Honokowai condo rental - View of the pool and lounge deck. Our unit is 2nd from right, on the 2nd story.
View of the pool and lounge deck. Our unit is 2nd from right, on the 2nd story.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps4
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 5 nights
 

Honokowai Condo Rental Photos and Description
Condo, 1 Bedroom + Other (See Description), 1 Bath (Sleeps 2-4)

This completely updated 1 BR condo will comfortably sleep up to 4 people. The Kulakane is consistently ranked highly by guests, reflecting its warmth, beautiful location and desirable proximity to the turquoise waters of Maui.

Your comfort is our number one priority and with this in mind our condo has been thoroughly renovated for you. Enjoy the sound of the surf at night while you fall asleep on the new king bed.

We know you'll love your stay.

We have always had a soft spot for ocean waves and sunsets and The Kulakane is absolutely perfect for that as well as for views of Molokai and Lanai. We want to share with you this little slice of paradise that we have fallen in love with. We know you'll feel like we do: there's no place better to fall asleep at night, and the days go by much too quickly.

Mary Browning purchased this condo in 2012

The closeness to the ocean is amazing. When you step in the unit, the ocean is right there in front of you -- not sideways from your lanai, but directly in front of you. The second story location is the perfect elevation for whale watching, and the entire property is lovingly-cared-for by long-time owners and staff. Guests feel welcomed and appreciated here, and we knew that was what we, and you, would want. When we found The Kulakane, we stopped looking, because we knew we'd found paradise.

Amazing proximity to the ocean: the ocean waves are just a short hop across the lawn. The honu bob right at wave's edge, and the snorkeling is awesome. To be able to step right into the ocean and paddle away into the waves is incredible. And in whale-watching season, the views of the humpback whales are simply astounding.

14 Reviews of Property 436011 in Honokowai, Hawaii

Fully-Renovated Beachfront Condo Near Ka'Anapali: Kulakane 202
average rating of 4.909091 based on 14 reviews
business
Fully-Renovated Beachfront Condo Near Ka'Anapali: Kulakane 202
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436011vbi
+1 (206) 291-8266
Honokowai Maui
5

Doesn't get any better

Doesn't get any better
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 20, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Doesn't get any better, no need to say more.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: So glad you had a great stay! Mahalo for the kind feedback. :)
business
Fully-Renovated Beachfront Condo Near Ka'Anapali: Kulakane 202
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436011vbi
+1 (206) 291-8266
Honokowai Maui
Vancouver Canada
4

Loved every moment here!

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 1, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
Just returned from Maui after 8 days at Kulakane. Arrived late at night so couldn't see much when we pulled in but will never forget the sound of the ocean waves as soon as we opened the front door. And the next morning did not disappoint! You do not get more oceanfront than this and the view is amazing - whale watching from the lanai, are you kidding me?
The older building is very well cared for by the friendly caretaker, Willy. The unit's entrance is direct to the parking lot, no long hallways to drag your belongings in and out.
The location is excellent- a short walk to the Farmers Market (fresh veggies, fruit and the best guacamole & salsa you'll ever have), the excellent Bad Ass Coffee Co, ABC Store, Times Supermarket, many shops and restaurants and the popular Ka'anapali Beach. There is also a small sandy beach area right next door.
The owner was exceptional to deal with and it's obvious she has taken great care to equip the unit with absolutely everything you will need for your stay from all kitchen supplies to beach/snorkeling equipment. We were very impressed with the decor and the cleanliness of both the unit and the immaculate grounds.
The California king size bed is by far the most comfortable bed we've ever slept on!
As other reviews for this building have noted the large louvred windows in the bedroom do allow neighborhood noises (barking dogs, crowing roosters and the garbage truck) to wake you up very early in the morning if you are a light sleeper, but after the first couple of nights we just closed them and it wasn't a huge issue.
The popular Okazuya Deli, just down the street, (not a deli at all) has excellent hot take-out meals at great prices.
We would highly recommend Kulakane and would definitely stay here again.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Fully-Renovated Beachfront Condo Near Ka'Anapali: Kulakane 202
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436011vbi
+1 (206) 291-8266
Honokowai Maui
5

AMAZING!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
This listing was everything I hoped for and more. I booked this condo for our vacation/wedding in Maui for 10 days. Talk about the perfect booking!! The location, amenities and layout were exactly as featured. The property was spotless, well maintained and I loved the hawaiian pictures and decoration. Though there was no AC this property definitely didn't need it. There was a wonderful sea breeze through the condo that kept it cool all the time.
My husband was speechless once we opened the front door and all you could see was the breathtaking view of the ocean. Amazing!! Everyday we would sit on the lanai for meals and watch the sea turtles. We really didn't need to leave the condo property (except for the wedding) as we were able to snorkel, boogie board, turtle watch, sun bathe and watch the amazing sunset from this property.
Mary was so responsive and helpful during the whole booking process and really gave some helpful info for shopping, groceries, and things to do. I especially love the drink recipe book that was in the room.
My new husband and I will definitely come back to this property.
Helpful votes: 2/3
business
Fully-Renovated Beachfront Condo Near Ka'Anapali: Kulakane 202
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436011vbi
+1 (206) 291-8266
Honokowai Maui
5

