Tacoma house rental - Panoramic views of Commencment Bay, Browns Point, Vashon Island & Mt Rainer.
Panoramic views of Commencment Bay, Browns Point, Vashon Island & Mt Rainer.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
 

Tacoma House Rental Photos and Description
Entire Home/Apt

Enjoy unobstructed panoramic views of Commencement Bay, Vashon Island, the Olympic Mountains, Mt. Rainer and Northeast Tacoma. One of a kind property and view! Custom home built with adjoining private MIL (Mother-in-Law) with separate entrance. Ideal location for everything Tacoma has to offer…This property features 2 bedrooms/2 bathrooms, kitchen with stainless steel appliances cherry cabinets and granite counter tops, living room with 42 inch plasma, utility room, elevator, gas fireplace and garage. Enjoy your morning cup of coffee and amazing sunrises on a private balcony. Master bedroom promises a relaxing night in a king size sleigh bed. The second bedroom offers a queen size bed with adjacent bathroom.

Whether you are here for work or play we are situated in North Tacoma’s premier neighborhood within walking distance to Tacoma’s Ruston Way Waterfront and a 5 minute drive to I-5 freeway. '71 Walk Score.' Ruston Way has two miles of waterfront walkways and piers for biking/running/rollerblading or enjoying multiple restaurants ranging from casual to fine dining. Proctor offers shops, restaurants, grocery stores, Starbucks and the Blue Mouse Theater. Old Town is home to The Spar which is Tacoma’s oldest saloon. Additional local attractions include Point Defiance Zoo and Aquarium, Glass Museum, Tacoma Dome and a 15 minute drive to Chambers Bay Golf Course, home to the 2015 US Open.

More Details
Hide Details

Deb and I love family, friends, entertaining, wine, food, traveling & Washington State University Cougars! Go Cougs:) Our family consists of two great active boys ages 5 & 7. In the nature of full disclosure our house at times can be a neighborhood hub filled with kids/neighbors, BBQ's and pop by's from friends or family. We entertain frequently however we also will respect our guests privacy.

For as long as I can remember growing up we had guests staying in our family home. Our guests ranged from students abroad to friends needing a place to stay. Growing up in my families household the dinner table was used as a playground whether it was for a drink, a smoke, a debate or simply dinner.

Our favorite places to travel are Napa Valley and Maui! We are a very active family always on the go...

Mark Bergman purchased this house in 2010

19 Reviews of Property 441168 in Tacoma, Washington

Custom MIL / Expansive Sound Views
average rating of 4.894737 based on 19 reviews
business
Custom MIL / Expansive Sound Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441168vbi
+1 (253) 297-5520
Tacoma Puget Sound
5

Great location and beautiful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had a great time here with my in-laws and 18mo. old son. Beautiful space and incredible view. Very nice amenities and was within walking distance to Proctor and the waterfront. Highly recommended!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Custom MIL / Expansive Sound Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441168vbi
+1 (253) 297-5520
Tacoma Puget Sound
3

Odd mixture of luxurious property, scrimping on details, and noisy kids

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 30, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
The Garage versus parking on the street (?): The property was indeed as beautiful as the photos depict. However, while the ad mentions a garage with an elevator to the 3rd floor (main living area), guests aren't allowed to use it unless they are legally disabled. Therefore, despite the garage being vacant and my requesting to use it, instead I was forced to park on the street, carry all my luggage and supplies down a long walkway, & scrape ice off my BMW every morning when I wanted to drive somewhere.

The Kitchen: It was strange in such a beautiful kitchen to have difficulty finding a single pan for cooking that didn't have Teflon flaking off, or that was remotely suitable for non-stick cooking. The accoutrements in the kitchen felt a lot more like a camping kit than those you'd expect to find in a granite-laden kitchen with a water view. Plus, when you arrive there is a big sign in the middle of the stove that warns you to use the Fan on high, and open windows if you plan to cook because the smoke detectors are *very* sensitive. You'd better BELIEVE the sign. And open ALL the windows. With temps below freezing, this was understandably inconvenient and decidedly not luxurious feeling.

The final challenge was that, despite talking specifically with the landlord about noise before I arrived (given that this is an attached MIL apartment on a family home), and despite being assured it was quiet and that previous guests had never heard any family noise even when they'd had parties next door, the weekend was punctuated by intense periods of noise from the family's kids (and their friends?). The elevator shaft acts as a noise conductor, and the first night I was there, kids played boisterously at the bottom of it. I was skyping with someone - and it was loud enough that they commented on the yelling and asked whether I had kids staying with me. :( The 2nd night, one of the kids screamed so intensely and for so long in the back yard, it sounded like he was being killed. I called the family to see if someone was hurt and it turned out it was just a child having a tantrum. That shot of adrenaline did nothing for my peaceful, quiet weekend. The landlord did apologize. But by then I was feeling disenchanted with my getaway.

