La Jolla house rental
 
  • Bedrooms6
  • Sleeps15
  • 6 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

La Jolla House Rental Photos and Description
Midcentury Modern Home with Stunning Canyon Views(Sleeps 14)

FAMILY REUNIONS/CORPORATE RETREATS/FILM!! ---Lots of free parking makes this perfect for large groups! (Rates start at $980 per night and can go to $1,300 in high season/holidays)

(Please note that this is our family home, and we reserve the right to refuse a rental if we are uncomfortable with a situation for any reason-- in advance of signing an agreement). WE DO NOT ADVERTISE OUR HOME ON CRAIGSLIST! PLEASE NOTE THAT IF YOU DO BUSINESS WITH THE INDIVIDUAL ON CRAIGSLIST THAT IT IS NOT THE TRUE OWNER, AND NO RESERVATION MADE THROUGH CRAIGSLIST FOR OUR PROPERTY WILL BE HONORED, AS IT IS SOMEONE WHO HAS STOLEN OUR PHOTOS AND OUR ADVERTISEMENT. WE ONLY RENT THROUGH VRBO/HOMEAWAY AND THEIR PARTNERS.

This mid-century modern home was recently purchased and has undergone extensive renovations. Enter the front foyer through the retro-orange double doors and you'll be greeted by the open, loft-style living space, with great room, modern kitchen with all new appliances, a long, spacious table that seats up to 12 people. This is the perfect space for entertaining and gathering with your family. The floors are a sleek, grey concrete, and the entire back wall of the home features glass windows and French doors, overlooking a large saltillo tiled deck with the pool and mountains below. This is California living where the indoors and outdoors join one another in beautiful harmony.

Take a walk down the winding stairs to the lower pool deck, where ample pool furniture awaits your day of fun in the sun. The property is completely private and very spacious for large gatherings. The dark-bottom pool is tranquil and welcoming for a day of play or relaxation. (not heated)

The Master Bedroom has French doors that lead onto a private patio (which adjoins the very large outdoor patio to the main living space). This modern space is luxurious and overlooks the pool and the beautiful sunrise you can watch from the bed through all the windows overlooking the mountains/canyons. Relax in the brand new soaking tub, or start your day in the beautiful shower glimmering with Italian tile by Bisazza.

Each of the other bedrooms have their own private baths and have been decorated with different personalities--tranquil turquoise, spunky pink, city scape, and luscious lavender, all by a local interior designer who considered not only our family's needs but also the needs of our guests. They are fun bedrooms but are also simple and restful.

There is an entire studio downstairs that is wonderful for those traveling with a second family or other beloved companions who desire their own space at times. The studio has a separate entrance (but also an interior entrance and staircase that joins the studio with the house, if unlocked), and it's just steps from the pool. The studio has a kitchenette, its own bathroom, dining area and full living room with television. (Sleeps 5--queen bed and bunk bed with two single beds).

Overall, the house is warm, fun, simple, sleek, stylish and lovingly cared for. We think it's the perfect place for your class reunion, family reunion, corporate retreat, weekend or week away, graduation, wedding ceremony (under 100 guests), or just any kind of vacation or business trip you have planned. We are always pleased to have you as guests.

We are gracious homeowners who have experience managing properties from the very small studio to the ultra-luxurious properties valued over $7 million. This listing is for our home that we lovingly share with guests from all over the world, and we hope you will choose La Jolla, and our home, for your San Diego adventure.

More Details
Hide Details

I began renting my family home in Santa Monica in 2008. It was such a great experience, and I've had the pleasure of hosting many families from so many countries around the world. I am an experienced vacation rental owner/manager. I have more than 3 years of experience in renting properties from studio-size through high-end luxury homes worth over $7 million dollars. This is my home advertised here, and I take my job--and your vacation experience--seriously. I love to have repeat guests and word-of-mouth referrals. I feel blessed to share my city and my home with families from around the world. I take time to make things as comfortable as I would want them to be when I travel (often). Here's to a successful vacation and memory for you and your family...

Kimberly purchased this house in 2012

I found this home in January of 2012 and knew that I loved it right away. It had not been cared for in quite a long time and needed a lot of love. So, I've taken time to bring it into the modern age while also trying to respect its age and character. It is a beautiful symmetry so far, and the guests we've had are loving its comfortable spaces and unique style (60's style, art gallery, sleek, modern--while still classic and vintage). It's a large property with several quiet places to relax, and the views are stunning. Wake up in the bedrooms to pink and orange sunrises painted across the skies, and eat dinner watching the sunset and all of its magic as it splashes color through the windows of the kitchen and great room. Makes smores at the firepit and make memories for a lifetime.

