Safety Harbor house rental - This is our home from the front yard.
This is our home from the front yard.
 
  • Bedrooms1
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
 

Safety Harbor House Rental Photos and Description
Spacious Mother-in-law-suite Close To Clearwater Beach

The total house is a 3987 sq-ft 5 bedroom 4 bathroom home. The room for rent is upstairs and totally private from the rest of the house.

A 650 sq-ft loft/mother-in-law suite upstairs of a beautiful 3980sqft house, located in beautiful Clearwater FL. Located at 15miles from Tampa Int'l Airport, 15miles from one of the most beautiful beaches in Florida (Clearwater beach) and walking distance from beautiful Safety Harbor. This room is upstairs and has its own air conditioning, a beautiful big bathroom with jacuzzi, a toilet with bidet, a big walk-in closet, a small fridge for sodas, a king size bed and a pull out sofa, a sitting area, TV, DVD. If you are visiting with more than 4 guests, there is plenty of room to add an additional pull out sofa, which we will provide with pleasure. So families with 4 kids are able to stay all in the same room, if desired. However, there is an extra $15/night charge per extra guest for 4+ guests.

During your stay, you will have your own privacy upstairs. The remaining of the house is all on the first floor. You may use the kitchen for cooking, as long as you clean up after yourself. There is a nice pool with hot jacuzzi, feel free to jump in any time. There are nice tanning beds to work on your tan and a hammock. Enjoy the beautiful weather in Florida.

The neighborhood is nice and peaceful. The location is excellent. It is only 15 miles from Tampa International Airport and usually there is no traffic. It takes about 22min driving across the bridge from Tampa to our house.

There is a public bus stop right in front of our house, but I can't give you any advise on the use of the bus system. If you rent a car, there is a parking spot on our driveway.

Sorry, no pets, unless small dogs that are happy to sleep in a crate at night. I have 2 beagles and a very old cat. My dogs sleep in a crate in the office room. During the day, my beagles roam around the first floor area of the house. They have a doggy door to go in and out the house as they please. They use the fenced backyard to do their business. If your small dog is friendly and can live with these rules, your dog is more than welcome. There will be a $15 non-refundable pet fee/night for each pet.

There is a $45 cleaning fee to prepare the room for the next guest. This fee is due upon booking.

50% of total is due upon booking, 50% due 30-day prior to arrival.

Once payments are made, there is no refund.

There is no refund for unused nights due to early departure.

More Details
Hide Details

We are a European family that moved to the US 7yrs ago. We are very easy going, friendly, hospitable, social but private. We are a happy and athletic busy family.

We love boating and relaxing by the Clearwater Islands during the weekends. Ask us about our boating offer as well, because we would love to take you out for a nice boating trip while you are staying at our house.

We are very honest, respectful and caring people. We hope to be able to host to the same kind of people.

We have traveled a lot, we speak several languages. We love to make other people feel at home in Clearwater Florida and hope to make their stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

I am confident you will love our house accommodation and you will totally love the Clearwater beaches, as we do too.

Ellen Nelissen purchased this house in 2007

We loved this property because of its location. It is located 15 miles from the airport and 10 miles from Clearwater Beach. We have the Tampa Bay on one side and the Mexican Gulf on the other side. We love to relax during the weekends and like to go boating. We have a choice between 2 different water locations and opportunities. The Tampa Bay is nice and big and you can do a lot of sport activities such as water skiing, wake boarding, wind surfing, ...

The Mexican Gulf side on the other side is more to relax by the beach or take a boating trip to the islands that are only accessible by boats. The locals like to drive their boats up there and have a quite and relaxed afternoon, BBQ on the beach, eat lunch, search for nice big shells, ....

The location is perfect for business as well. Tampa city is close. There is a lot of business opportunities.

The home is luxurious, beautiful, comfortable, bright and for renters very affordable compared to the competitive rental places in our area.

The house is rather large, so there is a lot of space and privacy. The upstairs in completely designed for visitors that like to stay in a separate part of our home. The suite has a separate AC. Since we are from Europe, we have a lot of European visitors throughout the year. The home is perfect designed to offer privacy for host as well as for guests.

