Woodstock house rental
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps8
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Woodstock House Rental Photos and Description
4 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, sleeps 8

http://www.washingtonpost.com/lifestyle/travel/in-woodstock-ny-taking-a-load-off-at-a-former-band-crash-pad/2013/11/21/8f63c0a2-509c-11e3-9fe0-fd2ca728e67c_story.html

Historic stone home at the end of a private drive just 4 minutes drive from Woodstock Village Green.

Caroline Speare, one of the founding members of the Woodstock Arts Colony, hired Myron Teller to build our home in 1917.

In the late 60's and 70's it became the place to stay for artists recording at Bearsville Studios.

We first saw the house when it was in complete disrepair (after sitting vacant for years), but thought it would be the perfect place to bring back to life.

We fell in love with the beautiful setting, the deep stone walls, original fireplace, and round country doors - but when we bought it, we had no idea how many creative and influential people have shared our love for this house throughout it's history.

Known in Woodstock as 'The Robertson House', our home was built in 1917 by Myron Teller, a renowned stone architect and restorationist, for Caroline Speare, one of the founding members of the Woodstock Arts Colony. He actually created our home using colonial techniques - beams were hand hewn, with all the ironwork being hammered by a blacksmith in Kingston.

Caroline and her husband Paul Rohland (also an artist), painted much of their early work in the beamed studio - with it's 18' ceilings and large north window - some of Caroline's made it to the Whitney, and Paul to the Smithsonian.

In the late 60's and 70's the house was often used as a crash pad for bands recording at Bearsville Studios before it became Robbie Robertson's home. It's a bit surreal sometimes when we play music from the Woodstock Festival, and realize that some of it was rehearsed and possibly written right in our living room.

5 Reviews of Property 435797 in Woodstock, New York

GoodBrooks - Historic Home in Woodstock
average rating of 5.0 based on 5 reviews
business
GoodBrooks - Historic Home in Woodstock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435797vb
Woodstock Catskills
Long Island City, NY
5

Paradise in the Catskills

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Aug 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We had a great week at Goodbrooks in July 2013, thankfully as the intense heat wave was ending.
The owners have put a lot of hard work into this gem of a home and grounds and it was a pleasure to stay there.
The saltwater pool is amazing and is way larger than the photos are able to show.
The home is very peaceful and there are many places to relax and read. The interior design is very attractive and comfortable.
The patio area outside the dining room is a great place to hang out during the day and cook out, play lawn games, etc.
The dining area inside is really charming and a great setting for meals, games, and socializing.

I would highly recommend this property. I imagine it would be lovely to visit all year round but for this summer getaway, it was the perfect place and just what we needed.
I met with one of the owners and he was such a great person! His genuine care that we had a great time is commendable. They go above and beyond to make sure you have a great stay or need anything.
I love how they kept the history of the house alive as it is really important to continue the appreciation of arts and music in the Catskills. Well done!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
business
GoodBrooks - Historic Home in Woodstock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435797vb
Woodstock Catskills
Brooklyn
5

Amazing house in beautiful surroundings!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had the most amazing weekend at Goodbrooks. The house is absolutely amazing, it has so much charm and history but with all the modern amenities that you need. It looks even better in real than in the photos. We stayed at the house with 4 adults and 3 children and the space works really well for two families.
The location is fantastic with the center of Woodstock just a few minutes drive away and Belleayre (skiing) a little over 30 mins.
We had a lot of snow and the garden and the kids had a great time playing and sledding in the garden.
The owners are lovely and so helpful, they really did everything to make our stay a fantastic one and were always available for any questions we might have. In the house there are books and photos about the history of the house and some its past residents which adds even more charm.
I would highly recommend a stay at Goodbrooks!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
GoodBrooks - Historic Home in Woodstock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435797vb
Woodstock Catskills
Harpswell Maine
5

All the comforts and charm you could as for!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 7, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We had the pleasure of spending the weekend, with friends at your warm and inviting home January 11th through 13th. I was thrilled from the moment I drove up the driveway! The grounds were simply beautiful. Lush mature trees, bushes and to stone lions at the entrance gave me a welcome feeling right away. The parade of turkeys and deer were entertaining and reminded me that this kind of relief from the the hustle and bustle of the city still exists.

