Boone cabin rental - Sunset view from the porch
Sunset view from the porch
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps4
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Boone Cabin Rental Photos and Description
2br 2b , Large Open Kitchen And Family Room With Views Mountain Views F

When only the finest accommodations will do, our elegant mountain top cabin will surround you with majestic views, peace and tranquility. The 'Catbird Seat' is our beautiful custom cedar home in an exclusive gated equestrian community 'sitting pretty' on the top of a ridge with 270 degree views of the Blue Ridge Mountains. Breathtaking sunsets, morning mists, autumn colors and milky way nights can be seen from the hot tub on the front covered porch.

2BR/2B ; Large Family Room/Kitchen Area, wood floors, tongue and groove walls & Cathedral ceiling make this home very inviting . On cool nights you can sit in front of the gas fireplace and get toasty warm. It's 25,000 BTU's warm up the entire house.

The kitchen has beautiful stone tiles and solid pine cabinets.

Washer/Dryer has it's own niche , behind bi-fold doors.

Master Bedroom has a king size bed and adjoining full bath; Guest room has a Queen bed across the hall from another full bath.

Numerous windows allow natural light to come in, along with views of wildlife and nature.

On almost 5,000 acres and 100 miles of private trails, Leatherwood Mountains is the perfect getaway for trail riders and hikers who enjoy packing a lunch and heading up the mountain to enjoy the rushing water of the creeks, the views, and the serenity.

Horse boarding available; Guided trails rides can be arranged.

Hiking can be done starting right out the front door. There are over 100 miles of hiking trails in this development of 2,000 acres. Also available: Kayaking, rafting, fishing, restaurants.

18 miles from Boone, Blowing Rock, and all the ski resorts; you will have your days filled.

Or, you just might want to spend the time in the hot tub with that special someone enjoying a romantic, secluded getaway.

More Details
Hide Details

My husband and I fell in love with horses and mountains on a family vacation to Montana. To get away from the Arizona summer heat, we went every summer.

After my son started college we decided to buy our first horses. What a disaster ! Eventually we did find 2 well broke Tennessee Walkers that we rode in the Arizona mountains, across rivers no less! We were so new to all this, trusting our new friends with their horses , we felt no fear crossing rushing water waist deep. NOW, 20 years later? You would not be able to get me to do that for love or money!

We relocated to the southeast with our 2 horses, dogs, and kitties and set up Morningstar Farms.

Suddenly, finding myself on 40 acres, instead of a postage stamp, my horse collection grew!

We enjoyed 10 years of breeding and raising Tennessee Walkers; getting involved with rescue organizations , and trail riding with friends.

Elizabeth Bunt purchased this cabin in 2010

Our dream was to find a place in the mountains with trails right outside our door. Loading up horses in the trailer and driving hours was no longer do-able.

We found our 'Catbird Seat' , as my husband has named our beautiful home on top of the mountain surrounded by nature's beauty.

With retirement still a few years off, we enjoy our cabin on occasional weekends. I want to share the peaceful feeling of these mountains with others. When my guests arrive home after a few days, or week in these tranquil surroundings, they can pass that feeling onto their family and friends. It will make the world a better place.

24 Reviews of Property 436023 in Boone, North Carolina

Romantic Getaway!
average rating of 4.8333335 based on 24 reviews
business
Romantic Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436023vb
+1 803-754-8363 803-754-8363
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
3

Vic

  • 3 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
The cabin is truly beautiful, but when we arrived the cabin had not been cleaned yet and the cleaning lady did not show up until that night. After driving all night to get to this cabin when we arrived we wanted to take a nap, so we had to clean the cabin ourselves. The guest that stayed before us had a dog and hair was everywhere. We tried calling the owners and the manager multiple times to try to get help with this issue and no one ever returned our call. We did enjoy our stay and the cabin had everything we needed.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Victoria,
I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the terrible scheduling mix up!
As I recall, I received your call immediately ( I was home that night,)
and we spoke on the phone. There was no prior message.? I was able to remedy the situation quickly and do recall that the housekeeper did have the
cabin cleaned up within 90 min of your arrival,
And you received a refund for that night.
Unfortunately things do not always go smoothly; illnesses , unexpected emergencies, not too mention family tragedies.
We are not immune to these things because I am a private individual, not a "hotel' with employees that are available on the premises 24/7.

I will state confidently that I will attend to any calamity as soon as I am made aware, and fix it to my ability..and then some.
business
Romantic Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436023vb
+1 803-754-8363 803-754-8363
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

fantastic!!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 28, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
this cabin was absolutely wonderful!! it was beautiful, relaxing, and a great vacation!!! I will definitely be going back and recommending to friends! Liz is such a great person and was so helpful! we definitely had a great time :) thanks for the relaxing weekend!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Amy,
You and your friends were a delight to host. Your creative spirit certainly lifted mine!
Thank you for choosing my cabin for your winter time vacation! And yes! You got your snow after all!!
Liz
business
Romantic Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436023vb
+1 803-754-8363 803-754-8363
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Surf City NC
5

Relax

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
Great cabin, great views, very relaxing place.
business
Romantic Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436023vb
+1 803-754-8363 803-754-8363
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
NC
5

Secluded with Sunsets and Sunrises

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 2, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
Had a wonderful time at this cabin. It is situated such that you can see sunrises on the back porch and sunsets (from the hot tub) on the front porch. The lot is about 4 acres so no other cabins are in sight. The views are not completely unobstructed when leaves are still on the trees but still a wonderful view. All kitchen items were in place and the grill worked great!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Romantic Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436023vb
+1 803-754-8363 803-754-8363
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Louisburg, NC
5

Relaxing Anniversary trip

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
We had a relaxing time! You have a beautiful cabin and it is located in a beautiful place! We had hoped to do some horseback riding and some exploring, but it rained on Saturday. The only thing we would recommend would be a TV in the bedroom. Other than that, I don't know how you can improve on perfect!!

