St. Johns house rental - Outer Battery: 'the outport in the city.' Signal Hill National Park begins here.
Outer Battery: 'the outport in the city.' Signal Hill National Park begins here.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay nights
 

St. Johns House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms, 1 Bath (Sleeps 6)

'The Outport in the City' - the historic Outer Battery at the entrance to St. John's harbour is a ten minute walk from downtown cafes, pubs, restaurants, offices, shops, boutiques and theatres.

This lovingly refurbished fisherman's cottage just 10 metres from water's edge has 3 bedrooms, custom kitchen with dishwasher, woodstove fireplace, deck with BBQ and harbour view, antique clawfoot tub and separate shower, wi-fi internet, laundry and private off-street parking. On the North Head walking trail, 30 metres from Signal Hill National Historic Park in the quiet (non-industrial) part of the Battery. Spacious rooms and large windows with panoramic views of the Narrows and the city. Watch fishing boats and cruise ships pass by; see otters, eagles, whales and icebergs in season.

Newfoundland journalist & musician, we have lived in Outer Battery for 25 years.

Chris Brookes purchased this house in 2002

The Outer Battery is a truly special place. It feels like a place from another time - a magical place. Inhabited since 1675 by fishermen, it has the feel of a small, separate village community. Here we speak of 'going into Town' even though it's only 10 minutes walk! Neighbours are retired fishermen, longshoremen (stevedores), potters, poets, musicians, journalists, students.

Sitting on the deck watching everything from a rowboat to a cruise liner come through the Narrows. Seeing cormorants and a family of otters at waterside. Catching a glimpse of eagles fishing in the Narrows or the seagull chicks on Jack's twine-store roof. Witnessing wisps of fog creep in the narrows. Hearing the lonely sound of Fort Amherst foghorn. Wandering up among the higgledy-piggledly houses of Fort Waldegrave. Chatting with neighbours who all have a great story. Walking the North Head Trail in July and seeing whales spout. Catching some great entertainment downtown and being able to walk home into a quiet little separate world.

5 Reviews of Property 439532 in St. Johns, Newfoundland and Labrador

Heritage, Nature, Convenience, Magnificent Views
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
Heritage, Nature, Convenience, Magnificent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439532vbi
7095760359
St. Johns Newfoundland and Labrador
Halifax NS
5

We can't wait to go back!!

We can't wait to go back!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had an amazing vacation in St. John's and 1 O'Clock Cottage definitely added to our experience. Clean, comfortable and spacious, we had everything we needed during our stay. Its character, charm, and incredible view was more than we could have asked for and created an authentic East Coast experience. Convenient to downtown St. John's by car or by foot, 1 O'Clock Cottage is a must. Our hosts Chris and Christine are friendly and hospitable. We were not disappointed and can't wait to go back!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Heritage, Nature, Convenience, Magnificent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439532vbi
7095760359
St. Johns Newfoundland and Labrador
Sudbury, Ontario
5

Wonderful destination

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our family of 4 stayed here for a week. Our experience was absolutely wonderful. We arrived to find a lovely loaf of fresh bread, homemade jam and fresh fruit awaiting. The kitchen was incredibly well stocked with many spices, a litre of milk, coffee tea and other items one might need for a week. The views were amazing each morning as we arose. The information left by the owners was incredibly helpful. The bedrooms were clean, fresh and a delight.

We will always cherish our memories of St. Johns and Newfoundland and are grateful to have found such a charming accommodation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Heritage, Nature, Convenience, Magnificent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439532vbi
7095760359
St. Johns Newfoundland and Labrador
Sudbury, Ontario
5

Wonderful destination

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Our family of 4 stayed here for a week. Our experience was absolutely wonderful. We arrived to find a lovely loaf of fresh bread, homemade jam and fresh fruit awaiting. The kitchen was incredibly well stocked with many spices, a litre of milk, coffee tea and other items one might need for a week. The views were amazing each morning as we arose. The information left by the owners was incredibly helpful. The bedrooms were clean, fresh and a delight.

We will always cherish our memories of St. Johns and Newfoundland and are grateful to have found such a charming accommodation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Heritage, Nature, Convenience, Magnificent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439532vbi
7095760359
St. Johns Newfoundland and Labrador
Northern Virginia
5

A stay-cation .... 2,000 miles away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
A flight cancellation meant a later arrival but when we notified Chris his immediate response was "No worries ... we will have some fresh fruit and things ready for breakfast for you". This will give you an idea on how well Chris makes sure you feel at home.

For those that have never traveled to Newfoundland you will leave there saying "Wow - the people are so nice". Chris embodies this as does the entire community in the Battery. The scenery is beautiful, waking up on the water and grinding some beans in the antique coffee grinder so we could go out and watch the boats in the harbour was a great way to start the day.

Chris has everything you could need in the house - including spices for cooking. The house is clean and just about everything you could need is there. The location is great - especially if you like to hike as a couple hundred metres from the front door is a trail to hike to Signal Hill and that interconnects with more trails that will take you to Quidi Vidi and beyond. You can walk to Downtown St. John's but once you meet Charlie Pearcey across the road, in his Twine Store, you may never want to leave the Battery.

We will be back ... and we will want to stay here ... and my wife will likely never want to leave (She threatened to permanently move in on this stay)
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Heritage, Nature, Convenience, Magnificent Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439532vbi
7095760359
St. Johns Newfoundland and Labrador
ontario
5

Great Experience

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This rental is everything and more. We just arrived home and we just loved it. The location was ideal to truly get a St.John's experience from the neighbors to the owners everyone tried to make us feel welcome. The house is immaculate and spacious and Christina and Chris went above what you expect from owners of a property. The road to the cottage is a little scary but well worth the experience. We would highly recommend this property to anyone wanting the true St.John's experience. We can't wait to return.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Owner's Response: Dear Steve & Judy: Thanks for the lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you. Hope to see you again.
Helpful votes: 2/2