East Warren house rental - Orchard Cottage. View from driveway.
Orchard Cottage. View from driveway.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps6
  • 2 Bathrooms
  • 1 Half Bath
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

East Warren House Rental Photos and Description
A charming renovated cape for a peaceful and relaxing escape.

Orchard Cottage was lovingly restored a couple of years ago to a very high standard. It is decorated in soothing autumnal tones with very comfortable beds and lots of locally sourced antiques and artwork. It sits on a 20+ acre family estate that backs on to the wild and untouched Roxbury Mountain. Our main family home and cottage sit further up the hill affording you with complete privacy.

Having originally purchased the main house next door, we jumped at the chance to buy Orchard Cottage when it became available. With a growing family, we needed space for all of our friends and family to congregate during the holidays. We live overseas but visit several times a year to ski, play in the Mad River, hike in the Green Mountains and be at peace in this really beautiful spot.

Heidi Ringsted purchased this house in 2006

Orchard Cottage is nestled into a ridge on Roxbury Mountain in the middle of the Green Mountains. Set below the main house beyond the apple treehouse and the orchard. It has it's own driveway and is completely private.

This cottage would be perfect for a small family or a couple looking for a unique Vermont getaway. The setting is very peaceful and romantic and the furnishings extremely luxurious. Whether you plan an active break taking advantage of all that the valley has to offer or you are seeking a cozy retreat to relax and watch the foliage change or the wild turkeys and deer roaming through the orchard, Orchard Cottage can supply all of that!

Old Roxbury Road is a private road and a 4WD is a must even though it is plowed continually throughout the winter.

14 Reviews of Property 435480 in East Warren, Vermont

Beautifully Restored Private Mountainside Retreat
average rating of 5.0 based on 14 reviews
business
Beautifully Restored Private Mountainside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435480vb
East Warren Sugarbush Mountain
Westport, CT, USA
5

Wonderful weekend in Warren

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 5, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
Had an absolutely wonderful stay at Orchard Cottage here in Warren, Vermont, where the ski gods smiled upon us with some wonderful fresh powder in late March. Would highly recommend this charming home to anyone traveling to the Mad River Valley region. The home is extremely clean, bright, and well-appointed. The family room/living room was a wonderful place to gather around a roaring fire for most of our stay. We shared several fun group meals, and the kitchen is very well stocked with new appliances, lots of plates/pots and pans, and in general, a spacious and welcoming dining area.
We visited in the winter, and Sugarbush is very convenient -- less than 10 minutes away. Both the nearby Blueberry Lake and Ole's x-c ski centers were wonderful tracks for our nordic adventures. The Common Man restaurant, on the access road to Sugarbush, is a wonderful local treat, and country store in Warren Village had some fun Vermont souvenirs and crafts.
Importantly, following both our downhill and cross-country outings -- nothing like a hot shower, and the water pressure (in the shower) at Orchard Cottage was outstanding. We usually forget to ask, but a great shower certainly adds to the attractiveness of this charming home. Well worth the visit, in the winter or for summer vacation. Can't wait to get back there soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautifully Restored Private Mountainside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435480vb
East Warren Sugarbush Mountain
5

Perfect weekend get-away

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 18, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
An absolutely beautiful cottage with a gorgeous view... We were looking for a cottage that could host the six of us (and a little one) for a comfortable winter weekend skiing at Sugarbush, but Orchard Cottage exceeded all of our expectations! Some of us were tempted to skip the skiing in favor of relaxing in the comfort of the well equiped and beautifully located cottage...

We booked somewhat last minute, but Heidi was very accomodating and provided all necessary information and amenities for our weekend.

And although we enjoyed a winter weekend and snow-covered hills, the views and surrounding areas are equally great for hiking and walking in the spring, summer and fall...

We look forward to coming back in the summer or next ski season, and would strongly recommend Orchard Cottage to anyone with a passion for the outdoors!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your lovely review! Much appreciated - Heidi
business
Beautifully Restored Private Mountainside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435480vb
East Warren Sugarbush Mountain
5

Sugarbush Ski Mountain cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
Very clean, well equipped, charming, warm and comfortable !
Recommended for:  Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. Regards, Heidi
business
Beautifully Restored Private Mountainside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435480vb
East Warren Sugarbush Mountain
United States
5

beautiful home

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 8, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
This place is beautiful, the pictures hardly do it justice. The location is ideal. My husband and I visited here as a little get away before having our first baby and it was just the perfect place to relax. It would have been very comfortable for a second couple. We enjoyed staying in a cooking, sitting by the fire and looking out the windows onto the beautiful view at the newly fallen snow. Its just a shame we were not there to ski!
Recommended for:  Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks Merielle! I'm so glad that you guys had a lovely stay. I can't think of a better place to relax and watch the snow fall and at such a special time for you and your husband too! Warm wishes to you all and hopefully we can welcome all 3 of you next time!! - Heidi
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautifully Restored Private Mountainside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435480vb
East Warren Sugarbush Mountain
5

WONDERFUL RETREAT

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I would like to thank Heidi for creating such a welcoming and lovingly retored retreat in the Vermont hills. The Mad River valley has become a favorite spot for us to escape to, and it is always a delight to be able to curl up in front of a wonderful fire, and feel at home.
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind words. I'm so glad you had a great stay - Heidi
business
Beautifully Restored Private Mountainside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435480vb
East Warren Sugarbush Mountain
Buffalo, NY
5

Family Labor Day Vacation

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 6, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
My wife and daughter stayed for 5 nights at this wonderful home just outside of Warren. The home is expertly crafted, peaceful, and well maintained. The photos don't do it justice. With nearby ski resorts, a lake, the river, i could see this as being a great location for someone seeking outdoor activities. But, its a great getaway and retreat on its own. Perfect for a couple or small family. We would not hesitate to stay again the next time we return to the Mad River area.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for your kind review. I'm so glad that you and your family had fun at the cottage. Best, Heidi
business
Beautifully Restored Private Mountainside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435480vb
East Warren Sugarbush Mountain
Glen Rock NJ
5

Exceeded expectations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 23, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
This cottage was a great find. We were looking forward to our visit due to its excellent reviews and beautiful pictures, and it still exceeded our expectations. It has a very private and peaceful location, but is still conveniently located close to town and skiing. The renovations are consistent with the style of the cottage so it maintains its charm while being updated with a wonderful kitchen and comfortable bedding. We were pleasantly surprised by how meticulously clean and organized everything was. The weather at the end of March was warmer during the days so we could enjoy sitting on the porch and enjoying the views, but at night when it was cooler we made a fire in the wood burning fire place.
The owner, Heidi was very responsive to our questions and flexible, which was greatly appreciated.
We would highly recommend this property and look forward to staying again.
Recommended for:  Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautifully Restored Private Mountainside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435480vb
East Warren Sugarbush Mountain
Worcester, MA
5

Great Ski House

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Stayed in this beautiful ski house in Warren. Great location, a short drive from the Warren Store and the East Warren Community Store. Beautiful interior with an awesome kitchen and perfect view off the back deck. Pictures posted online give you a real accurate sense of what the place looks like, but there is also a great shower that isn't shown in the bathroom photos. The place was spotless and dealing with Heidi was great, she was super responsive on any questions. Great location, great house and I look forward to visiting again in the future.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Matt. It was a pleasure. Heidi
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautifully Restored Private Mountainside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435480vb
East Warren Sugarbush Mountain
Los Angeles, California
5

FANTASTIC COTTAGE!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
We had a terrific stay at Orchard Cottage.

The attention to detail and furnishings all through the house were exceptional. The kitchen has everything that you'll need and the fireplace/living room area is warm and perfect. Not to mention a huge stash of firewood for the winter months!

The cottage is situated in a great location -- about 4 minute drive to the Pitcher Inn and 10-15 minutes from the lifts at Sugarbush.

We all think this cottage is one of the best kept secrets in Vermont. (Don't tell too many!)
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks, Kevin. I'll try to keep it secret! Heidi
business
Beautifully Restored Private Mountainside Retreat
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435480vb
East Warren Sugarbush Mountain
Bermuda
5

Gorgeous Cottage

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 28, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
Perfect for our family of 5. Close to sugarbush, local market and village. Beautifully restored charming cottage. Great kitchen, cozy fireplace. Can't wait to visit again!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you Ben and Nicola! You guys are welcome back anytime!!!