15 Reviews of Property 435368 in Safety Harbor, Florida

Beautiful And Affordable Mother-in-law-suite On Second Floor
average rating of 4.909091 based on 15 reviews
business
Beautiful And Affordable Mother-in-law-suite On Second Floor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435368vbi
+1 727-543-1634
Safety Harbor Clearwater Area
5

A refreshing break from the commercialism of corporate owned rental properties

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
If you are looking for tropical charm, authenticity, and the ambiance of lush, Live Oak tree lined avenues, then, you should seriously consider this rental. From the moment we arrived, we were made to feel totally comfortable and pleased with this choice accommodation. The home is beautiful, relaxing, and ultra friendly. The mother-in-law apartment was light and airy, impecabbily clean, spacious, and well appointed. One of the windows looked out over the garden/swimming pool area equipped with umbrella tables, hammock, and lounging chairs. The room contained a huge spa style bathroom, King sized bed, walk-in closet, apartment sized refrigerator, sofa, and flat screened TV. Shared kitchen and laundry were also available for our use.

The property is located midway between Tampa Bay and the Gulf of Mexico. Some of our favorite activities included biking the well maintained paths along the nearby Phillipe Parkway as well as the 40-mile long Pinnales Trail. At dusk, we would either drive to the end of Sunset Point (Dunedin) to watch the sunset, or saunter along the winding paths and waterways of Kapok Park, all within minutes of this location. We also enjoyed many of the restaurants located in the historic villages of Safety Harbor, Dunedin, and Tarpon Springs. And, then, of course, there were numerous choices for beach walking, swimming, and Dolphin viewing, all within an easy 15 to 20 minute drive of this location.

I would highly recommend this apartment to couples seeking something different, entirely, from the overcrowded and commercialized beach/condo venue so commonly found in Clearwater.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the beautiful review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you both and we hope that you come back one day. You now have a home in Clearwater FL, that welcomes you with open arms anytime.
Thanks for being such wonderful, clean and respectful guests. We are blessed to have had you rent our place and are glad we met you.
Take care and maybe see you soon again.
Ellen, family and pets ;-)
business
Beautiful And Affordable Mother-in-law-suite On Second Floor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435368vbi
+1 727-543-1634
Safety Harbor Clearwater Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

"Winter" the dolphin adventure

"Winter" the dolphin adventure
  • Submitted: Aug 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Our stay was from June 29-July 6, 2013. These accommodations were made available to us by loving friends & family via "Bethany's Hope" to grant our sick daughter her dream of meeting Winter the dolphin with the prosthetic tail who resides at Clearwater Marine Aquarium. We had no idea what to expect from this breathtaking Mother-in-Law suite, and were pleasantly surprised as we were welcomed more as an extended part of the family than as guests. The room was comfortable & simply stunning~ (you will find no better deal for your $$$). Having hosts that are more friendly and assistive than required is an added bonus that you will absolutely not find anywhere else! So thankful that our stay with them added to the sweet memories we will forever cherish...
Helpful votes: 3/3
business
Beautiful And Affordable Mother-in-law-suite On Second Floor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435368vbi
+1 727-543-1634
Safety Harbor Clearwater Area
5

Top Quality and Affordable Accommodations

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
Staying in a home rather than a hotel or condo made my trip to Clearwater feel more warm and inviting. The owners and their family are welcoming and the house and grounds are beautiful. Plus, there are lots of lovely water oaks and Spanish moss on the trees, making this a pretty walking neighborhood; plus beautiful parks nearby. It's also across the street from the entrance to the historic and charming village of Safety Harbor, and less then two miles from a Publix grocery store. And it's an easy drive to Clearwater Beach through town. The owner is attentive and is helpful in recommending local activities for young and old. Also, they keep two rabbits and two friendly, quiet beagles who are good company, too! And oh, by the way, the bed was SOOOO comfortable and the room and bath were absolutely elegant. I will be back.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thank you for the lovely review. We also enjoyed your company. You are a wonderful guest and we are happy to have had the opportunity to meet you. Please come back anytime, you now have a home in Clearwater with welcoming hosts. See you soon again.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful And Affordable Mother-in-law-suite On Second Floor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435368vbi
+1 727-543-1634
Safety Harbor Clearwater Area
5

