Girdwood house rental - A nearby visitor!
A nearby visitor!
 
  • Bedrooms4
  • Sleeps12
  • 3 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 - 4 nights
 

Girdwood House Rental Photos and Description
Spacious 4 bedroom, 3 bath home near Mt. Alyeska

Experience a slice of Alaska at the Mountain View Guest House! Relax in the 6 person outdoor hot tub after a day of skiing, or play billiards after dinner in this lovely 4 bedroom, 3 full bath home located in beautiful Girdwood, Alaska. This custom home has all the amenities necessary for a comfortable visit, suitable for up to 10 guests. (We have added one twin bed to two of the bedrooms, in order to suit your group’s desired bedding configuration. There is an extra charge of $25 per person per night for each extra person above the ten person occupancy for this house). Contact us for rates for groups of twelve. Contact us if you have a special event in mind; special fees and/or deposits may apply.

Enjoy the great room with granite stone floor, radiant floor heating, and 20 foot vaulted ceiling with 12 foot windows facing Mt. Alyeska. The open floor plan of the living room and kitchen invites guests to linger around the gas fireplace, enjoy a meal around the large dining room table, or watch the flat screen, cable TV with high definition/Tivo. A DVD player is available. You can even catch up on your email with the high speed WiFi. The master bedroom has a fireplace, private bathroom with walk in shower and Jacuzzi tub. The four bedrooms are located upstairs, along with an open loft that has a futon sofa/bed, another full bath and laundry room with washer, dryer and folding area.

From this home that is centrally located with a view of Mt. Alyeska, you can venture out to ski (downhill and cross-country or helicopter skiing), hike, pick blueberries, shop, bike, fish, dine at fine restaurants, romp in the community built playground, go paragliding, or flightseeing, and more.

For those frosty mornings, you can park your car, bikes or skis in the heated 2 car garage. Children are welcome, making this the ideal spot for a family and friends vacation get away.

More Details
Hide Details

We bought our Girdwood home in 2007, moving back to the United States after 11 years overseas (including 6 years in Switzerland). Living in Girdwood was a great way to renew our love of the mountains, and we thoroughly enjoy hiking and fishing in the summer, and skiing in the winter. Our jobs took us to Seattle recently this year, but because we love this house so much, we’re keeping the house, and hope you will enjoy it too!

Trish Wenger purchased this house in 2007

We had been living overseas for more than a decade and relocated to Alaska for my husband's job. We instantly fell in love with this scenic town of 2,000 people on the edge of the Chugach Mountains with its spectacular outdoor activity options including hiking, skiing, fishing, and more.

Great view of the mountain from the living room. Double car attached garage, pool table, hot tub.

16 Reviews of Property 435230 in Girdwood, Alaska

Mountain luxury, 3,000 sq ft custom home with view and outdoor hot tub
average rating of 4.9375 based on 16 reviews
business
Mountain luxury, 3,000 sq ft custom home with view and outdoor hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435230vb
Girdwood Alaska
5

Fantastic property..

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Mar 2014
This house is everything I could ask for in a rental. Beautiful view, beautiful house.. Couldn't ask for much more. Would definitely recommend this to any travelers.
Thanks!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers
business
Mountain luxury, 3,000 sq ft custom home with view and outdoor hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435230vb
Girdwood Alaska
Anchorage, ak
5

Wonderful memories made

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 14, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
My family was in Girdwood for my sons wedding. This house was perfect with four bedrooms, we all had our own sleeping arrangements with privacy.
We had the rehersal dinner at the house. Not much decorating was necessary because the house itself was so classy and warm and friendly. Everyone was so pleased and at ease when they walked thought the door. As a host, my job was so much easier. Everyone felt welcome.
Only, one constructive criticism. It would be nice to have individual wrapped soap for the bathrooms. But, that is so minor to how wonderful Julie was to show us the house and made sure all went well. Thank you for adding to our wonderful memories.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
business
Mountain luxury, 3,000 sq ft custom home with view and outdoor hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435230vb
Girdwood Alaska
5

Great group rental

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 26, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We had a great time at this house. It had everything we needed to cook for ourselves. Comfortable beds and near Alyeska. I would highly recommend this place. They even had a closet full of toys for the kids in our party.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Mountain luxury, 3,000 sq ft custom home with view and outdoor hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435230vb
Girdwood Alaska
Alaska
5

Second Stay

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We rented this house a year ago, and loved it so much we came back a second time. The home provides a wonderful get away... it is in a great location, awesome mountain views, great amenities and it is very comfortable and well equipped. Something for everyone! We would most definitely recommend it and hope to stay there again some day.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Mountain luxury, 3,000 sq ft custom home with view and outdoor hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435230vb
Girdwood Alaska
5

Awesome place!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 2, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
This place worked perfectly for our family getaway! It was plenty spacious and the main living room proved to be a perfect hangout spot for playing games and drinking whisky by the fire. We loved taking off our ski boots and feeling the heated floors. We cooked dinner every night, the kitchen was fully stocked with all of the pots and pans we needed. Our favorite thing was the view of the mountain from the living room. We had a wonderful time and hope to come back soon.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
business
Mountain luxury, 3,000 sq ft custom home with view and outdoor hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435230vb
Girdwood Alaska
Saint Louis, Missouri
5

Perfect!!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 4, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Traveled to Alaska this August for a family vacation. The accommodations were perfect for our family of 10 adults between age 18 and 50+. The view was great, there was plenty of room and with family room, kitchen, pool table and hot tub in the same general vicinity, it kept us all relaxed and entertained. The house is immaculate and equipped with all that one would need for an upscale stay. Location is perfect for day trips as well as puttering around Girdwood. The owners as well as the caretakers are most accommodating and very helpful in giving tips for our stay. (If it were not for them, we would have never rented an RV for half of our vacation) I would highly recommend this home!!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain luxury, 3,000 sq ft custom home with view and outdoor hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435230vb
Girdwood Alaska
Louisville, KY
5

Awesome Place

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 25, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
The house is better than the pictures lead you to beleive, and the pictures are pretty good. We were in town for a wedding. Everyone loved the house, especially compared to the other rental properties in town. After visting 5 other properies, I could easily say this was the nicest. Also the Neighbor is super nice and sold us some fire wood. Hell, everyone in town is nice.

The house is walking distance to the restaurants & grocery store (10 minute walk for people willing to hike through the woods and up a short steep hill).

The Yard was emaculate. The grass was super soft, no shoes required. The dog next door plays fetch.

The only complaint: We were there during some very nice weather. It got up to 75 degrees. At night it only dropped to 65 degrees. This was perfect for all the guests except the master bedroom. The pilot light for the fireplace would heat our room to 78-80 degrees even with window open and a small fan. I would recommend a large box fan for the master bedroom. This problem was not a big deal, and certainly wouldnt matter 10 months out of the year.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain luxury, 3,000 sq ft custom home with view and outdoor hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435230vb
Girdwood Alaska
Anchorage
5

Great Accomadations!

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Apr 11, 2013
  • Stayed: Apr 2013
Myself and 2 other couples spent this past weekend in this home. It had everything that we could possibly need. Very central location to the the ski mountain etc. We hope to book again this time next year!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain luxury, 3,000 sq ft custom home with view and outdoor hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435230vb
Girdwood Alaska
Colorado
4

Spring break with the kids and friends

  • 4 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 19, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We had a wounderful time at Ayleska ski for the week of spring break. The house is set up great for multi families. Fun and safe. Thanks
Recommended for:  Girls Getaway, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Mountain luxury, 3,000 sq ft custom home with view and outdoor hot tub
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p435230vb
Girdwood Alaska
Alaska
5

Perfect ski weekend

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 13, 2013
  • Stayed: Feb 2013
This property is great for several couples or families. There is no lack of ammenities. To make the whole experience better is the proximity to the mountain. Great ski weekend location.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1