Reno house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Reno House Rental Photos and Description
House, 3 Bedrooms + Den, 2 Baths (Sleeps 8 in beds+1 more on Living Room couch)

This is a one of a kind Home hidden in the Mountains above Lake Tahoe off the Mt Rose Hwy 431 with views to Reno, on an unpaved road about one tenth mile from Main Hwy and only 2 miles to Mt Rose Ski Ares. We are the proud new owners, and everyone tells us that this is the best built house anywhere around. We love it and want to share it. The first renters said they loved it and felt like they were in a museum. I would not call this a Luxury Home, but a very comfortable place to stay. One really feels at home at our home in the mountains. The Home is located right next to Sky Tavern Ski Area, which the builder of this home also Built. There is so much history for the area and Ski resort. Sky Tavern was the first Ski resort in all of the Sierras.

We have been coming to Mt Rose Ski Area for over 12 years. We had the wonderful opportunity to purchase this Rustic Mountain Home just around the curve from the Ski Area. We want to share our good fortune with You.

Mark purchased this house in 2012

So comfortable Like Camping in the middle of the forest, but just a few hundred yards off the main highway. It is like stepping back a little in time and having all the comforts of home in the forest. Enjoy the forest, hiking, mountain bike riding, Skiing, Snowboarding, & Sledding, right outside of our home.

One Renter said he felt like he was in a Museum. It is a lot like going back to the 1950's & 1960's in the decor.

11 Reviews of Property 438176 in Reno, Nevada

Mountain Rustic Ski Home Tahoe-Reno 2 miles to Mt Rose-Snow Resort
average rating of 4.818182 based on 11 reviews
business
Mountain Rustic Ski Home Tahoe-Reno 2 miles to Mt Rose-Snow Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438176vbi
+1 619-303-4687
Reno Nevada
Elk Grove, California
5

3 Generations at Mt. Rose

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I'm a 39 y/o woman who brought my 74 y/o mom and two nephews, ages 6 and 3 y/o, to this lovely, spacious cabin in Mt. Rose, NV. Mom has limited mobility, but she was comfortable and cozy in the main floor (upstairs) master BR / bath suite. The stairs to the downstairs BR's are steep and narrow, so the boys and I slept downstairs. Nephews shared a bed in the BR beyond downstairs bathroom, as the bed is lower compared to the other downstairs bed I used. There's a wooden baby gate at the top of the stairs that we did not need to use, but the boys enjoyed expanding this gate. Mom and I cooked in the well-appointed kitchen, and we ate our meals at the dining table. There's a sturdy high chair with a few steps / foot rails in the kitchen the boys used to reach the kitchen sink to wash hands. 3 y/o enjoyed toy chest (truck, tinker toys, puzzles, checkers). We all enjoyed fire in fire place. I brought up wood from basement and used Duraflame fire sticks in place of kindling. We all enjoyed the view outside the living room window, especially as the sun set over the mountain range. I turned heat on to 72 degrees, we were all comfortable. Mom figured out how to use TV using DirecTV remote; JVC remote was MIA, so I manually powered on TV using button to left of large screen TV over fire place. Boys / Mom watched Warriors basketball game, then Seattle / SF football game. Highlight was sledding on Mt Rose at a free, public location near summit, higher than Mt. Rose Ski Resort, which we also visited. Boys / Mom live in Bay Area, I live outside of Sacramento, CA. We drove through Reno, NV, en route to cabin. On way home, we drove by Lake Tahoe - stunning views. We would love to return to this cabin if we have a free weekend. One way drive from Sacramento area is about 2 1/2 hours. Best value: $125 / nt + $125 cleaning fee, minimum 2 nights. Great for kids, middle aged, and elders. Beautiful, quiet location, I parked my Prius right in front of house's deck for easy loading / unloading. Kids enjoyed master bath tub. The home comfortably sleeps 4 - 8 persons (none of us used a full or queen size air bed in an alcove downstairs); plenty of common space for socializing. 20 minutes from North Aspect of Lake Tahoe (Incline Village). Would definitely return. Thank you!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Wow, what a wonderful review. Thank You.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain Rustic Ski Home Tahoe-Reno 2 miles to Mt Rose-Snow Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438176vbi
+1 619-303-4687
Reno Nevada
5

