Mendocino house rental - Front entrance to Little River Redwoods.
Front entrance to Little River Redwoods.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Mendocino House Rental Photos and Description
Cozy multi-level 3 bedroom home in your own quiet 3 acre redwood forest

A talented craftsman has converted and updated what was once a tiny cabin into a one-of-a-kind home in a private redwood forest. This home has redwood inside and out to create the feeling of being cradled by nature. The home offers an easy-going ambiance, with no less than 18 skylights, flooding the interior living spaces with the light, color, and serenity from the surrounding forest. There are artisan touches from the gnarled door pulls to the exposed beams in the original living room side-by-side with modern amenities to ensure a comfortable and restful stay. Bedroom #1 has a King size bed, two large skylights, and a private half bathroom. It is upstairs where you can get away from the TVs and other guests in your group for a little solitude . Bedroom #2 has one Queen bed, a skylight, and a private full bathroom (tub/no shower). It is on the main floor for those who don't do well with stairs or like to be near the action. Bedroom #3 has a Queen bed and a Queen Size futon/bed. This room is down a half flight of stairs and has a TV with DVD/VCR...the kids love this room but adults enjoy the feeling of privacy too. Outside is a wide wrap around deck for enjoying the fresh air of the forest with a hot cup of coffee in the morning or a chilled glass of wine in the evening. Relax at the end of your day in the hot tub under the redwoods.

We live in the San Francisco Bay area and our Mendocino home is just 3 hours away...close enough for a quick getaway and yet feels like a complete escape from our daily lives.

Teri Bushgen purchased this house in 2000

Having a home one mile inland allows us to enjoy many more sunny days above the fog line and we can go to the beach on the days the sun breaks through the fog. We get the best of both worlds here in the redwoods.

Artisan wood work details inside the home. Reclaimed 'Old Growth' redwood planks above the fireplace. Wide wrap-around redwood deck. Skylights in nearly every room allow full enjoyment of the towering redwoods surrounding the home.

9 Reviews of Property 439287 in Mendocino, California

Enjoy Our New Salt Water Hot Tub Under the Redwoods
average rating of 5.0 based on 9 reviews
business
Enjoy Our New Salt Water Hot Tub Under the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439287vbi
+1 800-262-7801
Mendocino North Coast California
United States
5

Adventure, Romance, Cozy, Family-friendly: All in One

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Spending our days in the pigmy forest, glass beach, and the adorable shops downtown, we were able to escape the other tourists and relax amongst the the Redwoods. The property is spacious and private. The home is comfortable, clean, and modern. All of the beds are luxurious with high-end linens. The kitchen is well-stocked. Between the board games, fireplace, and hot tub, the home is perfect for a cozy family night or romance. You will love staying here; we did.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Enjoy Our New Salt Water Hot Tub Under the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439287vbi
+1 800-262-7801
Mendocino North Coast California
Napa, CA
5

Repeat Guest: We LOVE this home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My husband and I have stayed here -- alone -- and it was wonderfully romantic. My large family stayed here -- and had a blast. We and another couple retreated her and had a relaxing fun time. Yes, this home can meet all your desires. The location is ideal for all your Mendocino area activities and the home is a work of art -- fully and thoughtfully equipped. You will not be disappointed. Just writing about it makes me want to plan another visit! PS Don't forget to read and write in the guest book -- you will see how what others did while there and how much they loved the home.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for sharing your experience with our home and for making it a favorite vacation destination for you and your family...we love sharing it with you! Lucy
business
Enjoy Our New Salt Water Hot Tub Under the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439287vbi
+1 800-262-7801
Mendocino North Coast California
Australia
5

Outstanding Home away from Home.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We stayed at this wonderful home for only two nights- certainly not long enough for this outstanding location. Truly a "home away from home", the house is fully equipped, extremely comfortable and spotlessly clean. It is beautifully furnished with a homely, welcoming feel. The abundance of natural wood brings the essence of the outdoors inside while the numerous windows and skylights keep the house light. We loved looking up through the roof top skylight from bed in the mornings. The hot tub provided a great place to relax in the evening or to prepare for the day. The location is great for forest walks, beach-combing or simply relaxing and enjoying the magnificent redwoods. This was our first visit to this part of California and I think we definitely found the best place to stay. We would recommend this property without hesitation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking time to review our home and for your excellent descriptions of both the house and the area. We are please to have had visitors all the way from Australia! Thank you, Lucy
business
Enjoy Our New Salt Water Hot Tub Under the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439287vbi
+1 800-262-7801
Mendocino North Coast California
Napa, CA/USA
5

