Kailua Kona condo rental - The view from your lanai--no photo shopping, I promise!
The view from your lanai--no photo shopping, I promise!
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description
1 bed/1 bath lanai right on the ocean!

Hale Pikake Nalu (OceanWave Peacock House) is our vacation home located in Sea Village, an oceanfront complex. While there are many complexes that are listed as oceanfront, not all condos within those complexes are truly oceanfront. OUR condo is!

Sea Village is a small 4 building oceanfront complex, with great landscaping, a marvelous heated pool and hot tub, a grassy picnic area with multiple gas grills, and plenty of parking. This is a strictly non-smoking complex with enforced quiet hours 10pm to 8am.

Our unit is in building 4, closest to the ocean, farthest from the road, and exceptionally quiet. Hale Pikake Nalu is on the first floor (no stairs to climb with suitcases and groceries). Nalu is the Hawaiian word meaning ocean wave that breaks on shore. And the waves do literally break on the rocks right off the balcony. The neatest thing--watching the sunset. And did I say view? When you are sitting in the living room you feel as though you are on a cruise ship--all you see is the ever-changing sea. Speaking of sea, the beautiful aqua-marine colors of the ocean were the inspiration behind the peacock (pikake) colors in the condo as well as the plumage of the Big Island peacock.

Hale details-- brand new king size pillow top bed, luxury hotel linens, new bamboo flooring bedroom and living room, tiled kitchen and bath, new sofa and chairs, new Samsung TV with 50 cable channels, free wifi. There is a great ocean breeze--sleeping is the best with the bedroom window open to draw the breeze and sound of the waves from the open patio door though the hale into the bedroom-- no need for a noise machine! There are good ceiling fans throughout the house and balcony. Little warm in the late afternoon with the western exposure? No worries as we have one of the few units in the complex with an air conditioner for those few hours before sunset. Although it is not designed to 'refrigerate' the entire condo, it does provide a comfortable 74-degree environment.

This is our vacation home, and it is our pleasure to share it with you.

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha from Glenn and Mozela Dundas, Texas transplants to Hilo Hawaii, where we live and work. We visited the Big Island in 2011 and fell in love with the island and her people. It didn't take us long to decide to make it our home!

Mozela Dundas purchased this condo in 2012

We absolutely love Hilo and our rainforest home on our own private river (check out our Hilo VRBO listing). But everyone needs a vacation home on the ocean, right? We love Sea Village, having stayed there in other units several times. When we saw our condo for sale, we just couldn't wait to update it and share it with others seeking a vacation hale!

Several times a week, a cruise ship anchors just offshore. We sit on the balcony with glasses of iced tea and try to think of one reason why we would rather be on the ship--our nicely appointed stateroom is just inside, our heated uncrowded pool is steps away, the Green Flash coffee shop and Aloha Nail shop are at the front gate, great restaurants and shops are just up the street, our great view is continuous, ocean activities are beneath our feet--still can't think of any reason to be on a ship, can you?

12 Reviews of Property 439289 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439289vbi
903-724-5063
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Awesome Lanai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We stayed hear for 5 weeks and loved every minute of it! This is the cleanest, neatest, best maintained condo we have stayed in, and we have been vacationing in the Hawaiian Islands for 22 years. It was very well stocked and the owner has thought of everything to make this condo special, including lots of extras that we have had to buy if staying elsewhere. Sitting on the lanai was awesome, and our favorite thing was watching whales and spinner dolphins on a regular basis! The king size bed was so comfortable that we slept like babies the entire time we were there. We would love to stay in this unit again, thank-you so Mozela and Glen!
Recommended for:  Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439289vbi
903-724-5063
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Kirkland, Washington
5

Lovely Oceanfront Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 22, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We just spent a week in this nice oceanfront condo in Kona. We've stayed at Sea Village many times and we enjoyed this unit very much. The owner was responsive to our needs and the condo was clean and well equipped. We would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha B, Thank you so much for your kind words. And, thank you for taking the time to submit a review! A hui hou, mahalo, Mozela
business
Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439289vbi
903-724-5063
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Mesquite, TX
5

Awesome Home away from Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This condo was perfect in every form and fashion. You walk in feeling like you've walked in your "home". You truly only need to bring your clothes and food. The view is fabulous! It's amazing how you go to Hawaii for a vacation and find yourself looking forward to getting back to this condo so you can relax on your own lanai overlooking the ocean and watching the dolphins or hoping for a glance of the "green flash". The bar-b-que grills are a great place to meet other visitors or residents. The whole complex has a very family feeling. The a/c is a great amenity. The cookware and dishes are perfect for breakfast, lunch, and dinner. It's very roomy and lots of room for the shopping sacks from the nearby Shopping Center and Marketplaces. Parking was not a problem at all, even coming in late hours. It's within walking distance of several businesses. The owners are extremely accommodating and go well above and beyond what anyone could ever expect. This condo was everything and more that the ad projects it to be. The photos in the ad, do not come close to doing it justice on how nice, cozy, and clean everything is. I would highly recommend anyone looking for a home away from home to stay here. It's not a "party atmosphere", it's a "homeowner enviroment". Great place to come "home" to after a fun-filled day on an adventure or out shopping or sightseeing! Be Aware Note: Traffic is a little conjested coming out onto the main road, but it moves quickly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha H, Thank you for your many kind words. It was a pleasure to have a fellow Texan staying in "our home away from home". Weren't the high wave days spectacular during your visit, even a little splash on the balcony? I have heard that the whales are putting on quite the show now, we hope that you were able to see them. We look forward to seeing you again soon--a hui hou! Mahalo, Mozela
business
Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439289vbi
903-724-5063
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Good Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is comfortable unit with a super view and right on the water. Good king bed and all of the comforts of home are there. We would use this property again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Aloha H, so glad you enjoyed your stay! Just like they say "location, location, location!" And a nice bed! Mahalo and a hui hou! Mozela
business
Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439289vbi
903-724-5063
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Carnelian Bay, CA
5

