Mountain View house rental - Napualanilehua. Large covered front deck over looks large yard.
Napualanilehua. Large covered front deck over looks large yard.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Mountain View House Rental Photos and Description
A beautiful 2 bedroom, 1 bath residence set within an ohia and waiwi forest

“Napualanilehua”, Hawaiian for “Heavenly Lehua Blossom”, will serve your vacation needs to a level not customarily felt at vacation rentals.

Sitting at a cool 2400’ elevation, where nights can get down to the 40s and warming up to the comfortable low 80s during the days, Napualanilehua is ideally situated 20 minutes away (17 miles) from Hilo town and 20 minutes away (16 miles) from the world renowned Hawaii Volcanoes National Park.

Only about 5 minutes off the main highway, Napualanilehua is beautifully located on the back of a ¼ acre of land, in a small subdivision. Nestled within a ohia and waivi forest, Napualanilehua has a large inviting covered deck overlooking a huge front yard where kids could play all day.

Watch the adjacent forest for native Hawks during the day. In the evening, enjoy the uncountable amount of stars and cool clear nights.

Napualanilehua has everything you would need for a comfortable vacation in the mountain side. From a cup of fresh brewed Kona coffee on the covered deck, to reading a book about Hawaii while dressed warmly in the comfortable bathrobes provided, Napualanilehua has an experience waiting for you.

All guests are greeted upon entry with softly playing Hawaiian music. Fresh flower arrangements and a fresh fruit assortment is provided.

The fully equipped kitchen has a range/oven, fridge/freezer, all pots, pans, and serving dishes. Even a coffee maker and toaster is provided.

The living room is fully furnished with reading chairs, a flat screen TV (with satellite programming), a sofa, that when necessary, can be converted to a pull-out full size bed. Vaulted ceilings with a ceiling fan and recessed lights make this room very large and inviting. Wifi is also broadcast throughout the home.

The master bedroom features a large vaulted ceiling, King size bed, two night stands, and table lamps.

The second bedroom features a queen size bed, single night stand, table lamp, and a large vaulted ceiling.

Guests are also encouraged to use the complimentary postcards to keep in touch with friends and family while you are enjoying your stay.

Napualanilehua is very committed to promoting the Island's many products and services. Our fresh flower arrangements are produced locally by a small family business. Fresh fruit awaiting your arrival is hand picked by us the morning of your arrival, available from the many local farmers markets. Napualanilehua even provides sample Kona coffee blends and Hawaiian Macadamia Nut products, when available. As our list continues to expand, we hope you find the local products very exciting.

If you are looking for a place to detach from the rush of normal life, or if you are looking for a convenient location on your vacation that is central to many fine activities, Napualanilehua would be a great pick.

Thank you for joining us on your vacation needs!

More Details
Hide Details

Born and raised on the Island of Hawaii, we wanted to provide guests with an experience they would never forget while visiting this great island.

It has always been a pleasure hosting off island family and friends, and as a result, we decided to open this house to the world.

Mountain View has always had an impact in our lives. This residence was the first house designed and built by us. Our family is also from this area. The cool nights, quiet neighbors, close proximity to gas stations, schools, library's, and the Hawaii Volcano National Park made this location our favorite.

'Napualanilehua' has a special meaning to us as this was the first home designed and built by us. With new carpets, fresh paint, and new furniture, we have turned this residence into a retreat you would not want to leave.

13 Reviews of Property 439774 in Mountain View, Hawaii

'Napualanilehua' - Heavenly Lehua Blossom
average rating of 4.375 based on 13 reviews
business
'Napualanilehua' - Heavenly Lehua Blossom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439774vb
+1 808-315-6567
Mountain View Puna District
4

Nearly excellent home - we enjoyed every day of our stay

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 17, 2014
  • Stayed: Apr 2014
The house is lovely decorated and has everything you may need. It is really quiet - except of the coquis in the night, but for us the "coqui-sound" was like a lullaby. The rooms are very large, elegant and clean. Really a "Wow-effect" when you open the door and we felt comfortable all the time. We had lots of rain here, but decided to go out every day - only a few miles away there was always shining the sun! So don't mind, if it's raining ;-) There are two really good and tasty restaurants in Volcano. Because the house is situated between Hilo and the Volcano National Park it is a perfect location for trips in each direction. We had a really good time!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We at Napualanilehua are glad you enjoyed your stay. April is usually a wet month, but that is what keeps the landscaping and area green! The coqui frogs can be a little loud at times, it really depends on how many there are in the adjacent woods / forest. We hope to see you again soon.
business
'Napualanilehua' - Heavenly Lehua Blossom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439774vb
+1 808-315-6567
Mountain View Puna District
5

Cozy, Convenient, Comfortable

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Our Napualanilehua hosts provided everything we could need for a comfortable & cozy stay, right down to our Welcome basket of fruit, fresh cut local tropical flowers, nice Hawaiian music playing in the home, and the personal notes to us as guests.

We also really appreciated the really warm and comfy robes provided for each of us, soft towels, extra blankets, and the "just in case we forgot" shampoo, etc.

Every little detail was considered and appreciated.

The Home is also very conveniently located - just about 10 minutes to Volcano Village (great restaurants and right next to Hawaii Volcano National Park), 10 minutes to Keaau (good grocery shopping) and about 20 minutes to Hilo Town, which has every other thing you might need.

