Fredericksburg apartment rental - The Fredericksburg RiverHouse awaits your arrival.
The Fredericksburg RiverHouse awaits your arrival.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Fredericksburg Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Apartment, 1 Bedroom, one full Bath (Sleeps 1-2)

The accommodation available is a 24x39ft (7.3x12M) studio apartment on the top floor of our three story home. It is quiet and private. From the private balcony and 14 floor-to-ceiling windows/glass doors, the room displays breathtaking views up and down the Rappahannock River. It includes an updated kitchen w/ all appliances/cookware/utensils/dining ware/coffee/tea. There is a full bath w/ plush towels. Other amenities include: a wood-burning fireplace; a spacious sitting area with a fold-down queen-sized futon, zoned ac/heating, HD TV with Netflix and high-speed wireless service. The king-sized bed is outfitted w/ luxury linens and a top-of-the-line mattress set. The outdoor area is wooded with mature trees. There are plenty of Adirondack chairs to enjoy the stunning views of the river, as well as the tranquility of the area. Fishing, swimming, canoeing and kayaking are available right from the property shore.

We have lived in the Fredericksburg area since 1995. We raised our five sons here and enjoyed many of our summer days playing on the river. Ruth graduated from the Medical College of Virginia in Richmond and has worked as a home health nurse for 25 years. She now works for a local home health agency. Lee retired as an officer after 23 years with the U.S. Coast Guard. He has his masters degree and works as a Systems Engineer. We enjoy traveling, meeting people and learning about their lives.

Our Riverhouse is a unique property on the Rappahannock River due to the proximity to the water, nature and to downtown Fredericksburg. When we purchased this home years ago we did so with the intention of sharing its beauty and an appreciation of the river with others.

Private balcony overlooking the Rappahannock River, a beautiful private space and easy access to downtown Fredericksburg.

20 Reviews of Property 440601 in Fredericksburg, Virginia

Tranquility on the River
average rating of 4.9473686 based on 20 reviews
business
Tranquility on the River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440601vbi
+(+1) (540)226-1774
Fredericksburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Roseville, MN 55113
5

WOW!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
RiverHouse was even more than we expected and better than the pictures! Ruth and Lee were welcoming, helpful and always willing to accommodate. We were there just less than 2 weeks and it was a lovely place to call "home." We've already sent the VRBO links to our friends and have encouraged them to visit. Be sure and try Eileen's Bakery/Coffee Shop and don't miss the Rising Sun Tavern (museum). We recommend these 2 restaurants: Castiglia's and Ristorante Renato.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you very much Catherine! You missed the ice flowing down the river but I'm sure you've seen plenty of that up in Minnesota. That's one of the wonderful things about this place, the views are beautiful no matter the season.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tranquility on the River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440601vbi
+(+1) (540)226-1774
Fredericksburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Brooklyn, NY
5

Beautiful view, restful stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The riverhouse is very restful and has a nice view of the Rappahonnack - great for birders. Our hosts were great, and we had a very restful time in Fredricksburg.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
Tranquility on the River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440601vbi
+(+1) (540)226-1774
Fredericksburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Where do you live?
5

Peaceful and relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This apartment had everything we needed. The view was spectacular and you can spend all morning just watching the river, the birds and nature just like a painting. The fireplace was warm and cozy, very romantic. We definitely would go back.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Tranquility on the River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440601vbi
+(+1) (540)226-1774
Fredericksburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Long Island, NY
5

Peaceful Home Away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
My husband and I fell in love with this listing when planning our honeymoon and the reality somehow far exceeded our high expectations! Lee and Ruth are warm, helpful, awesome people--friendly without being at all intrusive. The pictures here are beautiful, but they can't capture the serenity of the space. We set a very ambitious (aka grueling) itinerary for ourselves, yet no matter how exhausted we were by the end of the day, we always felt peaceful and refreshed upon returning to our home base. It's beautifully furnished while still being comfortable--a real home away from home. We've already recommended the River House to everyone we've talked to since returning home and are eager to return!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Tranquility on the River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440601vbi
+(+1) (540)226-1774
Fredericksburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
UK
5

The English tour of Virginia

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Fantastic location great apartment beautifully furnished and appointed, views to die for if only the trees could be cut back a little bit. Perfect hosts very accommodating. The perfect spot for touring the Fredericksburg area and very cosy to return to after a long day out. A small negative the train horns can be a little noisy but you soon get used to therm
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Tranquility on the River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440601vbi
+(+1) (540)226-1774
Fredericksburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Salt Lake City, UT
4

girl's weekend

girl's weekend
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here - cute space and roomy kitchen with everything you need. We were both new to and unfamiliar with the area. There was plenty of information available for us to read and review for activities. Unfortunately it was just too hot and steamy to enjoy the balcony and view! We didn't see much of the owners but they did greet us upon arrival and made sure we had everything we needed upon entering the room.

