Waikane estate rental - Island green
Island green
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Waikane Estate Rental Photos and Description
3 bedroom, 3 bath house on a secluded 2 and 1/2 acre estate.

Experience the seclusion and serenity of a rain forest in the back of Waiahole Valley with the cool stream waters, half acre koi pond, and private golf course ambiance providing the ultimate old Hawaii experience. The two story home comes with a fully equipped kitchen, dining room , bathroom, and living room with a large, flat screen TV. Upstairs are the master bedroom and bath with a stream view and king bed, along with two more bedrooms and a bath. The wrap-around deck upstairs gives stunning water and valley views. The large downstairs deck with lounge chairs is perfect for barbequing and relaxing.

I work for the Department of Education providing physical therapy for special needs children. My late husband was one of the leading landscape contractors in Hawaii and built the 9 hole golf course on our property to showcase his talents.

Christine Wilkinson purchased this estate in 1979

The property was a trout farm in the 1950's. Children from all over Oahu came to fish. We bought the property because it was perfect for my husband's landscape and nursery. He soon set his sights turning the many assets of the property into his private golf course.

Along with the cool waters of the Waiahole Stream, the half acre pond, the many specimen trees (including one of the most majestic monkey pod trees in Hawaii), and the close proximity to the ocean, it is the magnificent views of Waiahole Valley that provide such a great Oahu living experience.

15 Reviews of Property 440745 in Waikane, Hawaii

Back To Eden Hawaii
average rating of 4.9333334 based on 15 reviews
business
Back To Eden Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440745vb
Waikane Oahu
5

AMAZING

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Crowds are not my thing and the privacy at this location is unbeatable. There is not a better view of Hawaii than here!!!! The beaches are an easy drive and then come back to a totally different view that is totally serene. A must for anyone who wants to experience all Hawaii has to offer.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Back To Eden Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440745vb
Waikane Oahu
5

Great Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Recently stayed at Back to Eden with my young son, wife and parents. The house is a little off the beaten path but well worth the drive.

Chris and Buddy and gracious hosts and the house is large, clean, and well stocked with beach accessories, kitchen supplies, toiletries. My son especially enjoyed feeding the Koi in the pond and we all loved walking around the gorgeous backyard admiring the orange, papaya, banana trees and the various kaleidoscopic flowers. A great getaway from the frigid Canadian winter.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Back To Eden Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440745vb
Waikane Oahu
Toluca Lake, CA
5

Best Vacation Ever

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Back to Eden is an idyllic place to chill and enjoy Aloha Spirit. At the end of a country road, we kicked back and enjoyed the space. The property is as described, even prettier in person. Chris & Buddy were great and there when we needed them, though there were not problems. We did suffer from a lack of enough wine glasses but didn't think to mention it. Had we, the issue would have been solved immediately. We were a group of 5 adults, 1 who knew the Island really well so we didn't need much direction. I would recommend this property to all friends and relatives. If you are looking for the beachside, "get a tan vacation", this isn't necessarily your spot. Back to Eden is great for camaraderie, hanging out, cooking dinner, listening to Hawaiian music, feeding fish and enjoying country life in Hawaii. Dawn is beautiful here. Waking up to the sounds of birds was amazing. We ate all over Oahu, including the Poi Factory. Go north for the shrimp trucks. Waikiki is there when you want it, just a drive to town. This is upcountry Oahu and magnificent! Thanks Chris & Buddy for a very special vacation. We had a wonderful time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Back To Eden Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440745vb
Waikane Oahu
5

Paradise in the country

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This place was paradise. Christine and Buddy were very good host. My whole family was relaxed and enjoyed every moment. I especially enjoyed the backyard view while having a cup of coffee. I will definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

Alain
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Back To Eden Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440745vb
Waikane Oahu
Canada
5

Little Gem in East Oahu

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
This place is a little difficult to find (house numbers are random on that road) but it rocks. Chris and Buddy are terrific host. The house is on a big plot surrounded by the sound and smell of a tropical forest. Everyone in my party (of 7 across 3 generations) is amazed at how beautiful this house is. And it is not too far away from the hustle and bustle at Waikiki as it sounds. Perfect for a real Hawaiian vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Back To Eden Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440745vb
Waikane Oahu
5

Vacation rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Loved the house and property, the owners were very helpful with places to go and things to do. They had plenty of beach gear so we didn't have to rent anything. The beaches were less then 10 minutes away and very nice and clean.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Back To Eden Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440745vb
Waikane Oahu
5

Back to Eden Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We throughly enjoyed our recent stay. The property is accurately protraited in the photo's. Chris and Buddy could not have been any more accomodating and really made us feel welcome. The property was clean, and even stocked with condiments for us to use. We had a larger group and had plenty of space. The grounds were beautiful and well kept.
It is a little bit remote, but once you become familar with the area it's not a bad drive. The only negative was the lack of air conditioning. Didn't even think to ask when we booked it assuming everyplace had a/c. At night though it did cool off, and you were fine with the windows open and a fan.
I would recommend this to anyone who wants to get away from the congestion of the city and enjoy the real Hawaii
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Back To Eden Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440745vb
Waikane Oahu
Renton Washington
4

it was for sure the most beautiful place we could have stayed

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Though quit muggy and alot of bugs. The house was perfect for all of us and the owner was very nice and her dog very friendly and sweet. Would stay again for sure..
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Back To Eden Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440745vb
Waikane Oahu
Los Angeles, Ca
5

What a wonderful stay at Back to Eden!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We have been vacationing in Oahu every year and have stayed at many different rental properties. This trip by far has been the most relaxing because of Back to Eden. The pictures are exactly how the home looks in person and even more. What we loved was being able to walk on the property in the morning and see the beautiful, natural landscaping. Mahalo to Chris and Buddy for their gracious hospitality.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Back To Eden Hawaii
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440745vb
Waikane Oahu
Wasilla, Alaska
5

Pleasantly surprised

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My wife and I spent 8 days on the Island of Oahu with our two children who recently graduated high school and a family friend. We were very fortunate to have found “Back to Eden” and to have met the owners Chris and Buddy. The home truly met all the expectations that were highlighted in their advertisement. The home is spacious and the grounds are incredibly beautiful. It didn’t take long to realise it was an act of love that makes it so nice. We enjoyed the seclusion and peace and quiet the home offers
Chris and Buddy made us feel right at home. They treated us as friends instead of the tourists we were. They were both born and raised in Hawaii and were able to share stories you wouldn’t get from a tourist book.
I find I judge people and businesses by them doing what they say they’re going to do, when they say they’re going to do it. To me that’s good character. Both Chris and Buddy have good character and I would highly recommend staying at “Back to Eden.’ It was a good time had by all and I would do it all over again if given a chance. Thanks again Chris and Buddy for an enjoyable stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway