New Orleans cottage rental - The Octavia Cottage, in the heart of Uptown. Welcome to New Orleans!
The Octavia Cottage, in the heart of Uptown. Welcome to New Orleans!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 4 nights
 

New Orleans Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, (Sleeps 2-3)

This one hundred year old shotgun cottage is a classic New Orleans cottage with modern updates. Hardwood floors and high ceilings hold ceiling fans and original windows provide lots of natural light.

Entering the great room, a flat screen TV and speakers for your IPOD or laptop. The living area has a Queen sized sofa sleeper leads to the open full kitchen with an Oak dining table. Lovely light and 11 foot ceilings and ceiling fans are in all rooms.

The great room leads to the bedroom with an elegant Art Deco bedroom set and a new top of the line memory foam Queen mattress set, with deliciously soft high thread count new bedding and duvet cover. The bedroom leads to the updated bathroom with claw foot tub for soaking your dancing feet and dreaming.

There is an open closet across from bedroom with soft high thread count towels. The back door opens to the screened porch, my favorite room in the house, perfect for taking your cocktail under the swirling ceiling fan. The brick patio could be your next crawfish boil site. The studio in the back has a full sized washer/dryer. Celebrate Uptown New Orleans with fabulous food within walking distance in all directions, including the best poboys in town. St. Charles Avenue, Audubon Park and the Mississippi River all within 10 blocks of the cottage.

More Details
Hide Details

Amy is a New Orleanian and Jeff is from California. They are happy to share their sweet shotgun cottage and their favorite restaurants and music clubs with you. There's never enough time in New Orleans, no matter how much time you spend, you'll be coming back soon, hopefully to the Octavia Street Cottage in the heart of Uptown.

Amy Thigpen purchased this cottage in 2012

Amy's grandfather was born just across Magazine on Arabella, and she went to Lusher, and later Tulane for graduate school. She finds new things to savor every times she comes home and loves the way this neighborhood keeps getting better without losing it's sense of slow-paced charm.

I've always loved the shotgun cottage, simple with nice lines and no extraneous spaces, just enough room. Octavia street has all the things I love in a house including the ceiling fans and the screened porch for lounging and reading the Lagnaippe section of the paper to find out where to go for hot music or the Gambit for the best new restaurants in town. I love the old brick of the stoop and the fireplace and of course the claw foot tub, big enough for soaking those tired Jazz Fest feet.

We fell in love with the neighborhood when we stayed here a couple of years ago, on Annunciation and discovered the pleasures of biking in Audubon Park under the live oak trees and riding or walking the bike path on the levee along the river and within walking distance of fabulous restaurants and bars.

14 Reviews of Property 440263 in New Orleans, Louisiana

Octavia Street Cottage
average rating of 4.785714 based on 14 reviews
business
Octavia Street Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440263vb
510-967-0023
New Orleans Louisiana
4

Home-away-from-home

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I very much enjoyed our stay in the Shotgun cottage, which was as described. NOLA was having an unusual cold spell and we were thrilled that the heater worked very well. We enjoyed the safe, quiet and non-touristy neighborhood. The house was clean but I think the cleaner missed part of the bathroom. House was generally well-equipped, but I could have used a blender and iron. Great to come home from a day of action. Internet connection was intermittent. The owner was very responsive to try to help. Queen-size bed was good as were all the nice bedding and towels. Very good washer + dryer a plus. We ate in many highly rated and local restaurants and the best Jambalaya we had was from Whole Foods down the block. We needed to rent a car, (plenty of on-street parking), but you could easily get around without one. Beware if you do have a car, that NOLA has a parking regulation that you cannot park 20 feet from an intersection! This applies whether or not the intersection is marked. We got a $40 ticket near the convention center. Would be happy to rent again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
business
Octavia Street Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440263vb
510-967-0023
New Orleans Louisiana
5

A charming piece of New Orleans

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This is a gem of a 'shotgun' house in a very nice Uptown neighborhood. We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our one week stay here. It was cozy, comfortable, and well appointed.
We like to walk and the surrounding neighborhood and area is full of quintessential New Orleans residential architecture.
Magazine Street and many amenities are very close by, including many good neighborhood restaurants. Shopping for food to bring back to the house is very convenient.
If you want to experience a real New Orleans neighborhood experience this is the place to stay, and Amy is terrific- very personable and accommodating.
business
Octavia Street Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440263vb
510-967-0023
New Orleans Louisiana
Athens, Georgia
5

A perfect stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
What a charming home! The house was the perfect size for my husband and me, and we loved the entire space, especially the back screened-in porch and patio. The house is even cuter in person. The neighborhood was walkable and we felt completely safe, and the patio area felt very private. Be sure to check out Laurel Street Bakery -- just around the corner!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Octavia Street Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440263vb
510-967-0023
New Orleans Louisiana
5

So happy we decided to stay here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
The photos don't do justice to this cute, shotgun style house. This was the perfect place for our first visit to NOLA, close enough to the streetcar to get to everything but a quiet and safe retreat to relax. My husband and I walked to Magazine street to eat at local restaurants a couple of times and shopped at the Whole Foods so that we could cook some of our meals in the kitchen of the cottage. This is close to Audobon Park which is just beautiful. I loved the zoo! Thanks so much to our hosts. Don't hesitate to book this haven on Octavia St!
Owner's Response: I'm so glad ya'll enjoyed your stay. Please do come back and visit the cottage.

All Best,

Amy and Jeff
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Octavia Street Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440263vb
510-967-0023
New Orleans Louisiana
Hamden, CT
5

our stay on Octavia st

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
The place is very nice and clean. The location excellent. the owner very friendly and accommodating. We could not have asked for more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Octavia Street Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440263vb
510-967-0023
New Orleans Louisiana
ventura,calif,usa
5

Exceeds Expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 8, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I booked the cottage for my daughter and I to help her transition to College. I had never been to New Orleans and had no idea what to expect. This place was fantastic, it was close to everything ( Tulane, French Quarter, Garden District, Downtown, Audubon Park and much more). Neighbors were very friendly and made you feel welcome. The cottage had everything you needed, on nights we did not go out we shopped at Whole Foods( a couple blocks away) and Bar-b qued in the backyard. We plan on staying at this location when visiting. Thanks Amy for a wonderful experience.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Octavia Street Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440263vb
510-967-0023
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Octavia Street Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Great Spot. Convenient to the University's and Uptown. Can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
business
Octavia Street Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440263vb
510-967-0023
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Wonderful time on Octavia Street!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family and I had a wonderful time staying at the Octavia Street cottage for a NOLA Spring Break! We kept everyone going non-stop going to the Zoo, the Aquarium, a street festival, the Quarter, the awesome (if you're four) Storybook Park and exploring the beautiful Uptown neighborhood. By the end of the full day we were all ready to settle down for a late dinner and maybe a movie before bed - my kids are 4 and 2 so having some unstructured, non-restaurant evening time really made the vacation for us.

The Cottage was exactly as described. All of the basics were there to cook in the kitchen and bathe the kids in a fun claw-foot tub. Everything was very clean and well maintained. There were even extras like a bag of beads for the kids to play with and an infinity of plastic cups from previous festivals. We used all of the appliances - dishwasher, fridge, microwave, toaster, laundry, stove, AC, hot water - and had no issues at all.

The neighborhood seemed very safe and the traffic slow so we spent time sitting on the porch or walking around the area. It is very vibrant and active neighborhood with plenty of people walking around and beautiful houses to look at. We took strolls with the kids to playgrounds, shopping, ice cream, festivals. The zoo was a bit of a stretch for the young kids - a bit over a mile - but I'd consider it walking distance. The house was also easy to get to and from as we drove around, and we never had a problem parking pretty much right in front. We drove more than usual as we had the kids - if it were just adults we hardly would have, the St Charles Streetcar was just a few blocks away and there were bus stops everywhere.

We didn't get to sample much of the nightlife with the kids and all. Did check out a local pub and a nice upscale pizza joint around the corner. We also ate a lot of carryout while the kids ate their favorite foods from home. At night it was quite quiet, I can't recall hearing any street noise.

Working with the owner Amy was quite easy - she was responsive and laid back. We never had occasion to contact her with an issue, as everything was in order for our stay.

We would love to come back and stay again, and would absolutely recommend this cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Octavia Street Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440263vb
510-967-0023
New Orleans Louisiana
5

Octavia Cottage April 2013

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Though we arrived late, the cottage was ready and waiting for us. The neighborhood was safe and Amy's instructions for access were easy to follow. What a treat to walk into a sweet little "shotgun" home perfect for a couple's retreat! The house was clean and organized, the towels were delightfully soft, and the kitchen was well-equipped. Adventuring was easy and fun the next day, with fun excursions within walking distance and accessible buses, coffee shops, book stores,Whole Foods grocery, and lots of fun stuff to do. We chose the Cottage because of its proximity to Tulane where my husband attended a 2-day workshop. It was perfect, just a 35-minute walk from the campus, and close to the zoo and Audubon Park for me. We just loved the Octavia Cottage and hope to go stay there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Octavia Street Cottage
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440263vb
510-967-0023
New Orleans Louisiana
Chicago
5

Charming Cottage, Excellent Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We really enjoyed our stay at the Octavia Street Cottage. It was a well-maintained, clean, charming cottage--the perfect size for our family of 3. The location was ideal and we particularly enjoyed the close proximity to Audubon park, the zoo, and the shops and restaurants on Magazine Street. We had a fabulous stay and would definitely recommend this cottage to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway