La Jolla house rental - Residence in the evening. SEE TheWoodHouseLaJolla.Com for 60 hi-res photos.
Residence in the evening. SEE TheWoodHouseLaJolla.Com for 60 hi-res photos.
 
  • Bedrooms5
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 14 nights
 

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description
House, 5 Bedrooms, 3 Baths (Sleeps 12 in 8 beds)

See TheWoodHouseLaJolla.com for 60+ high-definition photographs of the property!

**Absolute 12 person maximum occupancy including infants and children**

Remodel completed late fall 2012. Five BR, 3BA, FR, Great Room (combination living room/dining room), and eat-in-kitchen. Equally comfortable for two, four, six, or up to twelve occupants. ONE DOES NOT WALK BY ANY OTHER BEDROOM TO ACCESS ANY BEDROOM. Sleeps up to 12. Great for multi-generation gatherings. And three bedrooms have direct access to private patio. All with vistas, two of them with ocean views.

Roche Bobois, Ligne Roset, Baughman, BDI & other top of the line furniture. 2013 65' top rated Panasonic plasma TV. Tempurpedic mattresses (two Cal-King - one of which can be split into two single XL, two queens, one bunk bed and one double) on six of the eight beds, the other two featuring top of the line pillow top mattresses. Feather pillows. New hardwood floors, hardware, lighting (and controls) and granite throughout (counters, bath, fireplace & thresholds). Home enjoys ocean views and enjoys elbow room of 26,000 sf of land which includes adjoining lot owned by same owner. Huge patios including one with sweeping ocean, cove, and North Shore views. Big circular driveway. Parking for 8-10 cars in huge motor court.

SUPERB LOCATION. In the heart of La Jolla, the home is only 0.29 miles from the beaches of La Jolla Shores, a huge crescent-shaped children-friendly beach. It is less than 0.5 miles to Prospect Street and restaurant row and 0.68 miles to the ultra-scenic and world famous La Jolla Cove, a small intimate sheltered beach and 'San Diego's most desirable spot for swimming, snorkeling and diving.' Walk Coast Walk between the residence and the Cove for one of the most scenic walks of your life.

Beach towels (8 huge), beach lounge chairs (six back-pack style for ease of carrying), and umbrellas (four over-sized but lightweight), all Tommy Bahama, included.

More Details
Hide Details

La Jolla resident for 40 years. Retired La Jolla residential real estate broker. Legend status with Prudential California Real Estate. Former real estate developer. Three degrees from MIT.

David Schroedl purchased this house in 2004

One of the very few redwood and glass mid-century modern homes in La Jolla. Rich redwood texture. Updated with high quality touches. Extremely high quality furniture. Super-high speed internet. Enjoy the romance of soft lighting with Lutron dimming on almost all the lighting.

Vistas or ocean views from all rooms!

Enjoy all the advantages of Apple TV including ability to view NETFLIX and all your photos and video on the 65' TV screen. Relax on the Rouche-Bobois couch and lounge chair or on the zero gravity Human Touch 'Perfect Chair' featuring tempurpedic foam.

JUST A GREAT PLACE TO RELAX.

For computer use, six foot glass topped 'desk' in FR with two Knoll office chairs. For dining, tables and chairs for ten (twelve when using the office chairs).

See: theWoodHouseLaJolla.com for 60+ high-definition photographs of the property!

Enjoy being indoors with the feeling of being one with nature. Glass just disappears into the ceilings and many of the walls. YOU FEEL LIKE YOU ARE OUTDOORS WHILE INSIDE THE HOME. Eight huge skylights bath the home with light while the cedar roof overhang providing natural sun control. Two of the skylights in the bathroom area are ventilating.

And speaking of ventilation, with operative sliding glass windows next to the ceiling in all rooms, catch the ocean breezes and enjoy SUPER cross ventilation. That ventilation eliminates all the hot air that typically rises to the ceiling and creates higher interior than exterior temperatures. No need for mechanical airconditioning nor is any featured. ENJOY LA JOLLA'S FANTASTIC WEATHER WHILE INSIDE YOUR HOME!

Although there is little need for it, enjoy radiant hot water heat in the floors on those cooler winter nights.

Wonderful huge patios and much lush vegetation. Extreme privacy.

Note: Door clearances are 6'2' to 6'3'.

21 Reviews of Property 438505 in La Jolla, California

Architecturally Designed Redwood and Glass Mid-Century Modern
average rating of 4.952381 based on 21 reviews
business
Architecturally Designed Redwood and Glass Mid-Century Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438505vb
+1 858-450-0800
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Great Space

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
I recently took my wife and seven children to stay in this home. The privacy was nice and the home was very large and laid out well for a large family. The deck above the property allowed for great views as well. We loved the unique architecture of the property and enjoyed the close proximity to the village.Great time!
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Architecturally Designed Redwood and Glass Mid-Century Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438505vb
+1 858-450-0800
La Jolla San Diego County
San Francisco
5

Six Stars

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
The house is even more beautiful than it appears in the photos, and David was an excellent host. Very professional, courteous, and attentive. I'd look forwarding to spending another vacation here anytime
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Architecturally Designed Redwood and Glass Mid-Century Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438505vb
+1 858-450-0800
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Lovely House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We were a Chilean family that go to San Diego to spend our holidays and we have an amazing time there. The house was perfect for a large family or two family. The owner of the house was worried about all of our concerns and the house have everything working. It is a perfect house to spend holidays and enjoy this amazing place. The location is great, a couple of blocks from the beach and from the downtown. If i have to go back i will rent this house for sure.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Architecturally Designed Redwood and Glass Mid-Century Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438505vb
+1 858-450-0800
La Jolla San Diego County
Kansas City
5

Very nice

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The owner greeted us and walked us through everything we needed to know for a great stay. There were 9 adults in our group and all were comfortable; the mattresses were heavenly! Great location!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers
business
Architecturally Designed Redwood and Glass Mid-Century Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438505vb
+1 858-450-0800
La Jolla San Diego County
5

nice stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Nice house, great location. Very close to la jolla cove. Great for big family to stay!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers
business
Architecturally Designed Redwood and Glass Mid-Century Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438505vb
+1 858-450-0800
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Fabulous vacay!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
This was one of the best vacay's ever! The house is majestic, comfortable, & with a sceneic view. The picture on the website does not give this house justice until seen in person. David & cathy from Domestic Divas were easy to deal with & made sure everything was comfortable for our trip. I would vacay in a heartbeat!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Architecturally Designed Redwood and Glass Mid-Century Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438505vb
+1 858-450-0800
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Absolutely gorgeous house with stunning views!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Spending the week in this house made for a memorable business trip. The architecture and design is exquisite and the interior is warm and inviting.It was the perfect setting for entertaining our clients right down to the fixtures and furnishings which are top of the line. Also David, the owner was able to accommodate us while half way around the world. Thanks David for making our business trip a huge success.!

Sid
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architecturally Designed Redwood and Glass Mid-Century Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438505vb
+1 858-450-0800
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Stunning house made for a memorable business trip.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Gorgeous architecture and breathtaking views made for a wonderful trip. Talk about impressing our clients, we had the opportunity to use the beautiful house as our San Diego office for a few days. The house is exquisitely furnished down to the historic plaque at the entry. Thanks David, for the hospitality and the convenience of conducting the whole transaction even though you were half a world away.

Sid
business
Architecturally Designed Redwood and Glass Mid-Century Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438505vb
+1 858-450-0800
La Jolla San Diego County
Boston, MA
5

Perfect - Comfortable, Spacious, Luxurious, Great View

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
David's home was perfect for my reunion of 10 of my best friends. We slept well as the beds were incredibly comfortable, we cooked and barbequed using the kitchen's top notch appliances and the grill outside, watched sports on the crystal clear 64" wall-mounted flat screen, and spent several hours on (both) back patios chatting around the large table and enjoying the beautiful view of the ocean. Easy to deal and communicate with, David was a great host. I will definitely consider this place next time I need to host a large get together in southern California.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Architecturally Designed Redwood and Glass Mid-Century Modern
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438505vb
+1 858-450-0800
La Jolla San Diego County
Dallas, TX
5

Fantastic house in the heart of La Jolla - great for families

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We had a small family reunion in this house in June of this year and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. There were 7 of us, ranging in age from 10 to 79 and having 5 bedrooms on one floor was wonderful. The location in La Jolla, very close to La Jolla Village and La Jolla Cove, was very convenient. The owner, David, met us at the house on the first day to show us around and answer any questions about how things worked. He also has a notebook in the house that provides information about restaurants in the area, how to work the TV (complete with pictures of which remote is used for what), and other useful information you might need while staying in the house. David even provides information about specials at different restaurants, so you can plan your dining in a budget-friendly way if you like. We tried 2 of his recommendations while in La Jolla – Nine Ten and Piatti, and really enjoyed both.

The kitchen may be the best equipped kitchen we’ve come across in a rental house. There wasn’t a single item that we needed while we were there and couldn’t find, and we did eat several meals at the house. In addition to dishes and appliances, paper towels, plastic wrap, aluminum foil, garbage bags, laundry detergent, dish detergent, toilet paper are all provided generously. We did not have to replace any of these items during our stay.

One of my favorite things about the house was the several patios from which to enjoy the perfect La Jolla weather, including one “upper deck” with a view to the ocean. That was my favorite place to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening or a cup of coffee in the morning. My only regret about our stay is that I didn’t spend more time up there!

Most of the beds have Tempurpedic mattresses, which is another nice plus of the property, especially if you are already used to this at home!

There are 2 living areas – one with the big screen TV, and one that is more of a sitting area with a desk. When the kids were watching TV, the adults were able to gather in the sitting room if it was getting too chilly for the patio. There is also a desk in that room, so if you need to work while staying here, this room would be a great place to do it.

The house is on Torrey Pines Blvd, which gets pretty busy during the day, so be aware of that. If you are particularly sensitive to noise you may want to bring earplugs or choose a bedroom that’s not on the street side of the house, because depending on the weather, you may be sleeping with the win
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1