Anniversary Getaway

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 12, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
My husband & I did a short but sweet trip to escape cold weather in Ohio. Our stay with here was wonderful. We explored different beaches and were in close proximity to them. Only 6 miles to the Clearwater/St. Pete Airport if you can fly in there like we did. It's not a beachfront, but we liked that as it was quiet, private, and so very clean. We were very comfortable and happy with our choice to stay there. We will definitely be returnibg there next time...if it's available!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Sightseeing, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Beautiful And Affordable Mother-in-law-suite On Second Floor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435368vbi
+1 727-543-1634
Safety Harbor Clearwater Area
4

Great

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 10, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Wir hatten einesehr schöne Zeit während unseres Aufenthaltes bei Ellen und ihrer Familie. Alle waren sehr freundlich und hilfsbereit.
Recommended for:  Sightseeing
business
Beautiful And Affordable Mother-in-law-suite On Second Floor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435368vbi
+1 727-543-1634
Safety Harbor Clearwater Area
5

Hungarian family

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
Dear Ellen,
Thank you very much for having us in your home. Our room was just perfect and we really enjoyed our stay. The house is beautiful and spacious and is within reach of all the places that were important for us (beach, parks, playgrounds, shopping). You and your family are friendly and welcoming, we highly recommend your accommodation for anyone.
Recommended for:  Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: Thanks for the wonderful review. We enjoyed meeting you both and the kids and you will always have a special place in our hearts. You now have a Belgian family in Clearwater and a home to visit any time you would like to. Give a big kiss to the kids from all of us. Hope to see you all soon.
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful And Affordable Mother-in-law-suite On Second Floor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435368vbi
+1 727-543-1634
Safety Harbor Clearwater Area
5

Great stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
Ellen was very friendly and accommodating. The pictures she sent were exactly as the house looked. The house was in a great location. We did the walk to Safety Harbour a few times and it was close to the beach. We really enjoyed our stay here and would recommend it to anyone!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Beautiful And Affordable Mother-in-law-suite On Second Floor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435368vbi
+1 727-543-1634
Safety Harbor Clearwater Area
5

More than we expected!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Jan 2013
We were very pleased with our whole experience with this rental. The owners, Ellen and Hugo, were very friendly and helpful. The suite was much larger than it looks in the photos. The king bed was very comfortable and the owners brought up a full-sized mattress for our daughter that fit nicely between the king-sized bed and the walk-in closet. My son used the sofa-bed. There was plenty of room to move around the apartment even with the sofa-bed open. The bathroom is enormous. We had plenty of towels and washcloths. Everything was very clean and in good repair. The apartment was very quiet and allowed us to rest very well. The owners' dogs were very friendly and well-behaved. We really have no complaints at all. Highly recommend this rental.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful And Affordable Mother-in-law-suite On Second Floor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435368vbi
+1 727-543-1634
Safety Harbor Clearwater Area
Sweden
5

From Sweden

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
We had a really pleasant stay in Clearwater. The owners are friendly and keen on that the guests are having a great time, they are helpful and will gladely answer all your questions. The room is much bigger than it seems in the pictures, clean and comfy. I would recommend to rent this place to a friend :-)
You need a car to get to the beach, but I guess that goes for all USA.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Pet-friendly, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: It was such a pleasure to meet your family. We loved hanging out with you and we enjoyed your company. We hope to see you again. Please pass the word in Sweden...we would love to host for your friends as well.
Thank you very much for your kind words and the review.
I am glad the accommodations were what you wished for.
We would love to host for you again...you have a home now that will welcome you any time. See you soon...Ellen and family
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Beautiful And Affordable Mother-in-law-suite On Second Floor
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435368vbi
+1 727-543-1634
Safety Harbor Clearwater Area
United States
5

Lovely home and Great Location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 14, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
Spacious in-law apartment, clean, quiet, comfortable bed, huge bathroom and lots of closet space. Room to relax...read or watch T.V.-Stayed 10 days and was very comfortable. Homeowners were very accommodating.
Owner's Response: Thank you very much for your kind words and review.
I am glad the accommodations were what you wished for.
We would love to host for you again...you have a home now that will welcome you any time. See you soon...Ellen and family
Helpful votes: 2/2