Merida townhome rental - The pool and back garden.
The pool and back garden.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Merida Townhome Rental Photos and Description
2 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms With Pool, Roof Top Deck, Perfect For One Or Two Couples

Casa Santa Lucia is located in the desirable central neighborhood of Santa Lucia. A few minutes walk will take you to the beautiful Plaza Grande or to Santa Anna Park, where on Saturday nights all the locals go to watch Mexican dancers, sample delicious homemade foods and buy local Mexican handicrafts. This stunning home, with its custom designed paste tile floors in gorgeous muted tones, also has original exposed beams, stone details in the spa-like baths, and a designer kitchen. The suspended steel and concrete staircase leading to the roof deck make this a unique and sophisticated yet casual Mexican home.

The first floor features a large foyer, comfortable living room with an entertainment center, storage and office area, full bathroom, laundry room, dining room and kitchen. The living and dining area opens to the tropical garden and in ground pool with an outside shower, providing the best of indoor/outdoor living. Upstairs there are two air-conditioned master suites each with a spa like bathroom. The master suite has a large walk in closet, a balcony with a hammock and overlooks the pool and private garden. The rooftop terrace has spectacular views of the Cathedrals, squares and Spanish colonial architecture providing a birds-eye view of all that makes Merida so special.

Stay at home and have a relaxing dinner in the dining room or by the luxurious pool or explore Centro in Merida. Casa Santa Lucia is within walking distance to charming restaurants and local artisan shops.

On a more personal note, when my wife and I were furnishing our house in Merida, a homeless dog was injured outside of our home. It was Mexico’s Independence Day and there was no one to come to the aid of the poor injured dog. After more than 2 hours of trying to locate some help, we finally reached Sylvia Cortes of Evolution Animals, who said “I will be right there”; for this reason and because we are both animal lovers, we vowed that we would donate 10% of the rental income to her organization. Ms. Cortes and her organization of volunteers do a terrific job for the welfare of animals in the Yucatan. This conveniently located home will make your vacation in Merida a memorable and comfortable experience. “Mi casa es su casa”.

Sincerely,

Ellen and Tucker

More Details
Hide Details

My wife Ellen and I decided we would take a trip to Merida after we had sold our restaurant in Newport, Rhode Island. With all the demands of owning a restaurant for over 16 years, we had actually never taken a vacation. However, last spring, we decided to venture to Merida after we had heard of how enchanting it was from a close friend who comes every year, as well as from watching several episodes of House Hunters International.

We rented a house that we had seen on Vacation Rentals By Owner and fell in love with Merida. It is such a magical and charming city, filled with unique shops, incredibly beautiful restaurants and wonderful people. We decided that we would look at some houses to potentially purchase while we were in Merida, and Casa Santa Lucia was the second house we visited. All others paled in comparison, so we decided we would make an offer.

We love Merida and our home here and hope that anyone who decides to share our home enjoys it as well.

Tucker Harris purchased this townhome in 2012

If you decided to rental Casa Santa Lucia, not only will you enjoy all the comforts of home with all the amenities, but you will be helping the abandoned animals of the Yucatan, 10% of your rent will be donated to Evolucion Animals, run by Sylvia Cortez.

One of the best things about our home is that it is centrally located and in close proximity to local shops, restaurants and activities that Merida has to offer. It is only 3 blocks from the city square, Plaza Grande.

Ellen and I decided that we would furnish Casa Santa Lucia to be comfortable; hence, all the furnishings are there because of their comfort. Our design is contemporary with comfort in mind, with a touch of Mexican antiques for their aesthetic beauty. We had a great time buying from local artisans as well as from little-known Cuban artist. We found a quite large beautiful cross at a small antique store close by that was found in a little village near Merida and was made from old beams. The lamps in the bedrooms and some of the pictures were bought from local artisans and artist from the park at Santa Anna’s Saturday night festival.

Relax by the pool, in the comfortable living room with the television with cable, iPod and CD stereo, watch a movie or have a drink on the roof top deck with a view of the city and the church steeples If you stay at Casa Santa Lucia, you will undoubtedly be inclined to relax, put your feet up and enjoy your stay.

9 Reviews of Property 440061 in Merida, Yucatan / Mayan Riviera

Beautiful Home With Pool In Centro Merida
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Beautiful Home With Pool In Centro Merida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440061vb
401-849-4425 or 401.649.0561
Merida Yucatan
5

Wonderful!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We found our stay at this property to be great! The manager was very personable and took the time explain everything about the property and made herself available when needed. The property is in a great location! Walking distance to fabulous restaurants and 3 plazas.
Very comfortable living quarters and the kitchen has everything you need to cook meals.
The property owner was very nice and accommodating. We would definitely stay at this property again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful Home With Pool In Centro Merida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440061vb
401-849-4425 or 401.649.0561
Merida Yucatan
5

WHAT MORE CAN ONE SAY????

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 10, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We read the previous seven 5 star reviews before booking Casa Santa Lucia, thinking that some exaggeration was involved. We were wrong. The house is totally deserving of all the praise given to it. And, if you had a previous knowledge of the Merida city layout and were asked where you would like to have a house----this would be the spot.

The photos associated with the property description do a perfect job of reflecting the beauty of this house.

Rather than repeat all that has been said in the previous outstanding reviews---because we agree 100%--- we want to emphasize the care and attention we received from Tucker (property owner) and Silvia (property manager). They both were there for us 24/7, ensuring that all was in order with the house, that our questions about the area were answered, and that we had recommendations for restaurants and things to do. After our two weeks there, we reflected on what more could have been done for us-----we could think of nothing more!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Home With Pool In Centro Merida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440061vb
401-849-4425 or 401.649.0561
Merida Yucatan
5

A Magical Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The four of us had the pleasure to stay in Casa Santa Lucia over Thanksgiving week. We had a great time! What a surprise, stepping in from he city street into an absolute oasis! This gem is soooo inspirational, from design to art work to overall feel. The welcome basket was a nice surprise... Can't wait to go back! Tucker, Ellen and Silvia thank you very much!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful Home With Pool In Centro Merida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440061vb
401-849-4425 or 401.649.0561
Merida Yucatan
ny
5

Beautiful home with pool in centro Merida

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
wonderful property, attentive owner and property manager. home is well apointed. beautiful oasis in centro. the location is excellent for those who want to walk and explore the city. short drive to many beautiful ruins.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Home With Pool In Centro Merida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440061vb
401-849-4425 or 401.649.0561
Merida Yucatan
5

Beautiful home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
From the first time I stepped into the foyer all I could say was WOW. The house was gorgeous. From the furniture to the art work to the wonderful pool in the courtyard, it all really amazed me. The living room was a great place to hang out and watch TV if you are so inclined. The little breakfast table that looks out to the pool was also a great place to relax and enjoy a drink or two. The kitchen had everything you could need including a cold water dispenser for your personal use. We were four adults and the two bedrooms were very spacious. Each bedroom (and the living room) has A/C which was a godsend since it was pretty hot in Merida when we were there. We enjoyed taking a dip in the pool at the end of the day and loved that it lit up at night, too. There was also a washer and dryer )with detergent in stock) which we took advantage of since some people in my group were coming from a week in Central Mexico. We didn't make use of the rooftop because it was wet from rain, but I could see that it would be nice to relax there at night and look out at the cathedral in better weather. The location is about 2-3 blocks away from the center of town so it was so convenient to walk around. I kind of wish we stayed longer in Merida so we could've enjoyed the house even more. Also, Tucker the owner was very responsive and even let us know of local events during the time that we would be there. His property manager Silvia was there when we arrived and showed us around the house and even had a bottle of wine and a bag of Mexican coffee for our stay. When I go back to Merida I would not hesitate staying at this property again.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Home With Pool In Centro Merida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440061vb
401-849-4425 or 401.649.0561
Merida Yucatan
London
5

Excellent house. Very happy with service.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We were very happy with the house and our stay. Tucker (the owner) was very flexible when we needed to extend the stay by one night, and the house itself was perfect. Really, no complaints. Would book again if I am ever in Merida again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful Home With Pool In Centro Merida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440061vb
401-849-4425 or 401.649.0561
Merida Yucatan
Chicago
5

Lovely, Easy and Comfy

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 9, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
I come to Merida 2 to 3 times per year and often rent a house for the duration of my stay. I like to rent a different place each trip to experience different neighborhoods but also to experience different houses. Over the years I have inadvertently almost become a Merida rental expert, and in this unofficial role I can share with other VRBO renters that this house should be at the top of your list. It is esthetically lovely, easy to live in, with comfy couches and beds (often not the case in vacation rentals). The location is very close to Santa Lucia park and 10 min. walk to the core of town. Like many houses in the center of Merida it is on a busy street and because I like my quiet, I can reassure renters that noise is not an issue in this house. It is well insulated by glass and at night this street is quiet. There is a mescal bar 1/2 a block away, yes, and you do hear the partying and music sounds on week-end nights but I found it festive and by no means unpleasant. The master bedroom has beautiful French doors overlooking a balcony and the pool, and closing those doors, which I actually kept open at night even on week-ends, will put light sleepers at rest, literally. I will rent this house again without hesitation. The house manager, by the way, is Silvia, and she would rival any Four Seasons concierge, no exaggeration.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 10/10
business
Beautiful Home With Pool In Centro Merida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440061vb
401-849-4425 or 401.649.0561
Merida Yucatan
Akumal, Mexico & Mississippi
5

Great Stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
Our one-week stay at Casa Santa Lucia was a perfect change of pace from our home in Akumal, Mexico. Casa Santa Lucia has all the amenities you would look for in a Merida rental: centrally located, walking distance to the main plaza and Paseo Montejo, quiet indoor areas, relaxing outdoor space, comfortable beds, plenty of hot water, a wonderful bilingual manager Sylvia, fresh flowers on arrival, and beautifully furnished rooms. It was especially nice after long, noisy walks in the city to turn the key to the door and walk into such a serene space. It was also important for us that the owners are so dog-friendly, as we travel with our dog Nico. An extra incentive for us animal lovers is the fact that they give back to the animal rescue community in Merida. We look forward to a return visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 7/7
business
Beautiful Home With Pool In Centro Merida
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p440061vb
401-849-4425 or 401.649.0561
Merida Yucatan
Berkeley, California
5

A Beautiful Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 29, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
When my wife and I arrived at Casa Lucia, we were greeted by Silvia, the property manager. Silvia took us on a thorough tour of the house. She answered all our many questions patiently and informatively. She was a font of information about things to do and see in Merida, including the best places to eat. Silvia is available 24/7, prompt and always courteous. There was even a bouquet of yellow roses.

The house is gorgeous. Everything is modern and like new. The house is impeccably decorated and came with everything we needed. The pool is lovely. Perfect for a cooling dip after a hot day of exploring
Merida. We loved having coffee and meals out by the pool in the gorgeous yard.

This house is located in the center of the city. The house is within walking distance of all the oldest churches, monuments, museums and the opera house and other major sights. There are scores of restaurants, clubs and shops within easy walking distance.

Our stay at Casa Lucia was perfect. The house is beautiful, the location is perfect. I can't say enough good things to say. This is a beautiful house in a beautiful city. Highest recommendation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8