Lexington cottage rental - Guesthouse from the front with sweet autumn clematis in bloom
Guesthouse from the front with sweet autumn clematis in bloom
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Lexington Cottage Rental Photos and Description
Cottage, 1 Bedroom + Loft, 1 Bath (Sleeps 2)

Come stay in our cozy timber framed guesthouse for a peaceful, serene getaway. The cottage has a large porch that wraps around 2 sides. Two comfy rockers are ideal to enjoy the natural surroundings and abundant wildlife.

We are located on 38 acres off a dirt road and are secluded, yet easily accessible to town. Lexington is a 12 minute drive and Goshen Pass is 15 minutes away for great fly-fishing and other outdoor recreational opportunities.

If you are looking for quiet simplicity or a romantic getaway then this is the place.

The living area has two leather recliners in front of a wood stove (firewood provided if you want to use the stove), a perfect setting for reading and conversation. We have books by local authors and a small collection of art by locals as well.

The kitchen has a small refrigerator, stove, and microwave. There is a table and chairs for meals. The cupboard is stocked with dishes, silverware, glasses, coffee press pot, and a few other pots and pans. Heat and A/C are provided using a wall mounted unit that you control with a remote controller.

The bedroom has a queen bed and the small bathroom has a shower stall, no tub. Linens and towels are provided. There is additional electric baseboard heat in the bedroom and bath.

The loft has a small sofa, table, lamps, and chair. There is also a queen size air mattress for use by those over the age of 10.

There are ceiling fans on the porch and in the living area and bedroom as well.

There is a small washer and dryer for your use in the basement (outside access).

There is no Wi-Fi, TV, or phone service to get in the way of your solitude, but your cell phone will work if you need it.

No pets. No smoking.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I came to Lexington 23 years ago. He is a Civil Engineering professor at VMI and I am a self-employed bookkeeper. He is a VMI grad as well so this place is home.

I love life in these mountains. So not the rat race of a big city. Slow pace of life.

We share the peace and quiet with abundant wildlife. There are only 8 families that live on our dirt road so we have very little traffic. We see deer and turkeys on a regular basis.

My husband spent his Christmas vacation painting me 4 barn quilts that are now on 3 of our buildings. They are so bright and pretty.

13 Reviews of Property 436692 in Lexington, Virginia

Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
average rating of 4.923077 based on 13 reviews
business
Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436692vb
540-817-6578
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
5

Really lovely place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 4, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
The cottage was great, very well appointed. So were the cookies Cindy made! The area is really beautiful as well. It is in a secluded spot but not isolated - the main house and shops are close by but the arrangement of the buildings makes the cottage feel very private.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Lydia, for your nice words. Come back anytime and I promise more cookies!
business
Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436692vb
540-817-6578
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
Williamsburg,Va
5

Cosy retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Very cosy cabin in the woods near Lexington,Va.
Woodstove and appliances all top notch. Porch view to die for.
Hot water with excellent pressure.
Lexington is a very nice town with exceptional restaurants.
Would definitely book again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436692vb
540-817-6578
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
5

Beautiful Escape, Gracious Hosts, Quiet Nights

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Looking for an escape from the sometimes stifling confines of Washington DC, we spent two nights in this beautiful, secluded cabin in the Shenandoah Valley. The drive time was ideal at three hours - close enough to DC not be prohibitive, but far enough away to count as an actual escape. The cabin was stunning, comfortable and modern, the craftsmanship particularly impeccable. Our nights were quiet, the stars were beautiful and the fire was hot. The cabin is located on grounds surrounded by forest, mountains and farmland, which provide for some amazing views. There are more than a few places hike on nearby mountains and downtown Lexington is close enough if you're in need of supplies or want to explore the area. The campuses of VMI and Washington and Lee University provide other sightseeing opportunities.

The hosts were gracious and trusting. After offering us food on arrival, they pointed out some things to do in the area, and walked us through a local map to help us get our bearings. We definitely plan on coming again. I highly recommend this location to couples looking for a secluded/romantic getway.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and are looking forward to your return in the future.
business
Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436692vb
540-817-6578
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
NJ
5

Wonderful cabin, great hosts

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We stayed at the cottage overnight while traveling from NJ to NC (great location, easy to get to off I-81) and due to an unexpected situation ended up staying an additional night as well. Cindy and Grigg were wonderful and flexible hosts and were so helpful. The cabin was perfect for what we needed, beautifully done inside and out, we loved the woodworking details. Laundry in the basement was an added perk! Thanks again for your flexibility Cindy & Grigg!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: You are so welcome. Glad to know you got home safely and we look forward to you coming back.
business
Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436692vb
540-817-6578
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
5

Mountian Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Very friendly, comfortable, and clean rental. Enjoyed the view.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
business
Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436692vb
540-817-6578
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
5

Mountian Cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
Very friendly, comfortable, and clean rental. Enjoyed the view.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, John. I'm glad the weather cooperated for your Ring Figure visit.
business
Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436692vb
540-817-6578
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
-
5

Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We absolutely loved this cottage! It was just what we were looking for. The owner's attention to detail is amazing, from the fully-appointed kitchen to the linens and toiletries provided. We especially liked the private setting and we thoroughly enjoyed the scenery. Deer crossing the yard topped the night off! It's a short drive to town but you feel like you're miles away in a secluded, tranquil retreat. We definitely recommend this property to others. We plan on returning next year!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad the deer cooperated for your visit. See you next year.
business
Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436692vb
540-817-6578
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
-
5

Absolutely Perfect!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We thoroughly loved our stay; the attention to detail was fantastic; deer running through the yard topped it off. The bed was super comfortable and the kitchen had everything we needed. We relaxed in the Amish rockers on the front porch and just about fell asleep in the cozy chairs inside looking at the serene surroundings. It was close to the interstate, yet felt miles away. We hope to be back and we'd suggest it to everybody!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: We are so glad you enjoyed your stay!
business
Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436692vb
540-817-6578
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
Richmond, VA
5

A perfect wedding anniversary getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and I were looking for someplace tranquil and away from the city for our wedding anniversary and we could not have been happier! Our host was thoughtful and accommodating. The place was clean, cozy, and quiet. We were also a close distance from some really beautiful scenic drives.
I would recommend this place to couples looking for a perfect little retreat.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you enjoyed your stay in our cottage for your anniversary. We love when others appreciate our special place.
business
Perfect for a Secluded Getaway
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436692vb
540-817-6578
Lexington Shenandoah Valley
Norfolk, VA
5

Relaxing weekend in the mountains

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Wonderful cabin in the woods. The generous porch wraps around two sides of the house. The rocking chairs on the porch and complimentary coffee (with french press) can make for a lazy, relaxing morning. The cabin is very clean and comfortable. Two large leather recliners make for comfortable indoor seating. The queen size bed was comfortable. Loved that she had books by local authors available in the cabin. Driving into downtown Lexington takes about 20 minutes. This is a very nice retreat. No children... good for parents visiting their college students OR a romantic getaway weekend OR a personal retreat.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Glad you had a great time in our neck of the woods. Come back again and you'll get your drive to town done is less than 15 minutes, now that you know the roads!