Kaanapali condo rental - View from lanai
View from lanai
 
  • BedroomsStudio
  • Sleeps3
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 - 10 nights
 

Kaanapali Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, Studio, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-3)

Luxurious Studio W/ Computer, 47' TV(+Netflix), Beach Gear and More

Elegantly decorated, this third floor unit (#365) includes everything you need for a fantastic vacation. Inside our condo you'll find a computer for your use, a 47' LCD TV with Netflix (paid for by us) and HBO. Beach gear includes chairs, umbrella, cooler, snorkel gear, boogie board and deluxe towels.

The kitchen is well equipped- everything you need to cook meals or make snacks. Our Cal King bed has gotten rave reviews from our guests.

This studio unit is among the lowest priced at the Whaler, yet the amenities are unmatched.

Amenities include:

» Central air conditioning

» Computer in unit for email, music (Audyssey speakers), web access, videos, etc.

» California King Bed with memory foam topper, quality linens and pillows

» 47” LCD TV

» Free wi-fi

» Free Netflix (provided by owner).

» Free HBO

» Two deluxe beach chairs, beach umbrella, cooler, deluxe beach towels and all the beach equipment you might need

» Queen size sofa bed

» Fully equipped and well stocked kitchen

Last Minute Deals - call/email for special rates if booking within 30 days or filling small gaps between bookings.

The Whaler charges a $12 per day parking fee payable at the front desk upon check-in.

See Rate Details below for additional information.

Hawaii State Tax ID: W08272818-01

More Details
Hide Details

Location, location, location.

  As they say in Hawaii: 'Maui no ka oi' (Maui is the best). And Kaanapali beach is one of the nicest beaches in the world.

14 Reviews of Property 440081 in Kaanapali, Hawaii

The Whaler- Deluxe Studio - Best Amenities, Best Value
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
The Whaler- Deluxe Studio - Best Amenities, Best Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440081vbi
4254552133
Kaanapali Maui
5

Wonderful Getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
My husband and I decided at the last minute to get away to Maui for our anniversary. This condo had the exact dates we needed and we were thrilled. The owners were very accommodating and very easy to work with. The condo is exactly as the pictures show. It has everything you need and more. It has been remodeled very nicely. We were there just to relax so the location was perfect for us. We could walk to restaurants or to shopping at the Whaler Village right next door as well as take long walks along the boardwalk. It was wonderful and we would definitely stay there again.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
business
The Whaler- Deluxe Studio - Best Amenities, Best Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440081vbi
4254552133
Kaanapali Maui
5

One of the best kept secrets on Maui!!!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Yes.......ANOTHER 5 Stars!!!!
I read all the reviews too, and it truly is better than the pictures and the description!

Doug and Elizabeth have a very beautiful "villa" on one of the best beaches in the world! My wife and I stayed on Maui for two weeks in one hotel, and two VRBO properties and this was the best one was over the top - wonderful.

I don't know why anyone would book a hotel, when you can have all the amenities of home for a very competitive price!

I could go on and on as many other reviews have, but I'll just say that we will recommend this place to our friends, and family, and we will be back again!!!

Doug, thanks for taking excellent care of us!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
The Whaler- Deluxe Studio - Best Amenities, Best Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440081vbi
4254552133
Kaanapali Maui
Chicago, IL
5

Amazing! Wonderful! 5-Star Luxury!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had such an amazing time celebrating our Honeymoon on Maui and definitely chose the right place to stay. This unit is better than advertised; 5-star luxury all of the way! From the moment I booked the unit, Doug was fantastic, sending me recommendations for restaurants, activities, luau's, shopping, etc. When we arrived on Maui, we could not have been more pleased with the unit and the resort feel (without the expensive resort prices) of the property. The unit itself was updated, spacious, clean and safe. It felt like home and the views from the lanai are fantastic! We enjoyed The Whaler's proximity to the shopping/dining on the beach as well as to the other hotels along the beachwalk and it was a short drive to Lahaina or anywhere else we wanted to go on West Maui. We especially LOVED the access to the beach and used the snorkel gear every day to explore the area around Black Rock. We even tried to wake board on the giant waves. Everything was fantastic. Thank you to Doug and Elizabeth for opening your beautiful condo to travelers and for providing such a comfortable and homey atmosphere. When we come back, we'll definitely be booking with you again! In the meantime I'm recommending your condo to anyone who will listen. Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
The Whaler- Deluxe Studio - Best Amenities, Best Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440081vbi
4254552133
Kaanapali Maui
5

Perfect Location, Perfect Price

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I arrived with my 5.5yr old on Aug 12, 2013 and left Aug 17, 2013. Short, last minute trip and we were so fortunate to find this unit. The pricing was amazing. The amenities of the unit and condo resort were perfect. My sister and her family were staying at another location which was a 5min walk and about 4x more expensive. The ocean was much calmer by The Whaler and the unit came packed with all kinds of beach toys. The condos are right next to the Whaler Village with shops and restaurants. I did not have a car while there, so the location was convenient and the city bus picks up at Whaler's Village and was about a 5min $2.00 ride to the Safeway. The view from the balcony was gorgeous.
My only complaint (if you can call it that) is the pool at the condo is all deep end, so for those with younger children who like to wade or play in shallow water, that is not available.
I would definitely recommend this unit to friends/family and would absolutely return for future vacations. The owner was so helpful and provided a lot of great information as it was my first time to Hawaii.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
The Whaler- Deluxe Studio - Best Amenities, Best Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440081vbi
4254552133
Kaanapali Maui
Beaverton, Oregon
5

Incredible studio with lots of amenities!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I chose this studio for our week-long stay based on the location and all the amenities Doug listed on the VRBO website and we were so happily surprised there were even more than he had listed! We loved the computer (and the snorkeling guide on there), the books, the huge TV with netflix, and everything included in the kitchen which allowed us to cook most of our meals at the condo. We took advantage of his beach equipment including snorkeling gear which worked great, boogie boards, and pool noodles, as well as taking his beach chairs out to watch the sunset on numerous beaches. It saved us so much time, hassel and money to not have to rent all that stuff! The bed was super comfy and the view! To be able to wake up and walk out on the lanai and see the beautiful ocean - and so much privacy because of a nice bush outside. He said the Whaler was the perfect place to stay and he was so right! We walked to Whalers Village to shop almost every night, and spent more than a few days walking down to Black Rock which turned out to be one of the best snorkeling spots we found on the island - we swam with a huge turtle there for half an hour! We look forward to renting from Doug again - he was extremely helpful, gave us tips and ideas and helped us feel comfortable with our first trip to Maui. Needless to say, we will be back staying at this condo as soon as we can!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
The Whaler- Deluxe Studio - Best Amenities, Best Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440081vbi
4254552133
Kaanapali Maui
Seattle WA
5

Wonderful Week at the Whaler

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My wife, 4 month old daughter & I just spent a wonderful week at the whaler. We chose the whaler due to the location and chose this unit due to all of the amenities and we are happy to say that we made the right choices.

The whaler is located close to great snorkeling, on a great beach with a great pool and walking distance to enough shopping that most days we did not need or use our car. The unit had everything we needed and having our own beach gear was much better than renting gear for the day/week as most hotel guests have to do. Communication with Doug was very easy and when we asked about a pack-n-play for our daughter they added one to their long list of amenities for us.

We spent our days at the Whaler pool or Black Rock and in the evenings we used the community grills and enjoyed sunset picnics on the beach or on the lanai (the condo had everything needed for preparing and packing a beach picnic). The highlight for us turned out to be the Whaler itself. Many of the units are time interval shares so the same families come back year after year at the same time and all know each other. There were parents, grandparents and kids of all ages having fun at the pool and after one day we felt like we were part of the family. It really did feel like someone's backyard pool and BBQ (on the beach) as opposed to a big hotel pool with strangers coming and going all day.

My wife & I are both light sleepers and picky about beds and pillows. The bed was very comfortable, they offered a wide selection of pillows (we both found what we liked) and the room was very quiet for sleeping. We had to shut the lanai doors at night due to the sounds of the birds in the morning (when bird chirping is the sound that disturbs your sleep you know it was a quiet night).

