Bald Head Island house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 3 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay nights
 

Bald Head Island House Rental Photos and Description
Keepers Landing Across From The Marshwalk New To Rental Market

Keepers Landing 22 (Landgrave Smith Cottage) was just purchased in the fall of 2012 and is professionally decorated home with all new plush furnishings. This is the 3rd home that our family has owned on BHI and we are excited to share it with you. Only 6 years old, this home is located in the Keepers Landing newest section of the Cape Fear Station of Bald Head Island. Out the front door and across the street, our guests can enjoy use of the private marsh walk where you can fish, crab or launch a canoe or kayak. The Commons, a large park that the kids can play, includes a tower fort to climb and is just a short bike ride away. The Shoals Club is less than 2 minutes away by golf cart. As our guest, you have full use of the Shoals Club*, pool, dining, weight room and beach access.

When decorating our home, our desire was for it to be well appointed and very comfortable blending a fun nautical look with a few antiques. Great attention to detail was given throughout the house. We selected thick plush pillow top mattresses and pillows, fully stocked the kitchen and are excited to offer a 55 inch Samsung Smart TV with a Bose lifestyle sound system in the living area. Through the smart TV you can access Net Flix or any movie pass that you have on your home computer right from the remote control in our home. We wanted our guest to have the best in high tech entertainment as well as some great low tech board games, backgammon and cards!

The main house offers 2 bedrooms with a king, queen and bunk beds and 2.5 baths. The adjacent private crofter provides the 3rd bedroom with a Queen bed and full bath.

Bald Head Island, known as the Cape Cod of the south, is a wonderful place. You are on vacation as soon as you leave Deep Point Marina and take the 20 minute ferry ride to the to the Island. Hidden among the ancient live oaks, salt marsh and ocean environments, you can experience the sea turtles, deer, fox, and raccoon. Bald Head is a unique ecosystem with maritime forest, multiple beaches and river settings, multiple salt marsh, and lake environments. We love walking on the numerous nature trails and golf carting the entire island. Our family has always loved the slow pace and some of our best memories are simple grilled dinners, wildlife counts, card games or bike rides through the maritime forest. Star gazing is another of our favorite activities. We lay out on the marsh front dock just out our front door with the 'Night Sky' App. Recently we saw 3 shooting stars within 30 minutes of star gazing!

Our kids say that they enjoy Bald Head more than Disney.

The island has many activities to enjoy. Check out the lighthouse tours at 'Old Baldy' or camp opportunities for the kids through the Conservancy just up the street from Keepers 22. Stop by the marina for a captained charter of deep sea fishing.

Through River Adventure Company and the Island Passage, you can rent bikes and kayaks or additional golf carts or at Coastal Urge you can rent paddle boards and surf boards. Check out the locally owned boutiques for island clothing or gift items for your self or a friend. The new spa located near the grocery store is another great way to relax after a few days on the beach. Come be our guest and discover this very special island.

*There is a tempory membership fee of $150 for the week which includes all guests.

More Details
Hide Details

Our family discovered BHI in 1987. We love Bald Head, and the unique opportunity for our family to grow close to each other and to our Lord and Creator. Bald Head slows us down, gives our family the opportunity to play board games, to talk and enjoy the natural and beautiful environment. We have been homeowners on Bald Head Island since 2004. We are excited about purchasing this house in this location and have enjoyed decorating it and turning into a home away from home. Enjoy and please come back and visit!

Thanks,

The Hellmer Family

Owner/Manager purchased this house in 2012

We love Cape Fear Station because it is the newest part of the Island the the proximity to the Shoals Club (the best club on the island). Keepers Landing in Cape Fear is very special. Throughout the day we walk over to the Marsh Walk directly across from our home. Our favorite thing is to enjoy a pot of fresh blue crabs and fresh fish from the marsh. The home itself is a reverse floor plan with all the living area upstairs. We loved the two ancient live oaks on the property too and the abundant outdoor living areas.

It is rare in this day and age to be able to go someplace and have no worries about the kids and their safety ~ Bald Head is such a place. The lifestyle is slow and the opportunity for family quality time is what we love about the place.

10 Reviews of Property 439286 in Bald Head Island, North Carolina

Incredible home in KEEPERS LANDING across from marsh-walk! 4/19wk $895
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
business
Incredible home in KEEPERS LANDING across from marsh-walk! 4/19wk $895
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439286vbi
+ (843) 249-6509 (South Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
5

Perfect Vacation!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My family just returned from a fantastic two weeks at this lovely home. We had perfect weather and more than perfect accommodations. The house has all the extras to make your stay comfortable and easy. We had a few minor issues in the house upon arrival, one call and two hours later after coming back from the beach, items taken care of...great service! The location is perfect, we spent many mornings and evenings on the dock crabbing, fishing and just relaxing. Great and beautiful beaches are a short bike or cart ride away. 22 Keepers Landing and Bald Head Island make for a vacation that we will be sure to repeat again. Beautiful spot!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Incredible home in KEEPERS LANDING across from marsh-walk! 4/19wk $895
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439286vbi
+ (843) 249-6509 (South Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC
5

Lovely home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
A week was not long enough! This is a beautiful home and is welcoming, cheerful and comfortable. It was readily apparent that the owners intend for their guests to have a comfortable stay. There is an overall feeling of hospitality from the front door onward. The home is in pristine condition and I adored the upstairs living/dining/kitchen area. I love any room that has windows on 3 sides and I felt like I was in a tree house. The nice golf cart gets you just where you want to go - especially the Shoals Club which has a view to die for!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Incredible home in KEEPERS LANDING across from marsh-walk! 4/19wk $895
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439286vbi
+ (843) 249-6509 (South Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
5

Lovely Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My family and I recently returned home from our Bald Head Island vacation. 22 Keepers Landing was the perfect place to stay! Beautifully decorated with everything you could imagine. Beds, couches etc. were very comfortable. Lots of extras in the garage such as pool floats, beach chairs, skim board, and bikes. Location was ideal, minutes to East and South beaches and to Shoals Club. The stunning marsh walk is directly across from the house - beautiful all times of day and easy access to fishing, crabbing or canoeing. Only suggestion would be adding a second golf cart. We managed with one (6 seater) but found a few times during our stay that our family wanted to be in different places in the island and a second cart would have been handy.

