Bermuda studio rental - Rock Sound
Rock Sound
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps2
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 4 - 5 nights
 

Bermuda Studio Rental Photos and Description
Fully contained studio apartment with full size kitchen and renovated bathroom

Beautiful newly renovated 650 square foot apartment with full size kitchen over looking the turquoise waters of south shore in Bermuda. Within 500 meters of Bermuda best beach for snorkeling, Church Bay, the apartment is literally across the road from the Reefs hotel, (restaurants, bars and amazing spa). On major bus routes (#7 bus stop at the end of the drive), moped rentals are available next door. There are 9 restaurants within walking distance as well as a golf course, bars and water sports (diving, kayaking, snorkeling etc). Rates are $180 from 29 March to 31 October 2014 ($170 for 14+ days), $145 for November 2014 and $130 from 29 November 2014 to 28 March 2015 ($120pn for 21+ days off season). There are no additional taxes or fees. 2nd detached bedroom to studio available w/ king bed, sitting area, bathroom, laundry and private patio. 2nd bedroom is available for rent as a 2nd bedroom to the studio only and has a fridge and coffee maker but no kitchen facilities and is available at $135 pn in season or $105 from 29 Nov to 28 March 2015.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a husband and wife who were both involved in the hotel industry in Bermuda for over 20 years. We want you to be our guests and get to know the island we love so much.

Chris and Donna purchased this studio in 2011

We bought Rock Sound in 2011 after looking at dozens of homes. As soon as we saw Rock Sound we fell in love with it as it is in a wonderful neighbourhood with amazing views and lots to do nearby. We believe as soon as you see it you will also fall in love.

Rock Sound is literally across the road from the famous Reefs Hotel with its restaurants, bars, beach and spa. Within a mile is the Fairmont Southampton hotel with numerous restaurants, beach, bars, watersports, tennis and golf. But what really makes this a special place to stay is the proximity of beaches, restaurants, Gibbs Hill lighthouse and public transportation. You could not find a place to stay with all of this without paying hotel resort costs!

23 Reviews of Property 436055 in Bermuda

Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
average rating of 4.9130435 based on 23 reviews
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
Lake Hopatcong, NJ
3

The good and bad...

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
First the good: The location is right across the street from the Reefs, within walking distance to Church Bay, which was really nice and quiet! The apartment is quiet and sitting by the pool is also nice as there are no other tourists in the area. It was a nice asset to have a washer and dryer available since nothing seemed to dry in Bermuda... The scooter rental place is right near the apartment (if you're comfortable on those things...) Bus stop is also right there. We were there in the off season, so I assume the buses would run more often during the high season. It is about 30 minutes into Hamilton or switching buses to get further out east, so you need to plan accordingly to get around.

The bad: Unfortunately we had to work a bit and use the internet access. It was not working inside the apartment. It did work fine if you went out on patio. The owner was made aware of this and offered for us to work in extra room to use the internet. Unfortunately the weather wasn't great while we were there and it was a pain to go out in the rain to get to the other internet access area. We liked having a kitchen available to cook some of our meals. I just wish there were more utensils, maybe measuring cups, and a pitcher for making iced tea. There also was a bit of an ant problem in the apartment. I never left any food out since a friend warned me of the ants... but we did find them amongst are clothes in the suitcase on occasion during the trip.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car
Owner's Response: Hi Dee:

We are so sorry to learn from the review that you were not completely happy with your stay - our goal is 100% guest satisfaction, so this is of course very disappointing. The weather was appalling with wind and rain, so we did feel badly for you. We tried to assist by giving you free bus passes for the week and offering to drive your husband to work, but we know that you had hoped to do outdoor activities that we had looked into like paddle boarding.

We do try to make ourselves completely accessible to our guests by providing our cell numbers and asking to let us know if you need anything. We would have been happy to have provided you with measuring cups and a pitcher and have now put those in the apartment.

We have not had guests advise us that there are ants and we have not seen any, but again, would have been happy to provide Pest Control if we had known there was a problem.

The internet in the apartment is 8 mb, which is a high standard of service for homes in Bermuda. We installed the 2nd system to compliment that, but understand the Net Gear did not work well. As we knew you wanted to do some work, we also provided the 2nd apartment to you to use throughout your stay since the internet connection is better there.

We are glad that you enjoyed the pool, laundry facilities, location and quiet of the apartment, and we hope that the weather will be better if you have the opportunity to travel to Bermuda in the future.

Regards
Donna and Chris
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
5

Location,location,location!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Just returned from the trip of a lifetime...We have travelled extensively in the Caribbean, but now have a new #1 destination....Bermuda!....Our accommodations were excellent, actually exceeding what we expected from the pics,....so, so close to fabulous restaurants, wonderful beaches(the best in the world)and transportation. The south road in Southampton is the central hub for all adventure seekers & enables very short trips to all parts of the island...We spent many a late day enjoying a drink by the pool & admiring the grounds of Rock Sound! This apartment itself is well equipped with everything one needs for a beach holiday & if help is needed Chris & Donna answer their cells immediately. The island is beautiful...no words can express the beauty of waking up each morning with the view of tropical waters & gorgeous vegetation.....We were able to accomplish so much in our 10 day visit.....which for us is amazing as we are beach goers. Thank you Chris & Donna for sharing your home & your island.
Recommended for:  Age 55+
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
Durham NC
5

Lovely, restful visit

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
We loved our stay at Rock Sound while in Bermuda. Chris and Donna were gracious, helpful and welcoming and made sure we had everything we needed including a new blender for the apartment so we could make fruit smoothies. Being met at the airport by taxi driver, Roslyn, was so easy and helpful. The bus stop was at the bottom of the driveway and the scooter rental shop right next door. What a great place!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
5

Relaxing!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My wife and I just spent 5 nights at Donna and Chris' beautiful getaway. I echo the last review. The weather was dynamic with lots of wind and great surf on the beaches. Best of all, it was about 21, not MINUS 21 like it was back in Ontario!
Donna and Chris are friendly and accommodating and had everything arranged as requested. They were there if we needed anything. There are great restaurants within walking distance. At night, it is dark and quiet! What a great place to go to get away from the city lights and noise.
The pool was a great place for a morning "wake up" dip and coffee. The warm morning sun comes up on the pool deck. Good place to sit and plan the day. Thanks, Donna and Chris. We'll be back!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
Port Perry Ontario
5

LOCATION-ocean view! LOCATION-bus stop at end of driveway! LOCATION-world class beaches!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 12, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
LOCATION-ocean view! LOCATION-bus stop at end of driveway! LOCATION-world class beaches!

This was our 5th trip to Bermuda (my 6th) so we obviously love the island and all of the places we have stayed including Fairmont Southampton, Grotto Bay and other rentals. The location of Rock Sound, the welcoming hosts Chris and Donna, who thought of everything to make our stay comfortable, and value for money will bring us back here if it is not fully booked due to all the positive reviews! The location is perfect for those who prefer quiet accommodation yet want easy access to Hamilton or the Dockyard via a bus at the end of the driveway. It is a comfortable walk to Church Bay and Horseshoe Bay in the perfect temperatures we enjoyed during the Christmas period. The railway trail is also close by and is a good way to explore and walk safely. There is trail map on the desk in the room and lots of other useful information too!
The studio was very clean and had everything that we needed to cook most of our own meals. This made our trip very affordable. The new stainless steel fridge was large and provided filtered water and ice. We cooked chicken and dressing in the oven for our Christmas dinner having shopped at the Saturday morning market in Hamilton for fresh Bermuda carrots, cauliflower and kale! We took advantage of the gas barbecue and the patio table and chairs where we could see the ocean and enjoy the sounds of nature.
I would recommend this property for those who love to be very near the ocean and who are mobile enough to enjoy walking to the beaches. (The driveway has quite a steep grade but is not too long!) The bathroom is bright and clean with a large walk in shower and the queen bed comfortable with good quality bedding. The description of the unit is very accurate and it may be even better than described. It was well stocked with items we needed including a rain poncho and beach chairs! Donna seemed to think of everything including the laundry room available for our use, the purchasing of the transportation pass and the arrangement for our pickup at the airport by Roslyn Cure our friendly taxi driver.
Thanks for a wonderful relaxing place to stay on our little break from the Canadian winter. As usual all the people we met were exceptionally welcoming, helpful and friendly.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 8/8
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
5

