Paauilo cottage rental - Entrance
Entrance
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Paauilo Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Lovely cottage on 8 acres with wide open vistas

The house has 1 bedroom and a lovely designated sleeping area on an enclosed lanai. It sleeps 2 with extra sleeping arrangements for 2 children or familiar adults. This charming rental is truly a unique way to experience Hawaii with expansive ocean views and wide open spaces. This little house has personality plus with cathedral ceilings, warm lighting and a large wrap around lanai. The lanai on two sides is enclosed with windows from floor to ceiling. Dining is stunning with views of fields and tropical trees to the Pacific. The house sits on eight acres so there is privacy and quiet. Sliding glass doors and many windows offer a sense of being indoor-outdoor. There are no stairs to navigate. All is kept clean.

There is 1 bathroom, and as often in Hawaii homes, there is the option of an outdoor shower with a colorful garden to provide privacy.

The surrounding area is lush and beautiful. The quiet winding roads are perfect for long walks through farmlands, flowers, coffee, guava trees. In some spots both the mountain Mauna Kea and the ocean can be seen. Wild pheasants and turkeys even a few peacocks scurry along the roads.

The location is a central stepping off point to explore the island -- the volcano to the east and world class beaches to west less than an hour away. The historic Honokaa Town and gorgeous Wiapio valley are nearby and Kalopa Park created to protect native species is just 4 miles away.

There are beach chairs, snorkel gear, swimming noodles, boogie board, and beach towels provided.

A fenced in area adjoining the lanai is available for visiting pets to enjoy.

More Details
Hide Details

This charming rental is truly a unique way to experience Hawaii with expansive ocean views and wide open spaces. This little house has personality plus with cathedral ceilings, warm lighting and a large wrap around lanai. The lanai on two sides is enclosed with windows from floor to ceiling. Dining is stunning with views of fields and tropical trees to the Pacific. The house sits on eight acres so there is privacy and quiet. Sliding glass doors and many windows offer a sense of being indoor-outdoor. There are no stairs to navigate. All is kept clean.

There is 1 bathroom, and as often in Hawaii homes, there is the option of an outdoor shower with a colorful garden to provide privacy.

The surrounding area is lush and beautiful. The quiet winding roads are perfect for long walks through farmlands, flowers, coffee, guava trees. In somes spots both the mountain Mauna Kea and the ocean can be seen. Wild pheasants and turkeys even a few peacocks scurry along the roads.

The location is a central stepping off point to explore the island -- the volcano to the east and world class beaches to west less than an hour away. The historic Honokaa Town and gorgeous Wiapio valley are nearby and Kalopa Park created to protect native species is just 4 miles away.

There are beach chairs, snorkel gear, swimming noodles, boogie board, and beach towels provided.

A fenced in area adjoining the lanai is available for visiting pets to enjoy.

12 Reviews of Property 438077 in Paauilo, Hawaii

Charming -Panoramic Ocean views - Clean - Unique
average rating of 5.0 based on 12 reviews
business
Charming -Panoramic Ocean views - Clean - Unique
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438077vbi
+1 808-854-6043
Paauilo Hamakua Coast
5

Perfect Big Island Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
My husband and I recently stayed at this wonderful cottage while hunting for our retirement home on the Hamakua Coast! The views were amazing and the cottage perfect as our home base while exploring! We loved the bed on the glassed-in porch area and the friendly kitties that visited us daily. The kitchen was well-stocked with spices, coffee, etc. and we loved having the washer and dryer. Jane was very friendly and we enjoyed chatting with her. We would not hesitate to recommend this little slice of heaven to anyone visiting the Hilo side of the Big Island! P.S. We did find the perfect retirement home in Pepeekeo!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming -Panoramic Ocean views - Clean - Unique
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438077vbi
+1 808-854-6043
Paauilo Hamakua Coast
Michigan City, Indiana
5

My wife & I loved it. Quiet & private, clean and very well taken care of.

My wife & I loved it. Quiet & private, clean and very well taken care of.
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We stayed on the island for 2 weeks and wished we had spent more time at this location. Only 3 days here but it was the favorite without a doubt. We met the caretaker and she was very nice and gave alot of info about the area which helped in our sight seeing adventures. We couldn't have ask for anything more for a cottage to stay with beautifull mornings & evenings. Excellent sleeping tempratures and all of the peace and quiet that you could want. I cannot say enough about this cottage and I would love to stay again if I get to go back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming -Panoramic Ocean views - Clean - Unique
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438077vbi
+1 808-854-6043
Paauilo Hamakua Coast
California
5

Wonderful place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house was better than described: very clean, new sheets, towels, snorkel equipment, beach towels, appliances, well stocked kitchen etc.
I do not have enough words to describe how wonderful Jane, the manager, was from the moment I inquired about the property until we left. She guided us patiently through "Flossie" preparations (nothing happened) and she gave us extensive advise on what to do and see while in Paauilo. The location of the property is superb and the Northeast coast is of humbling beauty. There is a very small daily farmers market in Honokaa, a marvelous bakery in Waimea (Mamane), the close by Hawaiian Vanilla Company, breathtaking views and pristine beaches. We took daily trips and saw the entire island, but the best of it is Paauilo and this magical house.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming -Panoramic Ocean views - Clean - Unique
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438077vbi
+1 808-854-6043
Paauilo Hamakua Coast
5