Lovely home...great for families!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2012
My husband and our 4 children spent a wonderful and relaxing weekend at this rustic home in Mendocino. We were celebrating our anniversary and were looking for a romantic and relaxing get-a-way. We were so impressed with this rental home. It was beautiful and spacious, offereing plenty of room for our family. Windows on almost every wall made us feel like we were in the middle of a forest, with plenty of privacy. The hot tub was the perfect end to each day. The kitchen was large and well equipped, so we were able to spend a few nights in cooking a gourmet meal and relaxing next to the fire in the living room. We were close to some great local parks like Van Damme State Park and the Pygmy Forrest, and took the kids on a wonderful hike in the forrest. Glass beach was also a short car ride away. We really enjoyed out weekend stay and are looking forward to spending another vacation at Little River Redwoods soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Enjoy Our New Salt Water Hot Tub Under the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439287vbi
+1 800-262-7801
Mendocino North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Family Getaway AND Adults Only Vacations

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Apr 2010
To Whom it May Concern,

We have had the wonderful opportunity to stay at the Little River Redwoods home several times both as a family get away and as an adults only vacation respite. It proved to be a wonderful option for both. It is quiet and peaceful, wonderfully appointed with every amenity, very private, and is on beautiful grounds. This home has great play area for kids, great outdoor bbq area and a large spa for quiet evenings or fun for the kids. Fantastic hikes can be taken right from the property or a short drive takes a family or a couple to an abundance of hiking trails, river and ocean fun and tourist attractions. We will be back as often as possible and recommend it to our friends.
Thank You!!
business
Enjoy Our New Salt Water Hot Tub Under the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439287vbi
+1 800-262-7801
Mendocino North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

It is beautiful, spacious and comfortable

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Jan 2010
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this wonderful home. It is beautiful, spacious and comfortable and included all the amenities needed to make our visit a delight. We enjoyed the deck and hot tub, walks among the tall redwoods, and visiting the nearby restaurants and beaches. It was everything we could have asked for.
business
Enjoy Our New Salt Water Hot Tub Under the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439287vbi
+1 800-262-7801
Mendocino North Coast California
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

You are now listing our favorite vacation spot...

  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2011
We just heard that you are now listing our favorite vacation spot in Little River’s lovely redwood shaded woods. My wife and I have celebrated family birthdays, anniversaries, and just plain enjoyed get away time together at LITTLE RIVER REDWOODS over the past several years. We especially appreciate the way the home and property accommodate our family of adults, children and grandchildren; there are so many vacation activities all near-by, fun for all ages. Our grandchildren all know now what a Fairy Ring is. They have walked through the Pygmy Forest. Some of the best family-time fun is the canoeing together and exploring the river shore just down the hill at the mouth of Little River. And my wife and I have enjoyed most just taking the grandchildren to the sandy beaches to watch the magnificent waves crashing in, collect stones and the ever fascinating bits of driftwood there.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Enjoy Our New Salt Water Hot Tub Under the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439287vbi
+1 800-262-7801
Mendocino North Coast California
California
5

Our kids keep begging to go back!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
Little River Redwoods is a fantastic home away from home. The home itself is delightful – lots of cozy space, a great kitchen, and a Jacuzzi that is not to be missed! But it is the surrounding area that makes it outstanding! The trees around the home are majestic, and the sound of nature all around can’t be beat. Better yet, it’s a home-base for all the great stuff you can do around the area. You can go to the beach, go to the shops, see the most amazing cliffs, or take a hike on beautiful trails, and then easily and quickly come home for a good home cooked meal, and a relaxing dip in the spa. Our kids consider this to be one of the best vacation spots ever, and they keep begging to go back!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Enjoy Our New Salt Water Hot Tub Under the Redwoods
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439287vbi
+1 800-262-7801
Mendocino North Coast California
Novato, CA/USA
5

A Fabulous "Home Away from Home"!

A Fabulous "Home Away from Home"!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2011
I am writing today about the fabulous rental at "Little River Redwoods" We absolutely love this place! From the first time we walked in the door it felt like home away from home. It looks nothing like what you would expect from a rental home. It feels as if the owners just walked out the door and we walked in. It has all the amenities one would need for a fabulous vacation. We continue to choose this rental property because of all that it has to offer. We invited friends to go with us and we all had such a good time, cooking together, playing games, sitting and chatting in front of the fire and relaxing in the hot tub. Early in the morning we took a refreshing hike in the pygmy forest just up the road, went wine tasting in the afternoon and enjoyed some wonderful gourmet food at several of the local restaurants. While some of my friends packed a lunch and went to the beach, I enjoyed my favorite activity, shopping in the quaint town. I always find unique items to purchase. I also enjoyed the fact that after shopping when I wanted to take a nap, the house with it's multi-levels is plenty spacious and I could slip away from the other group activities going on and not be disturbed by noise. The place is so peaceful and relaxing. You have the feeling of being secluded and yet you can jump in your car and drive a short distance and find whatever you might want to experience. The location can't be beat. We always feel so revived after our vacations there. We only wish we could sneak back for a romantic weekend without our friends finding out! Little River Redwoods is truly a fantastic property.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Our home is newly listed on VBRO but we have a long history of positive reviews like this going back to the year 2000. Thank you for sending a review for our home to our new VBRO site.