We highly recommend the whaler as a great spot for a vacation and would gladly stay in Doug & Elizabeth's beautiful studio.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
The Whaler- Deluxe Studio - Best Amenities, Best Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440081vbi
4254552133
Kaanapali Maui
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
5

Wonderful Stay at Whaler

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 24, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
My two girlfriends and I recently stayed at Doug & Elizabeth's unit at the Whaler. We cannot stop raving about how convenient and well kept this unit was. We were worried at first that the unit may be small for 3 ladies w lots of luggage but we managed quite well. The unit is well placed - right on the beach, Whaler's village right next door and easy access to the main road. I poured over reviews for months before selecting this unit. What made this whole process easier was the communication with Doug. He was so helpful with tips (rental cars, excursions etc) and was very quick to reply to all my questions. Most of all, we were blown away with the little details that came with the unit. Netflicks, GREAT beach chairs and umbrellas, cooler, beach buggy, mats etc. Doug and Elizabeth thought of EVERYTHING! We stayed in Oahu as well and we had to purchase many of the above items since they quality of those items were quite poor.

The only complaint I would have (its not really a complaint at all bc it did not bug us) was that we couldn't get the computer running - however we had our own laptop and used the wifi. Besides that - this unit is wonderful for couples, singles, small families etc. I would highly recommend this unit solely for the thoughtfulness of the owners - the rest of it is all a bonus!

Thank you Doug & Elizabeth for a wonderful time...looking forward to coming back!

Mahalo!
Jamie, Jen & Veronica
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at our condo. We truly want our guests to be pleased with the accommodations and offer it at a reasonable price. Sorry that the computer was not working (glad you had a laptop!). We did have it serviced after your stay. It turns out it wasn't a serious problem (screen resolution was set to an unsupported value) and it's once again working fine. The problem, of course, is that we can't control all the updates made by our guests. Thanks for the kind words and the 5 star rating!
--Doug
business
The Whaler- Deluxe Studio - Best Amenities, Best Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440081vbi
4254552133
Kaanapali Maui
Portland, OR
5

Wonderful Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My boyfriend and I had never been to Hawaii before, so for our first trip we decided on Kaanapali Beach. I had reached out to a number of different owners on VRBO, but ultimately decided on this unit. It exceeded our expectations - it was very clean, definitely enough space for two people, and the lanai was quiet/private. The unit is pretty much exactly as the photos depict - however, I think even better in person!

Our experience in communicating with Doug was great - he was very responsive in answering questions, making recommendations for restaurants/activities, and ensuring we had everything we needed to make sure our stay was enjoyable.

Highlights:
- Location: The Whaler is located in the best area of the Kaanapali Beachwalk in my opinion. Right near the shopping complex, and best happy hour in town (Leilani's).
- Gear: We loved using the boogie boards! Having the chairs and umbrella on hand was super convenient, who wants to pay $40+ day to rent on the beach?!
- Lanai: We enjoyed the privacy of the lanai, as well as the ocean view (better view than in the pictures, actually). We sat out there every night gazing at the water.
- Kitchen: The kitchen had all the utensils and dishes we needed for cooking.
- Bed: Very comfy!

We had a slight hiccup upon check-in, where The Whaler did not show our reservation in their system. However, it was my impression that this was an issue on their end, NOT any fault of the owners.

We will definitely be staying here again. Thank you Doug and Elizabeth!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Whaler- Deluxe Studio - Best Amenities, Best Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440081vbi
4254552133
Kaanapali Maui
Bonney Lake, WA (Seattle)
5

Maui Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The last time we went to Maui we stayed at a hotel. This was so much nicer! The room was clean, well decorated, inviting, and the bed was great. Having all the beach gear (everything you can imagine) was awesome, convenient and saved money! My niece and I loved the privacy of the lanai yet still having an ocean view. We actually saw whales while sitting on the lanai! While snorkeling we saw huge turtles! The pool was perfect, just the right temperature. The parking was so easy and extremely convenient. I usually don't leave reviews but the owners deserve one. Will stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
The Whaler- Deluxe Studio - Best Amenities, Best Value
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440081vbi
4254552133
Kaanapali Maui
Chemainus
5

Excellent Accomodation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a wonderful time in this beatifully decorated, well equipped condo. As we didn't plan on going out much, the well stocked kitchen was a treat. The patio receives sunshine most of the day, but is large enough you can seek shade if you get too warm. Nice way to spend an hour or so reading a book. Had a lunch at the Hula Girl, and a dinner at Leilani's. Both were very good. Also had a cool treat at Yogurtland in Whalers Village. Having the computer was a treat. The pool is great for laps, and the gym was never extremely busy. The boardwalk stretches a mile or so for a nice walk. Saw whales every day. We had a car, but there is a shuttle to Lahaina that leaves from Whalers Village on the hour. There is an ABC store in WHalers Village as well. Would stay here again anytime.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2