Indian Shores condo rental - Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
Caution: Dolphins and manatee playing - wake up to this view every morning.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay nights
 

Indian Shores Condo Rental Photos and Description
2 BR, 2 BA, sleeps 4

Please scroll down to see the link to comments from our previous guests. They all loved it and you will, too!

Wake up on Indian Shores' intercoastal waterway... view playful dolphins from the comfort of your king-size bed... watch the boats head out to the Gulf... Walk the powdery-white sands... Relax on the private balcony overlooking nesting sea-birds...

• Waterviews, waterviews, waterviews!

• Just steps to beach (approx. 150 yards)

• Washer/Dryer in unit

• Computer with high-speed cable internet and WiFi

• Unlimited long-distance calls (USA and Canada)

• Upgraded digital cable TV package

• Private 1 car garage with 2 remote openers

• much more!

Keywords: Waterfront Condominium

Isabel is from Spain and we met while I lived and worked there for ten years. During our years there we enjoyed traveling throughout Europe and especially staying in the quaint Bed and Breakfasts that are so typical there. We made notes of all of the things we liked and disliked about everywhere we stayed and planned to one day have somewhere unique and cozy of our own to offer to vacationers.

In 2000 work brought us to St. Petersburg, Florida. In 2004 we purchased a condo in Indian Shores, just a few miles from our home. We decorated it with nothing but the best (Isabel is an Interior Decorator and has her own business). As guests began to know us and word began to get around we soon had a steady flow of visitors and a full calendar. Just repeat visitors were nearly keeping the unit booked. In 2008 we decided to buy a second unit, with the exact same floor plan and the same extraordinary views, just a few steps away. We call them our Gulf Retreat 1 and Gulf Retreat 2.

Darryl Glenn purchased this condo in 2004

We love Indian Shores because it is the quietest, most relaxed part of Sand Key, the barrier island that runs along the Gulf shore from St. Pete Beach to Clearwater. It is the narrowest part of the Sand Key, only 150-200 yards across where we are located. That means you can enjoy both the Intracoastal Waterway and the Gulf of Mexico only a few steps apart.

Indian Shores is the last part of the coastline in Pinellas County that preserves a small-town feel. Gulf Blvd. is still just a two-lane road and the speed limit is 35 m.p.h. There's is only one traffic light in Indian Shores. There isn't as much asphalt as you see to the south or north of us, a lot fewer high-rise buildings and none of the tourist traps. While you will find all the restaurants and conveniences you need near-by Indian Shores is still primarily a residential, family-oriented community.

Our view is of the Intracoastal Waterway, the body of water that separates Sand Key from the mainland. We love it because of all the boat traffic - it's fun to watch. The dolphins are always a joy to see, too. They are most active early in the morning or at sunset. Manatee are a little harder to spot, but are always around, too.

When the tide is low there is a sandbar that emerges from the water just off our balcony. The seabirds all come to feed there and it's wonderful entertainment.

And the Intracoastal Waterway is beautiful to behold at night, when the lights from the boats and other properties reflect off the surface. You must see it to appreciate it!

And of course the beach is just across the street. It takes just a couple of minutes to get there walking. It's never crowded and always relaxing. We have beach toys, inflatables, beach chairs, an umbrella, a cooler... everything you need except a good book and suntan lotion! And we even have a handy cart to put everything in and wheel it across the street!

120 Reviews of Property 43893 in Indian Shores, Florida

100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
average rating of 4.96875 based on 120 reviews
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

Beautiful Condo on the Intracoastal

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Listing photos were accurate. Everything available for a home away from home, well equipped and immaculate. Owner was very helpful with any questions.
Fishing from the dock was fun. Restaurants too numerous to mention, all within a short drive and different price range. We would recommend this unit and will visit again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

Amazing 2 bedroom condo on Intercoastal waterway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My husband and I would highly recommend this beautiful condo. It is beautifully decorated and immaculate. Close to the beach and shopping. We found the building to be very quiet, thus perfect for seniors. This condo would be perfect for anyone. We are looking forward to our next vacation here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Ft. Worth, TX
5

Stop searching...just stay here!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Fantastic stay from start to finish. All sorts of unexpected extras and special touches made our stay so enjoyable. Awesome views of the intercoastal waterway...we watched birds, fish, dolphins, and even a couple manatees. The condo has a wonderful layout and is extremely well-kept and clean. We thoroughly enjoyed all the beach toys and equipment, especially the wagon to haul everything (including our children) on the short walk to the beach. Great location, close to several really good restaurants...we really liked Keegan's and JD's! This was such an easy, laid back vacation, much in part because of this condo and all of the included goodies. Thank you so much for a great stay...we look forward to returning.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Leola, PA
5

A great place to stay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My husband, son and I spent 8 nights in this condo just recently. We were so happy with our stay, and have decided that out of all the condos that we've rented over the years, this is our favorite. Here are some reasons that we enjoyed it: First off, the view from the living room and master bedroom is "to die for". It's a wonderful view of the intercoastal from the third floor -- the water, the wildlife, the serenity -- it's awesome. We saw dolphins, fish jumping out of the water, egrets, pelicans, a flamingo, ...you name it. Secondly, it's very quiet -- once you leave the beach and come back to the condo, it's super quiet and perfect to just rest. Thirdly, it's very close to the beach (just across the road and up past a few properties) and the beach is also very quiet. Not packed with tourists...just enough to make it interesting. Fourthly, they provide virtually everything you need for your stay. We flew to Florida and couldn't bring a lot of stuff, but not to worry. The owners provided a cooler, beach umbrella, chairs, beach towels and a wagon to transport it all in to the beach. The unit was lovely....well-maintained and clean. The condo pool was a bit on the small side, but since no one else was ever there, it was never a problem. Also, it's in a quiet, residential area, but only minutes from a very busy area -- John's Pass and Treasure Island. Needless to say, we would highly recommend this unit.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
New Brunswick, Canada
5