WATER FRONT CONDO with private lanai

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Very comfortable condo, loved watching the turtles from our balcony - it was only about 20 yards from the water- liked being near the end of the complex and not over the pool area- which made it a lot quieter. Unfortunately, a summer swell came in all week, so the snorkeling in front of the condo was not so good.There were great sunsets over Molaki every evening. If I were the owner I would change out the louver windows in the bedroom to make it quieter for an afternoon nap. Otherwise it was fantastic- everything else was great. And at a super price!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fully-Renovated Beachfront Condo Near Ka'Anapali: Kulakane 202
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436011vbi
+1 (206) 291-8266
Honokowai Maui
British Columbia, Canada
5

Honokowai get away in Maui

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a wonderful stay in the Honokowai condo!!! We instantly felt at home and relaxed. The unit was clean comfortable and had been decorated tastefully. The Ocean front views were spectacular! Amazing whale watching while we're there. There were many large sea turtles right along the sea wall which was quite unique and very entertaining . There were a lot of restaurants near by as well as great markets too. The owners were very helpful when we booked and answered any questions and concerns in a timely matter . We have already recommended this property to friends and family:) very enjoyable stay!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fully-Renovated Beachfront Condo Near Ka'Anapali: Kulakane 202
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436011vbi
+1 (206) 291-8266
Honokowai Maui
5

Amazing PLACE

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 5, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
Everything is a promised. Excellent location, perfect setup, comfortable bed, amazing view, parking is convenient. The couch is comfortable in the living room and you can hear the ocean everywhere is the suite. You can hear some traffic noise but if you close the windows you won't hear much. DON"T PASS THIS PLACE UP!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Fully-Renovated Beachfront Condo Near Ka'Anapali: Kulakane 202
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436011vbi
+1 (206) 291-8266
Honokowai Maui
5

Perfect and Relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
We are 30-something's, relatively low-key, and were looking to stay someplace nice but not too expensive. We don't need luxury in a vacation condo, but we also don't want to stay in a place that feels old, unattended, or even unromantic. We are 'value' renters, and this place was a true value. A balance of certain simplicities and some luxuries. The most important features for us were a comfortable bed (amazing - both of us have back issues, and we slept great. Newish bed that I wish we had at home.), a good shower (again, seems like this was a very recent investment for the owners as well), and in Hawaii, a decent view. Every condo in the building appears to have a relatively unobstructed *ridiculous* view directly onto the water, and you can just walk down and go snorkeling right off the condo's private beach. There were days that we just wanted to hang out on the lanai all day and stare out at the water.

Value-wise, the owners have a lot of beach gear to borrow, a bigger space than a typical hotel, walking distance to the Farmers Market, Coffee House, small local beaches, and some great local food (which you can bring back and put in the fridge for lunch the next day). It's a relatively quiet building in a quiet area, which was perfect for us.

The owners were very pleasant and easy to work with. The whole renting experience was simple and fast. I would highly recommend these owners, Honokawai, and the condo building, to those looking for a relaxing vacation with some of the most beautiful scenery in the world.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Fully-Renovated Beachfront Condo Near Ka'Anapali: Kulakane 202
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436011vbi
+1 (206) 291-8266
Honokowai Maui
Moose Jaw, Saskatchewan, Canada
5

Great Location, Everything you will need.

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
My wife and I were fortunate to spend 10 days at Mary's condo on Maui and enjoyed every minute. The condo is exactly as portrayed in the add. What we didn't expect was the added friendly atmosphere and neighbors, long time owners/visitors to the Kulakane. We met wonderful people from all over the U.S. and Canada. The sunsets are spectacular, the mornings relaxing, watching the whales and giant turtles was wonderful. We definitely would recommend anyone wanting a quiet relaxing vacation to consider this unit and this facility. Aloha and Mahalo Mary! Thanks for sharing your little piece of paradise!
Kevin & Susan
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 4/4
business
Fully-Renovated Beachfront Condo Near Ka'Anapali: Kulakane 202
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436011vbi
+1 (206) 291-8266
Honokowai Maui
5

Comfortable & so relaxing!!

Comfortable & so relaxing!!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 22, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a wonderful, relaxing week at your condo! It is a comfortable place with a great view and just steps away from the ocean! We thoroughly enjoyed watching the whales and the sea turtles that swam in the water right there at the resort. The location is great too! We can't wait to come back and are already talking about next year! Thank you so much!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/2
business
Fully-Renovated Beachfront Condo Near Ka'Anapali: Kulakane 202
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p436011vbi
+1 (206) 291-8266
Honokowai Maui
Snohomish, Washington
5

A Little Slice of Heaven

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
If you are looking for a little slice of heaven, then this is the place for you. As you enter the condo, you are greeted to the sights and sounds of the ocean directly in front of you. The condo is beautifully decorated and is furnished so that it feels as though you’ve just arrived home.
The area is more like a neighborhood than a resort, but offers the laid back feeling we were looking for. Each morning, we would sit on the lanai and watch the whales jumping and playing in the ocean directly in front of us. In the afternoon, we would sit near the pool and watch the turtles swimming so close you had to resist the urge to reach out and touch them, and at night we would go to sleep to the sound of the waves.
The owner was wonderful to work with. She replied to our inquiries very promptly and also took the time to include several helpful hints in our arrival instructions.
We so enjoyed our visit and would highly recommend contacting the owner of this property if you are looking for a little slice of heaven.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 3/3