Kailua Kona condo rental - From the Lanai
From the Lanai
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 - 7 nights
 

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom, 1 Bath With Full Ocean View & Large Lanai, On The Beach

Newly remodeled, tile, carpet and furniture, bedroom has a brand new comfortable king sized bed, bathroom updated and shower & tub has grab bars for safety, Kitchen has all of your needed appliances, utensils and new appliances, living room has new comfortable furniture and Cable TV, WiFi, and phone. New Carpet and pad is cozy. There is a very comfortable easily inflated airbed if you need a second bed. You can enjoy meals on the lanai, at the breakfast bar, or inside. Pool, hot tub, out door showers and prep kitchen poolside while you BBQ on gas. All out door areas, BBQ, and pool spotlessly maintained. Handicap parking right in-front of unit.

My dad lived here at the Kona Reef since 1988. My dad and I wanted to rent out this condo that he called home for 24 years. He loved living here and after you spend one night here you will fall in love with the sounds of the waves. We just remodeled it and unfortunately my dad never got to see how beautiful it is because he came home with me and passed away April 2012. I live in Northern California and I have visited only once since and it was so nice to enjoy the remodeled features. It feels comfortable and luxurious. We replaced the mattress in July and reupholstered the bar chairs and customized the dining room chairs so they were more comfortable. It is my goal to continue to find touches that will make your stay even more enjoyable.

Sandra Chavez purchased this condo in 1988

If comfort is important to you then this is the condo for you. Location is awesome because you can walk along Alii Drive to the historic Kailua Village, listen to the music & waves and feel and see the ocean as you walk. It is emotional to me every time I watch the sunset to think I get to watch the beautiful sunset everyday here and it never gets old. It is a real treat when you see a turtle, dolphin or whale. No need to pay someone to see them because you are where they call home.

I think what makes our unit stand out among the other units at The Kona Reef, is the large lanai and i like to take the air bed out on the lanai and sleep listening to the waves. Also you have full ocean view and can see the pool and when my dad would sit out on the lanai and I was down at the pool or BBQ we could see one another which is nice if you have children or teens. Lastly, the new amenities because I like to be in a updated condo.

7 Reviews of Property 439850 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Amazing Ocean View, The Kona Reef Condo, Brand New King Bed, WiFi, Large Lana
average rating of 4.285714 based on 7 reviews
business
Amazing Ocean View, The Kona Reef Condo, Brand New King Bed, WiFi, Large Lana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439850vb
+1 916-479-1201
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Brand New King Bed was foam - not a regular type.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
Lovely Condo - wonderful view of the ocean from the Lanai and Living area. A/C did not cool the bedroom area even with fan. Bed was foam (we like a firmer mattress) - sheets were not fitted for the mattress, thus causing the bottom flat sheet to be rumpled and not tight and was very uncomfortable as they crunched up under us because they did not fit the bed. The real plus in addition to the view was the handicap parking access to the condo entrance - just a few steps away and very helpful since I had recently had some back issues. Could use better lighting in the living area for nighttime reading and use of the table - Fan really needs a light attached. Nice flat screen TV and comfortable couch and recliner. We enjoyed our stay. Other condo guests don't observe the quiet hours as they should, but we realize that is hard to control. Very clean when we arrived - owner was very helpful with our questions. All the kitchen appliances, etc. were available and much appreciated. BBQ grills/area very, very clean and we were very impressed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review of my condo. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The points you made regarding the sheet quality, noise outside when other guests are walking in the hall and light in the living room will be addresses. Thank you for this feed back.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Amazing Ocean View, The Kona Reef Condo, Brand New King Bed, WiFi, Large Lana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439850vb
+1 916-479-1201
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
3

First VRBO Experience

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
The kitchen cabinetry in the kitchenas below expectations (showing its age) but there was a cooler that we could use for our day trips. Small view of beach. People elected to have conversations outside the bedroom, even @ 2:00 am. Was centrally located in Kona. Listing was accurate. Deck area larger than others and that was nice for the deck experience.
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: First I want to say how very sorry I am you were woke up at 2 am. I have notified Castle my on island agency that our security who is hired by The Kona Reef Association needs to have cameras in the front corridor. I will follow closely to stay on top of resolving this matter. Thank you Sandra
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Ocean View, The Kona Reef Condo, Brand New King Bed, WiFi, Large Lana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439850vb
+1 916-479-1201
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Texas
4

Texas Photographer

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 2, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is a well-appointed condo with all the amenities that one desires for an extended stay away from home: wonderful king bed, fully supplied kitchen and roomy bathroom. AC in living-room does an adequate job of cooling the bed-room for a nice night's sleep. Nice ocean view from a spacious lanai. Shauna and Antonio of the office staff were friendly and very helpful.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Texas Photographer, I hope you were able to get some great pictures for your collection. Looking forward to seeing more of your work. I'm so glad to have you as my guest and I enjoy having artistic people find inspiration there. I hope you were able to meander through some of the Art Galleries in town. Nice to walk down Alii Drive and be inspired.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Ocean View, The Kona Reef Condo, Brand New King Bed, WiFi, Large Lana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439850vb
+1 916-479-1201
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Greer, SC
5