Some people think they want to be right on the beach or to step outside and walk to a restaurant or shop. We love this kind of experience too sometimes, but after looking to purchase a home in La Jolla for over a year, the one thing we began to realize is that the Shores and the Village have terrible problems with parking and traffic. We feel our location is unique because we can drive to the beach in five minutes, but when we want to take the kids to the zoo or Sea World or any other attraction in San Diego, we have very easy access to several major roads and highways without the traffic and the noise. Also, the views from the top of this hill are amazing. Every morning, there's a new shade of orange and pink; each night as we fall asleep to the lights glittering in the distance. It's magical. We build a fire in the fire pit nearly every night. Each experience each day, even cooking breakfast in the huge kitchen, feels like vacation. We are happy to share this with our guests.

15 Reviews of Property 436628 in La Jolla, California

La Jolla Retreat Close To Everything! 4,500 Sf With 6 Bedrooms!
average rating of 5.0 based on 15 reviews
business
La Jolla Retreat Close To Everything! 4,500 Sf With 6 Bedrooms!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436628vb
619-354-6636
La Jolla San Diego County
Lake Arrowhead, CA
5

AMAZING house and

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 23, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a family reunion planned and wanted to stay in the best part of town in San Diego (La Jolla) for a weekend but the hotels were outrageous. Fortunately, by using HomeAway, we found this unique property that is very modern and updated with an amazing views. The owner was able to accommodate all 14 of us and was extremely easy to deal with compared to past owners.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for taking your time to speak to it here's about your visit. I appreciate that you and your family were so easy to work with as well, and we will look you up when we visit your area, as we really love it there too. Be well.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Jolla Retreat Close To Everything! 4,500 Sf With 6 Bedrooms!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436628vb
619-354-6636
La Jolla San Diego County
Minnesota
5

Family Get-together

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
If you are looking for a place for a large group, I would definitely recommend this house. We are a family of 16. It was important to me that we have a place where we could all eat together. We came from 4 different places, and dinnertime conversations were a highlight of our day. The kitchen is very well equipped. The living area is spacious. It is very convenient to grocery shopping. It is also convenient to any thing in San Diego. You will find the owner very helpful in answering questions or concerns.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thank You For tour stay, Suzanne. I enjoyed meeting your family the day you arrived and am very happy you all enjoyed your stay together. We'd love to have you back.
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
La Jolla Retreat Close To Everything! 4,500 Sf With 6 Bedrooms!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436628vb
619-354-6636
La Jolla San Diego County
-
5

Fantastic La Jolla getaway home!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 27, 2014
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
This home was perfectly described, very clean, and has a fantastic location. The owner was very responsive to all my questions and I'd recommend this place to anyone who wants a more luxury property that sleeps lots of people.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Lawrence.

It'd be great to have you and your family back anytime. Thanks for your stay.
business
La Jolla Retreat Close To Everything! 4,500 Sf With 6 Bedrooms!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436628vb
619-354-6636
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Beautiful Home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We hosted a large family vacation for Christmas here. The house was closer to town and beach than I realized, which was nice. My parents were able to take walks in the surrounding neighborhood. The living room was large enough and contained enough seating for a large group, as did the pool area. The kitchen was well stocked for us to prepare our holiday meals. There is a nice area separate from the main living room for additional TV watching and visiting. A bathroom for every bedroom, and the owner sent a gift ham to boot!! Also a chair was cracked by one of our guests during our stay and the owner did not charge me for it. Can't beat that!! Oh, and my husband told me to mention the great fire pit in the backyard that we used.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you, Barbara. Your family was a joy to have, and we are happy you enjoyed your holiday together. The chair was not an issue, as the manufacturer admitted a default and replaced it for free. The home was so clean when we returned that we could tell your family had cared for everything in a wonderful way, and this was not a "rowdy party" or inconsiderate damage. We would love to have you all back anytime. Thanks again for staying with us.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Jolla Retreat Close To Everything! 4,500 Sf With 6 Bedrooms!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436628vb
619-354-6636
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Beautiful property with a great view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
I recently took my employees on a retreat to San Diego and we stayed at this property. Kimberly was gracious and provided us everything that we needed. The house could easily sleep all 12 of us comfortably and had ample room to move around. The main entertaining space has a wonderful indoor/outdoor vibe that is classic to Southern California. The whole house is so unique in it's character, but the finest feature is the view. Spectacular!

If you're looking to have a large group of people stay in a great space, perfect for entertaining, then look no further then this place. It is fantastic!
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay. Your group was really great, and we appreciated that you all took great care of our home during your stay. We hope to see you again and would recommend you to other vacation home owners as a responsible and trustworthy group.
business
La Jolla Retreat Close To Everything! 4,500 Sf With 6 Bedrooms!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436628vb
619-354-6636
La Jolla San Diego County
Farmington, UT
5

Wonderful Reunion Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great stay at the La Jolla house July 24-28, 2013. Our party consisted of myself and my husband, four of our children and their spouses, and 9 grandchildren (plus 2 infants) for a brief, all-too-infrequent get-together. Kim was always helpful and available when we had a question. The lovely bedrooms, each with its own bath (and VERY comfortable bed), made it possible for us to have our own space and time, as well as getting all together when we wanted to. We had planned to spend time at the beach for swimming, but loved having the beautiful pool there to dip in whenever we wanted. The location is perfect for easy access to San Diego attractions such as SeaWorld, the Zoo, Coronado Island, San Diego Old Town and the beaches, and even though we had 4 cars among us, parking was never a problem. The kitchen was spotless and well equipped, and the laundry room very handy. We enjoyed barbecuing, and one son enthusiastically lit the firepit each night, where we enjoyed each others' stories and reminiscences. We were sorry to leave when Sunday came, and each child asked if they could come back to the same house again. We will strongly consider it, and in the meantime will recommend it to friends coming to SoCal!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities
Owner's Response: Thank you! I will never forget the email you sent me when you left saying your granddaughter was repeating, "Best vacation ever! Best vacation ever!" on your way home. It is a gift to share our home with lovely families like yours and to know that your time here will someday be a part of those "reminiscing moments." You took such great care of our house during your stay. Thank you so much. We'd love to have you back anytime!
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
La Jolla Retreat Close To Everything! 4,500 Sf With 6 Bedrooms!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436628vb
619-354-6636
La Jolla San Diego County
Canada
5

AMAZING La Jolla retreat close to many beaches

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This home was much better than we all imagined. The photos do not reveal the beauty of this modern home and its surroundings. We enjoyed a small family gathering and were delighted with both the amenities and spacious interior as well the many nights in the outdoor space. Highly recommended! In one of the nicest areas of Southern California!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your stay. We are happy you enjoyed your time and liked all our little "modern" touches in our home. You were a very easy guest to work with, and we hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in southern California.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
La Jolla Retreat Close To Everything! 4,500 Sf With 6 Bedrooms!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436628vb
619-354-6636
La Jolla San Diego County
Denver, CO
5

Wedding Rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 20, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
I rented this lovely home for my small wedding party. I loved that I was able to have the reception here and could offer most of my guests a place to stay. The home was given to us clean and was exactly like the photos. The view was amazing and the owner was great. I loved it and I would definitely come back.
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
La Jolla Retreat Close To Everything! 4,500 Sf With 6 Bedrooms!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436628vb
619-354-6636
La Jolla San Diego County
5

Our stay here...was incredible!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 30, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Let me start by saying how nice it was to work with the owner, Kimberly. We had our large family of 14 staying at the house with a few extra people thrown in for a one night graduation party. Kimberly was easy to work with ironing out the details with us.

The house is made for a large family/friends gathering. Having a bathroom for every bedroom was enough to make everybody excited to stay here. We cooked every meal in this kitchen with 6-10 people helping out. It's that big. Every utensil, bowl, pot, pan, etc is in this kitchen. OMG! There are even 2 refrigerators in this place. The dining sits about 14 people and the island bar sits at least 8. So even in bad weather you can "party" inside. Wasn't the case. Clear sky's and 70+ so we were outside by the pool, which is pretty private. We used the fire pit every night. They even had some wood there for us to use (may have been left from another guest). Did I mention this is an upscale La Jolla neighborhood. The driveway is even gated. It's like your own private compound. Would we stay here again? YES! Thanks again Kimberly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Mike. You were a fabulous guest to work with too. If there were a way to recommend guests to other owners as far as being responsive, easy to work with, and also very clean and organized upon departure, you'd get five stars as well. I'm blessed I've had such a wonderful series of guests at our home, you and your family among them! Be well. I hope you visit again soon...
business
La Jolla Retreat Close To Everything! 4,500 Sf With 6 Bedrooms!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436628vb
619-354-6636
La Jolla San Diego County
La Jolla
5

perfect house for any gathering!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We just left this beautiful house Monday and all wish we were still there! It's recently remodeled, nicely decorated, and perfect for any occasion.

We rented the house for a family reunion and small celebration and weren't disappointed. We had plenty of space to lounge, cook, eat, play games, and even hold family yoga. There were 13 of us staying in the house and we found the rooms and en-suite baths to be private and spacious. The rental process was easy, house procedures straightforward, and overall experience laid-back and perfect for a vacation rental.

We ended up spending most of our time enjoying the yard, fire pit and breathtaking views at the house, but enjoyed easy access to grocery stores, and shopping/sightseeing in nearby La Jolla Village. We had a few additional friends & family join us one afternoon and still had plenty of space to entertain.

We'd definitely rent here again! Thanks!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Owner's Response: Thanks, Helen, for taking the time to provide feedback. You were great guests and left the home organized, and we are very appreciative of our guests who take such nice care of our home during their stay. You were very easy to work with and communicate with, and we would love to have you back anytime. Be well...