Thanks for letting us stay at your cabin! It was an anniversary trip that we will remember for the rest of our lives.
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436023vb
+1 803-754-8363 803-754-8363
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Greensboro, NC
5

stunning views

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 29, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
The Cat Bird's Seat was a fabulous get away for our family of 4. The views are amazing and the pictures can't do it justice! The cabin had everything we needed and more. It was well stocked and the house is beautiful and comfortable. This home is located in an equestrian community and it was fun to see the horses around but we aren't horse folks. We had to leave the property in search of hiking trails and ended up at The Blowing Rock and Blue Ridge Parkway which is a bit of a drive up and down some curvy mountain roads. My advise is to come with food, supplies and simply enjoy the view from the hot tub!
Recommended for:  Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436023vb
+1 803-754-8363 803-754-8363
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Charlotte, NC
5

Great cabin!! Great owners!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had such a great time at your cabin. We came for the Fourth of July and had an incredible weekend. The cabin was amazing. The views were not only amazing off of the front porch but the back deck as well. We grilled out and used the hot tub every night. The property was very updated, clean and accomodating. We will be back in the near future!!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Romantic Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436023vb
+1 803-754-8363 803-754-8363
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
5

Wonderful weekend getaway!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
This cabin was absolutely beautiful!!! Very clean and cozy! The views from every side of the cabin are breathtaking, the pictures do no justice! We enjoyed spending most of our time on the porch cooking out, in the hot tub and rocking on the rocking chairs taking in the mountain views. I highly recommend this cabin if you want a peaceful getway! And to add, the owner Liz is super sweet and very accomodating! We can not wait to visit again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Romantic Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436023vb
+1 803-754-8363 803-754-8363
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Weston, FL
4

Close to Boone - NOT!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
When looking for places to stay on VRBO this place was listed as close to Boone and as the crow flies it is, but as the car travels it is not. This is my fault for not knowing the location of the cabin and it's surrounding, but it is a lesson I want other travelers to be aware of prior to booking!

On the day of arrival we missed the grocery store in Lenoir and so we went straight to the cabin. The road I ended up taking to Boone (guided by my GPS) was part paved and part crushed rock. It was not a fun trip traveling on that road in dense fog. In future travels during my stay I found better routes but getting to the Boone/Blowing Rock area takes about an hour and since I center a lot of my activities around the Blue Ridge Parkway much time was spent traveling to/from it.

The cabin is very nice and well appointed. If closer to Boone or Blowing Rock I would stay there in the future. If you are into horses then this is definitely the place you want as the community is devoted to them. The internet connection was very good however our AT&T cell phones did not work in the area.
I wish there had been a TV in the bedroom but the couch in the Living Room is very comfortable (great to nap on).
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Steve,
I am delighted that my cabin was perfect for you. And as the cabin goes, would have rated 5 stars.
I am sorry though that you were not aware of how VRBO and Home Away post their rentals. ALL the rentals you saw on the BOONE page are in the area but may or may not be in Boone. An owner needs to pick the closest biggest town.
I wish you had mentioned on the phone, or email that your proximity to Boone was the most important. Because if you had, I would have told you NOT to book my cabin.
I am adamant about this point. I want my guests to enjoy my cabin because they want to be there and know what they are getting.
If you had asked about Boone, and I saw you only booked for 2 days, I would not have given you the reservation.
Do you understand what I am saying?..I want my guests to be happy..I do not trick them.
Those guests that stay for 4 days to a week, dedicate a couple of those days to Boone and Blowing Rock and spend the entire day there. The rest of the time, they use to enjoy the multitude of things to do around the area of the cabin.
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Romantic Getaway!
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436023vb
+1 803-754-8363 803-754-8363
Boone High Country & Blue Ridge Mountains
Durham, NCq
5

Beautiful cabin

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: May 27, 2013
  • Stayed: May 2013
Beautiful cabin in Ferguson, NC. We stayed over Memorial Day weekend with our two beagles. The house was extremely clean and full of "personal touch" decorations throughout. Both the front and back porch have amazing views. We spent most of our time at the house on the front porch in the rocking chairs or in the hot tub. The house has wireless internet access which was extremely helpful in looking up directions for our trips to Blowing Rock and Grandfather Mountain since there was no cell phone reception. Would advise asking for directions or bringing a map with you as GPS is not reliable in this part of the mountains if you plan to venture out. Roads in the neighborhood are steep but paved the entire way up to the top. Home has everything you need and much more to enjoy a romantic/stress free getaway. Thank you so much for sharing your home with us, we had a wonderful trip!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you! It does my heart good to know you had a stress-free stay.
It really is a very special place.
Helpful votes: 1/1