We will be back to 22 Keepers Landing again next year!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: We appreciate your kind review and are so happy that you enjoyed your stay.... We want the home to be perfect so I listen to all reviews intently. I Would love to have you to stay again!! Thanks so much for your patronage!
business
Incredible home in KEEPERS LANDING across from marsh-walk! 4/19wk $895
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439286vbi
+ (843) 249-6509 (South Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Hanover, VA
5

Great house!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
My family thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful house. We had everything we needed and more! The location across from the marsh walk is fantastic, we really enjoyed staying in the Keeper's Landing area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Loved having you stay with us!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible home in KEEPERS LANDING across from marsh-walk! 4/19wk $895
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439286vbi
+ (843) 249-6509 (South Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Charlotte, NC
5

Highly Recommend - Wonderful Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This home was as described, if not better, than the photos shown on VRBO. We had a wonderful stay. What the pictures don't show is the openness of the well-decorated kitchen / living / eating space. Having a reverse floor plan with the living space upstairs was a great feature. Also, I always appreciate owners who spend a little extra on furnishings (e.g. comfortable sofas and beds). Finally, because it was mentioned in an earlier review, I want to comment on the golf cart. It was a good-quality 6-seater with plenty of speed. The Shoals Club makes the stay a little easier, because it has a great pool and grill by the pool. Also, chairs at the beach and convenient showers and restrooms also make the beach stay a little easier. Highly recommend!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Incredible home in KEEPERS LANDING across from marsh-walk! 4/19wk $895
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439286vbi
+ (843) 249-6509 (South Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Apex, NC
5

Wonderful Visit to BHI!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 28, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This was our first visit to BHI. It was wonderful! The house was very warm, inviting, and comfortable. The beds were comfortable as well. We loved the location of the house. Only a 3 minute golf cart ride to the beach, Shoals Club, and the BHI Conservancy. The marsh directly across from the house was very serene. My husband and sons enjoyed fishing and crabbing from the pier. We had a temporary membership at the Shoals Club. It was well worth the money. I cannot say enough about the BHI Conservancy. They are doing amazing work in their new state of the art facility. We are already talking about returning next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Incredible home in KEEPERS LANDING across from marsh-walk! 4/19wk $895
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439286vbi
+ (843) 249-6509 (South Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
5

Beautiful Cottage!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This is a beautiful cottage, first class all the way! The property was updated top to bottom. The only negative thing that I would have to say is the golf cart that is provided is VERY low speed. I would not walk to the beach but you can bike (the two bikes were great) without a problem and of course take the cart if you want. We were very surprised to have detergents and toilet paper provided--wish we would have known this in advance. The few problems we did have were just over sights from the update and were corrected. If you do not mind being distance from the beach this is a great cottage.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: We are very happy that you enjoyed yourselves. We have spared no expense to provide our guests with a wonderful experience. I dont take it as a negative but I did want to clarify the comment about the golf cart. It currently travels between 16 to 18 mph depending upon the charge... I will admit when I drive it I get passed a lot. The maximum speed you are supposed to do is 18mph... I will certainly call our golf cart maintenance and have them to check it out... and of course if cart is not kept charged each time it is garaged it goes slower too. Keepers Landing is only about 3 minutes by golf cart to the beach but is across the street from the marsh. I truly hope that you will come visit again! Best regards, Keith
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Incredible home in KEEPERS LANDING across from marsh-walk! 4/19wk $895
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439286vbi
+ (843) 249-6509 (South Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
raleigh nc
5

22 keepers landing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
The house was well appointed, and decorated beautifully, we really enjoyed our stay. The owners were more than accommodating, we would definitely stay again and recommend it to others as a wonderful place to vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Incredible home in KEEPERS LANDING across from marsh-walk! 4/19wk $895
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439286vbi
+ (843) 249-6509 (South Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Georgetown SC
3

DHS Georgetown SC

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Just returned from an outstanding week-end at BHI. Not only was Keepers Landing #22 the perfect place to stay the weather was also perfect. The cottage is welll equipped in anything you may need. So pretty, & so comfortable that no one wanted to leave. The location is ideal. What is better than an early morning walk on the boardwalk to enjoy the beautiful marsh view.? Only a few steps & you are there. Can't wait to return.
Helpful votes: 0/2
business
Incredible home in KEEPERS LANDING across from marsh-walk! 4/19wk $895
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439286vbi
+ (843) 249-6509 (South Carolina, USA)
Bald Head Island Coastal North Carolina
Knoxville, TN
5

JBVO

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 11, 2012
  • Stayed: Oct 2012
We are excited Keith has bought a new house on Bald Head Island. My family has rented from him several times over the years, and he is excellent to work with. I haven't rented this house yet but we are already talking about coming back and staying here. But I was on the island and was able to go by and see the location! I love the house and the 6 seater golf cart. A big plus is being right across the street from the pier leading to the dock for those who want to fish. From the pictures I can tell they have really gone the extra mile to make this place even better.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1