We then entered your home. It was warm friendly and full of history. Each room was an architectural adventure. The nooks and crannies, the arched doorways and fantastic huge windows that filled each room with light and heat made it exciting with each turn. The Woodstock era photos, books and memorabilia added to the experience. The bedrooms were extremely comfortable and large enough
to allow you to spread out and relax. The fact that you have 2 beautiful living room areas allowed a place for those who wanted to talk, laugh and sing (thanks to your amazing piano) a space to do it. The other room allowed those who wanted to read or rest a quiet place to do so.

I then made my way into the kitchen. It was my responsibility to provide dinner for the 8 people that were spending the weekend together. I enjoyed preparing the meal there. The appliances were all updated and easy to use. When it came time for me to prepare the meal I found any equipment and the space I needed to accomplish my task.

We wanted to venture into the town of Woodstock to explore. We were there within just a few moments as it is close enough for easy access but not to close to the busy downtown area.

I thank you for all the time it must have taken for you to make every detail so perfect. I truly loved your home and would return as often as I am able.

The truth is they just don't make them like that anymore. I could almost imagine Robbie Robertson, the Band and Bob Dylan jamming at the piano!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
GoodBrooks - Historic Home in Woodstock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435797vb
Woodstock Catskills
New York City
5

A beautiful retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
This home is amazing. It pays tribute to the popular history of the Woodstock area as well as historic figures who have once owned or spent time in the historic home. Mixing rustic touches and modern amenities, Goodbrooks reflect the needs and conveniences of a modern day home yet it still feels like you've stepped away from the cacophony of city life for the duration of your stay.

Quiet and restful, this home is charming and perfect for an intimate family or friends gathering. Break out the wine, cheese, and board games in the living room, lounge in the sun basked parlor and write a novel, or wake up early to watch the deer and wild turkeys greet you on their morning journeys through the woods.

For our stay, we celebrated a birthday amongst friends and family. With plenty of spaces to sleep guests, room to wander inside and out, and a gorgeous enclosed patio where we could all eat meals together, this house was beyond perfect for our celebrations. And if you happen to have talented friends who can play piano, the historic upright in the family room proved to be very entertaining!

No matter what your interests are to gather and recharge, this beautiful historic home will be the perfect place for your retreat from every day life!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
GoodBrooks - Historic Home in Woodstock
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435797vb
Woodstock Catskills
-
5

ALL I CAN SAY IS WOW!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2012
  • Stayed: Nov 2012
After a Thanksgiving with friends and family, I decided to flee NYC and take a weekend all by myself up in Woodstock (one of my favorite place upstate).

I spent a good long time searching through VRBO to find just the place, and when I came across this listing its unique look and story caught my eye. I booked it at the last minute. And, well, when I arrived let's just say I was NOT disappointed...

When you buy a lottery ticket and say, "If I win it big, I'm going to buy a house in the mountains," this would be that house. It's magical with so much character -- beautiful both in style and in surroundings.

The attention to detail is fantastic and even though I thought, with four bedrooms, I was in danger of getting swallowed up whole by the house, it was at once both big but EXTREMELY cozy. I felt instantly at home, Indeed, my initial plan was to drive around the area and explore, (as I usually do) but I actually wound up spending the almost the entire weekend just locked up in the house with a lot of that time lounging on the chaise and reading underneath the big multi-paned living room window.

Barton was very helpful with the last-minute reservation process and the few questions I had during my stay. I have little doubt that I will be speaking with him again soon because I leave today knowing, wholeheartedly, that I not only I picked the right place, but I will surely be back many times.

Take my word on it... you're will LOVE it here!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway