San Luis Obispo apartment rental - The Oak Unit: A cozy living room with bursts of color
The Oak Unit: A cozy living room with bursts of color
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

San Luis Obispo Apartment Rental Photos and Description
Compact Home Away From Home

Recently rated America's friendliest city, San Luis Obispo is a small historic town nestled between world-class wineries and the Pacific Ocean. Four blocks from this unit, the downtown area features a well-known Farmers Market and walk-streets.

There are terrific trails for hiking and mountain biking amidst a beautiful agricultural area -- with all the benefits of being in the heart of town.

The apartment is equipped with a full bath and kitchen (dishwasher, refrigerator, stove, microwave) for complete flexibility close to town. You can park your car and walk during your entire stay, or come by train with the Amtrak station just 2 blocks away.

Your vacation apartment is part of a duplex located behind a historic home; it features a small balcony. There is a queen bed in the bedroom, a living room, dining area and fully-equipped kitchen.

This unit is on the 2nd story, so stairs are required to access the unit.

The building is shaded by mature palm trees in the back and a majestic oak in the front. We are also situated on a small creek. Our winter rains have filled the creek, providing the soundtrack of a babbling brook.

The full kitchen allows you to prepare and store food if you don't want to eat out every meal.

There are two similarly-size units located across the landing from each other. If you have extended family or a larger party, you can rent both concurrently, depending on availability.

More Details
Hide Details

We bought this property with the idea that we would like to retire in downtown SLO some day. The location of this property would allow us to zoom around in a battery-powered golf cart for all of our visiting, shopping and entertainment. We love dogs (and most other animals except gophers), hiking, motorcycling and we volunteer with the local search and rescue team. The picture of was taken the week before our wedding at the San Diego Zoo, behind the scenes with two Beluga whales; Fernando had SUCH a personality.

Mary McNally & Bill Bartlett purchased this apartment in 2012

The vacation rentals are both 560-sq. ft., one-bedroom apartments. We have recently remodeled the kitchens and furnished and decorated the entire space. We tried to anticipate your every need, providing all the necessities.

We are in the historic Railroad District, two blocks from Railroad Square. We are minutes away from Cal Poly and the Performing Arts Center, a short walk to downtown SLO, and close to wonderful hiking trails. This is a good place for you if you want a place to hang your hat, feel comfortable, cook for yourself, and get out to enjoy the natural beauty and inviting culture here.

No car is necessary unless you want to explore outside of town. A car does help to get to the beaches or for a cruise up Pacific Coast Highway. There are ten restaurants and delicatessens within a couple of blocks and many more with a quick walk to town.

San Luis Obispo features almost 200 wineries. We are eight miles to Avila Beach and Sycamore Mineral Hot Springs; twelve miles to Pismo Beach, Morro Bay, and Montana de Oro State Park -- there are countless places to visit. Drive north up California's beautiful Pacific Coast Highway to Hearst Castle and the elephant seal viewing area; or drive another 60 miles up the PCH to breathtaking Big Sur. Santa Barbara is 1 1/2 hours south. There are great golf courses nearby and hiking trails galore!

16 Reviews of Property 439886 in San Luis Obispo, California

Quiet comfort in popular Railroad District & 4 blocks from downtown
average rating of 4.733333 based on 16 reviews
business
Quiet comfort in popular Railroad District & 4 blocks from downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439886vbi
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
Olympia, WA
5

I highly recommend this VRBO!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This apartment is in a great location- walking distance to town and located in the Railroad District which has good restaurants, coffee shops, and activities. It feels like a very safe neighborhood. The apartment is well equipped with everything I needed. The bed and furniture are comfortable and well taken care of. Mary and Bill are so friendly and were very responsive and helpful with any questions or help that I needed. Wonderful people!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet comfort in popular Railroad District & 4 blocks from downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439886vbi
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
Bay Area
4

comfortable & close to downtown

comfortable & close to downtown
  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The apartment is comfortable, cozy & clean. We enjoyed being able to walk to downtown. Mitchell park is down the street which was perfect for our toddler. The apartment had the amenities important for a family traveling with a toddler: a bath tub & washer/dryer. The apartment is tucked in the rear near the creek and it was quiet.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Young Children
business
Quiet comfort in popular Railroad District & 4 blocks from downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439886vbi
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
Irvine, CA
5

Exactly what you ask for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I know many hotels / rental housing try to sell themselves more than what they really are, but this rental is everything you think it is. And in a good way too! Bill and Mary were more than accommodating, and when they found out we were about to go to Avila Beach, he lent us two beach chairs for us to use.
The property is very clean and well kept.
I will definitely stay here again when I am up in the area
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Quiet comfort in popular Railroad District & 4 blocks from downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439886vbi
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
-
4

Clean, comfortable, and GREAT location!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I took a trip to SLO before the arrival of our daughter... one last trip before she came early! The owners were very quick to respond to questions and were very friendly. The condo is located upstairs and in the railroad district. We walked to downtown everyday which was only about 15 minutes. The apartment has everything you would need for a getaway and was very clean. Easy to find lots of parking too. Next door is a youth hostel and I was a tiny bit concerned about what that might mean, however the it was very quite and we only experienced friendly faces coming and going from there. I can't wait to go back and bring the baby this time!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Quiet comfort in popular Railroad District & 4 blocks from downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439886vbi
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
4

Charming in SLO

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Lovely clean and quiet condo in a good neighborhood.
It was almost like being at home. Easy arrival and departure.
Love SLO, hope to rent the unit again someday.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
business
Quiet comfort in popular Railroad District & 4 blocks from downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439886vbi
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
Shingle Springs, CA
5

Charming, Private and Quiet

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 26, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
We couldn’t have been more delighted with our stay here. We almost felt like residents in walking through this quiet and pretty bungalow neighborhood to the downtown area, which we did several times a day. The apartment itself was very spacious and clean, and every amenity had been thoughtfully provided. The bed was very comfortable, and the kitchen was updated and well equipped. We appreciated the wireless, since this was a working vacation. We also liked having the covered parking, and our visitors always were able to find available parking on the street. Bill and Mary are the best and most responsive hosts, and already we are looking forward to a return visit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Quiet comfort in popular Railroad District & 4 blocks from downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439886vbi
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
Durango, Colorado
5

Working Man From Colorado

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Bill and Mary bent over backwards to make my stay as pleasant as possible. Bill actually helped me jump start my car, which required pushing it out of the carport to be able to access the battery. Wow...above and beyond! The wine that was waiting for me was excellent, and the location was primo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet comfort in popular Railroad District & 4 blocks from downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439886vbi
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Enjoyed My Month-Long Stay

  • Submitted: Jul 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
I really enjoyed my stay in your duplex unit. It's greatest asset is its location so close to the train station, the lovely park with an excellent playground, several good restaurants, a coffee shop, a deli, and a wine bar. And downtown SLO with all of its attractions is within comfortable walking distance. In terms of the unit itself, I particularly liked the updated kitchen, the Pergo floors, and the modern, comfortable furnishings. I was initially worried about being next to the folks at the International Hostel, but what good neighbors they are. Also, it was helpful to have access to a laundry room. The complementary wine, ground coffee, and water are very thoughtful touches, as are all of the pamphlets, maps, and books on the area's attractions. Thanks to you and Bill for being such attentive, caring hosts. I would certainly stay in the unit again.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Quiet comfort in popular Railroad District & 4 blocks from downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439886vbi
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
5

Great vacation rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
This was an amazing VRBO experience--more like a home. The location was great, the apartment was super comfortable, clean and quiet with excellent attention to detail in furnishings. The owners went out of their way to accommodate a special request that we made. You could (and we did) walk to just about anything you might need in the downtown area, plus there were some very good restaurants within 2-3 blocks. SLO itself is very friendly and charming, with lots to do.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Quiet comfort in popular Railroad District & 4 blocks from downtown
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439886vbi
San Luis Obispo Central Coast California
Long Beach, CA
5

A Lovely, Quiet, Convenient stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Driving from the 101 to the property, my husband was a little worried because the street was quite commercial...until we arrived at Cozy Oaks, which is nestled in the residential part of this major street in an historic district.

The apartment is within walking distance to everything (downtown and the railroad districts), with off street parking, all the comforts of home, and is owned by two of the nicest people that we never met! We intend to be back for another stay soon, and look forward to meeting Mary and Bill someday.

We loved drifting off to sleep to the croaking of frogs and the far off train whistle...quite unexpected and very lovely.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1