Captain Cook cottage rental - Front of the eco-cottage with ohia forest in background.
Front of the eco-cottage with ohia forest in background.
 
  • Bedrooms2
  • Sleeps8
  • 1 Bathroom
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Captain Cook Cottage Rental Photos and Description
2 bedroom with outdoor kitchen, bath & toilet (outhouse) with small ocean view

Relax into nature and all of the blessings of Hawaii at PapaLani; a serene 13+ acre organic avocado and macnut farm with an abundance of tropical fruit trees,veggies, herbs, flowers & berries.

Located 30 miles south of Kailua-Kona we have a perfect year-round climate, at 1600 ft. above sea level on the side of Mauna Loa Volcano (the most massive, active volcano on Planet Earth!). Savor the total seclusion and quiet. PapaLani is authentic Hawai'i, unspoiled by crowds and resorts. A great location that gives you many options for experiencing the Big Island's natural diversity. You are just 4 miles from the closest place to jump in the ocean and 15-minutes to Ho'okena Beach State Park for sunbathing and swimming with dolphins. A 20-minute drive brings you to the famous Pu'uhonua o'Honaunau (Place of Refuge) National Historic Park and Kealakekua Bay where you can kayak to Captain Cook's monument and snorkel with an endless variety of tropical fish and sea turtles & dolphins. We are only 65 miles from Madame Pele's live action at Volcanos National Park, 12 miles from KulaKai Caverns and Manuka State Park. There is also light hiking on the property where you can enjoy seeing all sorts of Hawaii's wildlife and plants. Feel free to explore the 30+ variety of fruit, nut trees & berries while at PapaLani. The commercial organic veggie garden may have produce available for purchase during your visit as well as fresh eggs and nuts . You can learn how to become more sustainable while you are here by seeing how we implement vermiculture (worms), raising chickens, permaculture, Korean Natural Farming, composting, mulching, solar, catching rainwater from the roofs for all water usage for the property, etc. you are welcome to roam the property and find a nice place to meditate & relax.

The Eco-cottage was just completed Dec 2012. It is mostly outdoor living so it is for the adventurous at heart. This is created to let you enjoy a natural setting ... relax and take in the nature that surrounds you. There are 2 large bedrooms with separate entrances so you can rent one space or both.. one bedroom has a queen bed and the other has a bunk bed with full and twin mattresses. In the winter time it can get cool at this elevation & the home is single wall construction so it is chilly at night (bring your warm snugglies). There is a large lanai with an ocean view, an outdoor kitchen with a full refrig, 2 burner stove, sink, dishes & basics you need for the kitchen as well as an outdoor grill. There is a bamboo walled outdoor shower and bathroom with an outdoor outhouse (see pic). Everything is kept clean and tidy although it is mostly outdoors so there are geckos, creepy crawlers, bugs around (if you are allergic to these things you may want to check into a hotel instead :)). High speed internet and long distance phone services are provided. There is also a full range of discounted spa services available on site for guests. check out www.ahawaiiandayspa.com for a full list of services. Everything is provided for you to take to the beach like lawn chairs, towels & coolers. Snorkel equipment available for $25/week. Organic fruits & veggies are available for purchase from the gardens & land.

Our water source is 100% rainwater caught from the roof of our home and stored in catchment tanks. County water is made available to you in the kitchen for drinking. We have solar panels which are hooked to the grid right now to provide some of the electric.

Because we are 1600 feet above sea level the winter evenings and mornings are sometimes cool (it can get down to 50 degrees sometimes...rare but true)... there is a propane heater provided that you can use but be sure to bring heavy socks or slippers and a thick sweatshirt or fleece. It warms up to 70's during the day... the summer evenings are much warmer.

Nikki (owner) lives on property in the ohana which is about 50 yards away from the cottage. If you'd like, she would be happy to give you a farm tour, let you know about Natural Farming, assist you in things to do, places to go and local happenings. If you prefer to have 100 % privacy that is fine too. The farm is a working organic natural farm with 17 chickens, 2 friendly outdoor cats, plants, trees & gardens so tending to the farm might be occurring during your stay. Your privacy is fully respected.