Our Hale Pikake Respite

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We thoroughly enjoyed every day of our two-week stay at this lovely condo. The ocean, sunset, and town views were outstanding, and the proximity to everything we needed was perfect. Everything was as advertised, and we were not disappointed. It was clean and well-maintained, and was very comfortable (especially the bed!). We loved having air conditioning, though opening the doors and windows let a nice breeze through. Owners were very helpful and responsive. We highly recommend this property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha L, Thank you for taking the time to post your thoughtful response. Our goal is to provide a comfortable and peaceful home for those seeking a respite! We look forward to seeing you soon, mahalo nui loa, Mozela
business
Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439289vbi
903-724-5063
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Kilgore, East Texas, USA
5

Perfect Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The Peacock House is just delightful! We were instantly enamored with this condo--situated just steps from the seawall and beach. The decor was comfortable and inviting from the moment we walked in. There is a truly unforgettable view from the kitchen through the living room and balcony and we loved watching the spinner dolphins, para sailing, surfers and outriggers from our balcony. This air conditioned condo has everything you need for a great stay--great bed, toiletries, small kitchen appliances-even a great selection of books and videos, Wi-Fi and direct TV was great. We particularly enjoyed the luau just down the street at the Royal Kona Resort. Beach-side shopping and restaurants are just a short distance away on Ali'i Drive. Exploring the Kona Coast with a multitude of coffee sampling places and beautiful overviews is a must. We enjoyed our trip to this side of the island and look forward to returning someday. Mozela has done an excellent job of making her guests feel that they are the only ones on the planet.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, K & D, for such a charming and thoughtful review! We are so glad that Hale Pikake Nalu lived up to your expectations. We look forward to your return visit--a hui hou and mahalo, Mozela
business
Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439289vbi
903-724-5063
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Great Condo with a Wonderful View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We absolutely loved the condo, it was everything we hoped for plus+++ GREAT VIEW, and location. Nicely decorated and very comfortable.
Owner's Response: Aloha D, thank you for taking time to post a review. We are so glad that our Hale Pikake Nalu met and exceeded your expectations! We look forward to your return. Mahalo, Mozela
business
Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439289vbi
903-724-5063
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
California
5

Lovely!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
As a woman traveling alone, I found this complex felt safe and the unit itself was great. It's apparent that the owners have considered the needs of their guests--I was particularly happy they had a hair dryer as I don't care to lug one around on my travels. Mozela was a delight to deal with and very kindly offered to mail me the earrings I left in the unit. I will definitely try to rent this condo again on future visits to Kona.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha T, It was our pleasure to be your hosts for your Hawaiian adventure. Our cleaning crew found the earrings and immediately let me know so that we could "reunite" your earrings with you. Thank you for staying at Hale Pikake--we hope to see you again! Mahalo nui loa, Mozela
business
Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439289vbi
903-724-5063
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Vancouver, WA
5

Great little ground floor condo in a good location.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The property is as advertised. It is small-ish, simply appointed and clean. The KING BED IS GREAT!

The deck is about 100 feet from the seawall with crashing waves! TV and DVD are new. Owners are pleasant to deal with.

NOTE TO ROKU OWNERS. Your ROKU WILL work here! Wireless router provides easy connection.

NOTE TO FIRST-TIME SNORKELERS:Drive about 17 miles south on Hgw 11 to Hgw 160. Turn right onto 160 and follow it down about 3 miles to the park road on left. TURN RIGHT JUST BEFORE YOU GET TO THE BIG MAIN PARK ENTERENCE and follow the narrow, one-way road to the boat launch and small bay. Called the City of Refuge. Easy entry into the water and great fish and turtles!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha G, Thank you for taking the time to post a review. And thank you for sharing "your" special snorkeling spot with our future guests. The Big Island has some of the best snorkeling in Hawaii, and how great when you find the perfect "spot"! We look forward to your return. Mahalo, M
business
Truly Oceanfront and A/C!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439289vbi
903-724-5063
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Santa Cruz
5

Perfection over the Ocean

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This cute, clean, well-equipped, and sweetly decorated Condo is perfect for two people or a small family. The oceanfront lanai is the bomb--and includes a great outdoor ceiling fan for that rare no ocean breeze day. The condo facility itself is well-maintained, great oceanfront pool, and ample parking. Easy 20 minute walk to town. Everything was thought of: from boogie-boards to coffee grinder, from laundry soap to beach towells, from water filters to washer dryer, from flat screen TV to borrowable ice-chest. These owners are thoughtful. Even an onsite espresso bar. What a great rental!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Aloha M, Thank you so much for staying with us. We are so glad that you loved our Pikake Nalu as much as we do! We agree, the Green Flash coffees and smoothies are to die for--convenient for breakfast and lunch so no travel time cutting into pool time! Please keep us in mind for future visits! Mahalo, Mozela
Helpful votes: 1/1