Fantastique!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Merveilleuse maison avec une douche intérieure et une douche sous le porche. Une chambre intérieure et une chambre sous le porche... Lorsque nous y sommes allés, la température était parfaite pour dormir sur le porche et profiter de la douche extérieure. La maison est située à la campagne, dans le haut de l'ile - parfait pour visiter les lieux entre Hilo et Kona. Nous recommandons cette maison sans hésiter.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Charming -Panoramic Ocean views - Clean - Unique
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438077vbi
+1 808-854-6043
Paauilo Hamakua Coast
5

Perfect spot

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 5, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This is a lovely place. Clean and well stocked with everything you need (including a washer/dryer). Nice spaces and comfortable beds. Great kitchen for those of us who like to cook in the evening and morning. Perfectly cool nights and beautiful mornings with the sun rising out of the ocean view. Very quiet.

Having stayed at many vacation rentals across the islands, this is the best place I've stayed and the best value.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming -Panoramic Ocean views - Clean - Unique
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438077vbi
+1 808-854-6043
Paauilo Hamakua Coast
beijing
5

the cottage in the forest

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My husband and I stayed in this beautiful little cottage for 4 days and we loved it. The air was so fresh and the night was so quiet. On sunny days in the morning the view from the lanai was spectacular. We just sit there watching the distant ocean for hours without feeling like doing anything else. The two cats really gave us a kind of company from fur friends. Especially lilo the gray. He likes to be pet and scratched so please do so when you see him. Thank you Jane!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming -Panoramic Ocean views - Clean - Unique
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438077vbi
+1 808-854-6043
Paauilo Hamakua Coast
Mayo, Yukon, Canada
5

Nice Spot!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This was a great location to explore the Northeast part of the island, and, if you should want to go west to Havi, Waimea or on to Waikaloa , it is the shortest distance from here to there from the east side. The house is....oddly cool. It is an interior "box" with all the stuff you need, surrounded on 2 sides by a glass enclosed "sun space", complete with seating, a great eating nook and an extra bed. The other two sides are open to a regular veranda on the long side and a great outdoor shower on the short side. Inside is a living room, a wonderfully equipped kitchen with a gas stove and oven, a small inside bedroom with a great bed (I did notice the bed comment below, I think the complaint might have more to do with the possibility that the porch might be a bit off kilter.....but I come from a land of permafrost so....didn't bother me) but, as it was cool we chose to sleep inside and no complaints there and....that bed is closer to the bathroom. Good wifi, all the basics, washer, drier, it is off grid so we tried to take care with power consumption. Could have done two couples no problem! Jane was great, responded quickly to questions and made sure we got there OK (this place is really in the hills with not much around!). Check out the "donuts" at Tex drive in and there is a wonderful italian spot in Honokaa to check out. A must do is the tour of Waipopo valley.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Charming -Panoramic Ocean views - Clean - Unique
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438077vbi
+1 808-854-6043
Paauilo Hamakua Coast
Madison, Wi
5

Part of our travel on the Big Island

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Wonderful place! Plenty if privacy, can get cold when there isn't a lot of sunshine so, one needs to have warm clothing.

Beautiful night skies, yummy fruit basket, outdoor shower (if so inclined)!

Our only complaint was with the bed on the porch. It is uneven & that made for difficult sleeping. We didn't try the inside bed, but it looked ok.

Great suggestions of what to do on that beautiful Island!

Thanks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers
Owner's Response: Thank you so much and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. I was baffled by the comment about the bed. I think it may have been slightly to one side of the frame. I do apologize. Also it is a memory foam mattress and have a different feel. I did adjust it, test it and used a long level and it is in great shape. Thanks!
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming -Panoramic Ocean views - Clean - Unique
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438077vbi
+1 808-854-6043
Paauilo Hamakua Coast
Kenai, Alaska
5

Paauilo Enchantment

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
The other two reviews cannot be topped and yet I will attempt to do so. We are still here with our family and it has turned out to be the most pleasant Hawaiian experience I have had. The beauty and peacefulness of this place was what the doctor ordered for us travelers from the frozen north in Alaska! I hope to come and stay here again if it's still available. Jane, you are awesome and thank you for making our stay so nice! There is a nice vanilla farm with it's store and classroom is not far from the driveway entrance. The gift shop is reasonably priced for all things vanilla:) There is one concern I have for parents with active young children. There are two large pieces of plate glass in the backyard that are against the house. It was used to help grow tomatoes. the glass is thick but it may require some extra monitoring of your children to make sure they stay clear of them if they make you a little nervous. Otherwise, the house is very nice for a kinds of families:)
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Charming -Panoramic Ocean views - Clean - Unique
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p438077vbi
+1 808-854-6043
Paauilo Hamakua Coast
5

Big thanks to Jane

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
I stayed 5 days in this cottage around Xmas. Loved the view, the peace and quiet atmosphere. Jane was a pleasant, knowledgeable and effective host, very quick to help. The cottage runs on solar energy, and as such, at times, the solar battery may run low, which is what happened to me on Xmas day. Jane responded quickly to my call, came to the cottage and was able to get the problem fixed in no time. She even had a plan B just in case. Even though Jane doesn't live on site, she was always readily available. And any opportunity is great to get to know Jane who is a wealth of information when it comes to the Big Island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5