More Details
Hide Details

Aloha I'm Nikki. PapaLani Farms has been a labor of love since 2003 for me. We also have 2 cats (Sweet Pea and Whitey)and 17 chickens who live here. I have been doing body work since 1990 and have owned and operated spas ever since. If you would like to set up your stay as a retreat/cleanse just let me know in advance and we can make that happen.

nikki purchased this cottage in 2003

I purchased this farm because i am interested in creating a sustainable life & peaceful country living. I love to know where my food is coming from and be involved in the process. I like being away from the hustle and bustle of the city and enjoy the cycles of the moon. The farm is spacious and private and offers endless opportunities.

I enjoy the fruit trees, gardening, herbs, vermiculture, raising chickens, making mulch/compost, creating a beautiful and safe environment for people to explore themselves and their connection with nature.

26 Reviews of Property 434922 in Captain Cook, Hawaii

Eco-Cottage Retreat on an Organic Farm with Spa Services available onsite
average rating of 4.730769 based on 26 reviews
business
Eco-Cottage Retreat on an Organic Farm with Spa Services available onsite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434922vbi
808-328-0181
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Edmonds, WA United States
5

A taste of simple life on a little farm

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 3, 2014
  • Stayed: Feb 2014
We were on the island for a week of business and pleasure and stayed at a variety of lodgings all over the island from swanky to "seen better days". Our favorite was our two days on Nikki's little farm. It was like deluxe camping. We loved eating fresh fruit and vegetables and especially enjoyed feeding the chickens papaya scraps, watching Nikki out on evening patrol for bothersome slugs and harvesting her organic vegetables every morning. My most favorite things were showering outside in the sunshine and watching the chickens. Now I know what a hen party looks like! The resort we stayed at is now a faded memory, but we won't forget staying a Nikki's place as a more genuine experience of life on the Big Island. Nikki was a wonderful hostess.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children
business
Eco-Cottage Retreat on an Organic Farm with Spa Services available onsite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434922vbi
808-328-0181
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

Great base for relaxed family holiday

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Feb 16, 2014
  • Stayed: Dec 2013
We loved our stay. Everything we needed was supplied in the cottage. I had a fantastic massage, too. We love self catering and the open air kitchen and porch were perfect for our needs. It's a gorgeous setting with so many things to see and do in easy reach.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Families with Young Children
business
Eco-Cottage Retreat on an Organic Farm with Spa Services available onsite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434922vbi
808-328-0181
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

"Up on the farm"--part 2

"Up on the farm"--part 2
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 15, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
I loved the Eco-Cottage, and don't want to discourage anyone by my comment about a chilly second night stay. My husband points out to me there was a heater. (I didn't realize that!). It warmed up quite nicely during the day, too! Nikki is wonderful, and as another reviewer said, there is really nice energy here.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Eco-Cottage Retreat on an Organic Farm with Spa Services available onsite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434922vbi
808-328-0181
Captain Cook Kona Coast
5

"Up" on the Farm--great experience!

"Up" on the Farm--great experience!
  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 13, 2014
  • Stayed: Jan 2014
We had the chance to stay two nights at the Eco-cottage when work commitments made it impossible for us to camp on the beach--despite a lovely rustic look, the Eco cottage has a nice strong Internet connection. The cottage is very cute and clean, with two bedrooms and a welcoming lanai outfitted with two couches and a small table and chairs. The chandelier is a nice touch. A well outfitted outdoor kitchen, outdoor shower (it's private!) and a composting head (latrine) complete the unit. Here again, Nikki added some nice touches, like solar lights leading to the head, and a motion operated light inside. Those of you who are familiar with the traditional dark outhouse know this is a nice touch. The grounds were beautiful--an avocado grove, MacNuts, a veggie garden, chickens, and an inquisitive cat who made her acquaintance. Our first night we slept out on the lanai...the stars were incredible. On our second night, Nikki had a bonfire for us and some others, and her friend Chris--a talented musician--played and sang songs of Hawaii, including "Waimea Cowboy.". Temps the second night dipped considerably--high 40s low 50s, which meant we spent a chilly night even in the room, but this property is about 1500 feet above sea level, and is probably quite comfortable even on very hot days. We would happily stay at the Eco-cottage again, and I highly recommend it.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Romantic Getaway
Owner's Response: I really love these guests & we had a great time together. There was snow on the mountain that night and it was really cold.... it feels cooler because of the moisture in the air & the breeze that comes down from the mountain in the evening and earlly mornings in the winter.There is a propane heater that is provided that you can use in the room or the lanai if you are cool. i was out on the lanai at the eco-cottage last evening with the guests who are there right now (they wanted to show me pics of their life in California) . It was very nice evening, i was comfortable with a sweatshirt on... i do recommend you bring a fleece or hooded sweatshirt and some slippers or heavy socks for being on the lanai and in the kitchen at night and in early mornings! thank you....
business
Eco-Cottage Retreat on an Organic Farm with Spa Services available onsite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434922vbi
808-328-0181
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Powell River, BC., Canada
5

Finding peacefullness

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 7, 2014
  • Stayed: Nov 2013
We, that is my husband and me and our teenage daughter with her boyfriend stayed at Nikki's Eco-Cottage for 16 days and enjoyed every one of them. We like the outdoors and camping. The Eco-Cottage was perfect for us and covered way more then the basics.
We loved coming back there after a busy day of snorkeling, hiking, sightseeing or discovering all the beaches, volcanoes and parks there are. It is a place of peacefulness and relaxation.
The bedrooms are very beautiful and tasteful decorated . We all loved the sounds of the night and the stargazing. Our sleeps where deep and filled with dreams. Everything was very clean and well taking care off. Nikki was a very spirited, friendly and knowledgeable host. She knew where to find the dolphins, which beaches are the most beautiful, what we need to see and what we should discover next, but she also left us our space and was never intrusive.
We highly recommend the Eco-Cottage and would go back there for a vacation at any time.How it always is, different people have different needs and expectations. It all depends what you want from a vacation. For the four of us it was a perfect place.
It is also a place where planet earth gets treated well and with respect.
Mahalo Nikki.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Eco-Cottage Retreat on an Organic Farm with Spa Services available onsite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434922vbi
808-328-0181
Captain Cook Kona Coast
California
5

Fabulous Eco farm retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Nov 26, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
If you are looking for an authentic Eco friendly farm experience this is the place. We enjoyed eating out of the amazing gardens and the being vegans it was nice to be able to have a fully stocked kitchen to prepare the food from the gardens! The Eco cottage is very comfortable, the bedrooms are nicely decorated and this place is located near some great snorkeling places. The owner nikki is super helpful and a gracious host!
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Eco-Cottage Retreat on an Organic Farm with Spa Services available onsite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434922vbi
808-328-0181
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Texas
5

Stargazing Adventure

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 21, 2013
  • Stayed: Oct 2013
I found the Eco Cottage charming and that the website description matched the property, which was a relief. The room was large enough, the bed was comfortable and it was clean. The property is pretty and seeing the chickens run to get food in the morning was quite entertaining. It was especially nice to be able to get produce and mac nuts right from the farm, they were very tasty. The sunset from the property was spectacular. The star gazing was very fun, there was no light pollution and they were the brightest I have seen.

I found snorkeling nearby, a black sand beach about 20 minutes away. The drive to Volcanoes National Park was enchanting and I had a bunch of fun at the park. I visited South Point and hiked to the green sand beach.

I appreciated the aloha I was shown by the owner and really felt welcomed to the Big Island. As we were walking we found a squash which was exciting because I have only ever bought them at the store before. I had a fun experience and would recommend it to my friends.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Eco-Cottage Retreat on an Organic Farm with Spa Services available onsite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434922vbi
808-328-0181
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Hadley, MA U.S.A
5

Chill Eco Cottage Living

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 20, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
I immensely enjoyed my stay at the Eco Cottage. I especially liked being able to pick vegetables and herbs from the surrounding gardens and cooking in the outdoor kitchen. The hot outdoor shower had a beautiful floor made of lava rocks and I loved using it in sunny, breezy or especially rainy weather. My favorite part of the eco cottage was the lanai. It was very relaxing to sit and watch the antics of the chickens and the beautiful scenery. Over all a great experience and the perfect choice for someone seeking and affordable, simple, relaxing vacation.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Eco-Cottage Retreat on an Organic Farm with Spa Services available onsite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434922vbi
808-328-0181
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Pahoa, HI
5

personal retreat

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Oct 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
This property was perfect for the get-away I wanted! I felt peaceful and safe the whole time. The cottage was clean, the kitchen was well-equipped, the atmosphere was quiet and the animals were friendly. Nikki is a kind & generous host that I'm looking forward to seeing again. My favorite beach (Ho'okena) is just 10 miles up the road but I didn't even feel like leaving the farm! Mahalo, Nikki and continued blessings on your vision for the organic farming.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Girls Getaway, Romantic Getaway
business
Eco-Cottage Retreat on an Organic Farm with Spa Services available onsite
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434922vbi
808-328-0181
Captain Cook Kona Coast
Bay Area, California
2

Absentee Owner and Disapointing

  • 2 of 5
  • Submitted: Jul 30, 2013
  • Stayed: Jul 2013
We reserved the cottage for 8 days but we had to leave after the 6th day, it was so unpleasant!
The property was so poorly maintained; as tennants we had to drive thru a field of 3 ft tall grass/weeds while navigating between trees, up a steep hill (she has no outdoor lighting and its challenging to say the least after sunset) in order to get to the structure. Given its a farm, it had occured to us to calll her before our arrival and ask if a 4 wheel drive was necessary - the owner assured me it was not. Well less than 24 hrs after our arrival, we where forced to loose a good portion of our limited days trying to figure out how to extricate our rental car out of the mud and weeds on her property! The only assistance the property owner initially offered us was a phone book. She was completely hands off....and in the end when we did finally get the car out of the mud and tall weeds, she expected us to cover the cost involved and took no responsibility for why the car got stuck in the first place. Other amenities included no control over the temperature of the shower water - we had to jump in and out of the flow of water depending on if its scalding or freezing, sleeping on damp sheets (the cottage is poorly built which is reflected in the bedrooms and kitchen unit). Then there is the joy of getting to the outhouse from the cottage - requiring navigating tall weeds, a short but steep hill and trying not to trip on all of the fallen small macademia nuts and lava rocks covering the ground! Again, basic maintenence would have fixed this problem but asking her assistance wasnt an option. The island itself, culture, balmy breezes and friendly people made it a wonderful place to visit so complaining about a rental seems silly. But I wish someone had given us a heads up about this place and its owner...there are many other wonderful places to stay and VRBO has always been a good experience for us, But this rental and more importantly its owner, I give a rating of 2 thumbs down!
Owner's Response: These 2 ladies were challenging to say the least.... i knew it was going to be a problem when they first arrived... i think they were expecting the marriot.... the marriot we are NOT!!! most people who book here are booking because they are expecting a natural environment & an experience of nature & hawaii... the first day here these ladies told me spent their day sneaking into the sheraton hotel to lay by the pool.

my guest and i have been using this drive for over 10 years now without any problems.. in fact i drove my toyota echo up it that day without any problems... these ladies had backed down off the road 10 feet into my avocado field (they were NOT on the road) and called me at 11pm and expected me to get them out.... i was sleeping . the next morning i had friends coming for a visit and other plans but instead i called a tractor guy that lives pretty close to come to get them out. my friends and i spent our morning helping to pull them out because it was going to cost them $250 for a wrecker to come & they would have had to wait a long time ... i ended up paying the tractor person.... i thought they would be so grateful... i guess not.

These ladies took snorkle gear from my home and the keys to the eco-cottage, left the place in shambles and didn't even pay their bill. I am actually shocked to get this review after they ditched out on their bill and i ended up paying for their driving through my field...

When they went to volcano(the 2 days they said they didn't stay here)... they told me they would be back the next night.... apparently they took the keys and left for good... i called them the day they were suppose to check out because i needed to do a turnover and it was getting late... i didn't have a key to get in & the place was a mess.... i guess they were just being malicious and lying about coming back... they wanted to skip out on the bill.
Helpful votes: 2/3