Santa Monica house rental - View through living room to rear garden
View through living room to rear garden
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps6
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 3 nights
 

Santa Monica House Rental Photos and Description
1 Bedroom + Sleeping Loft + 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5

This newly built guest house is airy, full of light, and super clean. Master bedroom has 1 queen and 1 twin bed. The romantic cozy sleeping loft has 1 queen bed. Both spaces have fantastic ocean views. The private roof deck has a 'white water' view as well as City views to the Hollywood Sign, Downtown and Palos Verdes. Kitchen and living room look out to a private grassy yard. Gourmet Nespresso coffee maker - the best espresso and coffee! Excellent location - easy walking distance to many restaurants and cafes, yoga studios, and shops. 10 minute walk to the beach and Main Street. 5 minute drive to trendy Abbot Kinney and Third Street Promenade.

My husband and I live on site with our twin boy and girl (2 years old). The design of the house was inspired by a 10 year sailing voyage around the world by my husband. The house is powered totally by solar energy and has such features as a 20' sundial and Meridian line that tells the date at solar noon. The house is naturally cooled by the ocean breezes and solar-assisted radiant heating. All rooms in the house open to private decks and gardens.

Julie Rhee purchased this house in 2012

8 Reviews of Property 437965 in Santa Monica, California

Spectacular Architectural Guesthouse with Ocean Views
average rating of 4.875 based on 8 reviews
business
Spectacular Architectural Guesthouse with Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p437965vb
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
London - UK
4

Clean new space but tight for 4 car essential

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The space is a guest house attached to the rear of a new built house. It's between Santa Monica & Venice but as it's half a mile back from the beach a car is essential.
The second bedroom is an open mezzanine loft above the only bathroom & open to the staircase so doesn't really have much privacy. Ok for older kids but not a 2nd couple.
The garden doesn't really get any sun but there's a marvellous roof terrace with sea views but it's not properly configured as there's no chairs & table or bar b q just a couple of sun loungers.
The master bedroom is the best room as it's sunny with a balcony and views to the sea but marred by a third single bed - a sofa bed would look better. Would also benefit from a TV.
The downstairs is good clean space with an eat in kitchen & separate living room but as it gets very little sun tends to be dark.
The kitchen is new & clean but has no clothes washing facilities, likewise there is an iron but no ironing board.
The overall feeling is it's a good base but not a great hang out as it lacks warmth also the 10am mandatory check out time is onerous.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Spectacular Architectural Guesthouse with Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p437965vb
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
5

Beautifully designed, chill guesthouse

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
A small group of us stayed at this house and had a wonderful time! The guesthouse is beautifully designed: lots of light and interesting features with patios everywhere. It is centrally located in a quiet neighbourhood with easy access to public transit, beaches, restaurants, bars, shopping, and grocery stores. Julie and her husband were very kind and accommodating. Highly recommended.

Make sure to check out the Getty and LACMA while you're in town! There's also amazing food & drinks at Laurel Hardware in West Hollywood.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Architectural Guesthouse with Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p437965vb
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Canfield, Ohio
5

MOST BEAUTIFUL guesthouse!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 3, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
My husband and I have stayed in many guesthouses, but NOT ONE compares to this one!
We were thrilled when we first entered the guesthouse, and our 7 day stay was perfect in every way! The owners were very accommodating in every possible way! The guesthouse was immaculate and beautifully designed. We have never stayed in a guesthouse that provided a Nespresso machine (complete with coffee blends) and water cooler...both a plus! The guesthouse is within walking distance to the beach and many fantastic restaurants. My husband and I travel several times a year to Los Angeles, and plan on making this "unique, one-of-a-kind", beautiful guesthouse our "home away from home"! It is so nice to know that we "hit the jackpot" on this Santa Monica gem! Don't hesitate to rent!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Architectural Guesthouse with Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p437965vb
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
5

Terrific guesthouse!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
I was fortunate to stay at this wonderful guesthouse for Feb & March, 2013 and couldn't have been happier. The place is even better than the description and photos! Lots of open space, comfortable furniture, very clean and the owners went out of their way to make sure everything went smoothly for my stay. The Nespresso machine and water cooler were pluses, as was the greenhouse. The location was perfect, in a neighborhood that had lots of energy and was perfect for restaurants, shopping, yoga, or just walking the beach.

I'd highly recommend staying here. It was conducive to working and was also an ideal place for a girls getaway.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Architectural Guesthouse with Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p437965vb
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Mill Valley,CA
5

Zen house

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Great stay in this feel good house!
Very convenient location,our daughter enjoyed the twins...Very cute!
Lot's of fantastic places to eat at near.
Loved the espresso machine.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
business
Spectacular Architectural Guesthouse with Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p437965vb
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Toronto
5

Amazing Property

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
My husband, son and I stayed here for a week and we could not have asked for a better experience.
The house itself is fantastic. It is beautifully designed, immaculately clean, quiet and very comfortably furnished.
The owners are thoughtful and very welcoming. We travelled with our 10 month old son and we really appreciated their efforts at making us feel right at home. They kindly provided a feeding chair and a travel crib complete with bedding for him to use. It was so nice not to have to worry about renting those items!
I also loved the well functioning kitchen, it was great to be able to shop for food and cook just like at home.
There is so much to love about this property,we highly recommend it and would love to stay there on future visits!
Thanks J+T!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Spectacular Architectural Guesthouse with Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p437965vb
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Madison, Ct USA
5

Fantastic Santa Monica Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 21, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This exceptional rental experience exceeded our expectations. A beautifully designed and maintained guest house in a great location. Every amenity was anticipated from nice towels, to the blow dryer and a fully equipped kitchen. Our own parking space took the worry out of finding a spot. Very responsive owners eager to make our stay as perfect as possible.Would absolutely do this again and highly recommend to any friends. This will not disappoint.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Spectacular Architectural Guesthouse with Ocean Views
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p437965vb
Santa Monica Los Angeles County
Bothell,WA
5

Lovely guesthouse in great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 5, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
This VRBO definetly lived up to it's discription and more so ...Very quiet location outside the busy metropolis of LA. Within walking distance to great beaches, shopping and restaurants. A fun activity was renting bikes (we were pleased with the rentals at the Ocean Park location on the beach) and taking the flat trail that goes for miles. Interesting way to see the beaches. The owners of this VRBO were very friendly,accommodating and attentive to our needs. We were especially appreciative of the automatic espresso maker and fresh water cooler that were provided. The beautiful architecture with all the windows and light is lovely. Thank you for opening this beautiful home to share with others!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4