking and cross-country ski trails...all within walking distance.

Garden Cottage was originally an open-air 'smoking gazebo' created for the original Whiteface Inn. It is said that gentlemen would retire here to enjoy a brandy and a cigar after their meal at the Inn. Over time, additions were added to create a bedroom, bathroom, dining room and kitchen. The original stone hearth, stone floors, and living room with its cathedral beam ceiling remain.

Returning guests often mention how rustic and authentic it is, yet fully equipped with modern amenities.

The bedroom was designed to feel like sleeping out in the woods with an amazing real birch tree headboard, however, no sleeping bag needed here, as our fluffy feather bed compares to boutique hotel comfort.

Our attention was driven on finding rare pieces of furniture and antiques from the surrounding region, like our latest addition, which is a custom made dining table from master craftsman Steve Bowers. As you sit on the Westport chairs in the privacy of the large perennial garden, enjoy the smell of the surrounding woods and calming sound of the loons in the distance.

Enjoy the reawakening of the Adirondacks in the spring when the garden’ flowers and berries are in bloom and the last of the ice is melting on the lake.

During the summer, steps away from the front door, take a dip in the purest water of Lake Placid after a wonderful hike or boat ride.

In the fall, you can enjoy the splendor of a nature walk in the beauty of the foliage.

The winter season offers virgin snow for your first tracks on cross-country skis and snowshoes. You can also sit by the fire and enjoy a nice glass of wine.

The Cottage is only a few minutes’ drive to the lovely town of Lake Placid. It is a historic Olympic village that offers lots of shopping, dining options, gourmet shops and antique galleries on Main Street.

Please take advantage of all you find here. We hope the cottage becomes your home during your stay in Lake Placid and that you find it a pleasant retreat to return to, season after season.

More Details
Hide Details

We discovered the region of Lake Placid many years ago. We fell in love with its beauty, the kindness of the locals and the ever-changing wonders of the nature among the seasons.

Mary & Ben purchased this cottage in 2012

We visited the Cottage randomly and knew at first sight that it would be our Lake Placid dream home.

We are very emotionally attached to it and try to come as often as we can. Every visit, we add new items, whether it comes from the neighborhood antique galley or have it custom made.

We are delighted to welcome each guest to enjoy it as if it was their own: welcome to the Garden Cottage family!

The Whiteface Club Resort has two restaurants, golf, tennis and beachfront on Lake Placid with cross country sking in the winter and only minutes to the olympic skating rinks and Whiteface Mountain for downhill skiing.

25 Reviews of Property 441489 in Lake Placid, New York

Lake Placid Adk Garden Cottage at the Whiteface Club Resort
average rating of 5.0 based on 25 reviews
business
Lake Placid Adk Garden Cottage at the Whiteface Club Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441489vb
+1 5183235642
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Charming, Rustic, Quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
these are the first three words that come to mind as I entered the Garden Cottage. They still come to mind as I write this after returning home. My wife, Golden retriever Thor and I spent 3 nights here. We cooked every meal here, cross country skied and snow shoe within walking distance, watched tv in bed, but most of all relaxed in front of the fire with e-reader and IPad on Wifi between our games of cribbage. Not that this was enough, we included a fantastic skate on Monday evening on the Olympic Oval outdoor ice pad. I am a very light sleeper and the quiet area of the Cottage was perfect. I guess the area must be known for this since I came across a lone gal camped out in the hills on one ski trail. I hope she survived the 1.5 foot snow fall and drop in temperature. Our third trip to Lake Placid definitely not our last.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake Placid Adk Garden Cottage at the Whiteface Club Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441489vb
+1 5183235642
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Fabulous March Break getaway!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This was our second stay at the Garden Cottage!
It was exactly as we remembered!! No... It was even better!
As we opened the door, we felt like invited and awaited guests!!!
The cabin is so cozy and comfortable, the kitchen fully equipped, the bathroom perfect and clean, the bedroom so inviting and the bed...is like heaven!!
The kids enjoyed sleeping in front of the fireplace and our dog loved tagging along!!
The surroundings are beautiful and so quiet, but the activities bustling: skiing, snowshoeing, shopping, bobsledding, skating, we did it all!!!
We definitely will be back for a third stay!