Very clean 1 bedroom unit with beautiful ocean view.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This unit is very clean, has a very large lanai, a beautiful view of the ocean and pool and is very convenient to downtown. The kitchen is well equipped The covered patio by the pool has 4 very clean gas grills for cooking out. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this very comfortable unit and would be interested in staying there again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I am glad to have you as my guest and I hope you come back soon.
business
Amazing Ocean View, The Kona Reef Condo, Brand New King Bed, WiFi, Large Lana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439850vb
+1 916-479-1201
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Vancouver, BC,Canada
5

Excellent condo with a great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My husband and I were looking for a quiet, clean, comfortable, and convenient place to stay while in the Kailua-Kona area during our stay on the Big Island, and this place fit perfectly! We arrived on a Tuesday afternoon and were immediately shown the suite and settled within a few minutes. The location is excellent and within walking distance of many restaurants and stores. There is plentiful parking.

Two of the appliances in the kitchen were broken and I brought this to the attention of the owner. She had them replaced later that day! The kitchen is serviceable with all needed equipment. We did BBQ a few times using the shared facilities on the property which was clean and convenient.

The lanai is the most enjoyable part of this property. It's large and has a covered area to relax in out of the sun. We had breakfast out there every day and watched the stars at night.

If its needed, this condo is wheelchair accessible and has safety bars up in the bathroom with plenty of space internally.

We really enjoyed our stay and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this condo to anyone else. I felt that it is as advertised and any issues we had were addressed immediately. I would definitely stay here again when coming back to the Kailua-Kona area!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Im really glad you enjoyed your stay and I am glad "Castle" my on Island agency were able to replace those broken items so quickly. Did you see any whales while you were on the island? Hope to have you as a guest when you come back. Sandra
business
Amazing Ocean View, The Kona Reef Condo, Brand New King Bed, WiFi, Large Lana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439850vb
+1 916-479-1201
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Fantastic Value!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had a great stay at Kona Reef!
The Great:
Great price, ease of rental, professional and responsive owner, convenient late check in, excellent location, nice pool with hot tub, beautiful common waterfront lawn, adjacent to nice little public beach. Very good size lanai overlooking the pool and ocean beyond, laundry machines in the unit, roomy great room, wifi, well equipped kitchen.
The not-so-great:
The master bedroom of this unit is street level and backs up to the parking lot so a bit of overnight traffic and car loading/ unloading is heard from bed.
The sliding glass door to the lanai was in dis-repair so the screen did not slide easily and the door would not lock. I'd make sure these have been repaired before renting again, but I'd be happy to return!
Mahalo!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Scott for your review. Thank you also for letting me know about the screen door and sliding glass door lock. I have notified our maintenence man and it will be repaired. Glad you enjoyed your stay and it was nice we had you as our guest. Scott, also the noise from the master bedroom is an issue when we have late arrivals, so I discussed putting in a sound barrier product and we are having a company installing a new product to help with noise. We are told it will even stop noise with the window open.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Amazing Ocean View, The Kona Reef Condo, Brand New King Bed, WiFi, Large Lana
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439850vb
+1 916-479-1201
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Perfect spot for getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Lovely location and all I needed for my month long 'working' writing getaway. The owner was so helpful all along the way, especially in promptly communicating and providing answers and recommendations/resources for particular needs, such as shipping some personal belongings ahead of time to local beaches best for snorkeling.
The property was clean, well-maintained, and some recent upgrades in the bathroom and living area were apparent. The color palette of the unit was neutral and soothing - not like some rentals I've had that go overboard with Hawaiian themes or colors that can overwhelm a small space. Very tasteful.

The poolside and ocean side lounging was lovely and comfortable. Conversations with others staying at the Kona Reef in different buildings and units made me aware that the condition and quality of the units do vary from the lanai views, to street noise, to cleanliness and even responsiveness of the staff to maintenance issues. I was very grateful to have encountered no problems and to have booked this particular unit with a direct view of the ocean.
The photos and description accurately represented the unit, though the entire complex was much larger than I had expected, and while I was there, fully occupied. The beach front lounging space surpassed my expectation, as did the overall 'quiet' and absence of tourist noise, especially when pool or oceanside.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Lisa for choosing my unit and it was a exciting to find out you were going to write your book in our condo and I hope to read it when it is published. I hope you come to the Island again and we have you as a guest because it was a pleasure to have you enjoy my paradise. My dad enjoyed this home for 25 years.
Helpful votes: 2/2