Kailua Kona condo rental - Living Area
Living Area
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 - 7 nights
 

Kailua Kona Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Convertible Bed(s), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)

The casa de emdeko is a very special place. People who have come here in the past keep coming back, some every year for over twenty years. The owners and guests are very friendly and you can make lifelong friends here. Yet if you want a quiet romantic dinner this too is possible. The cabana serves coffee in the morning and in the evening is a great place to barbeque your dinner and watch the sunset and maybe even a green flash if you are lucky. There are two swimming pools on the property with one so close to the ocean it is salty sometimes from the waves coming over the wall. The private beach is a wonderful place to get a good tan or catch up on that nap (i mean book you wanted to read). The tide pool is a great place to see eels in the evening around sunset, over the years people have taught them there will be food. They like chicken bones the best. Yes, some of them have names 'fury' and 'rose' are the red ones (the color of red wine) but they only come around if you have fish to feed them. Bob will come up on the rocks if you throw the food in the right place. You can sometimes see the manta rays if the surf is mellow, over by the fire-lane on the north side.

Now about our unit. Only a few units can say that they have no stairs, ours is one. It is on the south-side, so you are in the shade on the lanai in the mornings. Back by the dolphin fountain, so you are away from the noise of the swimming pools and cabana when in the unit. We are also very very close to the laundry-room area. There is not a change machine or a place to buy soap, but the deli up front does have soap and change for customers.

We have free WiFi for our guests, encrypted so you are not sharing with anyone, or having to find one that is not encrypted, or you can direct connect if you like. The appliances in our unit are new, fridge, stove, dishwasher and disposer. We have been living there for the last two years so they are really nice. The phone has free long distance to the mainland.

More Details
Hide Details

Jeff and Jolene live 1.2 miles from the Casa. We have been married 33 years. We love Hawaii and want others to enjoy their stay here.

Jolene and Jeff Hanline purchased this condo in 2005

We fell in love with the Casa the first time we stayed there and want to retire there.

We live 1.2 miles from the Casa and can be there in less than 5 minutes if there is any problem. We lived in our unit for two years (not many owners have spent more than a month here and there in theirs), so we know it inside and out.

11 Reviews of Property 439214 in Kailua Kona, Hawaii

The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
average rating of 4.090909 based on 11 reviews
business
The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439214vb
+1 (808) 331-1532
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

A Great Condo in a Great Complex!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This place turned out to be even better than what we had imagined!
What a treat to sit out on your own lanai drinking your morning coffee in a tranquil setting or spending part of the evening chatting with friends at the sea front watching the sun go down. Priceless!
Our condo was equipped with everything we needed--every conceivable kitchen gadget, towels for the bath and beach, a nicely decorated lounge area, and a comfortable bed.
We always felt secure and appreciated how well the complex was managed. Grounds were groomed regularly and the BBQ and lounge seating area kept in excellent condition.
We'd like to thank Jolene and Jeff who obviously care that their guests have the best possible holiday. We certainly did!
Finally, we'd most certainly recommend this condo and complex to family and friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439214vb
+1 (808) 331-1532
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
1

BIG MISTAKE!!!!!

  • 1 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We were very disappointed with our stay. After the second night we found a different place to stay. The carpet looked stained or soiled, the shower floor was badly stained, and we saw roaches!!! We left with three nights still on the books, notified the owners twice over the situation and about a refund to no success. We were told our claims were unfounded and we were using this as an excuse because we were not happy with their condo and NO REFUND!! We saved our vacation by finding another place to stay.
Owner's Response: The complaint is untrue and reviews submitted by our other guests verify the condition in which we keep our beautiful little unit here in paradise. The complex has a contract with a professional exterminator to spray every unit in the complex on a regular basis and the Manager of the complex had the exterminator re-spray the unit the next day. But it was unnecessary.
Helpful votes: 0/3
business
The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439214vb
+1 (808) 331-1532
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
4

Clean and convenient

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Enjoyed the salt pool next to the ocean. There was some construction going on while we were there which was noisy. When the construction stopped it was very nice and quiet. Kitchen is well equipped and nice,new appliances. Had a pleasant stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your review.
Jolene and Jeff
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439214vb
+1 (808) 331-1532
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
3

Nice, but...

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This is a lovely little apartment: clean, well-equipped and well-furnished. The pools and 'beach' were nice, but the beach is not your typical type. Lounge chairs on the sand are surrounded by a nice courtyard and bar and have an ocean view. (There are few sandy beaches on the Big Island, because the island is 'newer' and beaches have not had time to develop.) The area of sand abuts a rock wall with a straight drop to lava rock and the ocean below. The setting is attractive and not dangerous, it's just not what you normally think of as a beach. The Alii Dr. location is very convenient for shops and restaurants, but they are not within a safe, walkable distance (No sidewalks, lots of cars.) However, I arrived after dark and had some trouble finding it, as the complex is behind a small row of shops and not well-marked or well-lit. Also, I would have liked to have known before I rented it and arrived that work crews were well underway in renovating the stairwells by drilling and pounding concrete pretty much all day just outside my door. There were a few steps, but nothing difficult. Without the construction, it would have been a 4 star stay.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
Owner's Response: Aloha, and mahalo for your review. Most major maintenance work occurs during low season, so we suggest booking your next stay during high season to miss any construction that might be happening.
Jolene and Jeff
business
The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439214vb
+1 (808) 331-1532
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Port Melbourne, Australia
5

Ironman Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Apartment is well maintained, in great location with excellent facilities. We were in Kona for Ironman and the condo is situated close enough to Ironman to be easy to get to without being totally surrounded by the hype of Ironman. Pools are great. Ample parking.
Unit itself is good size for 2 adults. Furniture, beds, bathroom etc all in good condition. Air Con works well as does the TV and the many channels available!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439214vb
+1 (808) 331-1532
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
enjoy our stay
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439214vb
+1 (808) 331-1532
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Martinez
5

Ready to repeat the experience!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 11, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I recently stayed at the condo with my son for nine days. I found it to be perfect size wise and adequate with regard to kitchen supplies, spare blankets, etc. I did most of my own cooking and found the only inconvenience to be lack of an ice maker, but that is why they make bags of ice for purchase! The bed was comfortable, and my son said the sofa bed was comfortable as well. The round salt-water pool on the beach is the best selling point I can think of! I spent many evenings swimming as the sun went down, it was very relaxing. The place was clean and in good repair. There were beach towels supplied and plenty of regular towels. The laundry room is practically outside the back door and the lanai was cozy for evening meals. The only other thing that was kind of a disappointment was that one of the gas grills in the outdoor kitchen on the property didn't work, and there seemed to be a traffic jam to use the other one. I was never able to grill outside and broiling isn't quite the same. A George Foreman grill or some other indoor grill would be a nice addition, or even a gas grill on the lanai. I did see other condo's that had their own grills. Jolene was the epitome of hostess. Her communication was excellent and she went out of her way to accommodate a last minute request. I was already planning my next trip for the Big Island before I even left, and we will be staying here once again next year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your review. I'm sorry that you did not see the icemaker. With the freezer on the bottom you have to pull out the upper drawer to see it. I will put a note on the fridge, so other guests will know it is there. We love this kind of feed back! It allows us to make things better for future guests. Please next time something like the gas grill is not working let us know, so we can have the property manager fix it. I know that there is a back up one that he could have put out. As far as putting a grill on the lanai it is against the house rules and if you did see someone with one I am sure that it will not be there for long. I will make sure that they are working when you come again, because grilling out there at sunset is one of my favorite things to do.
Jolene and Jeff
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439214vb
+1 (808) 331-1532
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
5

Perfect Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We enjoyed our 10 day stay. The location was ideal, and very quiet! The kitchen was well equipped, and the owners had our needs covered with beach gear. There are 2 beautiful pools, one being right next to the ocean...where we fed the eels in the evening. We enjoyed the cabana area, sipping our wine and having dinner while the sun set. The grounds are well-maintain, and filled with very friendly birds.

Thank you Jolene and Jeff for making our vacation a memorial one!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your lovely response, hope to see you again. We love repeat guests and give them a discount.
Jolene and Jeff
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439214vb
+1 (808) 331-1532
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Michigan
4

Nice and convenient

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My Husband and I stayed here while visiting my son and his family. We were having back problem issues and this worked out good for us because it wasn't a really big complex. We really enjoyed the pools especially the one on the ocean. The grills were nice because you could watch the sun set while cooking and eating. Also a very nice sandy area for reading in the shade or sun bathing. It had everything we needed. I would stay there again.
The only bad thing was a few cockroaches but my son says they are very common in Hawaii.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Mahalo for the great review. Yes, bugs are common in tropical climates. The complex sprays for them frequently. Put open food in the fridge, even cereal; take out the garbage often; and keep the screens closed to keep them away. Let us know if you want to come back as we give a discount to people who submit reviews.
Jeff and Jolene
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
The Casa De Emdeko No Stairs
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p439214vb
+1 (808) 331-1532
Kailua Kona Kona Coast
Chino Valley, Arizona
3

Pretty much what we were expecting.

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The condo was pretty much what we were expecting after looking at the pictures and reading the details of the condo. We were basically only there to sleep and shower so it worked fine for us.

I do have to say that there were a few minor updates and a couple of repairs that could be made that would make a stay a lot nicer. Those would include a hotel quality mattress and a more comfortable sofa sleeper that is being used a couch.

The kitchen was well equiped that would make cooking easy. We were surpised that you could still hear the roar of the ocean since the condo is towards the back of the complex. It was nice that the condo is at ground level. We loved the location. It was close and easy access to Kona.

If you enjoy going to the beach then I would suggest renting a Jeep. Our favorite beach by far was Makalawena. It's a 20 minute walk to it over lava rock or a fun ride to it in a jeep (different roads off of the highway). 2nd favorite beach was Mauna Loa.

If you are couple that are on the go when you vacation in Hawaii, then this place would work fine.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing
Owner's Response: Mahalo for your comments. The matress is very firm and a previous guest told us he liked the firmness for his bad back. But maybe it is too firm for some so we just purchased a three-inch memory gel foam topper for guests that want a softer feel. As for the hide-a-bed, it was the best one available for purchase here in Hawaii. We do not recommend it for adults, but it seems to work okay for kids. As for beaches, Makalawena is one of our favorite places too.

Regards,
Jeff and Jolene
Helpful votes: 1/1