Mariposa house rental
 
  • Bedrooms3
  • Sleeps10
  • 2 Bathrooms
Minimum Stay 2 nights
 

Mariposa House Rental Photos and Description
Quiet family retreat with large deck, pool, gameroom, and more

Everything you need for a great family vacation:

*Huge private deck with inviting pool, distant views, and a towering black oak tree to shade you from the sun.

*Large grassy lawn for the kids to play in, completely fenced.

*Gourmet kitchen with granite countertops, modern cabinets, and stainless appliances, ready for your family feast.

*Three private bedrooms with queen sized beds are well appointed with modern linens.

*Large family room, full sized Air Hockey table, Foosball table, and separate TV.

*Smoke free, clean and comfortable home,

*Best of all, you are near Yosemite National Park!

We both grew up in Yosemite Valley. Kelly and I now work for the National Park Service with the the Fire Management Program. We love to spend our time skiing at Badger Pass (inside the park) and rafting the Merced River.

Ansley Singer purchased this house in 1990

The owner chose this house as a place to retire to after a career with the National Park Service. As with any piece of real estate, location is a critical factor. This property is located on a paved road close to town and within an easy drive to 2 of the entrances to Yosemite N. P.

The inside of this home is beautiful, comfortable, modern, and welcoming but nothing compares the property outside, grassy lawns, huge decks, the pool for hot days, the BBQ and the patio dining and living room sets make it hard to go indoors.

6 Reviews of Property 434729 in Mariposa, California

Black Oak Ranch - Room to Relax After Yosemite Fun *Pool *
average rating of 5.0 based on 6 reviews
business
Black Oak Ranch - Room to Relax After Yosemite Fun *Pool *
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434729vbi
209-379-2803
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Livonia, MI
5

Perfect Base for Exploring Yosemite Park and the area

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 27, 2013
  • Stayed: Aug 2013
Have been renting places on VRBO for at least 5 years. All have been great, but this was the best. All was as promised. Great location, so relaxing and easy access to shopping (Pioneer Market and Rite Aid in Mariposa). The house is immaculate, big and comfortable. The wildlife every morning was great (deer, rabbits, partridge, hummingbirds....). The stargazing at night was incredible. Could even see the Milky Way. The deck is far larger than it looks in the pictures. We never even turned the TV on for the 10 days we were there. Very easy access to Yosemite and only a few minutes longer than it would have been from Groveland. So glad we stayed here instead. Unfortunate timing for our trip (Rim Fire) so we couldn't go into Hech Hechy Valley but had so much else to explore. Also for anyone coming at the end of summer - most of the Falls are completely dry (even Yosemite Falls). Fortunately for us the winds stayed favorable so we did some hiking - Sentinel Dome is a very nice hike and gradual uphill and unbelievable views. Be sure to do Glacier Point at the same time, they are very close to each other. Vernal Falls (it was still flowing a little) trail is shorter but much steeper so it feels much more difficult. Be sure to walk into the meadows in the valley for much better views of the big landmarks (half dome, el Capitan...) . Took a 4 hr "How to use your Digital Camera" class from the Ansel Adams studio in Yosemite Village - outside the whole time practicing - highly recommend it. Learned so much in the first 5 minutes! Also drove the Sierra Vista Byway. VERY LONG drive (we went 3/4 the way and it took 6 hrs but we kept getting out to take pictures). Very different views of the area and beautiful. Dirt parts of the road are VERY rough so take your time. Even if you don't do this drive get to the Nelder Grove of Sequoias (not far from the Mariposa Grove in the park). Can do both in one day if you don't do a huge amount of hiking. Wish we had more time to hike the Nelder Grove. Be sure to do the Mariposa Grove if you have time, took the tram (after multiple days of hiking in the park) very informative and you can get out and hike around at the main stop and catch another tram. When we come back, in May next time to see the rivers and falls :), will definitely stay here again!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, Romantic Getaway
business
Black Oak Ranch - Room to Relax After Yosemite Fun *Pool *
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434729vbi
209-379-2803
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Fishers IN
5

Perfect house in great location

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Sep 16, 2013
  • Stayed: Sep 2013
On a trip we took with our 26-year old niece to Monterrey, Yosemite, and San Francisco, I was looking for housing options in the Yosemite area. At first, all the places I looked into for the Yosemite portion seemed lacking for our needs. But when I found Black Oak Ranch on VRBO, it was perfect for us. With wifi and cell service, near great restaurants (we had two great dinners at the two recommended in the house's info book) and convenient shopping (full grocery, Rite-Aid, and gas stations) in Mariposa, and convenient to Yosemite, I thought it was much better than the other options.

But once we saw the house, it went went far beyond expectations. It provides space that is very modern with great upgrades and yet very homey. Unlike a hotel, coming back from a day in Yosemite was like returning home. We loved mornings on the deck eating breakfast, watching quail, deer, and horses, enjoying the quiet, and even surfing the web. Having access to laundry allowed me to pack much less than usual for a trip of this length, and if we stayed longer, certainly would have used the gas grill. We didn't need to buy additional laundry detergent and the house had all the dishware and other needs we could want.

My wife uses crutches and the house is wonderfully accessible. (For those with accessibility needs but with adventurous spirits, we also highly recommend nearby Yosemite Zip Lines which were perfect! And also Yosemite mule rides can allow those with accessibility needs to see more of the park)

So we would highly recommend the house to others, and the owners were very available for questions! We can't wait to return!
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
business
Black Oak Ranch - Room to Relax After Yosemite Fun *Pool *
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434729vbi
209-379-2803
Mariposa Yosemite Area
5

So relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jun 17, 2013
  • Stayed: Jun 2013
As 3 couples, this house was perfect for us. It is very comfortable and clean and felt like home to our group as soon as we arrived. We travelled to Yosemite easily from here as well as Mariposa Grove to see the giant sequoia trees. The small town of Mariposa very close by has a few restaurants which we enjoyed. We particularly liked Charles Street Dinner House which has good food and a nice atmosphere. The pool at Black Oak Ranch was great as it was hot during our stay and perfect for cooling off. The garden surrounding the house is lovely with uninterrupted views from the deck. It was so nice to sit out late into the night star gazing. Ansley was very easy to deal with and we have no hesitation in recommending this house to others.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Black Oak Ranch - Room to Relax After Yosemite Fun *Pool *
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434729vbi
209-379-2803
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Danville, CA
5

Wonderfully relaxing

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Mar 31, 2013
  • Stayed: Mar 2013
We rent homes often and this one far exceeded our expectations. The property is enormous, tons of space for our dog to run around in the enclosed backyard. It was close enough to town to be able to run in for things we needed but far enough to have complete peace and quiet. About 1 hour to Yosemite, the drive in to the park is incredibly beautiful. We drove in every day and the hour drive each way was totally relaxing and not too far. The house itself is a comfortable size for a family and is nicely decorated. The owners had everything set up for easy access and the home was very clean when we arrived. We would definitely return.
Recommended for:  Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Tourists without a Car, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers
Helpful votes: 2/2
business
Black Oak Ranch - Room to Relax After Yosemite Fun *Pool *
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434729vbi
209-379-2803
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Marin, CA
5

Lovely pastoral setting, home is perfect for family gathering

  • 5 of 5
  • Submitted: Jan 8, 2013
  • Stayed: Dec 2012
This home was the perfect choice for us. The setting is lush, with lawn, gardens, pastures, large trees, and mountains in the distance. There is great outdoor space for entertaining (although it was rainy the first few days we were there), and an open floor plan indoors with several places for people to gather and visit. We seemed always to end up in the kitchen, which is gorgeous with a large island, new appliances, and granite everywhere. The bedrooms were charming, comfortable, and private. The kids loved the game room (especially valuable when it was raining). Best yet, it was a beautiful 50 minute drive (or so) to Yosemite, through the Sierra National Forest and along the Merced River. There were waterfalls everywhere along the route!

The property is very well maintained, inside and out (linens fresh and new, etc.). The picures don't do it justice. The pool an "above ground" installed in the deck, so really would just be for cooling off.

Mariposa, about a 7 minute drive, is adorable. We especially enjoyed eating at Savoury's. And Pioneer Market at the far end of town had all the supplies we needed for dining in, including a good selection of wines.

All in all a perfect choice for a family or group of friends at a very good rate. We highly recommend it and will return next time we plan a Yosemite getaway - maybe for peak wildflower and waterfall time in late April/early May.
Recommended for:  Age 55+, Adventure Seekers, Pet-friendly, Girls Getaway, Sightseeing, Families with Teenagers, Families with Young Children, People with Disabilities, Romantic Getaway
Helpful votes: 1/1
business
Black Oak Ranch - Room to Relax After Yosemite Fun *Pool *
http://www.homeaway.com/vacation-rental/p434729vbi
209-379-2803
Mariposa Yosemite Area
Guest Comment Entered by Owner
0

Outdoor living at it's best!

Outdoor living at it's best!
  • Submitted: Sep 12, 2012
  • Stayed: Aug 2012
This place is immaculate! The lawn is lush green, the pool is refreshing after a long day in Yosemite, the gameroom was a hit with the kids. We enjoyed making dinner each night in the beautiful kitchen. Thank you for a great Yosemite Vacation, we will be back!
Helpful votes: 1/1