Perfect In Every Way

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
We just returned home from our beautiful Bermuda vacation. Our stay at Rock Sound was amazing. The Studio had everything you would need. Chris and Donna go the extra mile to make sure your Bermuda experience is everything it should be. Waiting for us was a lovely bowl of fruit and a bottle of wine. Donna picked up some groceries for us till we could get to the store ourselves. The Studio is modern,, clean,, and comfy. Their driveway ends at the bus stop so I can also add convenient to the praise. I have NO complaints and I would highly recommend their rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
Massachusetts
5

Great Place to Stay on Bermuda's South Shore

Great Place to Stay on Bermuda's South Shore
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
My wife and I had a great stay at Rock Sound and would highly recommend it to any couple looking for a Bermuda getaway. The location is perfect being close to many of Bermuda's best beaches (Horseshoe Bay, Church Bay) and the proximity to public transportation, bus and scooter rental, was ideal. The fact that Rock Sound is directly across the street from the Reefs Hotel, is an added bonus, as we went for lunch, brunch, and drinks during our long weekend in Bermuda. Chris and Donna are gracious hosts and drove us to dinner one night and also made some excellent suggestions for things to do. This place worth the visit!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
Columbia, Missouri
5

Practically Perfect in Every Way!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
First off, I must apologise to Chris and Donna for taking such a shamefully long time in writing/posting this review!
Secondly, I must emphasise how wonderful everything about our Bermudian holiday was (in no small part thanks to Chris and Donna and their wonderful home). From start to finish, we were amazed by how beautiful the island and the people were. Roslyn (our driver that Donna organised for us) greeted us at the airport with a HUGE smile on her face and it set the tone for the holiday. If you are needing transport, PLEASE be sure to use her! The flat is lovely and open and bright and has everything one could need (we split our time fairly evently between eating out and eating in). The bbq grill was a lovely bonus and the private sitting area overlooking the sea was just... perfect! Donna took us to the supermarket so that we could purchase what we needed for the week and was extremely patient with us as we wandered up and down each aisle, taking everything in. We went to Church Beach exclusively and it is truly one of the most stunning beaches I have ever seen; pictures simply do not do it justice. The stroll to the beach is fairly short - walk down the drive and then turn right and it is just past the bus stop and church, on the left side. Henry VIII pub was superb. The staff were so friendly! The sushi platter was the bargain of the whole holiday - $18 for a rather substantial amount of sushi! The Dockyard was an excellent day out. We did find the Frog and Onion a bit overrated but most people would likely wish to check it out. The bus/ferry pass was wonderful! Donna arranged this for our arrival which was so helpful. St. George's (we were fortunate enough to be around for the Peppercorn Ceremony) was so picturesque - definitely worth a visit (and the ferry ride was interesting as well!). Check out Wahoo's - the fish nuggets were outstand. Seriously, some of the best fish either of us have ever had. Hamilton was... well, worth a quick visit but not truthfully our thing.
Be certain to get your allotted amount of alcohol in duty free (Rum for many a Dark-n-Stormy is a MUST!) as the tax is fairly high on these items, otherwise.
The evening we spent having wine and canap├ęs with Chris and Donna was truly one of the highlights of the holiday.
Overall, we cannot recommend Bermuda or Chris and Donna's little slice of paradise highly enough!
Helpful votes: 6/6
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
PA
5

Miss this place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 9, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Straight to the point review. Excellent listing, excellent location, excellent owners. Everything was perfect, we had the most relaxing vacation. Chris and Donna are great and extremely helpful. No stress. Love it here.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 5/5
business
Large studio apartment - ocean views - Very close to worlds #8 beach
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436055vb
4412363625
Bermuda Caribbean
Orchard Park, NY
5

Grand pool and view

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
If the dates are still open, I highly recommend this property, and we travel a lot. The location of this property cannot be beat. I loved Gibbs lighthouse and the Southshore beaches, but the thing that made this trip so special was staying at Rock Sound. Donna and Chris's property is so incredibly beautiful. The pool area and views rival any hotels and it is so private. You will not believe that you have it all to yourself. Donna graciously did our grocery shopping before we got there. Chris even lighted the tiki torches at night around the pool. I do not think that you will find a better property for the price.
Helpful votes: 5/5