Troy cabin rental - Newly remodeled open air front porch to enjoy the fresh air and the firepit.
Newly remodeled open air front porch to enjoy the fresh air and the firepit.
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps9
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Troy Cabin Rental Photos and Description
Mountain& Stream View...3 Bed, 2 full bath,Sleep 7 adults (using Bunk).

Rustic Cabin that fronts the Schrader Creek and within a half mile of 40,000 acres of state land. HUNTERS WELCOME! The Cabin features a large bluestone patio with a built in fire-pit. Large screened front porch. Kitchen features all modern amenities such as oven, microwave, dishwasher. Kitchen also has an antique cook stove that can be used for additional heat. Living room has a T.V. and a stone/gas fireplace. T.V. is Dish Network subscription. Two bedrooms on downstairs level along with a full bath.

Upstairs is a newly renovated area of the cabin. It is a master suite with a loft area with chaise lounge that looks out over the 29 plus acres and the mountains. Vaulted ceilings with full bath and built in bunk beds keeping the kids upstairs with family if needed. Separate master bedroom for privacy all on one second floor. Oil heat. Two acres of grass to play.

Great mountain views at all times of year. An outdoor enthusiast will find that this cabin meets every need. Dozens of miles of scenic dirt roads for biking, walking etc. Streams and waterfalls and fishing. Come spend some time in big, Northern Pa Woods!

More Details
Hide Details

I grew up next door to this cabin. It had originally belonged to my grandmother/grandfather and was passed down to me. I played professional baseball for 14 years and was part of the 2003 World Series Champion Florida Marlins.

This property has been in my family since the sixties. The mountains, streams, and trees are all a part of me and my upbringing.

The stars on a cold crisp nite. The day to day changes on the mountaintops whether it be the color of the leaves or the ice that forms near the very top. The wildlife that always seems to make an appearance and make each day feel unique. The history of the valley...a steam train used to travel back through the value to transport wood and coal.

10 Reviews of Property 436519 in Troy, Pennsylvania

Outdoor Enthusiasts Dream! A River Runs Through It!
average rating of 4.8 based on 10 reviews
business
Outdoor Enthusiasts Dream! A River Runs Through It!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436519vbi
561.262.5148
Troy Northeastern Pennsylvania
Pittsgrove, NJ
5

Enjoyed our stay at this lovely cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 24, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We were in town for the weekend to attend the Apple and Cheese Festival and very much enjoyed the brief time we had at the cabin. It was clean and well cared for. The owner was helpful and available should there have been a problem, which there wasn't. The kids really enjoyed the creek across the street and the deer that liked to hang out in the back yard. I only wish we had more time to spend in the cabin. We hope to stay again next year. Thanks for a great weekend.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Outdoor Enthusiasts Dream! A River Runs Through It!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436519vbi
561.262.5148
Troy Northeastern Pennsylvania
Marietta, Pa
5

Put this cabin on your list!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We could not have been happier with our stay! We were in town for a wedding so we really didn't get to appreciate the cabin as much as we would have liked to. The owner allowed us to bring our 2 labs who took advantage of having the creek across the street. We saw about twenty deer the first morning we had been there. The fire pit kept us warm as we sat outside to catch a glimpse of the stars. I hope to return to this beautiful cabin in the near future!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/4
business
Outdoor Enthusiasts Dream! A River Runs Through It!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436519vbi
561.262.5148
Troy Northeastern Pennsylvania
5

Fantastic property!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
We were very very pleased with our stay. The cabin is very clean and comfy! We were greeted by the owner when we arrived. That was nice! We forgot a few things but they had them there! Plenty of towels, linens, blankets and dishes to use. I loved the creek across the street. Loved watching the deer too. Very quiet and secluded place. We would definitely recommend this place to anyone. We will return!!
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Outdoor Enthusiasts Dream! A River Runs Through It!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436519vbi
561.262.5148
Troy Northeastern Pennsylvania
Lancaster, PA
5

Wonderful Family Retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
wow, we had such a great time at this cabin....we have 4 kids age 8 and under and this cabin was the perfect size for us. We spent a day and drove out to Ricketts Glenn and enjoyed the crazily awesome falls trail hike, we also went swimming in the creek a couple times, and went to Mt Pisgah State Park to enjoy the nice pool and playground and gorgeous views (best part is that it was FREE!). Everything that we needed was at the cabin and it was very clean and we kept. The upstairs suite felt luxury and the bunks were super cute (we ended up rotating the kids through sleeping up there as they were a hot item!). The backyard is ENORMOUS and we thoroughly enjoyed playing games and running around out there! Only thing missing was a playset of some sort, that would have made it absolutely perfect! Many many campfires and much enjoyment had by all, 100% recommend this place!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Outdoor Enthusiasts Dream! A River Runs Through It!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436519vbi
561.262.5148
Troy Northeastern Pennsylvania
Dillsburg, PA
5

Beautiful Cabin and Surroundings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our family loved every minute of time we spent at the cabin from nightly fireside s'mores, picnic on the patio, kids exploring the creek and rocks, and the many hiking trails and waterfalls nearby.
The property was neat, clean and accurately described. Owner's father was attentive to our requests. We've already recommended the property to a friend. Recommend visiting Worlds End State Park, drive to Canyon Vista Overlook and hike the Double Run Trail. While in the area, visit the Forksville General Store for a meal or a delicious sub on a Philly roll! We also visited Artisan Alpacas in Dushore, very friendly and informative owners. We look forward to a return visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Outdoor Enthusiasts Dream! A River Runs Through It!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436519vbi
561.262.5148
Troy Northeastern Pennsylvania
5

Beautiful surroundings

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Got there early enough to go to the creek across from the property. Grandkids loved throwing rocks and building dams. House has all you need to keep you comfortable. Visited family in the area and just lazed out for the week. Great swimming hole about 5 miles up the road in the state gamelands. Good time had by all. Thanks for keeping us!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Outdoor Enthusiasts Dream! A River Runs Through It!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436519vbi
561.262.5148
Troy Northeastern Pennsylvania
Bath, PA
4

RELAXING WEEKEND

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 29, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
What a relaxing weekend! It was enjoyable that we could bring our pets with us. We found the waterfalls and even another set as we drove along. The sound of the creek across the street was relaxing. There isn't too much traffic on the road, so walking along the road and creek were very picturesque. The cabin was very comfortable and felt very homey. Loved the upstairs! Everything was furnished that we could possibly have needed. I wish the wind wouldn't have been so bad, I would liked to have made a fire in the pit. The cabin is exactly the way it is described, very clean, and well kept.
The owner was very nice and easy to work with.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Outdoor Enthusiasts Dream! A River Runs Through It!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436519vbi
561.262.5148
Troy Northeastern Pennsylvania
Lancaster
4

Relaxing weekend

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: May 1, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
We enjoyed our stay at the cabin last weekend. The king size bed was awesome, we didn't want to go back to our queen. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed for the weekend. It was a very nice relaxing weekend, we really enjoyed the creek across from the Cabin. Overall good experience.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Outdoor Enthusiasts Dream! A River Runs Through It!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436519vbi
561.262.5148
Troy Northeastern Pennsylvania
5

Fun for all ages!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
My group included people from 16-76 and we all greatly enjoyed our stay at this cabin! The setting is beautiful with the creek running in front of it, mountains all around, and the owner's father as a wonderful tour guide! We explored Canton and Towanda, hiked the mountain behind the cabin, made s'mores in the fireplace and had a wonderful hike to a 70' tiered waterfall. The waterfall was incredible as much of it was frozen, but water still flowed through parts of it. We definitely plan to return to relax and explore the area some more. Thanks for a wonderful get-away.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for such a nice review. I'm glad that everything went well during your stay! I am especially happy that you got out to hike some of the beautiful mountains. Thanks again for staying!
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Outdoor Enthusiasts Dream! A River Runs Through It!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436519vbi
561.262.5148
Troy Northeastern Pennsylvania
PA
5

Perfect Mountain Get-Away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Dec 31, 2012
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This mountain home was exactly what we were looking for to celebrate our 23rd wedding anniversary. Close enough to the town of Towanda, yet far enough that is made you feel far from civilization. We can't wait to go back again and again! Highly recommended.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Cathleen, Thank you for choosing us for your anniversary getaway along with your kind words. This is our first year using VRBO and renting the cabin out on a nightly/weekly basis. We have been very happy with all of our guest and are constantly looking for ways to improve our cabin for your enjoyment. Thanks again!
Helpful votes: 4/6