If you're a light sleeper, keep in mind that you're on the top floor of a big house with occupants so you will hear people coming and going. Also - you're sharing the front door and main stairway with the owners (so not a "private entrance").
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Tranquility on the River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440601vbi
+(+1) (540)226-1774
Fredericksburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Madison, Alabama, USA
5

Secluded Surprise

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We cannot say enough good things about this place. Tucked back into a corner at the end of a rather nondescript street, the spacious property is surrounded by lovely vegetation and offers an extremely private setting. The apartment itself is large and airy, with windows from end to end overlooking the river. We wish we could've taken advantage of the canoe and kayak offered to us by the hospitable owners. Both the bed and futon were comfy. Fredericksburg is very cute, as well as historical, and we enjoyed eating at Castiglia's.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Tranquility on the River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440601vbi
+(+1) (540)226-1774
Fredericksburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Vancouver, BC Canada
5

Totally Awesome

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I stayed at Riverhouse for the first week of our East Coast vacation with the idea of staying at a place from which we could commute to Washington DC but not have to drive in the city. We liked the look of this apartment on the VRBO website and the first surprise was that it was more amazing than the pictures we saw. The apartment was superb, clean and the views from the solid window front and outside deck were wonderful. Ruth and Lee were excellent hosts and Lucas, their son, who went off to college during our stay, was a big help with getting us settled.
The second huge surprise was that the train station (with free parking) was only a 15 minute drive away and got us right into downtown DC in just over an hour. Thirdly, the town of Fredericksburg was a huge surprise from the standpoint of civil war history including a major battle scene right there, superb original and restored homes from the period and just a gem that we knew nothing about prior to our visit. Last and probably least, a Walmart was 2 minutes away from Riverhouse.
Basically, our stay was more than worthwhile and much better than we imagined. Anyone contemplating a trip to DC and doing it the way we did, would be hard pressed to find a better location and value.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Tranquility on the River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440601vbi
+(+1) (540)226-1774
Fredericksburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Richmond, VA
5

Beautiful Weekend Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Absolutely beautiful stay! Some highlights:
* canoeing into Fredericksburg (an easy, 40-minute paddle)
* Wine tasting at Virginia Wine (downtown F'burg)
* Biking the Heritage Trail & Canal Path (3 miles total)
* Lunch at Sammy T's (great vegetarian selections)
But the best part was hanging out here in the treetops at River House! Loved it and can't wait to come back. Thanks so much to Lee and Ruth for providing a wonderful, relaxing getaway experience.
Terri & Dave - Richmond
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: There are so many wonderful sights and activities in the immediate area; but I'm like you, what I enjoy the most is sitting and gazing at the river. There is always some kind of animal life moving about (cardinals, eagles, ospreys, muskrat, ground hogs, even deer swimming across the river). The sunsets are my favorite time.
business
Tranquility on the River
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440601vbi
+(+1) (540)226-1774
Fredericksburg Northern Virginia - Washington DC
Fredericksburg, VA
5

Lovely Retreat, beautiful views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Lee & Ruth were lovely & very welcoming hosts. They have done an amazing job on this apartment. Its immaculately clean, very nicely furnished and nothing was forgotten. The pictures do not do this place justice... its even more lovely than it appears! They even have a canoe if you would like to take a trip down the river! Close to downtown yet offering the perfect amount of quiet & privacy. We so enjoyed our two night getaway to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary here in the lovely River House. Sitting on the balcony enjoying a glass of wine, listening to all the sounds of nature around us as we talked and overlooked the river was bliss. The apartment is beautiful, the views amazing and we look forward to returning for a longer stay! This place is a gem & we will be returning often. Many thanks!
Chris & Cynthia
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1