Thank you Mary and Ben, for thinking of absolutely EVERYTHING!!!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Lake Placid Adk Garden Cottage at the Whiteface Club Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441489vb
+1 5183235642
Lake Placid Adirondacks
New York
5

wonderful winter getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We spent a couple of days in the middle of one of this winter’s worst freeze spells in this wonderfully cozy cottage and the worst of winter turned into the best of times. The cottage was very warm and welcoming. Mary and Ben thought of everything and our stay in their cottage was very comfortable. The cottage is very clean, well maintained and tastefully decorated. We are looking forward to making a return trip there and hopefully next time we will enjoy the view of the garden under all that snow.
Owner's Response: Thank you!! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
business
Lake Placid Adk Garden Cottage at the Whiteface Club Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441489vb
+1 5183235642
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

An amazing all season get away!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
My wife and I spent a fantastic weekend in this beautiful cottage! It was very clean and nicely decorated, Loved the old photos and maps on the wall. We went to Lake Placid mostly for cross country skiing but the weather got warmer and it rained quite a bit on Saturday so we stayed in and enjoyed our wine and movie in front of the fireplace! Mary and Ben (the owners) have done a great job with decoration. They are very friendly and communications via email were easy. Lake Placid is a great place to spend time with nice main street pubs and restaurants as well as all the great outdoor activities. Garden Cottage was the icing on the cake. We will definitely go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you. We look forward to having you again.

Mary & Ben
business
Lake Placid Adk Garden Cottage at the Whiteface Club Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441489vb
+1 5183235642
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Ledgewood, NJ
5

The Perfect Balance of Rustic & Luxury

The Perfect Balance of Rustic & Luxury
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Our stay at The Garden Cottage was absolutely perfect. The owners have done a wonderful job of maintaining the cottages historic charm while incorporating modern day luxuries like fine linens, beautiful soaps and a well-equipped kitchen for cooking meals. They pay attention to the details and it shows.

The cottage is located perfectly - just a few minutes to town, yet secluded enough that you have privacy and serenity right outside your front door.

The perk of being able to include our dog on our getaway was wonderful. We loved having her with us, romping in the snow and then warming by the fire. It was a perfect vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lynn! We enjoyed welcoming you to our home and look forward to welcoming you in the future.
business
Lake Placid Adk Garden Cottage at the Whiteface Club Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441489vb
+1 5183235642
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Mohnton, PA
5

Thanksgiving at Lake Placid

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I found the Garden Cottage several years ago while planning a Thanksgiving get away. We loved it so much that we made Thanksgiving at Lake Placid our holiday tradition. I am thrilled that this quaint cottage found new owners Mary and Ben. The upgrades to the cottage made our Thanksgiving stay even more enjoyable.

For those that have never been to Lake Placid, the cottage is an ideal location and close to everything. Mary and Ben were wonderful to work with during the planning our trip - very accommodating. Highly recommend staying here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lori! We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and love that it is your holiday tradition. We look forward to welcoming you back!
business
Lake Placid Adk Garden Cottage at the Whiteface Club Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441489vb
+1 5183235642
Lake Placid Adirondacks
5

Lovely Little Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The Garden Cottage provided a perfect long weekend getaway for my husband and I at the beginning of November. It’s beautifully decorated and lovingly maintained. The owners have done a great job outfitting the cottage with amenities for your stay. The shed was well stocked with plenty of fire wood, there were extra fluffy robes in the closet, good books to reference for daily hikes, plenty of pillows, blankets and soft towels plus a feather bed so soft we call it the “marshmallow.”
It was an all-around great place to come home to at every night after a long day of hiking. We look forward to visiting again for some skiing and snowshoeing!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so happy to hear that and look forward to welcoming you back!
Thank you Jill
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Placid Adk Garden Cottage at the Whiteface Club Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441489vb
+1 5183235642
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Dallas, Tx
5

Step into a Fairy Tale World

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My adult daughter and I stayed here for 2 delightful nights at the end of an eleven day Adirondack vacation. To say we were both thoroughly enchanted would be an understatement. The cottage definitely does not feel like a rental property. We felt like special guests in the private home of best friends. Every detail of the cottage and it's beautiful grounds was perfectly attended to. As a retired airline employee, I have spent countless days and nights in all kinds of properties across the globe. This special cottage sits at the top of the list as a favorite spot and we hope to return again and again.

Lynda and Kate....Dallas and Manhattan
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lynda and Kate! We are so happy you both enjoyed our home. Can't wait for you to return!!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Lake Placid Adk Garden Cottage at the Whiteface Club Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441489vb
+1 5183235642
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Emmaus, PA
5

Beautiful Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Quiet, tons to do, close to Lake Placid and very nice amenities. My family plans on returning next year. Oh yeah, and my dog loved it there too! Great hikes for him and people all around with no need to get in a car. We had a great vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Lake Placid Adk Garden Cottage at the Whiteface Club Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441489vb
+1 5183235642
Lake Placid Adirondacks
Emmaus, PA
5

Beautiful Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Quiet, tons to do, close to Lake Placid and very nice amenities. My family plans on returning next year. Oh yeah, and my dog loved it there too! Great hikes for him and people all around with no need to get in a car. We had a great vacation!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Craig! We look forward to welcoming you back next summer!
Helpful votes: 2/2