We would definitely come back to Napualanilehua, for future visits to Big Island!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Napualanilehua is pleased to set itself apart from "just another rental", and wanted to make sure all guests enjoy their vacation. We are glad you enjoyed the comfy robes, extra blankets, shampoos, etc. Fresh flowers are cut and arranged before your stay, and fruits are hand-picked by us the morning of your arrival from the local farmers markets. We hope you experience Napualanilehua again on your next vacation.
business
'Napualanilehua' - Heavenly Lehua Blossom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439774vb
+1 808-315-6567
Mountain View Puna District
4

Secluded Getaway

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We really enjoyed our stay at this quiet and secluded rental. It was conveniently located between Hilo (for groceries and/or restaurant dining) and Volcanoes National Park. The owners provided thoughtful touches, such as Mauna Loa chocolates on the bed and fresh fruit. The rental was clean, with plenty of linens, and resembled the pictures!
(While there were only two of us, it would be the perfect place for a traveling four-some. There are two bedrooms, equal in size, so there is no argument over the "better/bigger" room!)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
business
'Napualanilehua' - Heavenly Lehua Blossom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439774vb
+1 808-315-6567
Mountain View Puna District
4

MAURICE OLIVER

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
EXCELLENT accommodations. the only problem we encountered: wife used ice cube from tray in freezer. As result she was very ill. Took her to Doctor twice. STRONGLY SUGGEST: REMOVE ICE CUBE TRAY FROM PROPERTY. ALSO: RECOMMEND SIGNS ON ALL OUTLETS:
NON-POTABLE WATER. SUGGEST DISHES WASHED WITH SOLUTION OF DAWN & BLEACH.
(WE DO DISHES THIS WAS IN MAINE TO PREVENT GERMS SPREADING)
Owner's Response: Thank you for your review, and we are glad you did enjoy the accommodations Napualanilehua has to offer.

We were very sorry to hear that your wife was not feeling well during a portion of your stay. It was our understanding she was feeling slightly ill prior to your arrival.

Napualanilehua, being rural like most of the Big Island, is served by a catchment system. We have always had a sign by the kitchen faucet asking all guests to refrain from drinking the tap water. Napualanilehua has always provided guests with an initial supply of bottled water in the fridge at the time of check-in.

Following your suggestion, we will remove the ice making tray from the freezer, to minimize the chance that guests may fill that using tap water.

We do hope the rest of your vacation was just as great as you were hoping to experience. We did enjoy and want to thank you for the easy communication you had with us.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Napualanilehua' - Heavenly Lehua Blossom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439774vb
+1 808-315-6567
Mountain View Puna District
5

holiday house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
very nice house in nature,we were welcomed with a choice of fruits
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We at Napualanilehua hand pick each fruit assortment on the day of your arrival from the farmers markets to ensure quality. We are glad you enjoyed that touch.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Napualanilehua' - Heavenly Lehua Blossom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439774vb
+1 808-315-6567
Mountain View Puna District
4

Cosy and convenient

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Napualanilehua was a very nice and cosy place to stay for us and our three children aged 1, 4 and 8. It also proved conveniently located for exploration (by car) of the southwestern part of the island of Hawaii. We warmly recommend Napualanilehua to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha. We are very pleased to know you enjoyed your stay and was able to visit nearby attractions. To clarify for future guests though, Napualanilehua is on the eastern part of Hawaii Island, near Volcano National Park. We are glad you enjoyed your stay.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Napualanilehua' - Heavenly Lehua Blossom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439774vb
+1 808-315-6567
Mountain View Puna District
Ankeny, Iowa
4

Great place in between Volcano and Hilo!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Great little place! Clean & comfy! Little details like fruit basket, coloring book, nuts, and umbrellas to use were great. Had some TV difficulties but they were helpful to resolve. Owners quick to communicate and help us! Would have liked air conditioning to help with humidity, as we all had trouble sleeping. Overall, great place and would recommend!
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Aloha, and thanks for the kind words. We at Napualanilehua enjoyed having you stay with us. Our small touches (fruit basket, etc.), is what makes the difference between "renting" and "vacationing" at someones home.

We are sorry for the TV problems, but like you, we were happy it was resolved very quickly.

With regard to the humidity, I am sorry you had trouble sleeping. There are a few nights each year that the winds dont blow, and unfortunately, you experienced that. We do hope the ceiling fans in each bedroom did help some.

We will look into the suggestion of an AC unit, but with temps normally in the 70's, and as cold as the 50's, it is not going to be used much.

We at Napualanilehua hope to have you visit again.
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
'Napualanilehua' - Heavenly Lehua Blossom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439774vb
+1 808-315-6567
Mountain View Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Extra mile to make something special

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Directly from Guest Book:

What a lovely location, nestled in the Ohia forest! Taylor & Lehua went the extra mile to make our stay something special. We were lucky enough to see the Merrie Monarch Festivals and catch the spectacular glow of lava in the volcano crater. Unforgettable trip!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Napualanilehua' - Heavenly Lehua Blossom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439774vb
+1 808-315-6567
Mountain View Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Gracious and Accomodating

  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Directly from Guest Book:

We had a great time here, lovely rental you have, and so gracious and accomodating. Thanks for helping to make our Hawaii vacation great!
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
'Napualanilehua' - Heavenly Lehua Blossom
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439774vb
+1 808-315-6567
Mountain View Puna District
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Greatest Place I've Ever Been Abroad

Greatest Place I've Ever Been Abroad
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was one of the greatest place I've ever been abroad! The house is lovely furnished and has everything you need. It's very well located for exploring the Volcano National Park and in the night you just can hear the birds in the forest! Unfortunately we could not stay longer at this amazing accommodation. Thank you very much!

Review submitted on Airbnb website.
Helpful votes: 2/2