Great place for family getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 24, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Very comfortable and spacious. Well stocked kitchen. Comfy beds. Nice big table for meals and games. The property manager was so nice. There was a problem with the microwave, and he offered to go buy a new one on the spot. He also lent my kids ice skates to skate on the pond that is within walking distance of the home. Also enjoyed the tubing hill at the same location. So convenient to Reno, Tahoe City, and Mt. Rose.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain Rustic Ski Home Tahoe-Reno 2 miles to Mt Rose-Snow Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438176vbi
+1 619-303-4687
Reno Nevada
5

We will be back! :)

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 19, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We picked this rental because of its location-we were meeting friends in Reno for New Year's but wanted to be in the mountains instead of in the city. It was perfect! Close enough to drive down to Reno to gamble and shop, and also close to the Lake Tahoe area. We especially loved the ability to snow shoe/hike right from the cabin out to the Mount Rose wilderness (the snow was very low this year, as everyone knows, but we will come here again!). We also skied at Mount Rose, just two minutes away. The house is exactly as described and shown in the photos. We had everything we needed and it was clean and well-maintained. The view of the Reno Lights at night is great! And you also get a nice forest view from the opposite side of the house. It is a very quiet, peaceful neighborhood. All correspondence with the property owner was positive. And you cannot beat the price!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for being great guests and for the review.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain Rustic Ski Home Tahoe-Reno 2 miles to Mt Rose-Snow Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438176vbi
+1 619-303-4687
Reno Nevada
4

Cozy mountain retreat

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We had a really good time staying here. It is clean and comfortable and the setting is like being in a treehouse overlooking the valley below. Everything worked great and we especially loved the fireplace - can't be beat on a snowy day! Also, there are lots of great hikes nearby! We would definitely recommend it to our friends and family.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain Rustic Ski Home Tahoe-Reno 2 miles to Mt Rose-Snow Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438176vbi
+1 619-303-4687
Reno Nevada
carson city
4

Comfortable home with nice views.

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Clean and comfortable, older house with nice views of Reno and dog friendly neighborhood.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers
business
Mountain Rustic Ski Home Tahoe-Reno 2 miles to Mt Rose-Snow Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438176vbi
+1 619-303-4687
Reno Nevada
Woodburn, Oregon
5

sons wedding

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We have an amazing time, and the grandkids loved it there
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mountain Rustic Ski Home Tahoe-Reno 2 miles to Mt Rose-Snow Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438176vbi
+1 619-303-4687
Reno Nevada
Sonoma County CA
5

Great Place, nice and secluded

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 18, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
It is really a mountain retreat. It is spacious and quiet. Our family had a great time. The house was clean and well appointed. It is only a 12 minute drive to the grocery store or 20 min into Reno or Incline Village or Carson City. Great location. Only drawback is the altitude. Did not realize how little air is at 8000 ft. took a day or two to acclimate but then things were fine. Would go back for sure.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 0/1
business
Mountain Rustic Ski Home Tahoe-Reno 2 miles to Mt Rose-Snow Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438176vbi
+1 619-303-4687
Reno Nevada
San Bernardino, California
5

Great place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
You can see the lights of Reno from the living room window. It quaint and has everything you could need. We stayed 12 days and it was hard to leave this place. About 20 minutes from kings beach and maybe 50 minutes to south shore. We were only about 15 minutes from Reno so it's a great central location! Great view of the sunrise over the city and dark enough to have a great view of the stars from the porch! We will stay at this property again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Again, We have had the best renters. Thank you for your review and staying at our special Mountain Home.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain Rustic Ski Home Tahoe-Reno 2 miles to Mt Rose-Snow Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438176vbi
+1 619-303-4687
Reno Nevada
5

great cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the cabin very much. It's a very large cabin, well equipped and with fantastic view.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mountain Rustic Ski Home Tahoe-Reno 2 miles to Mt Rose-Snow Resort
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438176vbi
+1 619-303-4687
Reno Nevada
Vacaville, Ca.
5

Amazingly beautiful property!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
This home was terrific very clean organized & well supplied literally could have packed the family in the Jeep w/ clothes and upon arriving would have everything we would need. My husband & I our teenage daughters and dog were all very comfortable. If your looking for a Mt. getaway this is the place. Very quiet and peaceful great spread out neighbors. Great Hikes nearby including mt. rose summit, really close to North Lake Tahoe and also Virginia city and Reno.We stayed 8 days 7 nights weather was perfect but I would imagine that during winter this place would be so convenient for skiers etc. Several Ski resorts nearby. The owner & property manager very easy to talk to & work with..My family will definitely be back!!!! I strongly recommend this Home!!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: These were great Renters. I'm so glad they enjoyed themselves.
Helpful votes: 2/2