A great stay :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We enjoyed our stay!!!! The place was clean and more than expected... Perfect for a peaceful stay for a family of 4. We hope to get back soon!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Cherry Valley IL
5

We were impressed!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
My husband and I were very impressed with the beautiful condo. I would recommend it to anyone, it was clean, decorated beautifully, had everything that you could possibly want for a week away from home. We, both felt comfortable and at home every time we stepped in the door.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
5

Kim Giss

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Everything was just as deacribed. The owners went out of their way to make sure the condo was perfect for us. It is a beautiful place. We would definitely return for another stay.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Clarkston, MI, USA
5

Delightful Vacation Condo

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family stayed in Gulf Retreat I for the Fourth of July 2013. We enjoyed our stay immensely. Darryl was so easy to work with and available to answer questions whenever we needed help. The condo itself is decorated like a comfy and cozy "home away from home." The pictures of the condo accurately depicted the furnishings but until we walked in, we didn't realize just how wonderful. The place was well-maintained and very clean. The kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed to cook meals in.
The spectacular views were breathtaking . . . we saw a dolphin swimming in the Intercoastal Waterway, pelicans feeding during low tide,beautiful sunsets--and fireworks displays, too--all from our living room and balcony. My husband and I enjoyed looking at the night sky and being awakened by the sunrise from the windows in the master bedroom--all seen right from a very comfortable king size bed.
The entire condo complex at Mariner's Pointe was well kept. My daughter especially enjoyed the pool with the landscaping providing a private area. My husband and I loved walking across the boulevard to walk along the beach at sunset. All of us had fun swimming in the waves of the Gulf.
The fireworks displays along the beach on the Fourth of July were wonderful. We didn't know where to look next--there were so many spectacular displays of color!
While staying here, we took in a Tampa Bay Rays game--they were playing our hometown Detroit Tigers--which was easy drive to Tropicana Field. We liked the indoor ballpark as well as watching our Tigers win!
We would recommend this condo to families who want a relaxing place to stay in a convenient location. Having a bathroom across the hall from the second bedroom as well as one in the master bedroom was a plus. It is definitely a "beautiful home away from home." We can't wait to go back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

We have found our yearly vacation destination!

  • Submitted: Jul 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My family and I stayed in unit 603 for 1 week in April, and we have found our yearly vacation destination in the area! The condition of the unit was exactly as pictured, and the location is excellent as well. Beach access is across the street (about a 3 or 4 min walk), and there's also a small convenience store next to the property. The store came in handy on those days when I wanted/needed something and was too comfy in my beach gear to get changed and drive somewhere else! The master bedroom suite was very nice: the king bed was very comfortable (even the sheets were soft), and the double sinks in the master bath were a huge hit, too. The washer and dryer in the unit are newer models and worked quite well. It was nice to have the option to have clean clothes when I packed up and went home. We ate breakfast on the balcony every morning, and even got to watch the dolphins in the cove for about 10 or 15 minutes. My daughter was beside herself with excitement! The neighborhood was friendly and the property grounds are well taken care of and clean. We spent a couple afternoons at the pool, which has facilities located right there and plenty of lounge chairs. My daughter loved having pool “toys” to bring with her. We did use the grill several times; the option was nice since we had minimal clean up! All in all, we will be returning in 2014 and hopefully many years to come. Indian Shores, Florida is my family’s favorite vacation destination (Busch Gardens, Adventure Island, Big Cat Habitat and Sanctuary, and the Florida Aquarium). Thank you, Darryl, for providing such a wonderful place for our family vacation!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
100+ Reviews!! Gulf Retreat I: Spectacular views, luxurious comforts
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p43893vb
+1 7279671687
Indian Shores Florida Central Gulf Coast
Sturgeon Bay, WI
5

Paradise...you won't want to leave!

Paradise...you won't want to leave!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We don't know where to start. We had a wonderful time. The condo was gorgeous, and Darryl made everything easy in terms of planning, payment, etc. We only had one hiccup when it came to getting intot the condo and Darryl answered my call and solved the problem within minutes. He even stopped by ten minutes later to make sure everything was all right. The condo was spaceous, clean, and had all the amenities a vacationer could ask for--right down to the spices in the kitchen. We saw dolphins in the waterway the very first morning, while having coffee on the balcony. It was such fun to watch that, as well as the kayaks, canoes, and boats go by. The pool was refreshing, and for those of us who are shy, actually empty most of the time. The beach, which was an easy two-minute walk across the street, was spectacular and was not crowded. We were very thankful that Darryl had provided a wagon, chairs, and a beach umbrella in the condo's garage unit so we didn't have to worry about packing that stuff. This place and it's owners/renters have earned the numerous excellent reviews they've recieved. If you book your vacation here, you won't regret it! In fact, you'll never want to leave. Thanks Darryl and Isabel! We are already planning to return in the future.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1