This is a beautiful property, but probably suited for business travelers who don't mind some noise, or families who have kids themselves. Not so much a great spot for a luxurious, romantic or quiet retreat.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: We are super disappointed Sherene and her boyfriend did not have a positive experience.
In 2 years, this is the first guest that has ever expressed a negative experience on any level. I also welcome prospective guests to go to Airbnb and review the 50+ reviews from past guests along with our VRBO reviews.
For the sake of full disclosure, Sherene is correct, we did have two separate situations where "tantrums" where thrown by kids (one inside and one outside in the yard) that were not appropriate. However, it is important to note that when Sherene and I talked on the phone she did say other then those two situations she could not hear us at all...For those two outbreaks I do apologize and I can assure they are extremely rare as nobody else has ever mentioned anything like this before. We have always provided the garage to guests that either have walking issues, elderly, or have needs that require additional convenience to access the elevator from the garage level. I was hoping to finish a project in the garage that weekend which I let Sherene know when I responded to her request to park in the garage. The kitchen products are Create and Barrel quality. In our "Welcome Letter" we also state if you need anything like extra spices, pots or pans just ask and we are happy to accommodate. For example, Sherene asked to check-in early and check-out late and we were happy to accommodate her requests at no additional cost. We aim to please and want guests to really enjoy themselves which is why we get many repeat guests.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Custom MIL / Expansive Sound Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441168vbi
+1 (253) 297-5520
Tacoma Puget Sound
5

A lovely home base during the festive season

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My boyfriend and I stayed in this property for a week over New Year, while I was in a leg cast and needed wheelchair access. This property was very well presented, with high end amenities and had the convenience of getting around in a wheelchair including an internal elevator from the garage to all levels of the property which was very handy. The service provided by the owners was excellent, they were quick to respond to any of our queries and very helpful and friendly. The neighbourhood was quiet and safe, the property had lovely views and it was an easy driving distance to some good restaurants and pubs. Highly recommend this property for any stay in this area.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Custom MIL / Expansive Sound Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441168vbi
+1 (253) 297-5520
Tacoma Puget Sound
-
5

Fantastic!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We really enjoyed our stay. The owner is really nice and the house is amazing! Thanks so much!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Custom MIL / Expansive Sound Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441168vbi
+1 (253) 297-5520
Tacoma Puget Sound
5

Exceptional and welcoming

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This dwelling and location exceeded my expectations, and so did the owner's warm hospitality and assistance.
I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Tacoma for my future trips. I can't recommend this place more highly.
Kind thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Custom MIL / Expansive Sound Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441168vbi
+1 (253) 297-5520
Tacoma Puget Sound
5

A wonderful weekend in Tacoma!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Four of us gals went and had a wonderful time. The place was beautiful and the view was incredible. There is nothing about it I would change. Thank you very much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Custom MIL / Expansive Sound Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441168vbi
+1 (253) 297-5520
Tacoma Puget Sound
Netherlands
5

Cozy, new and spotless in beautiful neighborhood and bay views.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We stayed five nights in this nice place. You've got one side of the 2010 build house with your own entrance. Privacy enough. The neighborhood is very nice and quiet. We even had a deer visiting by the neighbors house. The house itself is spacious though cozy and nicely decorated. You feel right at home. Everything is brandnew. The fully equipped kitchen, the both bathrooms, the furniture, the carpet, the beds, everything actually. The big King bed is just fantastic.The best bed we had in our 4 weeks vacation through the North West of the USA. Mark is a wonderful guy and we would definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Custom MIL / Expansive Sound Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441168vbi
+1 (253) 297-5520
Tacoma Puget Sound
Dawsonville, GA
5

Awesome Home with view to match. Highly Recommended!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We came to the area to visit with our daughter and family. We stayed a month, three weeks at the house and one week at the daughters house. We could not ask for a better place to stay. The home was very clean, comfortable, roomy and a good value. The view was spectacular. We watched the ships pass in and out of Tacoma on Commencement bay. Being very close to the waterfront we could walk, choose from many restaurants, people watch others running, riding bikes,etc. We were always happy to return to our home away from home each day. Our hosts were the best. We were even invited to join their 4th of July activities. They were very accommodating always. We would choose this unit again on our next visit to the Northwest.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Custom MIL / Expansive Sound Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441168vbi
+1 (253) 297-5520
Tacoma Puget Sound
Texas
5

Texas visitor

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The suite was tastefully decorated and had EVERYTHING we needed. It was extremely clean and neat as well. It is in a great location to take day trips in and around the Tacoma area. Mark, the owner, was very efficient in responding to our questions and requests. Gave us great recommendations on restaurants, shopping areas as well. The view from the balcony/living room is breathtaking. I would highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Custom MIL / Expansive Sound Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p441168vbi
+1 (253) 297-5520
Tacoma Puget Sound
Hawaii
5

Excellent Location, Beautiful Home, Awesome Owners... Highly Recommend!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
I highly recommend this home to anyone on vacation. The home is very beautiful, comfortable, relaxing and in a perfect location near the Sound. The owner, Mark, was very accommodating and had some welcoming amenities when we arrived. The home had two bedrooms, two bathrooms, and very comfortable beds. The kitchen is fully stocked with everything you need. It is an upstairs downstairs unit and has an car elevator inside of the home. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely love to come back. I am sure that anyone would enjoy this beautiful home and hospitality that comes with it. Thank you, From Hawaii!!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway